Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-15, and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 (at the end of claim 1) was previously amended to recite: “the drying step B is above 150oC”. The closest basis for this limitation appears to be original claim 10, which recited “drying steps is in the range of 150-190oC.”. Thus Applicant’s original disclosure does not adequately support all temperatures beyond 190oC that would currently be included within the recitation of “above”.
The other dependent claims do not cure the defects of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 5, 7-16, 19-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US 5,608,051; hereafter Nelson) in view of Pol et al (WO2013/175420; hereafter Pol) and Rowell (US 2013/0303751; hereafter Rowell). {Mykytka (US 2010/0331531; hereafter Mykytka, relied upon only as evidence}.
Claim 1: Nelson teaches a method for wood acetylation comprising treating the wood with an acetylation medium under wood acetylation reaction conditions including a pressure to give acetylated wood and drying the acetylated wood (See, for example, abstract, Fig, col 1 lines 30-41, col 2 line 6– col 3 line 50), wherein the drying comprises drying step A and subsequent drying step B, wherein the wood is dried with drying medium A in drying step A (step b – performed as stripping acetylated LM with medium comprising superheated acetic) and with a drying medium B (such as thermal processing, at temperatures of about 150oC, with superheated steam and other entraining gas(es) to remove odor) (See, for example, col 2 line 24– col 3 line 41). Nelson further teaches wherein the drying step A comprises drying the acetylated wood while supplying a flow of drying medium A (See, for example, col 2 lines 35-68). Although “about 150oC” is not explicitly above 150oC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated at temperature within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), and since generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.(MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Nelson has taught the drying medium B comprises other entraining gas(es), but does not explicitly recited one of those claimed. Rowell teaches a method for the acetylation of wood comprising treating the wood with an acetylation medium under wood acetylation reaction conditions including a pressure to give acetylated wood and drying the acetylated wood (See, for example, abstract, [0007], [0010], [0015],[0017], [0021-26]). Like Nelson, Rowell’s drying process comprises application of heat and gas particularly to reduce acetic anhydride / and or acetic acid vapors coming off the material, and explicitly teaches wherein nitrogen predictably serves as such a gas (See, for example, [0021], [0025-26]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated drying medium B as comprising nitrogen since it would predictably act to reduce acetic anhydride / and or acetic acid vapors / odors within a post acetylation process, and since “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), and / or since where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297,301 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 372 F.2d 566, 568 (CCPA 1967).
Nelson further teaches control of the pressure during acetylation and during drying step A (its step B stripping reaction), but does not explicitly teach the drying step A being carried out at a pressure lower than the acetylation reaction pressure. Pol similarly teaches a method of wood acetylation with acetic acid and / or acetic anhydride in a heated and pressurized system (See, for example, abstract, pg 11). Like Nelson, Pol additionally teaches wherein following acetylation, the wood is treated with a medium comprising acetic acid and / or acetic anhydride originating from the same fluid used during acetylation (see, for example, paragraph bridging pg 9-pg 10). Pol explicitly teaches lowering of pressure during stripping reaction as compared to acetylation reaction conditions in order to enhance stripping during post acetylation drying (See, for example, paragraph bridging pgs 9-10), therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a lower pressure than the acetylation reaction pressure as it would predictably have enhanced stripping of residual acetylation fluid.
The combination of Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell therefore further meet the limitation of flashing the acetylated wood containing liquid acetylation medium prior to the drying steps since per the combination with Pol there is an incorporation of a lowering of pressure between acetylation and drying step A; which, as evidenced by {Mykytka}, flashing occurs with release / reduction of pressure (see, for example, [0073] of {Mykytka}).
Claim 2: Nelson teaches that the first drying medium superheated acetic acid while the second drying medium is nitrogen / steam thus A has a higher heat capacity (See, for example, col 2 line 24– col 3 line 38).
Claims 4 and 16: refer to the rejection of claim 1 above, wherein the drying medium B is nitrogen (refer particularly to combination of Nelson and Rowell in rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 5: Pol further teaches wherein acetylation can predictably be performed at a pressure of between 0 and 6 barg (See, for example, pg 9 lines 12-15). Although such a range is not explicitly at least 1 barg, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a pressure within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 7: Nelson further teaches wherein acetylation medium comprises a mixture of acetic anhydride and acetic acid (See, for example, col 1 lines 41-50).
Claim 8: Nelson further teaches wherein the acetylation medium comprises at least 50% acetic anhydride, further 90% acetic anhydride and 10% acetic acid (see, for example, col 1 lines 41-50).
Claim 9: Nelson has taught acetylation temperature is result effective and can control the amount of acetylation (see, for example, col 2 lines 20-30), but does not teach a temperature of between 160-190C. Pol further teaches wherein acetylation can predictably be performed at a temperature of 60-200C (See, for example, pg 9 lines 12-15). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an acetylation temperature of up to 200C, as such a temperature is identified in the art to provide predictable acetylation, and since discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Although such a range is not explicitly between 160-190C, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a temperature within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 10: Nelson further teaches wherein drying temperature in step A is 140-220C, preferably 185-195C (see, for example, col 2 lines 63-65). Although such a range is not explicitly between 150C and 190C, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a temperature within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 11: Nelson further teaches wherein the drying step A, which is directed to stripping of excess, residence time is 2 minutes (See, for example col 5 lines 15-18). Although such an amount is not explicitly 5-25 minutes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a duration within the claimed range since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner,778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 12: Nelson is silent as to the duration of drying step B, so it does not explicitly teach wherein in the second drying step the residence time is 15-40 min. Drying processes naturally present an economy; too short a duration and there is insufficient drying, too long and you’ve wasted energy and time. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a duration of the second drying within the claimed range since “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13: Nelson further teaches wherein prior to the drying step A, the acetylated wood possesses a liquid content of 40% to up to 110% (See, for example, col 2 lines 23-29). Although such an amount is not explicitly at least 55%, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a duration within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 14: Nelson further teaches wherein drying step A results in 4% residual acid, and Step B results in 1 %, further suitably less than 0.5% (See, for example, col 3 lines 35-37 and col 5 lines 19-20).
Claim 15: Nelson further teaches the drying medium A has a higher content of acetylation medium than drying medium B (see, for example, col 2 line 24– col 3 line 38, wherein medium A has superheated vaporized acetic acid / acetic anhydride within the sealed vessel while medium B is steam).
Claim 19: Nelson further teaches wherein the weight gain due to acetylation, prior to step A, is from 5-25% by weight (see, for example, col 3 lines 14-18). Although not explicitly 17% to 26%, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an uptake within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). As the required content is obviated, the present limitation is met as such a content would still be present regardless of the type of determination.
Claim 20: Pol further teaches wherein wood desirable to be treated possesses dimensions of 0.5-20 cm, 3-5 cm, and a length of 0.5 to 6 m, and moisture content of 2-5% (See, for example, pg 11 lines 4-9). Although such dimensions are not explicitly 1-30 cm, 1-30cm, and 1-6 m, as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated dimensions within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 21: Nelson further teaches wherein the acetylation medium comprises acetic and acetic anhydride (See, for example, col 1 lines 42-46).
Claim 22: Pol further teaches drying step A is carried out at a pressure below that of acetylation, and has taught aceyltation at a 0.5 to 4 barg, thus the drying would be performed at pressures inclusive of those below these (See, for example, pg 9). Although such a range is not expliclty -0.4 barg to 0.3 barg, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a pressure within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 24: Nelson further teaches wherein prior to / at the beginning of the drying step A, the acetylated wood possesses a liquid content of 40% to up to 110% (See, for example, col 2 lines 23-29). The combination of Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell inherently meet the limitation directed to wherein the liquid content at the beginning of the first drying step A is lower than at the end of the acetylation step, as per the combination with Pol there is an incorporation of a lowering of pressure between acetylation and drying step A; which as evidenced by {Mykytka} would inherently incur a reduction in temperature and in the liquid due to flashing caused by the release / reduction of pressure (see, for example, [0073] of {Mykytka}). Alternatively, as the claim is drafted in open comprising language and the thermal treatment is a serial process, drying step A can be designated as beginning at a particular point wherein such claimed conditions are met.
Claim 25: refer to the rejections of claims 1, 10, 19, and 24 above. Nelson further teaches wherein the drying step A is conducted after the acetylation is completed (See, for example, col 2 lines 24-68), and wherein drying medium A comprises superheated acetic acid and / or acetic anhydride vapor, while drying medium B does not (therefore different), but rather comprises nitrogen. (refer to rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 17-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nelson et al (WO95/23168; hereafter Nelson168).
Claims 17-18: Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell teach the method of claim 1 above. Nelson further teaches wherein drying medium B is gaseous (such as steam entrained in gas(es)) (See, for example, col 3 lines 20-25). Pol further teaches a reactor system designed for controlling flow of gaseous media therethrough in motion relative to the acetylated article (See, for example, Figures, pg 6, pg 8-9). But Nelson in view of Pol are silent as to a flow rate / mass ratio of flow rate between drying medium and the acetylated wood, therefore they do not explicitly teach the claimed ratio ranges. Nelson168 teaches a method of acetylating wood (See, for example, abstract). Nelson168 further teaches varying the flow rate of stripping / drying medium relative to the acetylated wood influences the rate of residual acid removal (See, for example, pg 6-7 and Tables 1-2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a ratio of a first flow rate of the gaseous drying medium A / B to a flow rate of the acetylated wood of 1-6 / 0.7-5 on mass basis since such ratios between drying medium to acetylated wood are recognized in the art to be result effective, thus ripe for optimization, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Goldstein (US 3,094,431; hereafter Goldstein).
Claim 22: Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell teach the method of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach carrying out the drying step A at a pressure to -0.4 barg to 0.3 barg. Goldstein teaches a method of acetylating wood comprising a pressurized liquid acetylation impregnation and subsequent multiple step drying procedure (See, for example, fig 1, col 2 lines 25-46). Goldstein further teaches wherein the pressure is decreased from periods of acetylation / impregnation to periods of drying (See, for example, col 2 lines 30-40). Goldstein further teaches the decreasing of pressure during drying is to a 200 mm Hg (~0.267 barg) as it aids in removing residual acetic acid / acetic anhydride (See, for example, col 2 lines 30-40). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated decreasing the pressure at some point during the drying steps of Rowell to a pressure of 0.267 barg as such a pressure would predictably enhance the removal of residual acetic acid / acetic anhydride.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 15-16, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell et al (US 2013/0303751; hereafter Rowell) in view of Pol et al (WO2013/175420; hereafter Pol) {Mykytka solely as evidence}.
Claims 1, 4, and 16: Rowell teaches a method for the acetylation of wood comprising treating the wood with an acetylation medium under wood acetylation reaction conditions including a pressure to give acetylated wood and drying the acetylated wood (See, for example, abstract, [0007], [0010], [0015],[0017], [0021-26]), wherein the drying comprises a drying step A and a subsequent drying step B, wherein the acetylated wood is dried with a first drying medium A in drying step A and then with a second drying medium B in drying step B (drying step A occurs during the refining step wherein nitrogen and vaporized acetic acid / acetic anhydride within the sealed vessel would form the medium A which undergoes heating at temperatures of ~135oC-160oC, and the drying step B occurs in the collection vessel / screw conveyor in inert gas at 150oC (see, for example, [0015],[0017], [0021-26])). Rowell has taught medium A as a mixture comprising vaporized acetic acid / acetic anhydride within the sealed vessel undergoing heating at temperatures of ~135oC-160oC, but does not specify that there is a flow of medium comprising a superheated acetylation medium vapor comprising acetic acid. Pol similarly teaches a method of wood acetylation with acetic acid and / or acetic anhydride in a closed / sealed , heated and pressurized system (See, for example, abstract, pg 2, pg 11). Like Rowell, Pol additionally teaches wherein following acetylation the wood is treated with a medium comprising acetic acid and / or acetic anhydride originating from the same fluid used during acetylation; and further, particularly, that the medium comprises flowing superheated acetic acid, as it, in combination with heat and lowered pressure, acts as a stripping gas allowing for removal and recovery of unreacted acetylation fluid and acid products from the wood (see, for example, pg 2-3, Figures, and paragraph bridging pg 9-pg 10). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a superheated acetylation medium vapor which comprises acetic acid via flowing as such a medium flow would allow for removal and recovery of unreacted acetylation fluid and acid products from the wood.
With respect to the added limitation of the drying step A being carried out at a pressure lower than the acetylation reaction pressure, Pol explicitly teaches lowering of pressure from acetylation reaction conditions to enhance stripping during post acetylation drying (See, for example, paragraph bridging pgs 9-10), therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a lower pressure than the acetylation reaction pressure as it would predictably have enhanced stripping of residual acetylation fluid.
Rowell in view of Pol has further taught drying medium A would possess nitrogen and superheated vaporized acetic acid / acetic anhydride while the drying medium B is nitrogen (see, for example, [0015],[0017], [0021-26]).
Rowell further teaches drying step B at 150oC (See, for example, [0021-26]). Although not explicitly above 150oC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner,778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) and since generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
The combination of Rowell in view of Pol further meet the limitation of flashing the acetylated wood containing liquid acetylation medium prior to the drying steps since per the combination with Pol there is an incorporation of a lowering of pressure between acetylation and drying step A; which, as evidenced by {Mykytka}, flashing occurs with release / reduction of pressure (see, for example, [0073] of {Mykytka}).
Claim 2: Rowell in view of Pol has further taught drying medium A would possess nitrogen and superheated vaporized acetic acid / acetic anhydride while the drying medium B would possess nitrogen, as the heat capacity is of acetic anhydride is higher than that of nitrogen the first system which possess such additions would possess a higher heat capacity (see, for example, [0015],[0017], [0021-26]).
Claim 5: Rowell has taught exemplary embodiments wherein the acetylation reaction conditions comprise an acetylation reaction pressure of at least 1 barg (See, for example, [0021-26]).
Claim 6: Rowell further teach wherein the drying in step B is carried out at a pressure lower than the acetylation reaction pressure (See, for example, [0023-0026] of Rowell, wherein drying step B is carried out occurring in the screw conveyor / collection vessel at atmospheric pressure which is lower than that of 2, 3, or 6 bar acetylation pressures taught in examples 5-7)
Claims 7: Rowell and Pol further teaches wherein acetylation medium comprises a mixture of acetic acid and acetic anhydride (See, for example, [0013] of Rowell and pg 11 of Pol).
Claim 8: Rowell further teaches the acetylation medium comprises 95%-55% acetic anhydride (See, for example, [0013]).
Claim 9: Rowell further teaches wherein the acetylation conditions comprise heating to a temperature in the range 140-170o C (See, for example, [0006]). Although such range is not explicitly 160-190oC as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a temperature within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), and since generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 10: Rowell further teaches drying of step A at 160oC (See, for example, [0023]).
Claim 11: Rowell teaches the method of claim 1 (described above). Drying step A of Rowell is interpreted as aligning / occurring with refining (refer to rejection of claim 1 above). Rowell has further taught wherein the refining occurs for a period of 1-60 minutes (See, for example, [0006]). Although such a range is not explicitly a residence time is 5-25 min it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the first drying / refining for a duration within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 12: Rowell teaches the method of claim 1 (described above). Rowell is silent as to the duration of drying step B, so it does not explicitly teach wherein in the second drying step the residence time is 15-40 min. Drying processes naturally present an economy; too short a duration and there is insufficient drying, too long and you’ve wasted energy and time. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a duration of the second drying within the claimed range since “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 15: Rowell in view of Pol teaches wherein the drying medium A has a higher content of acetylation medium than drying medium B (see, for example, [0015],[0017], [0021-26] and rejection of claim 1 above, wherein medium A has nitrogen and superheated vaporized acetic acid / acetic anhydride within the sealed vessel while medium B is inert gas).
Claim 20: Pol further teaches wherein wood desirable to be treated possesses dimensions of 0.5-20 cm, 3-5 cm, and a length of 0.5 to 6 m, and moisture content of 2-5% (See, for example, pg 11 lines 4-9). Although such dimensions are not explicitly 1-30 cm, 1-30cm, and 1-6 m, as claimed (considering a moisture content of only 2-5%, accounting for shrinkage would still result in the recited ranges as being overlapping with those claimed), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated dimensions within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 21: Rowell in view of Pol further teach wherein the acetylation medium comprises acetic and acetic anhydride (See, for example, [0013] of Rowell and pg 11 of Pol).
Claim 22: Rowell in view of Pol teach wherein the drying in step A is carried out at a pressure lower than the acetylation reaction pressure (See, for example, [0021] of Rowell, wherein drying step A / refining is carried out at ~0 barg (atmospheric pressure) additionally / alternatively Pol explicitly teaches lowering of pressure from acetylation reaction conditions (0.5 to 4 barg) to enhance stripping (See, for example, pgs 9-10). If not already met by the teaching of 0 barg, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a pressure within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 13 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell in view of Pol as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cwirko et al (US 2013/0202789; hereafter Cwirko) {Mykytka relied upon solely as evidence}.
Claims 13 and 24: Rowell teaches the method of claim 1 above, Rowell further teaches a method of acetylation of wood including achieving acetyl weight gains of 13.5-30% involving the impregnation of acetylation medium (See, for example, [0021-26], but is silent as to the liquid content in the acetylated wood after acetylation and before / at the beginning of drying. Cwirko teaches a method of acetylation of wood (See, for example, abstract). Cwirko further teaches the relative amount of acetylation liquid impregnated is result effective, and preferably is on the order of 0.8 to 2 grams of fluid per gram of wood (see, for example, [0012], [0045-46]). And wherein such amounts allow for final degrees of acetylation on the order of about 10-30% (See, for example, [0062]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated 0.8 to 2 grams of impregnating fluid per gram of wood (80-200% by weight of dry wood) prior to / present at the beginning of drying as such an amount allows for predictably achieving ultimate dry acetylation concentrations at the specified desired levels of Rowell, additionally / alternatively in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The combination of Rowell in view of Pol and Cwirko further inherently meet the limitation directed to wherein the liquid content at the beginning of the first drying step A is lower than at the end of the acetylation step, as per the combination with Pol there is an incorporation of a lowering of pressure between acetylation and drying step A; which as evidenced by {Mykytka} would inherently incur a reduction in temperature and in the liquid due to flashing caused by the release / reduction of pressure (see, for example, [0073] of {Mykytka}). Alternatively, as the claim is drafted in open comprising language and the thermal treatment is a serial process, drying step A can be designated as beginning at a particular point wherein such claimed conditions are met.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell in view of Pol and Cwirko as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Van Dijk (US 2007/0044416; hereafter Van Dijk).
Claim 14: Rowell in view of Pol and Cwirko teaches the methods of claim 13 above, wherein the liquid content achieved by acetylation prior to drying step A, is above 55 wt%. (see rejection of claim 13 above). Rowell further teaches wherein acetylation medium comprises a mixture of acetic acid and acetic anhydride thereof, further comprising 95-55 wt% acetic anhydride (See, for example, [0013]). And wherein Rowell has further taught wherein the wood produced within its process can be used as wood fibers for boards / panels (See, for example, abstract); but is silent as to the details of liquid content of the wood element during drying, so it does not explicitly teach wherein the liquid content in the acetylated wood is reduced during the drying step A to 2-8 wt. % on dry basis of the acetylated wood weight and drying step B to max 0.5 wt. % on dry basis. Van Dijk teaches a method of forming panels from wood fibers (See, for example, abstract, [0002-0003], [0050]). Van Dijk further teaches wherein wood fibers used for preparing such components should be dried preferably to liquid content of less than 0.5 % by weight (see, for example, [0050]). As both Rowell and Van Dijk are directed to preparing dried wood elements / fibers and producing articles from said elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the drying end point of drying step B to be at a liquid content of less than 0.5% by weight as such a liquid content is preferable in the art to yield predictable wooden element members and since when a primary reference is silent as to a certain detail, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to consult a secondary reference which satisfies the deficiencies of the primary reference.
Further by incorporation of the less than 0.5% moisture content for the drying step B, an intermediate liquid content of between 2-8 wt% would be overlapped by the starting condition of at least 55 wt % and the ending of less than 0.5 wt%; thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a reduction in the liquid content during the drying step A to 2-8 wt% on dry basis since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), and “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 17-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell in view of Pol as applied to claim 1 above and further in view Nelson et al (WO95/23168; hereafter Nelson168).
Claims 17-18: Rowell in view of Pol teach the method of claim 1 above. Rowell further teaches wherein drying medium B is gaseous (such as nitrogen gas) (See, for example, examples). Pol further teaches a reactor system designed for controlling flows of gaseous media relative to the acetylated article (See, for example, Figures, pg 6, pg 8-9). But Rowel in view of Pol are silent as to a flow rate / mass ratio of flow rate between drying medium and the acetylated wood, therefore they do not explicitly teach the claimed ratio ranges. Nelson168 teaches a method of acetylating wood (See, for example, abstract). Nelson168 further teaches varying the flow rate of stripping / drying medium relative to the acetylated wood influences the rate of residual acid removal (See, for example, pg 6-7 and Tables 1-2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a ratio of a first flow rate of the gaseous drying medium A / B to a flow rate of the acetylated wood of 1-6 / 0.7-5 on mass basis since such ratios between drying medium to acetylated wood is recognized in the art to be result effective, thus ripe for optimization, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell in view of Pol as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Pol et al (WO 2013/139937; hereafter Pol937).
Claim 19: Rowell in view of Pol teach the method of claim 1 above, Rowell further teaches wherein the WPG influences the stability and decay resistance (See, for example, Table 4), but is silent as to “acetyl content” of the acetylated wood prior to drying, so it does not teach a content within the claimed range. Pol937 teaches a method of wood acetylation (See, for example, abstract). Pol937 teaches wherein the acetyl content allows for improved material properties and wherein such content is readily quantified by HPLC is preferably 21-26% (See, for example, pg 1 lines 7-12, pg 18 line 16-pg 19 line 30, and examples). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated acetylation to an acetyl content of 21-26% prior to the drying step A, as determined by HPLC, for the acetylated wood as such contents would predictably enhance materials properties such as durability, and stability.
Claim 25: refer to the rejections of claims 1, and 10 over Rowell in view of Pol, and the rejection of claim 19 over Rowell in view of Pol and Pol937 above. Rowell further teaches wherein the drying step A is conducted after the acetylation is completed (see, for example, [0007], [0022] wherein “the acetylation” is interpreted as corresponding to the only claimed acetylation step encompassed by lines 2-5 of applicant’s claim 25, and with respect to Rowell corresponding to the acetylation which occurs in an impregnation vessel prior to being fed to the refiner; thus such an acetylation is completed prior to the drying step A), and wherein drying medium A comprises superheated acetic acid and / or acetic anhydride vapor, while drying medium B does not (therefore different), but rather comprises nitrogen. (refer to rejection of claim 1 above). The combination of Rowell in view of Pol further inherently meets the limitation directed to wherein the liquid content at the beginning of the first drying step A is lower than at the end of the acetylation step, as per the combination with Pol there is an incorporation of a lowering of pressure between acetylation and drying step A; which as evidenced by {Mykytka} would inherently incur a reduction in temperature and in the liquid due to flashing caused by the release / reduction of pressure (see, for example, [0073] of {Mykytka}). Alternatively, as the claim is drafted in open comprising language and the thermal treatment is a serial process, drying step A can be designated as beginning at a particular point wherein such claimed conditions are met.
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner previously contacted (11/25/25) Applicant’s representative, Vic Lin, with respect to an examiner’s amendment comprising the following remaining amendments which collectively would place the Application in condition for allowance:
Incorporation of the content of claim 23 into each independent claim (1, 4, and 25); and then cancel claim 23
At the end of claim 1: "above 150oC." would be amended to --in the range of above 150oC to 190oC.--
At that time the Applicant had not authorized such an examiner’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 9, 10, 20, 22, and 25, filed 5/22/26 have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the previously specifically identified 35 USC 112 (a) rejections of these claims, therefore these specific grounds have been withdrawn. As Applicant has not amended claim 1 to address the previously raised 35 USC 112(a) rejection to that claim, the examiner maintains said 35 USC 112 (a) to claim 1 and claims 2, 5-15, and 17-24 (due to dependency upon claim 1).
Applicant’s arguments that Nelson in view of Pol and Rowell, and Rowell in view of Pol do not teach the newly added limitations directed to flashing are unconvincing. As described in the rejections of claim 1 above, according to the combination with Pol, there is an incorporation of a lowering of pressure between acetylation and drying step A; which, as evidenced by {Mykytka}, results in flashing occurring due to the release / reduction of pressure (see, for example, [0073] of {Mykytka}).
Applicant’s arguments directed to the reliance upon Cwirko with respect to claim 25 is moot as Cwirko is no longer applied within the rejection of claim 25.
With respect to the rejection of claims 13 and 24 over Rowell, Pol, and Cwirko, particularly in response to applicant's argument that “introducing Cwirko’s vacuum flash into Rowell’s refining step …” would change the basic principle of operation of Rowell (pg 9-10 of remarks), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As described in the rejections of claims 13 and 24, the examiner has relied upon Cwirko solely with respect to its teaching of incorporating 0.8 to 2 grams of impregnating fluid per gram of wood (80-200% by weight of dry wood) prior to / present at the beginning of drying as such an amount allows for predictably achieving ultimate dry acetylation concentrations at the specified desired levels of Rowell. The examiner has not additionally relied upon, nor incorporated, the “vacuum flash” / “vacuum or sub-atmospheric pressure” of Cwirko, thus Applicant’s arguments to the contrary are not convincing.
Rowell and Pol:
Applicant argues that “the Office has not articulated a rational reason- with a reasonable expectation of success- why a per of ordinary skill would equip Rowell’s high-speed mechanical refiner with Pol’s vacuum gas- circulation construction”. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, and as explicitly stated in the previous office action: “The examiner maintains that incorporation of such features from Pol would provide benefits including enhanced removal and recovery of unreacted acetylation fluid and acid products from the wood per the motivation gleaned from Pol. Thus the examiner maintains modification in view of Pol is apt.”
With respect to Applicant’s arguments that Rowell teaches that acetylation can occur in the refiner. The examiner maintains that [0007] has explicitly provided an alternative embodiment wherein the acetylation occurs prior to introduction into the refiner, and it not requisite therein. Consider further examples 3 and 4 wherein the liquid from the impregnation vessel is explicitly taught to be mostly drained off, thus similarly not requisite. When considering the combination with Pol, the incorporation of a superheated acetylation medium vapor comprising acetic acid within the refiner would align with the teaching of Rowell wherein the refiner can be inclusive of minor amounts of acetylation medium, thus it would not undermine the operative principle. With respect to Applicant’s further argument (pg 12-13) that Rowell fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “Rowell does not disclose an embodiment in which acetylation occurs exclusively before the refiner”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims presently only require “wherein the drying step A is conducted after the acetylation is completed” (emphasis added). As noted in the rejection of claim 25 herein (and prior): “ ‘the acetylation’ is interpreted as corresponding to the only claimed acetylation step encompassed by lines 2-5 of applicant’s claim 25, and with respect to Rowell corresponding to the acetylation which occurs in an impregnation vessel prior to being fed to the refiner; thus such an acetylation (or “the acetylation” as claimed) is completed prior to the drying step A)”. For sake of argument, the claim thus does not actively prevent additional acetylation from occurring. Additionally, the examiner maintains that disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971); such as those in Rowell at [0007], wherein it explicitly states that “In one embodiment the wood pieces are acetylated prior to their introduction in the refiner.” Thus “the acetylation” performed to achieve these “acetylated” “pieces” must have been completed prior to introduction in the refiner in order to effectively designate the pieces as “acetylated prior to their introduction in the refiner”.
As to the remaining dependent claims they remain rejected as no additional separate arguments are provided.
Conclusion
/NATHAN H EMPIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712