Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 17, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moussaoui (US 20170179048 A1) in view of Lampe (US 5903207 A).
Regarding claim 1, Moussaoui discloses an electronic device comprising: a molded integrated device package (206 in Fig. 2, 506 in Fig. 5), the molded integrated device package comprising a substrate (102 in Fig. 2), at least one electronic element (104) mounted to the substrate, and a molding compound (112) in which the electronic element is at least partially embedded, a slot (Fig. 5, 544/548) formed through the molding compound; and a conductor (504; inductor 504 is a conductive for conducting DC; para. 13 "the inductor… passing DC") comprising a horizontal section (504) and a vertical section (532/534) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section (Shown in Fig. 5), the horizontal section having a lower side (lower surface of 504) attached to an upper portion (Shown in fig. 2, upper surface of 112) the vertical section inserted into the slot and electrically connected to the substrate (Shown in Fig. 5). However, Moussaoui does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the molding compound specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Moussaoui according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper surface of the molding compound by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 2, Moussaoui discloses wherein an entirety of the lower side of the horizontal section is connected to the upper portion of the molding compound of the molded integrated device package (Shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Moussaoui discloses wherein the conductor comprises at least two pieces (conductor comprises 504, 532, and 534).
Regarding claim 17, Moussaoui discloses wherein the conductor has at least one of the horizontal section has a larger surface area than the vertical section (Shown in Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 22, Moussaoui discloses an electronic device comprising: an integrated device package (206 in Fig. 2, 506 in Fig. 5), the integrated device package comprising a substrate (102 in Fig. 2), at least one electronic element (104) mounted to the substrate, and a slot (Fig. 5, 544/548) formed at least partially through the integrated device package (Shown in Fig. 5; para. 23 "The holes 544 and 548… are exposed only on one side (top) of the package"); and a conductor (504; inductor 504 is a conductive for conducting DC; para. 13 "the inductor… passing DC") comprising a horizontal section (504) and a vertical section (532/534) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section (Shown in Fig. 5), wherein a lower side of the horizontal section is attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package (Shown in Figs. 2 and 5) and the vertical section inserted into the slot and electrically connected to a substrate (Shown in Fig. 5). However, Moussaoui does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Moussaoui according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 23, Moussaoui further discloses wherein the integrated device package comprises a molding compound (Fig. 2, 112) in which the electronic element is at least partially embedded (Shown in Fig. 2), and the lower side of the horizontal section is attached to an upper portion of the molding compound of the molded integrated device package (Shown in Figs. 2 and 5). However, Moussaoui does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the molding compound of the integrated device package specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Moussaoui according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package of the molded integrated device package specifically by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 11, 19, 20, 22, 26 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohn (US 20170263527 A1) in view of Lampe (US 5903207 A).
Regarding claim 1, Mohn discloses an electronic device comprising: a molded integrated device package (Fig. 1-2; 24), the molded integrated device package comprising a substrate (12, 30), at least one electronic element (14) mounted to the substrate, and a molding compound (42) in which the electronic element is at least partially embedded, a slot (38) formed through the molding compound; and a conductor (comprising 56 and 40) comprising a horizontal section (56) and a vertical section (40) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section (Shown), the horizontal section having a lower side attached to an upper portion of the molding compound (Shown in Fig. 1) the vertical section inserted into the slot (Shown in Fig. 2) and electrically connected to the substrate (electrically connected via trace 32; para. 64 "electrically connected to a metallization board layer 32 of the circuit board 30"). However, Mohn does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the molding compound specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Mohn according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper surface of the molding compound by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 3, Mohn further discloses a component (Fig. 1, rightmost 54) connected to a top side of the horizontal section of the conductor (56), the component affixed to the top side of the horizontal section (Shown in Fig. 1). However, Mohn does not disclose the component being affixed to the top side of the horizontal section specifically by a conductive adhesive. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to use a conductive adhesive (i.e. solder) for bonding the component to the horizontal section in order to provide the electrical contacts between the component and the horizontal section.
Regarding claim 8, Mohn discloses wherein the conductor comprises at least two pieces (Figs. 1-2, comprises 40 and 56).
Regarding claim 10, Mohn further discloses wherein the vertical section comprises a pin (Fig. 2, rightmost 40 for example) and a lead (centermost 40 for example), the pin and lead separated by a gap (Shown in Fig. 2). However, Mohn does not disclose the lead specifically being a power lead. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to form the lead as a power lead in order to supply the input power signal to the electronic component for functioning the electronic component as a high-power device.
Regarding claim 11, Mohn further discloses wherein the pin and the power lead of the vertical section are connected to different pads on the substrate (Fig. 2 shows the pin and power lead connecting to different pads 38).
Regarding claim 19, Mohn discloses further comprising a plurality of conductors (40 and 56) have at least one of different horizontal section surface areas and different vertical section surface areas (Shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Mohn discloses wherein the plurality of conductors have at least one of different horizontal section surface areas (The first horizontal section surface area 56 is different from the second horizontal section surface area 56 because they are two different elements; see fig. 2) and different vertical section surface areas (the first vertical section surface area 40 is different from the second vertical section surface area 40 because they are two different elements).
Regarding claim 22, Mohn discloses an electronic device comprising: an integrated device package (Figs. 1-2, 24), the integrated device package comprising a substrate (12, 30), at least one electronic element (14) mounted to the substrate, and a slot (38) formed at least partially through the integrated device package; and a conductor (comprising 56 and 40) comprising a horizontal section (56) and a vertical section (40) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section, wherein a lower side of the horizontal section is attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package (Shown in Fig. 1) and the vertical section inserted into the slot (Shown in Fig. 2) and electrically connected to a substrate (electrically connected via trace 32; para. 64 "electrically connected to a metallization board layer 32 of the circuit board 30"). However, Mohn does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Mohn according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper surface of the integrated device package by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 26, Mohn further discloses a component (Fig. 1, rightmost 54) connected to a top side of the horizontal section of the conductor (56), the component affixed to the top side of the horizontal section (Shown in Fig. 1). However, Mohn does not disclose the component being affixed to the top side of the horizontal section specifically by a conductive adhesive. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to use a conductive adhesive (i.e. solder) for bonding the component to the horizontal section in order to provide the electrical contacts between the component and the horizontal section.
Regarding claim 33, Mohn further discloses wherein the vertical section comprises a pin (Fig. 2, rightmost 40 for example) and a lead (centermost 40 for example), the pin and the lead separated by a gap (Shown in Fig. 2) and connected to different pads on the substrate (Fig. 2 shows the pin and lead connecting to different pads 38). However, Mohn does not disclose the lead specifically being a power lead. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to form the lead as a power lead in order to supply the input power signal to the electronic component for functioning the electronic component as a high-power device.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brazzle (US 20210378098 A1) in view of Lampe (US 5903207 A).
Regarding claim 1, Brazzle discloses an electronic device comprising: a molded integrated device package (Figs. 2-4, 44), the molded integrated device package comprising a substrate (48), at least one electronic element (14) mounted to the substrate, and a molding compound (41) in which the electronic element is at least partially embedded, a slot (43) formed through the molding compound; and a conductor (56) comprising a horizontal section (center portion of 56 extending in the horizontal direction) and a vertical section (left and right portions of 56 extending in the vertical direction) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section, the horizontal section having a lower side attached to an upper portion of the molding compound (lower surface of 56 is attached to an upper surface of 41 indirectly through the component body 55) the vertical section inserted into the slot and electrically connected to the substrate (Shown in Fig. 3). However, Brazzle does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the molding compound specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Brazzle according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper surface of the molding compound by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 6, Brazzle discloses wherein the conductor comprises a unitary body, the unitary body bent to form the horizontal section and the vertical section (Shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Brazzle discloses wherein the conductor comprises at least two pieces (Horizontal portion and both vertical portions).
Regarding claim 19, Brazzle discloses further comprising a plurality of conductors (Fig. 2 shows a plurality of conductors each corresponding to the conductor shown in Fig. 4) have at least one of different horizontal section surface areas and different vertical section surface areas (Shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22, Brazzle discloses an electronic device comprising: an integrated device package (Figs. 2-4, 44), the integrated device package comprising a substrate (48), at least one electronic element (14) mounted to the substrate, and a slot (43) formed at least partially through the integrated device package; and a conductor (56) comprising a horizontal section (center portion of 56 extending in the horizontal direction) and a vertical section (left and right portions of 56 extending in the vertical direction) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section, wherein a lower side of the horizontal section is attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package (lower surface of 56 is attached to an upper surface of 41 indirectly through the component body 55) and the vertical section inserted into the slot and electrically connected to a substrate (Shown in Fig. 3). However, Brazzle does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the molding compound specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Brazzle according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper surface of the molding compound by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 22, Brazzle discloses an electronic device comprising: an integrated device package (Figs. 2-4, 44), the integrated device package comprising a substrate (48), at least one electronic element (14) mounted to the substrate, and a slot (43) formed at least partially through the integrated device package; and a conductor (56) comprising a horizontal section (center portion of 56 extending in the horizontal direction) and a vertical section (left and right portions of 56 extending in the vertical direction) extending nonparallel from the horizontal section, wherein a lower side of the horizontal section is attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package (lower surface of 56 is attached to an upper surface of 41 indirectly through the component body 55) and the vertical section inserted into the slot and electrically connected to a substrate (Shown in Fig. 3). However, Brazzle in view of Lampe does not disclose the lower side of the horizontal section being attached to an upper portion of the integrated device package specifically by an adhesive.
On the other hand, Lampe discloses coating inductors in an adhesive (Col 1, lines 48-55 "an adhesive coating… is added to wire wound surface-mountable inductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Brazzle according to the teachings of Lampe such that the lower side of the horizontal section would be attached to an upper surface of the integrated device package by an adhesive, in order to increase the mechanical strength of the device and simplify manufacturing by providing “a smooth, uniform surface for automated placement devices” (Lampe Col 1, lines 48-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose all of the limitations recited in the base claims and intervening claims, including: the pin is configured for Kelvin sensing to measure a current through the component, as recited in claims 13 and 36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-10, filed 12/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-11, 15, 19-20, 22-23, 26 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Examiner agrees with Applicant’s argument that neither Moussaoui nor Mohn nor Brazzle remedy the amendments to claim 1 or 22. However, Lampe discloses coating inductors in adhesive coatings to facilitate automated device placement in manufacturing. Therefore Moussaoui in view of Lampe, Mohn in view of Lampe, and Brazzle in view of Lampe each teach all the limitations of amended claim 1 and 22. For this reason, claims 3, 8, 10-11, 19, 20, 26 and 33 are also rejected at least for their dependence on claim 1 or claim 22.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817