DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2020/0381397, as disclosed in previous office action).
As for claim 1, Yu et al. disclose in Figs. 1-26 and the related text an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising:
an interposer 148/150/152/154/156/158, comprising:
a first (upper) surface and a second (lower) surface opposing the first surface; and
one or more redistribution layers (RDLs) RDL metallization layers 152/158 between the first surface and the second surface, the one or more RDLs comprising:
a first RDL 152/158 comprising:
a first metal interconnect 158; and
a second metal interconnect 152;
a first die 110’ disposed in the interposer, the first die comprising a first die interconnect 142/126 embedded in the first die and coupled to the first metal interconnect 158 in a first RDL metallization layer of the one or more RDL metallization layers (Fig. 26); and
a second die 210’ coupled to the first surface of the interposer (Fig. 26), the second die 210’ comprising a second die interconnect 242 embedded in the second die coupled to the first RDL metallization layer 142/126 (Fig. 26);
wherein the first die interconnect 142/126 of the first die is directly bonded to the second die interconnect 242 of the second die (Fig. 26), (electrically) coupling the second die interconnect 242 to the first metal interconnect 158, the second die 210’ further comprising:
an outer die interconnect (outer 242) embedded in the second die and coupled to the second metal interconnect 152, the second metal interconnect 152 coupled to a region of the first RDL laterally offset from a footprint of the second die on the first surface of the interposer (Fig. 26).
As for claim 2, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, wherein: the interposer extends in a first (horizontal) direction; the second surface is opposing the first surface in a second (vertical) direction orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 26); and the one or more RDLs metallization layers 152/158 are disposed between the first surface and the second surface in the second direction (Fig. 26).
As for claim 3, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, wherein the first die 110’ is adjacent to the first RDL (Fig. 26).
As for claim 6, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, wherein the first metal interconnect 158 is coupled to the second metal interconnect 152 (Fig. 26).
As for claim 7, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1 wherein: the second die 210’ shares a first common plane with the first die 110’ (Fig. 26); and a fifth die interconnect (middle 242) of the second die is bonded to a third die interconnect (middle 142) of the first die.
As for claim 8, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, wherein: the first die 110’ comprises a first active (upper) face adjacent to the first surface and a third die interconnect (middle 142) exposed from the first active face; the second die 210’ comprises a second active (lower) face adjacent to the first surface, wherein a fifth die interconnect (middle 242) is exposed from the second active face; and the fifth die interconnect of the second die is bonded to the third die interconnect of the first die (Fig. 26).
As for claim 9, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, wherein: the first die 110’ comprises a first inactive (upper) face adjacent to the first surface and a third die interconnect (middle 142) exposed from the first inactive face; the second die 210’ comprises a second active (lower) face adjacent to the first surface, wherein a fifth die interconnect (middle 242’) is exposed from the second active face (Fig. 26); and the fifth die interconnect of the second die is bonded to the third die interconnect of the first die (fig. 26).
As for claim 10, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, further comprising a first via 126 disposed through the first die; wherein the second die interconnect 242 of the second die is coupled to the first via (Fig. 26).
As for claim 11, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, further comprising; a third die 310 coupled to the first surface of the interposer and including a sixth die interconnect 342; a first via 152 extending from the first surface of the interposer to the second surface of the interposer, wherein the sixth die interconnect 342 of the third die is coupled to the first via 152 (Fig. 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Jeon et al. (US 2022/0367364, as disclosed in previous office action).
As for claim 13-14 and 18, Yu et al. disclose the IC package of claim 1, except a third die disposed in the first RDL, the third die comprising a seventh die interconnect coupled to the second metal interconnect in the first RDL; wherein the third die is not communicatively coupled to the second die; and the IC package of claim 1 integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter.
Jeon et al. disclose in Fig. 1 and the related text a third die 250 disposed in the first RDL metallization layer (fig. 1), the third die 250 comprising a seventh die interconnect 292 (electrically) coupled to a second metal interconnect 142 in the first RDL metallization layer (fig. 1); wherein the third die 250 is not communicatively coupled to the second die 200 (Fig. 1); and the IC package integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter [0054].
Yu et al. and Jeon et al. are analogous art because they both are directed packaging devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Yu et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yu et al. to include the limitations as taught by Jeon et al. in order to increase density of the packaging device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged and is answered as follows.
Applicant’s arguments, see 7-11, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 that Yu et al. do not disclose “the related text the one or more RDLs comprising: a first RDL comprising: a first metal interconnect; and a second metal interconnect, (electrically) coupling the second die interconnect to the first metal interconnect, the second die further comprising: an outer die interconnect embedded in the second die and coupled to the second metal interconnect, the second metal interconnect coupled to a region of the first RDL laterally offset from a footprint of the second die on the first surface of the interposer” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the following reasons:
Yu et al. clearly teach in Figs. 1-26 and the related text the one or more RDLs comprising: a first RDL 152/158 comprising: a first metal interconnect 158; and a second metal interconnect 152, (electrically) coupling the second die interconnect 242 to the first metal interconnect 158, the second die 210’ further comprising: an outer die interconnect (outer 242) embedded in the second die and coupled to the second metal interconnect 152, the second metal interconnect 152 coupled to a region of the first RDL laterally offset from a footprint of the second die on the first surface of the interposer (Fig. 26).
Therefore, Yu et al. still disclose the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRANG Q TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811