DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendments filed 8/5/2026 have been entered and considered. The amendment to claim 1 and the newly added claims 21-25 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzaic et al. US 20130088671 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Drzaic), in view of Stierman et al. US 20010033020 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Stierman), in view of Templier et al US 20190131343 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Templier), in view of Zhong et al. US 10340246 B1 (hereinafter referred to as Zhong), in view of Nishimura US 20090057891 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Nishimura), in view of Mddendorf US 20130220673 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Middendorf).
Regarding claim 1, Drzaic teaches
A display device (“device 10” para. 0050 FIG. 5) comprising:
a display panel (“display 14” para. 0049 FIG. 5) comprising a first panel pad (“bond pad 54A” para. 0046 FIG. 5);
a first circuit board (rightmost portion of “printed circuit 58” para. 0048 as dawn in annotated FIG. 5) comprising a first pad (“bond pad 54B” para. 0046 FIG. 5), the first circuit board being on a same base substrate (portion of “printed circuit 58” under “display 14”) as the display panel and spaced from the first panel pad (see annotated FIG. 5); and
a wire (“wire bond 56” para. 0050 FIG. 5) connecting the first panel pad and the first pad to each other (“wire bond 56” connects “bond pads 54A and 54B”, para. 0046 FIG. 5),
wherein the wire (“wire bond 56”) comprises:
a first bonding portion bonded to the first panel pad (portion of “wire bond 56” on “bond pad 54A”, Drzaic FIG. 5);
a second bonding portion bonded to the first pad (portion of “wire bond 56” on “bond pad 54B”, Drzaic FIG. 5); and
a connection part connecting the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion to each other (portion of “bond wire 56” not in contact with “first and second bond pads 54A and 54B”),
However, Drzaic fails to teach a coating member on the first pad, wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire, wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad, and wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member, and is in electrical contact with the first pad, and wherein the display panel comprises a contact electrode between a pixel electrode and a light emitting element, and wherein the first panel pad and the contact electrode comprises a same material, a second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion and bonded to the first pad; and a connection part connecting the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion to each other, and wherein a thickness of the first coating member and a thickness of the second coating member are smaller than a diameter of the connection part, and wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Stierman teaches
a coating member (“layer 206” para. 0048 FIG. 2A-2B) on the first pad,
wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire (“layer 206” and “wire 110” comprise gold and form a bond, such that they are considered integrally connected, para. 0042 and 0048),
wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad (left side of “layer 206” drawn in annotated FIG. 2B) and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad (right side of “layer 206” drawn in annotated FIG. 2B), and
wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member (“wire bond 111” of “wire 110” is above and substantially between the left and right portions of “layer 206”), and is in electrical contact with the first pad (“wire 110” is electrically connected with “bond pad 203”, para. 0046, through “layer 206” and “layer 205” since they are metals in contact),
wherein a thickness of the first coating member and a thickness of the second coating member are smaller than a diameter of the connection part (“layer 206” is the outermost layer and the outermost layer is taught as having a thickness of 1.5µ, para. 0048. Meanwhile, “wire 110” has a diameter between 18-33µm, para. 0042).
Drzaic and Stierman teach interconnections using wires and bonding pads. The “layer 206” is gold, platinum, palladium, or silver so that it can readily bond with “wire 110”, which comprises gold (para. 0048). The gold material of “layer 206” has a small diffusion coefficient with the material of “barrier 205”, which may be nickel so that copper diffusion from “bond pad 203” is prevented (para. 0047). The thickness of “layer 206” achieves a reduced diffusion of nickel from “barrier 205” into “layer 206” so that the nickel does not impede wirebonding (para. 0019 0048). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that a reliable bond can be achieved with a gold “layer 206” on a barrier layer of the pad and comprising the same gold material as the “wire 110”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught in Drzaic with the coating member taught in Stierman. The coating member provides a bondable surface for the wire of the same material, such as gold, while also preventing diffusion from material below.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, fail to wherein the display panel comprises a contact electrode between a pixel electrode and a light emitting element, and wherein the first panel pad and the contact electrode comprises a same material, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, and wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Templier teaches
wherein the display panel (“display device” para. 0044 FIG. 1A-1I) comprises a contact electrode (“metal layer 116” para. 0035 FIG. 1I) between a pixel electrode (“metal connection pad 113” para. 0035) and a light emittinq element (“N-type doped gallium nitride layer 153”, “emissive layer 155”, and “gallium nitride layer 157” make up the “active gallium nitride LED stack”, para. 0034).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman and Templier, teach display devices. “Semiconductor substrate 111” containing “integrated control circuit 110” for manipulation of the LEDs in Templier is analogous to the “TFT layer 14B” with “display circuitry 53” in Drzaic (Templier para. 0033). The “display layer 14A” in Drzaic may be an organic LED or any other display technology (para. 0033). From this, the examiner understands that LED technology is a suitable for “display layer 14A”. “Metal connection pads 113” are connected to circuitry similarly to how “display circuitry 53” contains display electrodes with display circuitry (Drzaic para. 0040 and Templier para. 0033). “Metal layer 116” is formed between and electrically connects “metal layer 116” and ““active gallium nitride LED stack”. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “display layer 14A” in Drzaic can be made of LEDs as in Templier and connected to “TFT layer 14B” through “metal layer 116”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic and Stierman with the display panel and contact electrodes as taught in Templier. The display panel can be made of LED technology and each LED can be connected to circuitry through a contact electrode.
However, Drzaic, Stierman, and Templier fail to teach wherein the first panel pad and the contact electrode comprises a same material, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, and wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Zhong teaches “contact pads 414” of a “semiconductor chip 406” comprising at least an aluminum or aluminum alloy (col 6 lines 23-24 FIG. 5). The “semiconductor chip 406” is wire bonded to a “substrate 404” (col 6 lines 32-49) analogous to how “display 14” is bonded to “printed circuit substrate 58” in Drzaic. Templier teaches the “metal layer 116” comprises aluminum (Templier para. 0051). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that aluminum is well known material suitable for use as the “contact pad 54B” in Drzaic.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic, Stierman, and Templier with the aluminum first panel pad taught in Zhong. Aluminum is a well known material used for pads.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, and Zhong, fails to teach the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, and wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Nishimura teaches
the second bonding portion (“electrode terminal 107” para. 0145 FIG. 3B) having a smaller size than the first bonding portion (“external connection electrode terminal 104e” para. 0141 FIG. 3B. The ball portion of the “bonding wire 109” is connected to “external connection electrode terminal 104e” while the trail end is connected to the “electrode terminal 107”, para. 0141-0145 FIG. 3A-3D),
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, and Zhong, and Nishimura teach packages comprising a semiconductor chip wire bonded to a circuit board. Nishimura teaches “the leading end of the bonding wire 109, i.e. the ball portion, is connected to the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104” when “the portion of the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104 subjected to wire bonding is mechanically supported with the bumps 111” (para. 0142 FIG. 3B). The support prevents the “second semiconductor element 104” from being bent (para. 0142). Drzaic teaches ball bonding as a suitable process for forming the “wire bond 56” (Drzaic para. 0045). The “adhesive 68” that attaches “printed circuit substrate 58 to the underside of TFT layer 14B” may “increase the robustness of the display” (para. 0052), analogous to how “bumps 111” mechanically support the “second semiconductor element 104” in Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the ball portion of the wire, the portion of larger size, is bonded to the first panel pad because there is more physical support to withstand the force applied during ball bonding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic, Stierman, Templier, and Zhong, with the wire bonding taught in Nishimura. The display panel has the mechanical support to tolerate the force with which the second bonding portion of the wire, the ball end, is bonded to the first panel pad.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, fails to teach wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Middendorf teaches
wherein a first recessed portion (first “notch 9” as marked in annotated FIG. 2 below, para. 0031) and a second recessed portion (second “notch 9” as marked in annotated FIG. 2 below) having different depths (the depth of each “notch 9” increases towards the end of the wire, para. 0031, such that the second “notch 9” has a greater depth than the first “notch 9”).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, and Middendorf teach wirebonded devices. The bond in Middendorf features a variation of a “tapering section 6” including “notches 9” that vary in depth along the length of the “tapering section 6” (para. 0031). The tapering of the “heavy wire 1” reduces the effective shear stress in the area of the bond section, resulting in an improved reliability of the bond connection (para. 0010). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “tapering section 6” with the ”notches 9” reduces the shear stress on the bond section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura with the recesses taught in Middendorf. The recesses give an effective taper profile that reduces the stress on the bond and thereby improves the bond reliability.
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf further teaches
The first recess and the second recess are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member (“notches 9” formed in “wire bond 56” will be over the “layer 206” incorporated from Stierman).
Regarding claim 4, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, further teaches
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are connected to each other by the wire (As seen above in annotated FIG. 2 of Stierman, first and second coating member connect where the “wire bond 111” is bonded.).
Regarding claim 5, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teaches the display device of claim 4 and further teaches
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are integrally connected to the second bonding portion (left and right sides of “layer 206” and the “wire 110” comprise gold and form a bond, such that they are considered integrally connected, para. 0042 and 0048).
Regarding claim 6, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teaches the display device of claim 5 and further teaches
wherein a portion of the first coating member and a portion of the second coating member protrude toward the second bonding portion in a plan view (the left and right portions of “layer 206” extend under “wire bond 111”. These smaller portions that are immediately below “wire bond 111” can be considered to protrude inward from the portions of left and right “layer 206” not directly under “wire bond 111”.).
Regarding claim 14, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teaches the display device of claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the coating member is interposed between the first pad and the wire (left and right sides of “layer 206” lie between “wire bond 111” and “bond pad 203” as seen in FIG. 2B of Stierman).
Regarding claim 21, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the first recessed portion is on a center of the first pad (the first “notch 9” is in a substantially central area of the bond section).
Regarding claim 22, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teach the display device of claim 21, wherein the second recessed portion is between the first recessed portion and an edge of the first pad in a plan view (the second “notch 9” is closer to an end of the bond section, such that it is between an end of “bond pad 54B” and the first “notch 9”).
Regarding claim 24, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teach the display device of claim 1, wherein an area of the first recessed portion is smaller than an area of the second recessed portion (since the first “notch 9” is shallower than the second “notch 9”, the surface area of the first “notch 9” is understood to be smaller than the surface area of the second “notch 9”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzaic, Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bessho et al, US 20150077966 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bessho).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel further comprises: a semiconductor circuit substrate (“semiconductor substrate 111” Templier para. 0033) comprising a plurality of pixel circuit units (“control circuit further comprises, for each LED, connected to the metal pad 113 dedicated to the LED, an elementary control cell comprising one or a plurality of transistors” Templier para. 0033); a light emitting element layer (layer comprising “active gallium nitride LED stacks”, “insulating material 176”, and “insulating layer 180”, Templier para. 0042, 0044) on the semiconductor circuit substrate and comprising a plurality of light emitting elements (“active gallium nitride LED stacks”).
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, fail to teach a wavelength conversion substrate on the light emitting element layer.
Nevertheless, Bessho teaches
a wavelength conversion substrate (“light-scattering body film 73, the red phosphor film 74, the green phosphor film 75, and the light absorption layer 76”, para. 0434 FIG. 16) on the light emitting element layer (layer with “organic EL elements 212”, comprising “a hole injection layer 216, a hole transport layer 217, a light-emitting layer 218, a hole blocking layer 219, an electron transport layer 220, an electron injection layer 221, and second electrode 215” and a corresponding “first electrode 213” for each “organic EL elements 212”, para. 0291 and 0433, FIG. 13 and 16).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, and Bessho teach display panels. Bessho teaches the use of “red phosphor film 74” and “green phosphor film 75” to convert blue light into red and green light while “light-scattering body film 73” scatters the blue light (para. 0214). This enables multicolor light emission. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the wavelength conversion layer comprising “light-scattering body film 73”, “red phosphor film 74”, and “green phosphor film 75” allows for a multicolor display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic, Stierman, Templier, Zhong, Nishimura, and Middendorf, with the wavelength conversion layer taught in Bessho. The display panel with a wavelength conversion layer can emit multiple colors.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draic, in view of Stecher et al. US 20180166375 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Stecher), in view of Nishimura, in view of Sekine US 20160358880 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Sekine).
Drzaic teaches
A display device (“device 10” para. 0050 FIG. 5) comprising:
a display panel (“display 14” para. 0049 FIG. 5) comprising a first panel pad (“bond pad 54A” para. 0046 FIG. 5);
a first circuit board (rightmost portion of “printed circuit 58” para. 0048 as dawn in annotated FIG. 5) comprising a first pad (“bond pad 54B” para. 0046 FIG. 5) spaced from the first panel pad; and
a wire (“wire bond 56” para. 0050 FIG. 5) connecting the first panel pad and the first pad to each other (“wire bond 56” connects “bond pads 54A and 54B”, para. 0046 FIG. 5),
wherein the wire comprises:
a first bonding portion bonded to the first panel pad (portion of “wire bond 56” on “bond pad 54A”, FIG. 5);
a second bonding portion bonded to the first pad (portion of “wire bond 56” on “bond pad 54B”, FIG. 5); and
a connection part connecting the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion to each other (portion of “bond wire 56” not in contact with “first and second bond pads 54A and 54B”),
However, Drzaic fails to teach a coating member on the first pad, wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire, wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad, wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member, and is in direct contact with the first pad, wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are connected to each other by the wire, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are integrally connected to the second bonding portion, wherein a portion of the first coating member and a portion of the second coating member protrude toward the second bonding portion in a plan view, and wherein a recessed portion recessed toward the first pad is defined over the second bonding portion, the portion of the first coating member, and the portion of the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Stecher teaches
a coating member (“metallic passivation layer 100” para. 0101 FIG. 4) on the first pad (“wire bondable layer 99” arranged with “metallic diffusion barrier layer 97”, para. 0101),
wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire (“metallic passivation layer 100” may include gold and “bond wire 92” may include gold, para. 0105),
wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad (left side of “metallic passivation layer 100” drawn in annotated FIG. 4) and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad (right side of “metallic passivation layer 100” drawn in annotated FIG. 4), and
wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member (“head 101” of “bond wire 92” is substantially between the left and right portions of “metallic passivation layer 100”), and is in direct contact with the first pad (“metallic passivation layer 100 is arranged on the wire bondable layer 99 in regions outside of contact area between the head 101 of the bond wire 92 and the metallic wire bondable layer 99” and “interface region between the head 101 of the bond wire 92 and the wire bondable layer 99 may be free of the metallic passivation layer 100”, para. 0101 and 0106),
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are connected to each other by the wire (both sides of “metallic passivation layer 100” are electrically connected to each other by the “head 101”),
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are integrally connected to the second bonding portion (since the “metallic passivation layer 100” is formed on the exposed “wire bondable layer 99” outside of the contact area with “head 101” and is of the same material as the “bond wire 92” and its “head 101”, they are understood to be integrally connected so that “wire bondable layer 99” is completely covered),
wherein a portion of the first coating member and a portion of the second coating member protrude toward the second bonding portion in a plan view (as suggested in FIG. 4, “metallic passivation layer 100” extends towards the contact area between “head 101” and “wire bondable surface 99” and can be said to protrude towards “head 101”).
Drzaic and Stecher teach wirebonded devices. The device in Stecher features the “metallic passivation layer 100” after the bonding process (para. 0101). The metallic passivation layer may be used to hinder oxidation or contamination of the wire bondable layer during production and storage (para. 0130). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “metallic passivation layer 100” can protect “bond pad 54A” from deteriorating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Drzaic with the coating layer taught in Stecher. The coating layer protects the first pad from oxidation and contamination.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stecher fail to expressly teach the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, wherein a recessed portion recessed toward the first pad is defined over the second bonding portion, the portion of the first coating member, and the portion of the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Nishimura teaches
the second bonding portion (“electrode terminal 107” para. 0145 FIG. 3B) having a smaller size than the first bonding portion (“external connection electrode terminal 104e” para. 0141 FIG. 3B. The ball portion of the “bonding wire 109” is connected to “external connection electrode terminal 104e” while the trail end is connected to the “electrode terminal 107”, para. 0141-0145 FIG. 3A-3D),
Drzaic, modified by Stecher, and Nishimura teach packages comprising a semiconductor chip wire bonded to a circuit board. Nishimura teaches “the leading end of the bonding wire 109, i.e. the ball portion, is connected to the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104” when “the portion of the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104 subjected to wire bonding is mechanically supported with the bumps 111” (para. 0142 FIG. 3B). The support prevents the “second semiconductor element 104” from being bent (para. 0142). Drzaic teaches ball bonding as a suitable process for forming the “wire bond 56” (Drzaic para. 0045). The “adhesive 68” that attaches “printed circuit substrate 58 to the underside of TFT layer 14B” may “increase the robustness of the display” (para. 0052), analogous to how “bumps 111” mechanically support the “second semiconductor element 104” in Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the ball portion of the wire, the portion of larger size, is bonded to the first panel pad because there is more physical support to withstand the force applied during ball bonding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic and Stecher, with the wire bonding taught in Nishimura. The display panel has the mechanical support to tolerate the force with which the second bonding portion of the wire, the ball end, is bonded to the first panel pad.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stecher and Nishimura, fail to expressly teach wherein a recessed portion recessed toward the first pad is defined over the second bonding portion, the portion of the first coating member, and the portion of the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Sekine teaches
a recessed portion (“first bonded portion 132” para. 0062 FIG. 8A. Since “first bonded portion 132” is pressed thin relative to the diameter of the wire, it is considered a recessed surface.) recessed toward the first pad (“first electrode 122” para. 0062).
Drzaic, modified by Stecher and Nishimura, and Sekine teach wirebonded devices. The bond including “first bonded portion 132” is made by pressing the wire with a “bonding tool 40” (para. 0049-0052). Pressure is commonly used during wirebonding, such as in Drzaic (para. 0045) and Stierman (para. 0042). The pressing of the wire in Sekine results in a deformation of the wire such that it is made thinner relative to the rest of the wire. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “wire bond 56” may deform when pressed down onto “bond pad 54B” and form a depression.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the wire in the display panel taught between Drzaic, Stecher and Nishimura has a recessed portion as taught in Sekine. Pressure applied to the wire can deform the wire and form a recessed portion.
Drzaic, modified by Stecher, Nishimura, and Sekine further teaches
The recessed portion is defined over the second bonding portion, the portion of the first coating member, and the portion of the second coating member (a recess in “wire bond 56” of Drzaic such as the one in “first bonded portion 132” in Sekine will be formed over “bond pad 54B” of Drziac and the “metallic passivation layer 100” of Stecher, as modified).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draic, in view of Stecher, in view of Sekine, in view of Hagiwara et al. US 20140138426 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hagiwara).
Drzaic, modified by Stecher, Nishimura, and Sekine teach the display device of claim 7 but fail expressly teach wherein a width of the recessed portion is greater than a diameter of the wire.
Nevertheless, a metal wire may deform under pressure, as indicated in Sekine. The “first bonded portion 132” is made thinner but Sekine is silent in regard to how else the shape of the wire changes. Hagiwara shows in FIG. 8A-8B how a “second bonding portion 185” is formed by squashing the “wire 81”, resulting in deformation into a rounded shape as seen a vertical direction (para. 0125). The examiner understands that a similar change in shape in the vertical cross-section occurs in the “first bonded portion 132” because material of the wire does not just disappear or compress into itself; it has to take space not occupied by the bonding tool that is pressing against it. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that it is reasonable to expect deformation of “wire bond 56” to further include a deformation in the plane along the surface of the modified “bond pad 54B” as shown for “second bonding portion 185”, not only a change in thickness as seen in “first bonded portion 132” in Sekine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the recess will have a greater width than the diameter of the wire. Deformation of the wire as taught between Drzaic, modified by Stecher, Nishimura, and Sekine includes a deformation along the contact surface with the first pad as taught in Hagiwara because the material of the wire is displaced under pressure.
Claims 9-10 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draic, in view of Stecher et al. US 20180166375 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Stecher), in view of Nishimura, in view of Middendorf.
Regarding claim 9, Drzaic teaches
A display device (“device 10” para. 0050 FIG. 5) comprising:
a display panel (“display 14” para. 0049 FIG. 5) comprising a first panel pad (“bond pad 54A” para. 0046 FIG. 5);
a first circuit board (rightmost portion of “printed circuit 58” para. 0048 as dawn in annotated FIG. 5) comprising a first pad (“bond pad 54B” para. 0046 FIG. 5) spaced from the first panel pad; and
a wire (“wire bond 56” para. 0050 FIG. 5) connecting the first panel pad and the first pad to each other (“wire bond 56” connects “bond pads 54A and 54B”, para. 0046 FIG. 5),
wherein the wire comprises:
a first bonding portion bonded to the first panel pad;
a second bonding portion bonded to the first pad; and
a connection part connecting the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion to each other,
However, Drzaic fails to teach a coating member on the first pad, wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire, wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad, wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member, and is in direct contact with the first pad, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are connected to each other by the wire, wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are integrally connected to the second bonding portion, wherein a portion of the first coating member and a portion of the second coating member protrude toward the second bonding portion in a plan view, and wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Stecher teaches
a coating member (“metallic passivation layer 100” para. 0101 FIG. 4) on the first pad (“wire bondable layer 99” arranged with “metallic diffusion barrier layer 97”, para. 0101),
wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire (“metallic passivation layer 100” may include gold and “bond wire 92” may include gold, para. 0105),
wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad (left side of “metallic passivation layer 100” drawn in annotated FIG. 4) and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad (right side of “metallic passivation layer 100” drawn in annotated FIG. 4), and
wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member (“head 101” of “bond wire 92” is substantially between the left and right portions of “metallic passivation layer 100”), and is in direct contact with the first pad (“metallic passivation layer 100 is arranged on the wire bondable layer 99 in regions outside of contact area between the head 101 of the bond wire 92 and the metallic wire bondable layer 99” and “interface region between the head 101 of the bond wire 92 and the wire bondable layer 99 may be free of the metallic passivation layer 100”, para. 0101 and 0106),
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are connected to each other by the wire (both sides of “metallic passivation layer 100” are electrically connected to each other by the “head 101”),
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are integrally connected to the second bonding portion (since the “metallic passivation layer 100” is formed on the exposed “wire bondable layer 99” outside of the contact area with “head 101” and is of the same material as the “bond wire 92” and its “head 101”, they are understood to be integrally connected so that “wire bondable layer 99” is completely covered),
wherein a portion of the first coating member and a portion of the second coating member protrude toward the second bonding portion in a plan view (as suggested in FIG. 4, “metallic passivation layer 100” extends towards the contact area between “head 101” and “wire bondable surface 99” and can be said to protrude towards “head 101”).
Drzaic and Stecher teach wirebonded devices. The device in Stecher features the “metallic passivation layer 100” after the bonding process (para. 0101). The metallic passivation layer may be used to hinder oxidation or contamination of the wire bondable layer during production and storage (para. 0130). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “metallic passivation layer 100” can protect “bond pad 54A” from deteriorating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Drzaic with the coating layer taught in Stecher. The coating layer protects the first pad from oxidation and contamination.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stecher fail to expressly teach wherein a thickness of the first coating member and a thickness of the second coating member are smaller than a diameter of the connection part, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, although the thickness of “metallic passivation layer 100” is not given in Stecher, the examiner understands that the thickness may be whatever suitably covers the exposed surfaces of “wire bondable layer 99”. There are three predictable relationships between the “bond wire 92” thickness and the “metallic passivation layer 100” thickness: the “bond wire 92” has a greater thickness, the “metallic passivation layer 100” has a greater thickness, or they have the same thickness. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the thickness of “metallic passivation layer 100” may be anything appropriate for covering the surfaces not including the contact area between “wire bondable layer 99” and “head 101”, including a case where the thickness of “metallic passivation layer 100” is lesser than the “wire 92”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the coating member may have a smaller thickness than the connection part. It is an obvious alternative out of a finite number of predictable solutions (see MPEP 2143.E).
However, Drzaic, modified by Stecher fail to expressly teach the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion, wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Nishimura teaches
the second bonding portion (“electrode terminal 107” para. 0145 FIG. 3B) having a smaller size than the first bonding portion (“external connection electrode terminal 104e” para. 0141 FIG. 3B. The ball portion of the “bonding wire 109” is connected to “external connection electrode terminal 104e” while the trail end is connected to the “electrode terminal 107”, para. 0141-0145 FIG. 3A-3D),
Drzaic, modified by Stecher, and Nishimura teach packages comprising a semiconductor chip wire bonded to a circuit board. Nishimura teaches “the leading end of the bonding wire 109, i.e. the ball portion, is connected to the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104” when “the portion of the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104 subjected to wire bonding is mechanically supported with the bumps 111” (para. 0142 FIG. 3B). The support prevents the “second semiconductor element 104” from being bent (para. 0142). Drzaic teaches ball bonding as a suitable process for forming the “wire bond 56” (Drzaic para. 0045). The “adhesive 68” that attaches “printed circuit substrate 58 to the underside of TFT layer 14B” may “increase the robustness of the display” (para. 0052), analogous to how “bumps 111” mechanically support the “second semiconductor element 104” in Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the ball portion of the wire, the portion of larger size, is bonded to the first panel pad because there is more physical support to withstand the force applied during ball bonding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic and Stecher, with the wire bonding taught in Nishimura. The display panel has the mechanical support to tolerate the force with which the second bonding portion of the wire, the ball end, is bonded to the first panel pad.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stecher and Nishimura, fail to teach wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member.
Nevertheless, Middendorf teaches
wherein a first recessed portion (first “notch 9” as marked in annotated FIG. 2 below, para. 0031) and a second recessed portion (second “notch 9” as marked in annotated FIG. 2 below) having different depths (the depth of each “notch 9” increases towards the end of the wire, para. 0031, such that the second “notch 9” has a greater depth than the first “notch 9”).
Drzaic, modified by Stecher and Nishimura, and Middendorf teach wirebonded devices. The bond in Middendorf features a variation of a “tapering section 6” including “notches 9” that vary in depth along the length of the “tapering section 6” (para. 0031). The tapering of the “heavy wire 1” reduces the effective shear stress in the area of the bond section, resulting in an improved reliability of the bond connection (para. 0010). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “tapering section 6” with the ”notches 9” reduces the shear stress on the bond section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device in Drzaic, modified by Stecher and Nishimura with the recesses taught in Middendorf. The recesses give an effective taper profile that reduces the stress on the bond and thereby improves the bond reliability.
Drzaic, modified by Stecher, Nishimura, and Middendorf further teaches
The first recess and the second recess are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member (“notches 9” formed in “wire bond 56” will be over the “metallic passivation layer 100” incorporated from Stecher).
Regarding claim 10, Drzaic, modified by Stecher, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teach the display device of claim 9, wherein the first recessed portion is positioned at a middle portion of the first pad in a plan view (first “notch 9” is in a substantially central region of the bond section, so it is understood it will be in a central region above “bond pad 54B”), the second recessed portion is positioned between the first recessed portion and an edge of the first pad in a plan view (second “notch 9” is at an edge of “heavy wire 1”, so it is understood to be between an edge of “bond pad 54B” and the first “notch 9”), and a depth of the second recessed portion is greater than that of the first recessed portion (since the depths of “notches 9” increase continuously and evenly towards the end of “heavy wire 1”, the second “notch 9” is understood to have a greater depth).
Regarding claim 12, Drzaic, modified by Stecher, Nishimura, and Middendorf, teach the display device of claim 9 but fail to expressly wherein a thickness of the first coating member and a thickness of the second coating member are smaller than a diameter of the connection part.
Nevertheless, although the thickness of “metallic passivation layer 100” is not given in Stecher, the examiner understands that the thickness may be whatever suitably covers the exposed surfaces of “wire bondable layer 99”. There are three predictable relationships between the “bond wire 92” thickness and the “metallic passivation layer 100” thickness: the “bond wire 92” has a greater thickness, the “metallic passivation layer 100” has a greater thickness, or they have the same thickness. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the thickness of “metallic passivation layer 100” may be anything appropriate for covering the surfaces not including the contact area between “wire bondable layer 99” and “head 101”, including a case where the thickness of “metallic passivation layer 100” is lesser than the “wire 92”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the coating member may have a smaller thickness than the connection part. It is an obvious alternative out of a finite number of predictable solutions (see MPEP 2143.E).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the most relevant prior art Middendorf teaches a plurality of recess portions defined on a wire. The recesses decrease in depth as a distance from the edge of the wire increases towards the opposite end of the bonded portion. However, the top surfaces of the wire between each recess cannot be said to vary as well, such that steps cannot be defined. Therefore, claim 11 is considered to contain allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 23, the most relevant prior art Middendorf teaches a plurality of recess portions defined on a wire. Middendorf is silent with respect to the widths of the recesses, such that Middendorf fails to teach or suggest wherein a width of the first recessed portion is smaller than a width of the second recessed portion. Therefore, claim 23 is considered to contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JULIO J MALDONADO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898