DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 19 March 2026. Claims 1-17 and 21-24 are pending in the application. Claims 18-20 have been cancelled.
This application is a continuation of application Serial No. 16/248,255, filed on 15 January 2019, now US Patent 11,367,654, which is a continuation of application Serial No. 13/542,655, filed on 05 July 2012, now US Patent 10,186,458.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, for each component of the plurality of components, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings were objected to in the previous Office action. Admittedly, the claims have been amended to delete the limitation “the metal pattern covers the entire backside of the carrier except over regions vis-à-vis the kerf regions”. However, independent claims 1 and 21 have been amended to require ”for each component of the plurality of components, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks”, which is also not shown in the drawings (see the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, below)
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the invention of Group I, on which claims 1-17 are readable, in the reply filed on 13 January 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1 and 21 have been amended to require ”for each component of the plurality of components, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks”. However, as shown in annotated Fig. 6b below, the plurality of free-standing metal blocks 640 do not cover an entire backside of each component. Whereas the free standing metal blocks 640 cover an entire backside of the two interior components, the free standing metal blocks do not cover the entire backside of the two peripheral components, as shown in annotated Fig. 6b below. Therefore, there is no support in Applicant’s disclosure for claiming that “for each component of the plurality of components, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal locks”.
Claims 2-5 and 22-23 are also rejected, since they depend from independent claims 1 and 21.
Claims 6-16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 6 and 14 have been amended to require a “contiguous and continuous” wafer. It is unclear if this claim language is intended to preclude any removal or patterning of this wafer during the recited method of independent claims 6 and 14. First, the claims are drawn to a method “comprising” the recited steps. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Therefore, the claim clearly does not preclude a step of removing the “contiguous and continuous” wafer. Second, claim 6 requires “separating the component from the contiguous and continuous wafer along the spaces”. Hence, claim 6 clearly requires removal of portions of the “contiguous and continuous” wafer. For purposes of rejecting the claims, this limitation has been treated as requiring the wafer to be “contiguous and continuous” sometime during the recited method, but not to preclude the subsequent removal or patterning of the wafer. Based on this interpretation, with respect to independent claim 6, it is noted in Fig. 54 of Lin et al. that a “contiguous and continuous” wafer 158 is shown (see paragraph [0218]). With respect to independent claim 14, Lin et al. disclose a “contiguous and continuous” wafer 165, as shown in Fig. 29 (see paragraph [0151]).
Claims 7-13,15, 16, and 24 are also rejected, since they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-11, 14-17, and 21-24 are again rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being clearly anticipated by Lin et al., US 2011/0026232, of record.
With respect to claim 1, Lin et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a component, shown in Figs. 54-82, the method comprising:
providing a carrier 158 (see Fig. 54) comprising a plurality of components 555 (shown in Fig. 82 after singulation (see also Fig. 83), the plurality of components 555 being separated from each other by kerf regions (The kerf regions are the regions which are cut, as shown in Fig. 82, during the singulation process, see paragraph [0291].) on a front side of the carrier 158, wherein the kerf regions delimit boundaries of each component 555 (as shown in Figs. 82 and 83);
forming a metal pattern 130 on a backside of the carrier 158, wherein the metal pattern 130 comprises a plurality of free standing metal blocks separated by regions
vis-à-vis the kerf regions, wherein for each component 555 of the plurality of components 555, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks (The kerf regions are the regions which are cut, as shown in Fig. 82, during the singulation process, see paragraph [0291]. Since Applicant discloses that the metal pattern covers the entire backside of the carrier except those regions covered by resist, as shown in Figs. 6a and 6b, this interpretation of the claim is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure.), as shown in Figs. 79-82, and
wherein forming the metal pattern comprises forming a metal seed layer 132 and electro-plating a metal (Cu) of the metal pattern 130 on the metal seed layer 132 (see paragraphs [0281]-[0287]);
forming an under-layer 134 between the seed layer 132 and the backside of the carrier 158,
wherein the under-layer 134 comprises a titanium layer being a combined metal adhesion layer and metal barrier layer (see paragraphs [0282]-[0285]); and
separating the carrier 158 along the kerf regions into single components, see Figs. 81 and 82 and paragraph [0291].
With respect to claim 2, in the method of Lin et al., the metal pattern 130 comprises copper (Cu), see paragraph [0287].
With respect to claim 3, in the method of Lin et al., the carrier 158 and the metal pattern 130 comprises about the same thickness, as shown in Fig. 82 (which shows the thickness of metal pattern 130 and the thickness of carrier 158).
With respect to claim 4, in the method of Lin et al., the carrier 158 comprises a thickness of about 20 µm or less (substrate 124 has a thickness between 3 and 100 micrometers, and preferably between 3 and 30 micrometers or between 5 and 25 micrometer, see paragraphs [0224]-[0225] and [0245]), and wherein the metal pattern 130 comprises a thickness of about 20 µm or more, see paragraphs [0286].
With respect to claim 5, in the method of Lin et al., separating the component 72 from the carrier 158 comprises laser cutting the carrier 158 along the kerf regions, see Figs. 81 and 82 and paragraph [0291].
With respect to claim 6, Lin et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a component, shown in Figs. 54-82, the method comprising:
forming a plurality of components 555 (shown in Fig. 82 after singulation (see also Fig. 83), in or on a first main surface of a contiguous and continuous wafer 158 (see Fig. 54 and paragraph [0218]);
forming a metal pattern 130 on a second main surface of the contiguous and continuous wafer 158 (see Fig. 54 and paragraph [0218]), the metal pattern 130 comprising free standing metal blocks (shown in Figs. 81 and 82) separated by spaces, as shown in Fig. 82,
wherein forming the metal pattern 130 comprises forming a metal seed layer 132 and plating the metal pattern, see paragraphs [0281]-[0287]); and
forming an under-layer 134 between the metal seed layer 132 and second main surface of the contiguous and continuous wafer 158 (see Fig. 54 and paragraph [0218]);
wherein the under-layer 134 comprises a layer of titanium (see paragraphs [0282]-[0285]), and
wherein the seed layer 132 comprises the same material (Cu) as the metal pattern 130 (see paragraphs [0284]: “the seed layer 132 can be formed by a suitable process or processes, e.g., by sputtering a layer of copper” and paragraph [0287]: “130 can be a metal layer that may include or can be a layer of copper”), see Figs. 81 and 82; and
separating the component 72 from the contiguous and continuous wafer 158 (see Fig. 54 and paragraph [0218]) along the spaces (see Figs. 81 and 82 and paragraph [0291]).
With respect to claim 7 , in the method of Lin et al., the under-layer 134 comprises an adhesion layer, see paragraphs [0282]-[0283]
With respect to claim 8 , in the method of Lin et al., the under-layer 134 comprises a barrier layer, see paragraphs [0282]-[0283]
With respect to claim 9 , in the method of Lin et al., the metal pattern 130 comprises copper (Cu), see paragraph [0287].
With respect to claim 10, in the method of Lin et al., the carrier 158 comprises a thickness of about 20 µm or less (substrate 124 has a thickness between 3 and 100 micrometers, and preferably between 3 and 30 micrometers or between 5 and 25 micrometer, see paragraphs [0224]-[0225] and [0245]), and wherein the metal pattern 130 comprises a thickness of about 20 µm or more, see paragraphs [0286].
With respect to claim 11 , in the method of Lin et al., separating the component 68 from the carrier 158 comprises laser cutting the carrier, see Figs. 81 and 82 and paragraph [0291].
With respect to claim 24, in the method of Lin et al., the under-layer 134 is a single titanium layer (see paragraphs [0282]-[0285]).
With respect to claim 14, Lin et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a wafer, shown in Figs. 79-82, the method comprising:
forming kerf regions (indicated by reference numeral 136 and associated arrow in Fig. 81 but which correspond to the spaces shown in Fig. 82 after singulation is performed, see paragraph [0291]) and chips 68 on a first main surface of a contiguous and continuous wafer 165 (see Fig. 29 and paragraph [0151]);
forming a metal pattern 130 on a second main surface of the contiguous and continuous wafer165 (see Fig. 29 and paragraph [0151]); wherein the metal pattern 130 covers the second main surface of the wafer 165 except over regions vis-à-vis the kerf regions; and
forming an under-layer 134 interposed between the metal pattern 130 and the contiguous and continuous wafer 165 (see Fig. 29 and paragraph [0151]), wherein the under-layer 134 comprises a single titanium layer, see paragraph [0283].
With respect to claim 15, in the method of Lin et al., the under-layer comprises a combined metal adhesion layer and metal barrier layer, see paragraph [0283]
With respect to claim 16, Lin et al. disclose the metal pattern 130 comprises copper (Cu), see paragraph [0287]..
With respect to claim 17, Lin et al. disclose forming the metal pattern comprises forming a seed layer 132 over the second main surface of the wafer 165, patterning a photoresist over the seed layer 132 (shown in Fig. 79), and forming the metal pattern 130 in a metal bath (electroplating process), see Figs. 79-and 80 and paragraphs [0282]-[0286].
With respect to claim 21, Lin et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a component, shown in Figs. 54-82, the method comprising:
providing a carrier 158 (see Fig. 54) comprising a plurality of components 555 (shown in Fig. 82 after singulation (see also Fig. 83), the plurality of components 555 being separated from each other by kerf regions (The kerf regions are the regions which are cut, as shown in Fig. 82, during the singulation process, see paragraph [0291].) on a front side of the carrier 158;
forming a metal pattern 130 on a backside of the carrier 158, wherein the metal pattern 130 comprises a plurality of free standing metal blocks separated by regions
corresponding to the kerf regions, wherein for each component 555 of the plurality of components 555, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks (The kerf regions are the regions which are cut, as shown in Fig. 82, during the singulation process, see paragraph [0291]. Since Applicant discloses that the metal pattern covers the entire backside of the carrier except those regions covered by resist, as shown in Figs. 6a and 6b, this interpretation of the claim is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure.), as shown in Figs. 79-82, and
wherein forming the metal pattern 130 comprises forming a metal seed layer 132 and electro-plating a metal (Cu) of the metal pattern 130 on the metal seed layer 132 (see paragraphs [0281]-[0287]);
forming an under-layer 134 between the seed layer 132 and the backside of the carrier 158,
wherein the under-layer 134 comprises a layer of titanium (see paragraphs [0282]-[0285]),
wherein the under-layer 134 is arranged directly on the backside of the carrier 158 (which includes dielectric layer 139 and metal interconnects 3, as shown in Fig. 76 (see paragraphs [0249] and [0273]),
wherein the metal pattern 130 is arranged directly on the under-layer 134 (via the seed layer 132),
wherein the carrier 158 comprises a thickness of about 20 µm or less (substrate 124 has a thickness between 3 and 100 micrometers, and preferably between 3 and 30 micrometers or between 5 and 25 micrometer, see paragraphs [0224]-[0225] and [0245]), and wherein the metal pattern 130 comprises a thickness of about 20 µm or more, see paragraphs [0286].
separating the carrier 158 along the kerf regions into single components, see Figs. 81 and 82 and paragraph [0291].
With respect to claim 22, in the method of Lin et al., the metal pattern 130 is a copper (Cu) metal pattern, see paragraph [0287].
With respect to claim 23, in the method of Lin et al., the under-layer 134 is a single titanium layer (see paragraphs [0282]-[0285]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 12 and 13 are again rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lin et al., US 2011/0026232, as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Li et al., US 2007/0284715, both of record.
Although Lin et al. disclose that the singulated package is mounted on a carrier 176, as shown in Fig. 83, Lin et al. lack anticipation of placing the component on a leadframe, and encapsulating the component and at least a portion of the leadframe, as required in dependent claim 12. Li et al. disclose a system-in-package (SIP) device 300 which includes a chip package 130 mounted on a leadframe 150 and encapsulated, as shown in Fig. 2a, see paragraph [0021]. In light of the teaching of Li et al., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the singulated component of Lin et al., shown in Fig. 82, could have been placed on a leadframe, and encapsulated with at least a portion of the leadframe in order to form a SIP similar to the one shown in Fig. 2a of Li et al.
With respect to claim 13, as shown in Fig. 2a, the chip package or component 130 can be wire bonded to the leadframe Therefore, in light of the teaching of Li et al., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that placing the component on the leadframe in the known method of Lin et al. could have comprised wire bonding or clip bonding the component to the leadframe.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,367,654 in view of Lin et al., US 2011/0026232. Both the pending claims and the patented claims are drawn to a method of manufacturing a component comprising the steps of forming a metal pattern, wherein forming the metal pattern comprises forming a seed layer, and forming an under-layer between the seed layer and a substrate of a component or a wafer. However, the pending claims require the under-layer to be a single titanium layer, whereas the patented claims do not require a single titanium layer for the under-layer. Lin et al. disclose a method of forming a metal pattern 130 in which an under-layer 134 of a single titanium layer is formed as an adhesion/barrier layer between a seed layer 132 and a component or a wafer. In light of the teaching of Lin et al., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that a single titanium layer could have been used as the under-layer in the method of the patented claims.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,186,458 in view of Lin et al., US 2011/0026232. Both the pending claims and the patented claims are drawn to a method of manufacturing a component comprising the steps of forming a metal pattern, wherein forming the metal pattern comprises forming a seed layer, and forming an under-layer between the seed layer and a substrate of a component, a substrate of the wafer, or the back surface of the wafer. However, the pending claims require the under-layer to be a single titanium layer, whereas the patented claims do not require a single titanium layer for the under-layer. Lin et al. disclose a method of forming a metal pattern 130 in which an under-layer 134 of a single titanium layer is formed as an adhesion/barrier layer between a seed layer 132 and a component or a wafer. In light of the teaching of Lin et al., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that a single titanium layer could have been used as the under-layer in the method of the patented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claims 1 and 21 have been amended to require ”for each component of the plurality of components, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks”. Amended claims 1 and 21 and their dependent claims have been rejected in this Office action under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b), since Applicant’s originally-filed disclosure fails to provide support for this claim limitation, as set forth in the above rejections.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 21, Applicant has argued that Lin et al. does not show that, for each component of the plurality of components, an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing metal block of the plurality of metal blocks. Applicant argues that individual item 130 of the metal pattern does not cover the entire backside of the component. First, the claims do not set forth what is encompassed by the term “an entire backside” of the component. Admittedly, pending claims are to be read in light of Applicant’s disclosure. In Applicant’s disclosed method, metal pattern 640 covers the backside of wafer 610 except for the regions covered by resist, as shown in Applicant’s 6a. The Examiner has interpreted the claim limitation “an entire backside of the component is covered by a free standing block” as requiring the metal pattern to cover regions of the backside not covered by resist. This interpretation of the claim is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure, since Applicant discloses that the metal pattern covers the entire backside of each component except those regions of the backside covered by resist, as shown in Fig. 6a. Hence, “an entire backside” can be interpreted as those portions of the backside not covered by resist or “an entire backside” of the component corresponds to the backside of the component covered by metal pattern 130..
With respect to independent claims 6 and 14, Applicant has argued that Lin et al. do not show a metal pattern 130 is formed on a second main surface of a contiguous and continuous wafer because only pieces of the wafer are left in the structure of Fig. 80. However, as noted in the above rejection of claims 6-16 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, independent claims are unclear, since Applicant’s method clearly includes a step of removing the wafer to singulate the components, as shown in Fig. 6b of the instant application, and the claim language of both claims 6 and 14 is open-ended and does not preclude the removal of portions of the wafer, as noted in the above rejection.
Applicant’s request that the nonstatutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the claims in the present case are otherwise allowable, at which time Applicant will either address the double patenting rejection or file a Terminal Disclaimer is acknowledged.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
MARY A. WILCZEWSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/MARY A WILCZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898