DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (JP 60-165383), in view of Oyama (US 5,453,173) and in further view of Lin et al. (US 6,679,316).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda discloses a method of electroforming to form a mold [0001] “The present invention…to provide a molding die produced by electroforming” (= a method comprising):
Electroforming to form a copper layer (3) onto a surface having a non-planar shape (page 2 “A copper layer 3 is electrodeposited”) (= using electroforming to deposit a first portion of material that includes a surface having a non-planar shape; Figure 1 depicts the layers such as the copper layer as being non-planar due to the shape of the surface (1) (e.g. stepwise or tiered));
Providing pipe (4) as depicted in Figure 2 (= obtaining a preformed tube comprising multiple capillary pathways and multiple bends, the capillary pathways joined to one another via the multiple bends and including central portions that extend substantially parallel to each other);
Welding a pipe (4) disposed in a serpentine shape alone the rear side of the cavity (1) (Figure 3) (= placing the preformed tube onto the surface of the first portion of material);
Electroforming metal layer (7) (Figure 5) to form heat exchanging device (page 3, “exchanges heat”, page 2 “heat uniformity”) (= using electroforming to deposit a second portion of material over the first portion of material and over the preformed tube to form a heat exchanger);
The pipe (4) forms a portion of a pipe of the heat exchanger.
Regarding the phrase “wherein the preformed tube forms at least a portion of a pulsating heat pipe within the heat exchanger, the pulsating heat pipe configured to transport thermal energy through the heat exchanger”, this phrase does not further limit the claimed method. The phrase does not contain any further method step or material. Any reference to pulsating is directed towards the manner of operating the heat exchanger.
Takeda fails to disclose the claimed bending the preformed tube into the non-planar shape.
In the same or similar field of forming 3D structures through electroforming, Oyama discloses wherein a non-planar surface is covered with a stainless steel mesh network body (6) that has been formed by knitting stainless steel wires (Col. 5 lines 8-12). The network body (6) is deformed (= bending) onto the non-planar surface and thereafter electroforming is carried out to form electroformed coating (11) and an intermediate product (12) (Col. 5 lines 24-36) (Figures 3-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising bending a preformed object such as a tube because Oyama teaches that 3D structures obtained through electroforming can be shaped with a surface and thereafter carry out electroplating to form a 3D structure.
Takeda in view of Oyama fail to disclose wherein non-central portions of the capillary pathways extend from the central portions to the bends separate from one another to provide space for the bends and wherein, within the preformed tube, the multiple capillary pathways extend between a warm end of the heat exchanger and a cool end of the heat exchanger and are configured to generate a self-sustaining oscillatory flow within the multiple capillary pathways.
In the same or similar field of thermal spreaders (e.g. heat exchangers), Lin discloses a thermal spreader including channels (20) arranged boustrophedonically as depicted in Figure 1. The channels include straight portions (22 = central portions) and end turn portions (24 = non-central portions). The distance S is greater than the distance D for producing the optimum operation (Figures 1-2, Col. 3 line 66 – Col. 4 line 12). Lin discloses that the structure provides for a compact design (Col. 1 lines 38-41) and smaller device yet capable of achieving improved thermal spreading (Col. 2 lines 4-6). Lin discloses that the passive thermal spreader is self contained (= self-sustaining) (Col. 1 lines 65-67). Lin further discloses that the liquid is driven along channels from the warmer evaporator section generally designated E (Figure 4) to the cooler condenser section generally designated C (Col 4 lines 60-65).
Figure 4 of US 6,679,316.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising wherein non-central portions of the capillary pathways extend from the central portions to the bends separate from one another to provide space for the bends because Lin discloses a thermal spreader design that is more compact in size yet achieves greater thermal spreading ability by utilizing elongated central parallel portions connected with non-central portions that have a greater distance or spacing leading to the bending portion. Lin discloses the device as self-contained and wherein the pathways extend from a warmer end (E) to a cooler end (C).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda discloses electroplating the copper layer (3) over a cavity formed (cavity 1 and molded portion 2) (= mandrel).
Regarding claim 4, the fill tubes (27) of Lin are located outside of the thermal spreader body (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Takeda discloses wherein the electroplated portions encase all or substantially all of the pipe (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda discloses wherein the heat exchanger has a non-planar shape (see all Figures) which is produced by the electroplated layers.
Regarding claim 7, Oyama discloses the preformed material (i.e. network body) including stainless steel (Col. 5 lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 8, Takeda discloses pipe (4) which is beneath the top portion (= hypodermic) and narrow tubing (= needle tubing). The claimed needle does not require a specific dimension, shape or other limiting element.
Regarding claim 10, Takeda discloses wherein the pipe (4) has a circular cross-sectional shape (Figures 3-5).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (JP 60-165383), in view of Oyama (US 5,453,173), in view of Lin et al. (US 6,679,316) and in further view of Tajiri et al. (US 2022/0282391).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda in view of Oyama and Lin fails to disclose dissolving the mandrel after the heat exchanger is formed.
In the same or similar field of producing heat exchangers using electroforming (title), Tajiri discloses a method comprising a consumable mandrel (58) which defines the shape of the heat exchanger (100) and wherein the mandrel can be removable from the finished electroformed component [0026]. Tajiri teaches removing the consumable material of the mandrel to expose a new inner surface or revealed surface and removal with an etchant [0034].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising dissolving a mandrel after forming the heat exchanger because in a similar method to Takeda in view of Oyama, Tajiri discloses removing a mandrel after heat exchanger production to expose a new inner surface or revealed surface. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Takeda in view of Oyama and Lin in order to expose a surface or reveal a new surface.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (JP 60-165383), in view of Oyama (US 5,453,173), in view of Lin et al. (US 6,679,316) and in further view of Joardar (US 2017/0356700).
Regarding claim 9, Takeda in view of Oyama and Lin fails to disclose bending the heat exchanger to achieve a final shape for the heat exchanger.
In the same or similar field of producing heat exchangers, Joardar discloses that heat exchangers have conventional bent shapes (e.g. 60) to produce coils [0035]. Joardar discloses forming the microchannels prior to bending [0020].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising bending the heat exchanger to achieve a final shape for the heat exchanger because Joardar discloses that bending of a heat exchanger is a conventional process step to produce the desired coil shape. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Takeda in view of Oyama and Lin with a bending step to produce the final product comprised of the desired bent or coiled shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 December 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The Applicant refers to Lin’s channels and states that Lin does not disclose the channels extending between a warm end and a cool end. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lin discloses that the liquid is driven along the channels from the warmer evaporator section (E) to the cooler section (C) as depicted in Figure 4. Lin also describes the device as being self contained as stated above and therefore self-sustaining.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795