DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi (US 2022/0173174).
[claim 8] Hatsumi discloses a display device (fig. 2a, 2b), comprising: a substrate (151, fig. 2a): a plurality of light-emitting units (190, fig. 2a, 2b note that that there are multiple light emitting units 190 and light sensing/receiving units 110 arranged in rows [0136], fig. 2a merely shows a single light emitting unit and light sensing unit in cross section but the pattern is repeated as can be seen 2b which represent varying configurations of the pattern) disposed on the substrate and that emit light; a bank layer (216,214 fig. 2a, note that light emitting units 190 includes pixel electrode 191 [0113] which is partitioned by both 216 and 214 in fig. 2a) disposed on the substrate and that partitions the plurality of light-emitting units; a plurality of light-sensing units (110, fig. 2a, 2b, [0136]) disposed on the substrate and that sense incident light; and a light-shielding layer (158, fig. 2a, [0139]) disposed on the bank layer and that includes a light-shielding opening that overlaps each of the light-sensing units (fig. 2a), wherein the plurality of light-emitting units include a first light-emitting unit (center 190 in fig. 2b) disposed directly adjacent to one side of a light-sensing unit (center 110 in fig. 2b) of the plurality of light-sensing units and a second light-emitting unit (far right 190 in fig. 2b) disposed directly adjacent to an opposite side of the light-sensing unit of the plurality of light-sensing units. Fig. 2a-2b of Hatsumi does not expressly disclose that the light-shielding opening is located closer to the first light-emitting unit than to the second light-emitting unit.
Hatsumi discloses a display device in another embodiment (fig. 13) which shows a pair of light sensors (110, fig. 13) and light emitters (190, fig. 13) separated from other pairs or light sensors/light emitters by a connection portion (204, fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have placed connection portions between paris of light sensors/emitters in order to interconnect the circuits below the sensors/emitters (fig. 13, [0276] of Hatsumi).
With this modification Hatsumi discloses:
[claim 8] the light-shielding opening is located closer to the first light-emitting unit than to the second light-emitting unit (upon modification pairs of light sensor/emitter are separated from neighboring pairs of light sensors/emitters by connection portions, the first light-emitting unit is closer than the second light-emitting unit to the light-shielding opening).
[claim 9] The display device of claim 8, wherein the light-shielding layer includes a first light-emitting opening that overlaps the first light-emitting unit (fig. 2a); and a second light-emitting opening that overlaps the second light-emitting unit (fig. 2a, 2b), and a minimum distance between the first light-emitting opening and the light-shielding opening differs from a minimum distance between the second light-emitting opening and the light- shielding opening (upon modification pairs of light sensor/emitter are separated from neighboring pairs of light sensors/emitters by connection portions, the first light-emitting unit is closer than the second light-emitting unit to the light-shielding opening).
[claim 11] The display device of claim 8, wherein the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit emit a same color light (note that 190 in fig. 2b are the light emitters [0113], the light emitters may be red, green, or blue [0099], for example in fig. 2b, 190 on the bottom left corner could be red, the adjacent 190 could blue and 190 in between 110 could be green, with a repeating RGB configuration in the adjacent combination of 190s to the right.).
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi (US 2022/0173174) in view of Xu (US 2021/0376003).
[claim 1] Hatsumi discloses a display device (fig. 2a,2b, alternatively the configuration of fig. 2c could also be used), comprising: a substrate (151, fig. 2a), a plurality of light-emitting units (190, fig. 2a, 2b, 2c note that that there are multiple light emitting units 190 and light sensing/receiving units 110 arranged in rows [0136], fig. 2a merely shows a single light emitting unit and light sensing unit in cross section but the pattern is repeated as can be seen fig. 2b or 2c which represent varying configurations of the pattern) disposed on the substrate and that emit light; a bank layer (216,214 fig. 2a, note that light emitting units 190 includes pixel electrode 191 [0113] which is partitioned by both 216 and 214 in fig. 2a) disposed on the substrate and that partitions the plurality of light-emitting units, wherein the bank layer has a single layer (216, fig. 2a); a plurality of light-sensing units (110, fig. 2a,2b, 2c, [0136]) disposed on the substrate and that sense incident light; and a light- shielding layer (158, fig. 2a, [0139]) disposed on the bank layer and that includes a light-shielding opening (fig. 2a) that overlaps each of the light-sensing units wherein at least a part of the light-shielding opening overlaps the bank layer (fig. 2a). Hatsumi, however, does not expressly disclose that insulating layer 214 around the transistors 41/42 is a multilayer structure.
Xu discloses a display device wherein the insulating layer (17, 15, 13, fig. 1) around the transistor (transistor of fig. 1 which has gate electrode G1) is a multilayer structure (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have used Xu’s multilayer insulating structure as the insulating 214 in Hatsumi in order to allow for the flexibility additional electrical devices being incorporated into the insulating layer such as a capacitor (see e.g. GT1/GT2 [0086][0087]) as well as to allow for easier patterning of the various electrodes of the transistor and capacitor.
With this modification Hatsumi discloses:
[claim 1] a planarization layer (upon modification the insulating layer 214 would ate least comprise lower planarization layer 15 and an upper layer 17 that would be part of the bank) disposed on the substrate with the bank layer, light-emitting units, and light-sensing units on the planarization layer (upon modification)
[claim 7] The display device of claim 1,further comprising: an emissive layer (193, fig. 2a, [0113]) disposed in each of the light-emitting units; a photoelectric conversion (183, fig. 2a, [0113] layer disposed in each of the light-sensing units; and a common electrode (115, fig. 2a, [0113][0114]) disposed on the emissive layer and the photoelectric conversion layer.
[claim 11] The display device of claim 8, wherein the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit emit a same color light (note that 190 in fig. 2c are the light emitters [0113], the light emitters may be red, green, or blue [0099], the so one of the three 190 light emitters to the left of the center 110 must be red while another of the three 190 light emitters to the right of center 110 must also be red, fig. 2c).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi (US 2022/0173174) in view of Xu (US 2021/0376003).
Hatsumi/Xu discloses the display device of claim 1, not expressly disclose that the light-shielding opening is located closer to the first light-emitting unit than to the second light-emitting unit.
Hatsumi discloses a display device in another embodiment (fig. 13) which shows a pair of light sensors (110, fig. 13) and light emitters (190, fig. 13) separated from other pairs or light sensors/light emitters by a connection portion (204, fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have placed connection portions between paris of light sensors/emitters in order to interconnect the circuits below the sensors/emitters (fig. 13, [0276] of Hatsumi).
With this modification Hatsumi discloses:
[claim 2] The display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light-emitting units includes a first light-emitting unit (center 190 in fig. 2b) disposed adjacent to one side of one of the plurality of light-sensing units (center 110 in fig. 2b), and a second light-emitting unit far right 190 in fig. 2b) disposed adjacent to an opposite side of the one of the plurality of light-sensing units, and the light-shielding opening is located closer to the first light-emitting unit than to the second light-emitting unit (upon modification pairs of light sensor/emitter are separated from neighboring pairs of light sensors/emitters by connection portions, the first light-emitting unit is closer than the second light-emitting unit to the light-shielding opening).
[claim 3] The display device of claim 2, wherein the light-shielding layer further includes a first light-emitting opening that overlaps the first light-emitting unit (fig. 2a); and a second light-emitting opening that overlaps the second light- emitting unit (fig. 2a).
[claim 4] The display device of claim 3, wherein, letting a minimum distance between the first light-emitting opening and the light- shielding opening is defined as a first distance, and a minimum distance between the second light-emitting opening and the light-shielding opening is defined as a second distance, and the first distance differs from the second distance (upon modification pairs of light sensor/emitter are separated from neighboring pairs of light sensors/emitters by connection portions, the first light-emitting unit is closer than the second light-emitting unit to the light-shielding opening).
[claim 5] The display device of claim 4, wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is greater than a distance between a center of one of the light-sensing units and a center of a light-shielding opening that overlaps the one of the light-sensing units (upon modification pairs of light sensor/emitter are separated from neighboring pairs of light sensors/emitters by connection portions, the first light-emitting unit is closer than the second light-emitting unit to the light-shielding opening).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi (US 2022/0173174) in view of Xu (US 2021/0376003).
[claim 13] Hatsumi discloses a display device (fig. 2a,2b, alternatively the configuration of fig. 2c could also be used), comprising: a substrate (151, fig. 2a): a light-emitting element (190, fig. 2a, 2b, 2c note that that there are multiple light emitting units 190 and light sensing/receiving units 110 arranged in rows [0136], fig. 2a merely shows a single light emitting unit and light sensing unit in cross section but the pattern is repeated as can be seen fig. 2b or 2c which represent varying configurations of the pattern) disposed on the substrate and that includes a plurality of light-emitting units (fig. 2a, 2b, 2c) that emit light; a first electrode (electrode of 41 (e.g. source/drain/gate) that connects to pixel electrodes) disposed on the substrate; a bank layer (216,214 fig. 2a, note that light sensing units 110 includes pixel electrode 181 [0113] which is partitioned by both 216 and 214 in fig. 2a, 2b, 2c) disposed on the substrate and that includes an opening that exposes at least a part of the first electrode (fig. 2a), wherein the bank layer has a single layer (216, fig. 2a); a photoelectric conversion layer (183, fig. 2a, 2b, 2c , [0114]) disposed on the first electrode exposed by the opening; and a light-shielding layer (158, fig. 2a) disposed on the photoelectric conversion layer and that includes a first light-shielding opening (fig. 2a), wherein the first light-shielding opening overlaps the bank layer (fig. 2a). Hatsumi, however, does not expressly disclose that insulating layer 214 around the transistors 41/42 is a multilayer structure.
Xu discloses a display device wherein the insulating layer (17, 15, 13, fig. 1) around the transistor (transistor of fig. 1 which has gate electrode G1) is a multilayer structure (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have used Xu’s multilayer insulating structure as the insulating 214 in Hatsumi in order to allow for the flexibility additional electrical devices being incorporated into the insulating layer such as a capacitor (see e.g. GT1/GT2 [0086][0087]) as well as to allow for easier patterning of the various electrodes of the transistor and capacitor.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi (US 2022/0173174) in view of Xu (US 2021/0376003).
Hatsumi/Xu discloses the device of claim 2 but does not expressly disclose that a distance between a center of one of the light-sensing units and a center of a light- shielding opening that overlaps the one of the light-sensing units is at least half a length of the one of the light-sensing units.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the time of filing to have made a distance between a center of one of the light-sensing units and a center of a light- shielding opening that overlaps the one of the light-sensing units is at least half a length of the one of the light-sensing units since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It also been held that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The claimed range is a result-effective variable since the amount of overlap between the light-shield opening and the light-sensing unit affects how much light the light-sensing unit receives.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi (US 2022/0173174) in view of Lee (US 2020/0133414).
Hatsumi discloses the display device of claim 2 but in fig. 2b only discloses a two light sensors 110 and two 190 light emitters in an alternating configuration in a row but does not expressly discloses any further repeating patterns.
Lee discloses a display device wherein at least three or more light emitters (170, fig. 5,4) are in an alternating repeating configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have used Lee’s extended alternating configuration in order to allow for more subpixels/light sensors on a single substrate thereby allowing for device integration.
With this modification Hatsumi discloses:
[claim 10] The display device of claim 8, wherein the first light-emitting unit (170 left, fig. 5, Lee) and the second light-emitting unit (170 right, fig. 5 Lee) are alternately arranged, and each of the light-sensing units (center two FPS, fig. 5, Lee) is disposed between the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit (fig. 5 upon modification).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3-3-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in context of claims 1 and 13, that the prior art does not teach that the bank layer has a single layer. To the contrary, the limitation only requires that the bank layer must comprise a single layer, it does not exclude another single layer being in the bank layer. Applicant must claim that the bank layer has only a single layer in order to overcome the prior art.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMAR MOVVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898