DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 4/2/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 12, 15, and 19 are amended. Thus, claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/2/2026 has been fully considered. Amendments to independent claims 1, 11, and 19, have overcome the previous grounds for rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103, which are now withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 2: the last line recites “reflection pulses that correspond to a high reflectivity surface”, but this limitation of “high reflectivity surface” is already recited in line 8 of claim 1, from which it depends. This can be corrected to --reflection pulses that correspond to the high reflectivity surface--.
Regarding Claim 12: the last line recites “reflection pulses that correspond to a high reflectivity surface”, but this limitation of “high reflectivity surface” is already recited in claim 11, from which it depends. This can be corrected to --reflection pulses that correspond to the high reflectivity surface--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helsloot (US 20210033711 A1), in view of Wang (US 20230194684 A1), further in view of Caron (US 20210223365 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Helsloot discloses a lidar device (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
channels ([0035] a channel = light source + corresponding groups of pixels)
a controller (Fig. 2, system controller 23) wherein the controller is configured to:
cause one or more of the light emitters in the array of channels to emit light pulses ([0057] “the laser sources of the illumination unit 10 are triggered by the system controller 23”),
determine, based on a reflection pulse detected by a first light detector of a first channel in the array of channels, that a high reflectivity surface is present in a surrounding environment (Fig. 3A and 3B showing glare artifact 300; Fig. 4, APD(n) corresponds to a signal that was reflected by retroreflector 40 and represents the actual location of the retroreflector) and a distance between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface (Fig. 4, the distance can be determined from the time of flight, which is recorded as ToF1 on the graph along the time axis);
determine, based on: (i) a position of the first light detector ([0071] and Fig. 4, pixel APD(n) is retro-reflector pixel); (ii) positions of other light detectors within the array of channels ([0071] “Those pixels adjacent to the retro-reflector pixel that experience crosstalk may be referred to as crosstalk pixels or simply neighboring pixels”), and (iii) the distance between the lidar device and the high reflectivity surface, which of the other light detectors within the array of channels are susceptible to crosstalk from the first channel ([0091] detect potential presence of retroreflector defined by firing angle, pixel number, and distance; [0094] and Fig. 6);
identify one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel ([0094] and Fig. 6, APD(n-2) is determined as most likely being a result of crosstalk), wherein the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk are associated with the light detectors susceptible to crosstalk and are identified based on the distance between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface ([0091] detect potential presence of retroreflector defined by firing angle, pixel number, and distance; [0094] and Fig. 6);
and wherein identifying the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the one or more detected pulses are different from the distance to the high-reflectivity surface (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0093] and [0094] because APD(n-2) has a first detection at ToF1 and a second detection at a later time ToF2, the detection at ToF1 is likely an artifact/glare); and
prevent the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel from being included in a dataset usable to generate a point cloud ([0085] “a probability of identifying a crosstalk pixel is increased and steps can be taken by a DSP to mitigate the identified crosstalk event and possibly remove glare artefacts from the point cloud”).
Helsloot does not expressly teach: an array of channels, wherein each channel comprises a light detector and a corresponding light emitter or that identifying pulses representative of crosstalk comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the detected pulses are different from the distance to the high reflectivity surface by at least a threshold difference.
Wang teaches a lidar system that has an array of channels (Fig. 3, with array of channels 302a through 302h, which each have a transmitter to emit an optical signal and a detector to receive a signal. Here, channel 302a is the “active” channel, but this is merely an example. It is understood that any one of the channels is capable of being an “active” channel).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the LDIAR device disclosed by Helsloot, such that the transmitters and receivers are arranged into an array of channels where each transmitter has its corresponding receiver, as taught by Wang. This would be a different design option and “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.” See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (F).
However, this combination does not expressly teach that identifying pulses representative of crosstalk comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the detected pulses are different from the distance to the high reflectivity surface by at least a threshold difference.
Caron teaches a lidar system that identifies crosstalk, wherein the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk are associated with the light detectors susceptible to crosstalk and are identified based on the distance between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface ([0066] there is a first distance threshold. If the measured distance to a highly reflective surface is within the first distance threshold, “it is certain that a crosstalk phenomenon will occur”);
and wherein identifying the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the one or more detected pulses are different from the distance to the high-reflectivity surface ([0075] – [0076] there is a second distance threshold which “corresponds to a distance range in which, if an artefact linked to a crosstalk phenomenon appears, this artefact will necessarily occur within this distance range”. If the distance of separation between the selected point is within the second threshold, then it is likely crosstalk. If the separation distance is greater than the second threshold, it is not identified as crosstalk).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of lidar technologies before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught by Helsloot and Wang, such that it also incorporates the crosstalk detection taught by Caron, where a measurement is identified as crosstalk based on a threshold difference of measured distances. If a distance measurement is within a threshold distance range of the distance to the highly reflective surface, then it is likely crosstalk (For example, see Fig. 6 of the Helsloot reference, where APD(n-2) has a detection at ToF1, which is detected at the same time/distance as the retro reflector). If a distance measurement is outside the threshold distance range (For example, see Fig. 6 of the Helsloot reference, where APD(n-2) has a detection at ToF2, which is at a significant distance away from the retro reflector at distance ToF1), then it is likely not crosstalk. This would be applying the known technique taught by Caron, to a lidar system ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of mitigating the effects of crosstalk.
Regarding Claim 11: Claim 11 is essentially the method version of system claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13: Helsloot, in view of Wang and Caron, teaches the device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Helsloot further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to cause a first light emitter of the first channel to emit a series of light pulses according to a predefined firing sequence ([0075] “the laser may follow a sequential firing pattern such that only a portion of the vertical regions of the field of view is illuminated at a given time. This can be done by only triggering a portion of the light sources at a time, leaving other light sources deactivated. Thus, for each laser beam transmission there exists a group of targeted pixels and non-targeted pixels”), and wherein the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk are identified based on the predefined firing sequence ([0087] “reading out and monitoring untargeted pixels, and flagging TOF hits based on common artefact properties derived from the untargeted pixels”).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16: Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, teach the lidar device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Helsloot further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate the point cloud using detected pulses detected by the light detectors ([0065] “[0065] The system controller 23 includes signal processing circuitry that receives the raw digital data as well as serial data of a differential time between start and ToF hit digital signals generated by an ADC, and uses the received data to calculate time-of-flight information for each field position within the field of view, to generate object data (e.g., point cloud data), and to generate a 3D point cloud”; Figs. 3B and 5, which show the point cloud).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17: Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, teach the lidar device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Helsloot further discloses wherein the high-reflectivity surface comprises a surface of a retroreflective object ([0071] “a light source of illumination unit 10 fires a laser beam that is reflected by a retro-reflector 40”; [0068] “FIG. 3B shows an example of a point cloud of a 1D scanning LIDAR system with the retro-reflector glare artefact 300”).
Regarding Claim 10: Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, teach the lidar device of claim 1. This current combination does not expressly teach wherein determining that the high-reflectivity surface is present in the surrounding environment comprises comparing an intensity of the reflection pulse detected by the first light detector to a threshold intensity.
Caron further teaches this limitation in paragraphs [0068] – [0069], where the light intensity of the selected point is compared against a light intensity threshold.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the lidar device taught by Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, by incorporating the use of a light intensity threshold, further taught by Caron. This additional modification would be applying the known technique of identifying highly reflective objects based on measured intensity and distance, as taught by Caron, to the known device of Helsloot, Wang, and Caron. This would yield the predictable result of being able to identify highly reflective objects in the environment. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding Claim 19: Helsloot discloses a system (Fig. 2, LIDAR scanning system 200) comprising:
a computing device configured to generate a point cloud from a dataset usable to generate the point cloud (Fig. 7, point cloud processing circuit 80; [0117] “the crosstalk processing circuit 70 transmits ToF data and possibly crosstalk information to a point cloud processing circuit 80 that is configured to generate point cloud data based thereon and output a point cloud”); and
a lidar device (Fig. 2, transmitter unit 21 and receiver unit 22) comprising:
channels ([0035] a channel = light source + corresponding groups of pixels)
a controller (Fig. 2, system controller 23) wherein the controller is configured to:
cause one or more of the light emitters in the array of channels to emit light pulses ([0057] “the laser sources of the illumination unit 10 are triggered by the system controller 23”),
determine, based on a reflection pulse detected by a first light detector of a first channel in the array of channels, that a high reflectivity surface is present in a surrounding environment (Fig. 3A and 3B showing glare artifact 300; Fig. 4, APD(n) corresponds to a signal that was reflected by retroreflector 40 and represents the actual location of the retroreflector) and a distance between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface (Fig. 4, the distance can be determined from the time of flight, which is recorded as ToF1 on the graph along the time axis);
determine, based on: (i) a position of the first light detector ([0071] and Fig. 4, pixel APD(n) is retro-reflector pixel); (ii) positions of other light detectors within the array of channels ([0071] “Those pixels adjacent to the retro-reflector pixel that experience crosstalk may be referred to as crosstalk pixels or simply neighboring pixels”), and (iii) the distance between the lidar device and the high reflectivity surface, which of the other light detectors within the array of channels are susceptible to crosstalk from the first channel ([0091] detect potential presence of retroreflector defined by firing angle, pixel number, and distance; [0094] and Fig. 6);
identify one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel ([0094] and Fig. 6, APD(n-2) is determined as most likely being a result of crosstalk), wherein the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk are associated with the light detectors susceptible to crosstalk and are identified based on the distance between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface ([0091] detect potential presence of retroreflector defined by firing angle, pixel number, and distance; [0094] and Fig. 6);
and wherein identifying the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the one or more detected pulses are different from the distance to the high-reflectivity surface (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0093] and [0094] because APD(n-2) has a first detection at ToF1 and a second detection at a later time ToF2, the detection at ToF1 is likely an artifact/glare); and
prevent the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel from being included in a dataset usable to generate a point cloud ([0085] “a probability of identifying a crosstalk pixel is increased and steps can be taken by a DSP to mitigate the identified crosstalk event and possibly remove glare artefacts from the point cloud”).
Helsloot does not expressly teach: an array of channels, wherein each channel comprises a light detector and a corresponding light emitter or that identifying pulses representative of crosstalk comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the detected pulses are different from the distance to the high reflectivity surface by at least a threshold difference.
Wang teaches a lidar system that has an array of channels (Fig. 3, with array of channels 302a through 302h, which each have a transmitter to emit an optical signal and a detector to receive a signal. Here, channel 302a is the “active” channel, but this is merely an example. It is understood that any one of the channels is capable of being an “active” channel).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the LDIAR device disclosed by Helsloot, such that the transmitters and receivers are arranged into an array of channels where each transmitter has its corresponding receiver, as taught by Wang. This would be a different design option and “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.” See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (F).
However, this combination does not expressly teach that identifying pulses representative of crosstalk comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the detected pulses are different from the distance to the high reflectivity surface by at least a threshold difference.
Caron teaches a lidar system that identifies crosstalk, wherein the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk are associated with the light detectors susceptible to crosstalk and are identified based on the distance between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface ([0066] there is a first distance threshold. If the measured distance to a highly reflective surface is within the first distance threshold, “it is certain that a crosstalk phenomenon will occur”);
and wherein identifying the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel comprises determining whether distances to objects in the surrounding environment associated with each of the one or more detected pulses are different from the distance to the high-reflectivity surface ([0075] – [0076] there is a second distance threshold which “corresponds to a distance range in which, if an artefact linked to a crosstalk phenomenon appears, this artefact will necessarily occur within this distance range”. If the distance of separation between the selected point is within the second threshold, then it is likely crosstalk. If the separation distance is greater than the second threshold, it is not identified as crosstalk).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of lidar technologies before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught by Helsloot and Wang, such that it also incorporates the crosstalk detection taught by Caron, where a measurement is identified as crosstalk based on a threshold difference of measured distances. If a distance measurement is within a threshold distance range of the distance to the highly reflective surface, then it is likely crosstalk (For example, see Fig. 6 of the Helsloot reference, where APD(n-2) has a detection at ToF1, which is detected at the same time/distance as the retro reflector). If a distance measurement is outside the threshold distance range (For example, see Fig. 6 of the Helsloot reference, where APD(n-2) has a detection at ToF2, which is at a significant distance away from the retro reflector at distance ToF1), then it is likely not crosstalk. This would be applying the known technique taught by Caron, to a lidar system ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of mitigating the effects of crosstalk.
Regarding Claim 20: Helsloot, in view of Wang and Caron, teaches the system of claim 19. Helsloot further discloses wherein transmitting, to the computing device, the dataset usable to generate the point cloud, comprises transmitting a datastream to the computing device, and wherein preventing the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel from being included in the dataset usable to generate the point cloud comprises removing the one or more detected pulses from the datastream ([0098] “The system controller 23 may compare each probability score to a predefined probability threshold, and discard any TOF hits with a probability score less than the predefined probability threshold. For example, a predefined probability threshold of 50% would result in any TOF hit having a probability score less than 50% be discarded and not reported (output) to the system controller 23.” The probability threshold discussed in this paragraph represents the likelihood that the detected TOF hit is valid, depending on distance, amplitude, and how many hits the pixel has, for example, as described in [0097]).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helsloot (US 20210033711 A1), in view of Wang (US 20230194684 A1), further in view of Caron (US 20210223365 A1), further in view of Ulrich (US 20200096637 A1). Helsloot, in view of Wang and Caron, teaches the device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. In this combination, Helsloot further discloses that there is a plurality of combinations of: (i) distances between the lidar device and the high-reflectivity surface and (ii) light detectors detecting reflection pulses that correspond to a high-reflectivity surface ([0071] based on distance to the retro-reflector, there may be two or more retro-reflector pixels/target pixels APD(n) which correspond to an actual location of the retro-reflector. Fig. 4, the target pixel is APD(n), and the neighboring pixels are labeled APD(n±3), APD(n±2), and APD(n±1), based on their location relative to the target pixel. In the illustration of Fig. 4, the first set of light detectors within a first distance are APD(n±2), and APD(n±1), which experience vertical crosstalk).
They do not expressly teach that the determining which of the other light detectors within the array of channels are susceptible comprises accessing a lookup table, and wherein the lookup table stores a list of detectors that may be susceptible for crosstalk.
However, Ulrich teaches the use of a lookup table to store information about an incident light beam on an array of pixels in paragraph [0073]: “The function
Φ
r
→
describes a phase delay of the incident light spot, which may be caused, for example, by phase crosstalk/signal crosstalk between the pixels. Since this is not necessarily isotropic, it may be necessary to model
Φ
r
→
as a two-dimensional function (e.g., a 2D spline or a 2D lookup table).”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lidar system taught by Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, such that the pixels that are susceptible to crosstalk are stored in a lookup table as taught by Ulrich. There are many ways to store information about which pixels/detectors are susceptible to experiencing crosstalk. Storing this information in the form of a list in a lookup table would just be using a different type of data structure. This variation in data structure is known in the art and would yield the predictable result of storing information that can be accessed. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helsloot (US 20210033711 A1), in view of Wang (US 20230194684 A1), further in view of Caron (US 20210223365 A1), further in view of Zhu (US 20230358866 A1).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14: Helsloot, in view of Wang and Caron, teaches the device of claim 3 and the method of claim 13.
Helsloot further discloses wherein the controller is configured to buffer, within the memory, a series of detected pulses for each light detector susceptible to crosstalk (Fig. 7, DSP line processing 50 and [0112] “The DSP line processing circuit 50 also includes a multiplexer configured to receive targeted pixel information and selectively output detected pulse information to either the targeted scene processing circuit 61 or to the non-targeted scene processing circuit 62 based on the received targeted pixel information”), and the memory has sufficient storage so as to store a number of detected pulses in the series of detected pulses for each light detector susceptible to crosstalk ([0023] “multiple TOF hit times are stored and the counter counts until the end of predefined measurement period, which is defined by a maximum distance to be observed”; Fig. 6, it is seen that for APD(n-2), not only is TOF1 stored, but TOF2 is also stored. According to paragraph [0093], TOF2 corresponds to an object at a further distance and TOF1 is indicative of crosstalk because the detectors show signs of vertical crosstalk and APD(n-2) has a secondary signal).
However, they do not expressly teach: wherein the series of light pulses emitted according to the predefined firing sequence comprises a first predefined number of emission pulses, and when the number of detected pulses is equal to the first predefined number.
Zhu teaches a lidar system where the series of light pulses emitted according to the predefined firing sequence comprises a first predefined number of emission pulses (Fig. 2, where multi-pulse sequences 201, 203, 205, 207, and 209 all have predefined numbers of pulses); wherein the controller comprises a memory, wherein the controller is further configured to buffer within the memory, a series of detected pulses ([0062] “The temporal profile of the measurement signals may be stored in a memory unit and used for identifying legitimate sequence of light pulses”); and wherein the memory has sufficient storage so as to store a number of detected pulses in the series of detected pulses for each light detector when the number of detected pulses is equal to the first predefined number ([0062] “The return signals corresponding to the multi-pulse sequence are shown as signals 303. In some cases, one or more factors (e.g., amplitude, number of pulses) of the temporal profile may be stored and used for determining a legitimate sequence of light pulses. For example, amplitudes, number of pulses in a sequence and the like may be used to determine a match”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system taught by Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, such that there is a predefined number of pulses in the firing sequence and to further configure the memory such that it has sufficient storage to store that same predefined number of pulses, as taught by Zhu. This modification would be beneficial because encoding measurement signals with distinguishable temporal profiles, such as a certain number of pulses, avoids crosstalk. This enables the system to take concurrent measurements while avoiding crosstalk because different channels are encoded with different coding schemes (Zhu, [0030]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15: Helsloot, in view of Wang, Caron, and Zhu, teaches the lidar device of claim 4 and the method of claim 14. Helsloot further discloses wherein preventing the one or more detected pulses that represent crosstalk from the first channel from being included in the dataset usable to generate the point cloud comprises removing, from the memory, those detected pulses buffered within the memory that represent crosstalk ([0098] “The system controller 23 may compare each probability score to a predefined probability threshold, and discard any TOF hits with a probability score less than the predefined probability threshold. For example, a predefined probability threshold of 50% would result in any TOF hit having a probability score less than 50% be discarded and not reported (output) to the system controller 23.” Fig. 7 shows that the targeted pixel information is buffered in the DSP Line processing 50, and according to paragraph [0098], if the measurement is determined to be crosstalk, it will not be outputted).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helsloot (US 20210033711 A1), in view of Wang (US 20230194684 A1), further in view of Caron (US 20210223365 A1), further in view of Zhu (US 20230358866 A1), further in view of Uehara (US 20190391270 A1).
Helsloot, as modified in view of Wang, Caron, and Zhu, teaches the lidar device of claim 4. Helsloot further discloses wherein the controller comprises a FPGA ([0056] The controller may be a FPGA that generates the control signals) communicatively coupled to the memory ([0119] “The implementation can be performed using a digital storage medium, for example a floppy disk, a DVD, a Blue-Ray, a CD, a ROM, a PROM, an EPROM, an EEPROM or a FLASH memory, having electronically readable control signals stored thereon, which cooperate (or are capable of cooperating) with a programmable computer system such that the respective method is performed”; Fig. 7, the controller 23 communicates the processing systems 50, 61, and 62 which store and process information on the detections).
They fail to expressly teach: the memory comprises a RAM.
However, Uehara teaches the use of a memory, which is a RAM, to store information, and which is communicatively coupled to the controller which instructs the lidar device to perform various functions ([0033] “the reflectivity system 170 includes a memory 210 that stores a scanning module 220 and an output module 230. The memory 210 is a random-access memory (RAM)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the lidar device taught by Helsloot, Wang, Caron, and Zhu, by using RAM as the memory as taught by Uehara, instead of the memory employed by Helsloot, which could be a ROM, for example. This would be a simple substitution for one type of memory for another type of memory and would yield predictable results (See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale B).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helsloot (US 20210033711 A1), in view of Wang (US 20230194684 A1), further in view of Caron (US 20210223365 A1), further in view of Zhu2 (US 10983197 B1). Helsloot, in view of Wang and Caron, teaches the device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Helsloot further discloses wherein which of the light detectors within the array of channels are susceptible to crosstalk from the first channel is further based on an emission vector associated with a first emitter of the channel ([0085] “By combining two or more crosstalk indicators and recording the transmission angle, pixel number, and distance, a probability of identifying a crosstalk pixel is increased”; [0107] “the system controller 23 also tracks which pixel column is targeted and which pixel column(s) is not targeted based on the transmission angle of the MEMS mirror 12”).
Helsloot does not expressly teach that it is a pitch angle and a yaw angle that is used.
However, Zhu2 teaches this limitation in Col. 12 line 54 through Col. 13 line 4: “each VCSEL may have an angle (e.g., pitch angle, yaw angle, etc) with respect to the horizontal or vertical direction” and “The dimension and configuration of the emitter array 207 and the emitting optical system 203, 205, and receiving optical system 213 are designed such that the emitter and return paths can be predicted, which means that the yaw and pitch of the lasers and their respective angles are taken into account into the prediction of the return path.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system taught by Helsloot, Wang, and Caron, such that the yaw and pitch angles of the emitted light are both taken into account in predicting the return path of the light as taught by Zhu2. The pitch and yaw angles are two angles that can be used to describe the “transmission angle” disclosed by Helsloot. Because lidar systems are used in the real world where there are only three dimensions, there are only three angles (pitch, yaw, and roll) that can be used to describe a vector, and choosing to use the pitch and yaw angles to define a “transmission angle” would be “obvious to try” with the reasonable expectation of success (See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale E).
Conclusion
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645