Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/01/2026 was entered. By the instant amendment claims 1, 6, 8, 10 and 12 remain in the application. New claim 13 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 06/01/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jacob et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0132805 A1), see below please.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0297714 A1) in view of Cao et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0249363 A1), Toru et al. (JP 2015192803 A), and Jacob et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0132805 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Kondo discloses an X-ray inspection apparatus 1 including a housing 2, support legs 3, conveyance unit 5, X-ray emitter 6, X-ray detector 7, display-operation unit 8, and controller 10 (Kondo [0020]; Figs. 1-4).
Kondo discloses that the housing 2 accommodates conveyance unit 5, X-ray emitter 6, X-ray detector 7, and controller 10, and that the apparatus generates an X-ray transmission image of an article G and performs inspection based on the image (Kondo [0020]-[0021]; Figs. 1-4).
Kondo discloses an X-ray detector 7 including first and second line sensors 11, 12, where the X-ray detector is configured as an X-ray detection unit 70 together with a control board 14 and is accommodated in accommodation unit 9 (Kondo [0024]-[0025]; Figs. 4-5).
Kondo discloses first and second flow passages 61, 62 disposed to face at least part 70a of the X-ray detection unit 70, and discharge fans 66 at the other ends of the flow passages (Kondo [0026]-[0027]; Fig. 5).
Kondo discloses that a cold-air blower 40 draws air, exchanges heat of the drawn air with a heat exchanger, and supplies cooled air through duct 50 into housing 2, and that cold air is guided through branch ducts and flow passages to the X-ray detection unit 70 (Kondo [0030]-[0035]; Figs. 2-5).
Kondo discloses that the cold air flowing through the first and second flow passages takes heat away from the X-ray detection unit 70, suppresses temperature change in the first and second line sensors, and prevents the temperature of the X-ray detection unit 70 from increasing (Kondo [0034]-[0043]; Fig. 5).
Kondo fails to expressly disclose a humidity sensor that monitors humidity inside the housing, that the dehumidifying means that dehumidifies the inside of the housing based on humidity detected by the humidity sensor and controlling the supply of power to the X-ray detection portion / module group based on whether the detected humidity is equal to or lower than, or equal to or higher than, a predetermined value.
Cao teaches a system suitable for X-ray detection comprising a detector and cooling system configured to control temperature of the detector and prevent condensation of water vapor on the detector (Cao Abstract; [0009]).
Cao teaches that the cooling system includes a chiller configured to lower temperature and moisture level of air, and a fan configured to blow cooled and dried air to the detector (Cao Abstract; [0009]).
Cao teaches that the chiller may include a compressor, condenser, evaporator, and expansion valve, and that air passing through the evaporator is cooled and dehumidified due to condensation of moisture on the evaporator, with condensed water drained away in liquid form (Cao [0052]; Fig. 2A).
Cao teaches that the chiller may include a Peltier cooler and heat sink, where air is cooled and dehumidified by condensation of moisture on the heat sink, and the moisture may be drained away (Cao [0053]; Fig. 2B).
Cao further teaches an air-flow control panel configured to adjust the air-flow pattern to achieve effective cooling and dehumidifying, and an additional dehumidifier such as a desiccant dehumidifier configured to further extract moisture before blowing air to the detector (Cao [0054]-[0055]; Figs. 2A-2B).
Toru teaches an X-ray CT detector housing 51 containing an X-ray detector 171, with flow path 63, cooler 65, radiator 67, moisture absorber 69, heater 71, fan 73, temperature measuring device 75, and humidity measuring device 77 in the flow path (Toru [0025]-[0033]; Fig. 3).
Toru teaches that the detector may be operated at a low temperature while reducing condensation, and identifies SiPM/detector temperature dependence and condensation when the detector is cooled below room temperature (Toru [0003]-[0006]).
Toru teaches calculating dew point based on humidity measured by humidity measuring device 77 and controlling cooler 65 so that the housing air does not fall below a set temperature based on dew point (Toru [0037]-[0040]; Figs. 6-7).
Toru teaches monitoring humidity, comparing current humidity to threshold T1, outputting a switching signal when the humidity exceeds threshold T1, and controlling the fan/heater/dehumidifying operation based on that signal (Toru [0041]-[0046]; Fig. 8).
Toru further teaches switching airflow direction and operating a heater to recover/dehumidify moisture absorbers 69, thereby performing humidity-control operation to reduce condensation in the detector housing (Toru [0047]-[0051]; Figs. 9-10).
Jacob teaches that X-ray detectors use scintillator materials and solid-state electronics, that scintillator materials may absorb moisture, and that solid-state electronics may corrode in the presence of moisture, degrading detector/image performance (Jacob [0002]).
Jacob teaches that the resealable detector configuration facilitates addition of getter material, sensors, electrical connectors, and the like within the X-ray detector housing to increase performance and functionality of the X-ray detector (Jacob [0008], [0023]; Fig. 7).
Jacob teaches sensors 820 inside the X-ray detector housing, including a moisture or humidity sensor for detecting moisture intrusion into the housing (Jacob [0064]; Fig. 7).
Jacob teaches that the moisture sensor transmits a digital signal to an X-ray detector controller, and that in response to a moisture level in the housing being greater than a threshold moisture level, the controller may generate an audio and/or visual alarm indication and may reduce or shut off a power supply to the X-ray detector to reduce a risk of degradation to the X-ray detector (Jacob [0064]).
Jacob further teaches transmitting X-ray detector system operating conditions such as temperature, oxygen level, and/or moisture across the detector housing to a controller, determining whether moisture is greater than a threshold moisture condition, and generating an operator indication when the threshold is crossed (Jacob [0070]-[0073]; Fig. 9).
In view of the utility of operating an X-ray inspection apparatus in a controlled-temperature environment while reducing dew condensation and protecting detector electronics, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kondo to include the cooling/dehumidifying teachings of Cao and the humidity-monitoring/dehumidification-control teachings of Toru.
Kondo already recognizes the need to suppress temperature change in the X-ray detector because increased noise under the influence of heat may deteriorate detection accuracy (Kondo [0003]-[0004]). Cao teaches cooled and dried air supplied to the detector to control detector temperature and prevent condensation (Cao [0009], [0052]-[0055]). Toru teaches humidity measurement, dew-point control, threshold T1 comparison, and dehumidification control in an X-ray detector housing to reduce condensation (Toru [0003]-[0006], [0037]-[0051]).
It would further have been obvious to include Jacob’s moisture-threshold-based X-ray detector power protection because Jacob expressly teaches that moisture degrades X-ray detector scintillator/electronics and that, when a moisture/humidity sensor detects moisture above a threshold level, a controller may reduce or shut off power to the X-ray detector to reduce degradation risk (Jacob [0002], [0064]). Applying this known protective interlock to Kondo’s cooled X-ray detection unit, as modified with Cao/Toru dehumidification and humidity monitoring, would predictably protect the X-ray detection portion from moisture/dew-related degradation while permitting normal operation when the detected humidity/moisture condition is not above the threshold.
With regard to claim 12, refer to the rejection of claim 1 with regard to Kondo, Toru and Cao. Specifically, see:
Toru teaches switching between cooling/dehumidification-related control based on detected temperature and humidity, including dew-point based cooler control and humidity-threshold-based fan/heater switching (Toru 0037]-[0046], [0047]-[0051]; Figs. 6-10).
Cao teaches the air conditioner/chiller structure that cools and dehumidifies air supplied to the detector (Cao 0052]-[0055]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0297714 A1), Cao et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0249363 A1), Toru et al. (JP 2015192803 A), and Jacob et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0132805 A1) in view of Moberg et al. (US Patent 7,704,227 B2)
With regard to claim 6, Kondo modified teaches the X-ray inspection apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches the primary X-ray inspection apparatus, including housing 2, X-ray emitter 6, X-ray detector 7, display-operation unit 8, controller 10, cold-air blower 40, and first and second flow passages 61, 62 that guide air to the X-ray detection unit 70 to suppress temperature change. Kondo also teaches that the display-operation unit 8 displays information and receives inputs for conditions. See Kondo [0020–0029], [0030–0038], Figs. 1–5.
Kondo modified does not expressly disclose wherein the control portion further issues an alarm when the humidity monitored by the humidity sensor is equal to or higher than the predetermined value.
Toru teaches humidity-based monitoring and control in an X-ray detector housing. Toru discloses humidity measuring instruments 77 provided in the detector housing 51, an arithmetic processing circuit 85, a humidity-system driving circuit 83, and humidity/dehumidification control based on whether current humidity exceeds threshold value T1. Toru further teaches warning unit 87 and warning signal based on humidity/dehumidification performance. See Toru [0032, 0036–0046, 0052], Figs. 3, 6, and 8.
Moberg teaches the missing alarm limitation. Moberg teaches a humidity sensor coupled to a processor and a memory storing a predetermined humidity threshold. Moberg further teaches that the processor compares a humidity output signal with the predetermined humidity threshold and controls the device based on that comparison. In particular, if the humidity output signal exceeds the predetermined humidity threshold, the processor causes an indicator to provide an alarm or warning to the person about the humidity output signal, including where the threshold corresponds to entry of water into the housing. See Moberg (col. 3–4; Fig. 3).
Moberg teaches a processor, memory, humidity sensor, and predetermined humidity threshold. Moberg teaches that the processor compares a humidity output signal with the predetermined humidity threshold and controls the device based on the humidity comparison (Moberg Fig. 3).
Moberg further teaches that, if the humidity output signal exceeds the predetermined humidity threshold, the processor controls the device by causing an indicator to provide an alarm or warning regarding the humidity output signal or water entry into the housing (Moberg Fig. 3).
In view of the utility, to notify an operator of a high-humidity condition that may cause moisture intrusion, condensation, corrosion, electrical degradation, or failure of detector/control electronics, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the X-ray inspection apparatus of Kondo modified to further include Moberg’s alarm/warning issued when the humidity detected by the humidity sensor is equal to or higher than a predetermined value. Toru already teaches humidity threshold monitoring in an X-ray detector housing and a warning unit associated with humidity/dehumidification performance; Moberg teaches the general control feature of issuing an alarm/warning when humidity exceeds a predetermined humidity threshold. The modification would have predictably informed the operator of a high-humidity condition so that corrective action could be taken before moisture-related failure occurs.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0297714 A1), Cao et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0249363 A1), Toru et al. (JP 2015192803 A), and Jacob et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0132805 A1) in view of Takanashi et al. (US Pub. No. 6,491,428 B1).
With regard to claim 10, Kondo modified teaches the X-ray inspection apparatus of claim 8, and further Kondo teaches an X-ray inspection apparatus 1 including housing 2, X-ray emitter 6, X-ray detector 7, controller 10, cold-air blower 40, duct 50, first and second flow passages 61, 62, and discharge fans 66 for guiding air to the X-ray detection unit 70. Kondo further teaches that the X-ray detection unit 70 includes the first and second line sensors 11, 12 and control board 14, and that cold air supplied by the cold-air blower 40 is guided to the X-ray detection unit 70 to suppress temperature change of the detector. See Kondo [0020–0029], [0030–0038], [0040–0044], Figs. 1–5.
Kondo further teaches that the X-ray emitter 6 includes an X-ray tube immersed in insulating cooling oil in an accommodation unit 6a, with cooling fins and a fan 6c forming an upward air passage along the X-ray emitter structure. See Kondo [0023] and [0036], Figs. 2 and 4.
Kondo does not expressly disclose that a non-condensation module group different from the module group is provided inside the housing, that a temperature sensor monitors a temperature inside the housing, and that the control portion supplies power to the non-condensation module group and then starts operation of a cooling function by the air conditioner when the temperature monitored by the temperature sensor is equal to or higher than a predetermined value.
Cao teaches an X-ray detector cooling system including a chiller and fan for cooling and drying air blown to the detector, including evaporator/Peltier cooling and dehumidification by condensation, and an optional additional desiccant dehumidifier before air is blown to the detector. See Cao [0049–0056], Figs. 1A–3.
Toru teaches temperature and humidity sensors, dew/condensation control, and control circuitry for controlling cooling/dehumidification in an X-ray detector housing, including temperature measuring devices 75, humidity measuring devices 77, and an arithmetic processing circuit 85. See Toru [0027–0040], Figs. 3, 6–7.
Takanashi teaches temperature-based protective control in an X-ray CT apparatus. Takanashi discloses temperature sensors 31/32, radiator controller 33, fan unit 24, radiator air exit 28, and control using lower and upper temperature thresholds. Takanashi teaches that when X-ray tube temperature exceeds an interlock level, power to the X-ray tube unit is stopped, and that when temperature exceeds thresholds, cooling-related components such as radiator air exit and fan unit are activated to improve cooling. See Takanashi col. 5–6, Figs. 7–9.
In view of the utility, to first permit operation/warm-up of X-ray apparatus components that are less susceptible to dew condensation and then activate cooling when the monitored temperature rises to a predetermined value, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kondo’s X-ray inspection apparatus, as cooled/dehumidified according to Cao and Toru, to further include Takanashi’s temperature-threshold-based cooling control. Kondo already teaches an X-ray emitter structure and detector structure within an X-ray inspection apparatus, Cao and Toru teach cooling/dehumidification for X-ray detector environments, and Takanashi teaches controlling cooling-related components based on detected temperature thresholds in an X-ray apparatus. The modification would predictably permit temperature stabilization and then activate cooling when temperature reaches a predetermined value.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 13, Kondo discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose the sequence of performing dehumidification and then resuming supply of power to the X-ray detection portion after humidity is equal to or below the predetermined value.
New claim 13 recites, in substance, that after the dehumidifying function has been performed and the humidity monitored by the humidity sensor is equal to or below the predetermined value, the control portion resumes supply of power to the X-ray detection portion.
The current best art does not clearly teach the complete claimed sequence. Kondo teaches the X-ray inspection apparatus and cooled air to the X-ray detection unit. Cao teaches cooled/dehumidified air and evaporator/Peltier moisture removal. Toru teaches humidity-threshold-based dehumidification and condensation avoidance. Jacob teaches moisture-threshold-based power reduction or shutoff to an X-ray detector. But none of these references clearly teaches, after performing the dehumidifying function, resuming supply of power to the X-ray detection portion when the humidity is equal to or below the predetermined value.
Therefore, claim 13 is considered allowable subject matter if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of the base claim and any intervening limitations.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884