DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1-25
Withdrawn claims:
1-11
Previously canceled claims:
None
Newly canceled claims:
None
Amended claims:
12
New claims:
None
Claims currently under consideration:
12-25
Currently rejected claims:
12-25
Allowed claims:
None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelrod (US 2018/0168127 A1), and further in view of Davison (US 2003/0104020 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Axelrod teaches a method of forming a microporous animal chew (a method of forming a microporous animal chew, [0005]), comprising:
providing a wet rawhide sheet having a thickness in the range of 0.5 millimeters to 4.0 millimeters including water present at 60 % by weight of the total weight of the wet rawhide sheet or greater (providing a wet rawhide sheet including water present, [0005], while wet (water level greater than 60%), thickness is in range of 0.5 mm to 4.0mm, [0018], where both ranges match the respective claimed ranges of “0.5 millimeters to 4.0 millimeters” and “at 60 %...by weight…or greater”);
piercing said wet rawhide sheet with pins and forming micropores in said rawhide sheet (rawhide sheet pierced with pins to form micropores, [0005] where the pins may be hollow, ([0019]), wherein said micropores have a largest linear cross-sectional length in the range of 1 micrometer to 2,000 micrometers (largest linear cross-sectional length in the range of 1 micrometer to 2,000 micrometers, [0005], which matches the claimed range of “1 micrometer to 2,000 micrometers”) and are arranged to provide a pore density in the range of 1 to 100 pores per square centimeter (provide a pore density in the range of 1 to 100 pores per square centimeter, [0005], which matches the claimed range of “1 to 100 pores per square centimeter”);
partially filling said micropores (a support additive may be loaded into the micropores through pins that are hollow and injected upon pore formation; [0023]); and
drying said wet rawhide sheet, wherein said dried rawhide sheet includes 1 to 20 % by weight water of the total weight of the dried rawhide sheet (the rawhide sheet is dried to include includes 1 to 20 % by weight water of the total weight of the rawhide sheet, [0005], which matches the claimed range of “1 to 20 % by weight water”).
Axelrod does not teach filling the hollow pins with chitosan and injecting chitosan into the micropores.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Davison teaches using chitosan on animal chews for oral care in pets ([0168]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of making a rawhide chew as taught by Axelrod with the use of chitosan taught by Davison as the additive that is inserted during pore formation. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Davison teaches that chitosan provides gum and teeth benefits ([0168]). Although Davison teaches applying chitosan to the outside of a pet chew, Axelrod teaches that the micropores extend through the rawhide sheet ([0004]). Therefore, it logically follows that the inside of the micropore can be considered a surface of the rawhide chew. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that filling the micropores of the rawhide chew disclosed by Axelrod with chitosan would bring the chitosan in contact with the animal’s teeth as the animal bites into the rawhide.
Regarding claim 13, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches further comprising removing a portion of water present in said wet rawhide sheet prior to drying (dried or further processed before drying step, [0015]).
Regarding claim 14, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches further comprising stretching said wet rawhide sheet prior to drying (drying occurs under tension [0024], tension in this instance is synonymous with stretching). If the rawhide is dried under tension, it necessarily follows that the rawhide would have been put under tension prior to drying occurring.
Regarding claim 15, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said wet rawhide sheet is provided between a carrier plate and a receiving plate, wherein said carrier plate carries said pins, and piercing said wet rawhide sheet includes forcing said plates together (Fig. 3, carrier plate 306 carries pins 304 and receiving plate 308 is where pins are received, [0021]).
Regarding claim 16, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 15 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said receiving plate includes holes to receive said pins therein (Fig. 3, receiving plate 308 may contain a plurality of holes 310, [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 15 as described above. Axelrod also teaches further comprising compressing said wet rawhide sheet between said plates to remove at least a portion of water present in said wet rawhide sheet (plates may come together and squeeze excess water from hide, [0021]).
Regarding claim 18, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said wet rawhide sheet is fed into calendar rollers, wherein one of said rollers includes said pins and said pins pierce said wet rawhide sheet as said pins bear against a bearing roll (Pins are forced through rawhide utilizing equipment that can provide sufficient pressure to pierce the rawhide; example includes calendaring rolls, [0021]. Fig. 4, calendaring equipment 400 with a series of rolls, one roll is bearing roll 404 and one roll is pin roll 406, [0022]).
Regarding claim 19, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 18 as described above. Axelrod also teaches further comprising compressing said wet rawhide sheet between a squeeze roll and said bearing roll and removing a portion of said water present in said wet rawhide sheet (Fig.4 squeeze roll 410, which is preloaded against the bearing roll 404, may be used to remove excess water, [0022]).
Regarding claim 20, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 19 as described above. Axelrod also teaches further comprising stretching said wet rawhide sheet prior to drying by passing said wet rawhide sheet between tenter rolls (Fig. 4, tenter rolls 412, 414, 416, and 418 to apply tension, [0024]). If the rawhide is dried under tension, it necessarily follows that the rawhide would have been put under tension prior to drying occurring.
Regarding claim 21, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches further comprising filling said micropores with a support additive prior to drying (pores are filled with support additives which are retained in the micropores upon drying, [0026]). If the support additive is retained due to shrinking of rawhide during drying, it necessarily follows that the additives must be applied prior to the drying step.
Regarding claim 22, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said pins pierce said wet rawhide sheet at an angle α relative to a surface of said wet rawhide, wherein α is in the range of 10 to 80 degrees (the angle of micropores may be in the range of 10 to 80 degrees [0024], which matches the claimed range of “in the range of 10 to 80 degrees.”).
Regarding claim 23, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 22 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said micropores exhibit a length that is greater than the thickness of said wet rawhide sheet (Fig. 5, length l greater than thickness t, [0024]).
Regarding claim 24, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said wet rawhide sheet includes a rawhide resin composition (rawhide can be rawhide resin composition, [0016]).
Regarding claim 25, Axelrod as modified by Davison teach all elements of claim 12 as described above. Axelrod also teaches wherein said dried rawhide has a thickness of 0.1 millimeters to 3.0 millimeters (a lower water levels, sheet has a preferred thickness of 0.1 to 3.0 mm [0015], which matches the claimed range of “thickness of 0.1 millimeters to 3.0 millimeters.”).
Double Patenting
Claims 12 – 21, 23 – 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 – 19 & 21 – 23 of copending Application No. 15/843,680 (reference application) in view of Davison et al. (2003/0104020 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 12 – 25 of the instant application are directed to a method of forming a microporous animal chew using rawhide. Claims 10 – 19 & 21 – 23 of the reference application are also drawn to a method of forming a microporous animal chew using rawhide. However, claim 12 of the instant application also includes partially filling the micropores in the rawhide with chitosan. Although the reference application is silent to the use of chitosan on the rawhide, Davison teaches using chitosan on animal chews for oral care in pets ([0168]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of making a rawhide chew as taught by Axelrod with the use of chitosan taught by Davison as the additive that is inserted during pore formation. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Davison teaches that chitosan provides gum and teeth benefits ([0168]). Although Davison teaches applying chitosan to the outside of a pet chew, Axelrod teaches that the micropores extend through the rawhide sheet ([0004]). Therefore, it logically follows that the inside of the micropore can be considered a surface of the rawhide chew. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that filling the micropores of the rawhide chew disclosed by Axelrod with chitosan would bring the chitosan in contact with the animal’s teeth as the animal bites into the rawhide.
Claim 22 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 15/843,680 (reference application) in view of Davison et al. (2003/0104020 A1), as applied to instant claim 12 above, and further in view of Axelrod et al. (US 2018/0168127 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 22 of the instant application is drawn to the method of forming a microporous animal chew using rawhide of claim 12 (for the purposes of examination, claim 22 is assumed to be dependent on claim 12 as stated earlier) with the additional limitation regarding the angle of the micropores. The claims of the reference application are silent to the angle of the micropores; however, Axelrod et al. teaches that the angle of micropores may be in the range of 10 to 80 degrees [0024], which matches the claimed range of “in the range of 10 to 80 degrees.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of making the animal chew using rawhide as taught by the reference application in view of Davison with the specification of the angles of the micropores as taught in the disclosure of Axelrod et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because, as shown in Axelrod et al. [0024], providing the micropores at an angle increases the surface area to volume ratio, which would then make the rawhide chew more easily digestible.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 12-25 over Axelrod and Davison: Applicant’s arguments filed September 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that because Davison discloses that chitosan is applied to the outside of the chew, on of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to fill the micropores with chitosan (Remarks, p. 6, ¶ 4- p. 8, ¶ 1).
This argument has been considered. However, as described in the rejection of claim 12 above, Axelrod teaches that the micropores extend through the rawhide sheet ([0004]). Therefore, it logically follows that the inside of the micropore can be considered a surface of the rawhide chew. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that filling the micropores of the rawhide chew disclosed by Axelrod with chitosan would bring the chitosan in contact with the animal’s teeth as the animal’s teeth puncture the rawhide chew.
The rejections of claims 12-25 have been maintained herein.
Claim Rejections – Double Patenting of claims 12-21 and 23-25 over copending Application no. 15/843,680, claims 10-23 in view of Davison and claim 22 over copending Application no. 15/843,680, claim 10 in view of Davison and Axelrod.
Applicant argued that for the same reasons listed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 arguments, the double patenting rejection of Axelrod in view of Davison is not proper (Remarks, p. 8, ¶ 3-5).
For the same reasons stated above, Axelrod in view of Davison is considered sufficient to render the claimed invention obvious. Therefore, the double patenting rejections of claims 12-25 are maintained herein.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793