DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to response to Notice of appeal filed on 02/04/26.
Summary of claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Claims 12-16 are cancelled.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on February 04 2022 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Randolph Gray (U.S Pat. No. 7619884).
As to claims 1, the prior art teaches a charging device comprising:
a housing (see fig 1, 3, 5 element 102, 302, 502) forming one or more cylindrical cavities that each receive a rechargeable battery (see fig 5 element 528), the one or more cylindrical cavities each having a magnet and an end that includes both a positive terminal and a negative terminal (see fig 1, fig 3, fig 5 col. 3 lines 14 -65 and col. 6 lines 32-52);
a status indicator for one or more of the rechargeable batteries (see fig 5 element 528 col. 6 lines 32 to col. Col. 7 lines 33);
an antenna (see fig 1, 3, 5 element 116, 316, 516 col. 3 lines 28-52 and col. 5 lines 38-67 and col. 6 lines 43-67);
and an induction charging system (see fig 1, 3, 5, 7 col. 1 lines 16-20 and col. 7 lines 60 to col. 8 lines 57)).
As to claim 2, the prior art teaches wherein the positive terminal and the negative terminal are cylindrical and the negative terminal surrounds the positive terminal (see fig 1, fig 3 col. 3 lines 14-26)).
As to claim 3 the prior art teaches wherein the positive terminal and the negative terminal are cylindrical and the positive terminal surrounds the negative terminal (see fig 1, fig3, fig 5 col. 3 lines 14-26 col. 6 lines 32-42).
As to claim 4, the prior art teaches wherein the positive terminal and the negative terminal are separated by an electronically insulative material (see fig 1, fig3, fig 5 col. 3 lines 1-65).
As to claim 5 the prior art teaches wherein the status indicator includes a representation of a battery with a lightning bolt that indicates when the rechargeable battery is charging (see fig 5-6 col. 7 lines 1-65).
As to claim 6 the prior art teaches wherein the status indicator includes one or more lights that each change color to indicate a state of charge of the rechargeable battery or that the rechargeable battery is charged (see fig 5-6 col. 7 lines 26 to col. 8 line 20).
As to claim 7 the prior art teaches wherein the status indicator includes one or more of a progress bar or a light-emitting diode that changes color based on a progress level of the rechargeable battery (see fig 3-6 col. 7 line 50 to col. 8 lines 45).
As to claim 8 the prior art teaches further comprising one or more light pipes that attaches from the rechargeable battery to the housing (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0040-0043).
As to claim 9, the prior art teaches wherein the housing further includes a platform that includes the induction charging system (see fig 1-3 col. 5 lines 50 to col. 6 lines 60)).
As to claim 10 the prior art teaches further comprising a first port that is a power in port and a power-out port and a second port that is a power-out port (see fig 1-3 col. 4 lines 40 to col. 5 lines 50).
As to claim 11, the prior art teaches wherein the antenna includes one or more of a one or more of a radio frequency identification (RFID), Bluetooth (BT), Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), near field communication (NFC), or WiFi for communication with one or more of a user device or a server (see fig 4-7 col. 8 lines 1-65)
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851