Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remark entered on 09/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9 and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 09/25/2025, pages 9-10, regarding the rejection of claim 1, and similarly claims 9 & 16 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered, and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) as outlined below.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Examiner’s previously-cited references do not show the Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations, the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of claims 1, 9 & 16 below, wherein Applicant’s newly-recited limitations are addressed by Park for the reasons as outlined below.
Applicant’s remarks filed 09/25/2025, pages 10-12, with respect to the rejection of claims 3, 5-6, 10-15 & 17-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first relies on the patentability of the claims from which these claims depend to traverse the rejection without prejudice to any further basis for patentability of these claims based on the additional elements recited.
Examiner cannot concur with the Applicant because the combination of Hui and Park teach independent claim 1, 9 & 16 as outlined below. Thus, claims 3, 5-6, 10-15 & 17-20 are also rejected for the similar reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9 & 16, the Applicant amends the claims with the limitations, “dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on the motion information.” However the Examiner has not found any support nor clear explanation for such amendments in the Applicant’s Specification. Therefore claims 1, 9 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement by introducing new matter.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-15 & 17-20 fall accordingly.
Claims 2-3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation "the destinations." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 falls accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 12-14 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Hui discloses a method [Abstract, methods] comprising:
generating, from a first frame in a sequence of frames, encoded frames including a first encoded frame representing a first layer of the first frame and a second encoded frame representing a second layer of the first frame [Paragraph [0092]-[0096], Fig. 6, Base-layer encoder encodes base-layer bitstream that encodes a downscaled version, as an encoded frame, of source video (sequence) frame as first frame based upon the motion vectors determined from comparing the input/source frame 611 as first frame, with reference frame 618 as second frame], the generating being based at least on: determining motion information between the first frame and a second frame in the sequence of frames [Paragraph [0092]-[0096], Fig. 6, In some examples, inter-coding is performed, motion vectors are used. In some other examples, the enhancement-layer encoder 606 references the base-layer encoding result 615 to perform inter-layer prediction]; and
transmitting one or more packets representing the encoded frames to one or more client devices, the one or more packets including first one or more packets representing the first encoded frame and second one or more packets representing the second encoded frame [Paragraph [0002], [0050]-[0054], [0093]-[0106], Fig. 6 & 8-11, Base-layer bitstream and enhancement-layer bitstream are represented by packets and are transmitted to video receivers or receiving sub-system 1120 as one or more client devices].
However, Hui does not explicitly disclose dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on the motion information.
Park teaches of dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on the motion information [Paragraph [0081]-[0099], performing inter-layer prediction and splitting frames/current blocks into regions based upon the combination of at least two predictions of intra prediction (first layer), inter prediction, and inter-layer prediction (motion information)].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the inter-layer prediction techniques in Park as above, for using efficient multi-layer video encoding and decoding methods using a depth block, encoding/decoding efficiency may be improved (Park, Paragraphs [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Hui and Park disclose the method of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Park teaches wherein the dividing is based at least on analyzing respective portions of the motion information that correspond to the first set of regions and the second set of regions [Paragraph [0081]-[0099], performing inter-layer prediction and splitting frames into regions based upon the combination of combination of at least two predictions of intra prediction, inter prediction, and inter-layer prediction].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the inter-layer prediction techniques in Park as above, for using efficient multi-layer video encoding and decoding methods using a depth block, encoding/decoding efficiency may be improved (Park, Paragraphs [0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Hui discloses a system [Paragraph [0004], electronic or computer system] comprising:
one or more processing units to execute operations [Paragraph [0035], laptop, as processing unit] comprising:
receiving, in a video stream and using one or more client devices [Paragraph [0036] & [0047]-[0050], Fig. 3, video receiver 150 or video receiver box as client device, connected to television], at least a portion of one or more packets representing one or more encoded frames [Paragraph [0047]-[0050] & [0139], packet regenerator 1122 receives one or more low-level packets or bitstream packets], of a plurality of encoded frames that include a first encoded frame representing a first layer of a first frame in a sequence of frames and a second encoded frame representing a second layer of the first frame [Paragraph [0092]-[0096], Fig. 6, Base-layer encoder encodes base-layer bitstream that encodes a downscaled version, as an encoded frame, of source video (sequence) frame as first frame based upon the motion vectors determined from comparing the input/source frame 611 as first frame, with reference frame 618 as second frame],
wherein the one or more packets include first one or more packets representing the first encoded frame and second one or more packets representing the second encoded frame [Paragraph [0002], [0050]-[0054], [0093]-[0106], Fig. 6 & 8-11, Base-layer bitstream and enhancement-layer bitstream are represented by packets and are transmitted to video receivers or receiving sub-system 1120 as one or more client devices], and
decoding the one or more encoded frames using the at least a portion of the one or more packets to generate a decoded version of the first frame; and displaying one or more images corresponding to the decoded version of the first frame [Paragraph [0047]-[0050], Fig. 3, video decoder 354 decodes plural layers of bitstream packets to generate decoded video data, and output the decoded video 364 for displaying].
However, Hui does not explicitly disclose the first plurality of encoded frames are generated based at least on: dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on motion information between the first frame and a second frame in the sequence of frames.
Park teaches the first plurality of encoded frames are generated based at least on: dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on motion information between the first frame and a second frame in the sequence of frames [Paragraph [0081]-[0099], performing inter-layer prediction and splitting frames into regions based upon the combination of combination of at least two predictions of intra prediction, inter prediction, and inter-layer prediction].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the inter-layer prediction techniques in Park as above, for using efficient multi-layer video encoding and decoding methods using a depth block, encoding/decoding efficiency may be improved (Park, Paragraphs [0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Hui and Park disclose the system of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Hui discloses wherein the first encoded frame corresponds at least in part to a motion-compensated version of the first frame [Paragraph [0081] & [0094]-[0104], motion compensation module 708 performing motion compensation to predict pixels as motion-compensated first frame, and combining in combiner 720 with residuals 714, formed from decoder 702/704].
Regarding claim 13, Hui and Park disclose the system of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Hui discloses wherein the second encoded frame corresponds at least in part to a residual associated with the first encoded frame [Paragraph [0081] & [0092]-[0104], decoded frame 721 as including residual associated with first encoded frame, is used for motion compensation for next frame, as second encoded frame, in inter-prediction with predicted pixels].
Regarding claim 14, Hui and Park discloses the system of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Hui discloses wherein the receiving is based at least on a pacing delay that is included between the one or more first packets and the one or more second packets [Paragraph [0029], [0038]-[0049], [0105]-[0111], As an example, the video receiver controls timing and synchronization, as pacing delay, of its vertical synchronization (vsync) signal of a video output interface based on the estimated vsync timing of a source video input interface, thereby reducing display latency].
Regarding claim 16, processor claim 16 is drawn to the processor using/ performing the same method as claimed in claim 1. Therefore processor claim 16 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same rationale as used above.
Furthermore, Hui discloses of at least one processor comprising: one or more circuits [Paragraph [0035], Fig. 1, Laptop, as processor, containing CPU as circuit].
Regarding claim 17, Hui and Park disclose the processor of claim 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Hui discloses wherein the second encoded frame corresponds to a residual associated with the first encoded frame and the first frame [Paragraph [0081] & [0092]-[0104], decoded frame 721 as including residual associated with first encoded frame, is used for motion compensation for next frame, as second encoded frame, in inter-prediction with predicted pixels].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0073126 A1) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Hui and Park disclose the method of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui and Park do not disclose the particulars of claim 2.
Zhang teaches wherein the dividing of the destinations includes comparing a cost of encoding one or more macroblocks of a region corresponding to the first frame to a threshold value, wherein when the cost exceeds the threshold value, the first layer is selected as a destination for the region, and when the cost fails to exceed the threshold value, the second layer is selected as the destination for the region [Paragraph [0042] & [0049]-[0059], the determination of whether to apply inter-layer residual prediction to the enhancement layer block may be additionally based on whether an associated rate-distortion cost exceeds a threshold. In such embodiments, the one or more other criteria may be applied at 304 in order to determine whether to apply inter-layer residual prediction to the enhancement layer block. If it is determined that inter-layer residual prediction is not to be applied to the enhancement layer block, the logic flow may end. If it is determined that inter-layer residual prediction is to be applied to the enhancement layer block, flow may pass to 306.].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the encoding practices in Zhang as above, to include criteria to determine whether to encode in interlayer or motion inter-prediction for cost-efficient encoding practices (Zhang, Paragraphs [0042]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui), Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park), and Zhang et al. (US 2016/0073126 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0128954 A1) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Hui, Park, and Zhang disclose the method of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui, Park, and Zhang do not disclose the particulars of claim 3.
Kim teaches wherein the threshold value is computed based at least on a mean cost of encoding a plurality of macroblocks corresponding to the first frame [Paragraph [0074]-[0075] & [0089]-[0092], If the calculated encoding cost of the current coding unit or the current prediction unit is greater than the average encoding cost of the reference units or the encoding cost of the higher unit].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the encoding cost comparisons in Kim as above, reducing complexity based on a scheme of determining whether to perform a predictive coding process with respect to a unit desired to be currently encoded through a reference coding unit by using statistical characteristics and encoding information of images (Kim, Paragraphs [0007]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Ellison (US 2019/0164293 A1) (hereinafter Ellison).
Regarding claim 4, Hui and Park disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore Park teaches of at least on de-quantizing the one or more macroblocks using one or more block sizes [Paragraph [0438]-[0448], inverse quantizing blocks of video data within slices using various partitioning/TU/block sizes].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the inter-layer prediction techniques in Park as above, for using efficient multi-layer video encoding and decoding methods using a depth block, encoding/decoding efficiency may be improved (Park, Paragraphs [0007]).
However, Hui and Park do not disclose estimating entropy of one or more macroblocks of a region corresponding to the first frame, and the dividing is based at least on the entropy.
Ellison teaches estimating entropy of one or more macroblocks of a region corresponding to the first frame, and the dividing is based at least on the entropy [Paragraph [0068], The threshold filter function of thresholding logic 226 may aid in partitioning the image into a foreground and background. The thresholding of thresholding logic 226 may be based on a particular reduction of the colors in the image. Thresholding logic 226 may choose the threshold based on color, hue, or brightness level that divides between, colors, hues or brightnesses that are associated with different levels of entropy (e.g., perhaps pixels having a brightness of above 200 are associated with regions having more entropy than those below the threshold and so the binary image is formed with the threshold set a brightness of 200)].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the image thresholding functions in Ellison as above, to apply various image processing filters to identify contiguities in an image (Ellison, Paragraphs [0033]).
Claims 5 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) in view of Caramma (US 2019/0007069 A1) (hereinafter Caramma).
Regarding claim 5, Hui discloses the method of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui does not disclose the particulars of claim 5.
Caramma teaches wherein the first encoded frame is transmitted to the one or more client devices using more error correction data than the second encoded frame [Paragraph [0105], Unequal levels of protection can also be applied to different ones of the streams through selection of the number of fragments used for each of the packets of a given stream. For example, long term reference frames, a stream of a burst of speech audio, a stream of a discontinuation of speech audio, or other important packets may be given a greater level of error correction (e.g., protection) than less important packets, such as disposable frames.].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the error correction techniques in Caramma as above, thereby improving FEC efficiency (e.g., reducing FEC redundancy, etc.) (Caramma, Paragraphs [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Hui discloses the system of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui does not disclose the particulars of claim 10.
Caramma teaches wherein the first encoded frame is transmitted to the one or more client devices using more error correction data than the second encoded frame [Paragraph [0105], Unequal levels of protection can also be applied to different ones of the streams through selection of the number of fragments used for each of the packets of a given stream. For example, long term reference frames, a stream of a burst of speech audio, a stream of a discontinuation of speech audio, or other important packets may be given a greater level of error correction (e.g., protection) than less important packets, such as disposable frames.].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the error correction techniques in Caramma as above, thereby improving FEC efficiency (e.g., reducing FEC redundancy, etc.) (Caramma, Paragraphs [0026]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Mironov et al. (US 2021/0185334 A1) (hereinafter Mironov).
Regarding claim 6, Hui and Park discloses the method of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However Hui and Park do not disclose the particulars of claim 6.
Mironov teaches wherein the first encoded frame is transmitted to at least one client device of the one or more client devices before the second encoded frame completely encoded [Paragraphs [0030], [0033]-[0035], Fig. 4, Once encoding of the right-eye portion, as second encoded frame, is complete and the encoded left-eye portion, as first encoded frame has been sent to mobile device 404, the encoded right-eye portion is sent over the network to mobile device 404 in step 445, and at every VSync signal period, wherein a frame is encoded(generated), transmitted, and received].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the transmission techniques in Mironov as above, helping to reduce the latency when transmitting data over a network (Novotny, Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Lockhart (US 2017/0200315 A1) (hereinafter Lockhart).
Regarding claim 7, Hui and Park disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui and Park do not explicitly disclose the particulars of claim 7.
Lockhart teaches wherein the dividing is based at least on analyzing respective portions of the motion information that correspond to the first set of regions and the second set of regions [Paragraph [0043], The background subtraction module 435 may use a frame differencing motion detection algorithm to separate the foreground from the background. For example, each frame of the video data signal 495 from the first video camera 405 may be classified by pixel to identify whether the pixel is foreground or background)].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the motion detection functions in Lockhart as above, for reducing the bandwidth required for transmitting and receiving live stream broadcasts of virtual content for display on VR and AR systems is necessary (Lockhart, Paragraphs [0006]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2014/0218473 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela2).
Regarding claim 8, Hui and Park disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui and Park do not explicitly disclose the particulars of claim 8.
Hannuksela2 teaches wherein dividing includes generating a mask having first pixel values identifying the first layer for the first set of regions and second pixels identifying the second layer for the second set of regions [Paragraph [0483], The indication may for example be an index value among the indexed directed reference layers or the indication may be a bit mask including direct reference layers, where a position in the mask indicates the direct reference layer and a bit value in the mask indicates whether or not the layer is used as a reference for diagonal inter-layer prediction].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the layer bit mask in Hannuksela2 as above, to enable reduction of the decoded picture buffer (DPB) memory used for enhancement layer(s) in scalable video coding while improving the compression efficiency. Also compression efficiency may be improved and peak bitrate, complexity, and memory usage in adaptive resolution change utilizing scalable video coding tools may be reduced. (Hannuksela2, Paragraphs [0044]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Perlman et al. (US 2010/0166068 A1) (hereinafter Perlman).
Regarding claim 11, Hui and Park discloses the system of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui and Park do not disclose the particulars of claim 11.
Perlman teaches wherein at least a portion of the second encoded frame is dropped from the video stream [Paragraph [0385], If a newly-generated tile/frame also is lost due to dropped packets (even if FEC is used), then in one embodiment when hosting service 210 is notified by client 415 that a second newly encoded tile/frame is dropped].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the bandwidth management in Perlman as above, for the continuous receipt of feedback data related to dropped packets and/or latency allow the hosting service to dynamically adjust the data rate based on current channel conditions (Perlman, Paragraphs [0384]-[0385]).
Claim 15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2020/0288171 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela) in view of Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 15, Hannuksela discloses a system [Paragraph [0003], video coding system] comprising:
one or more processing units to execute operations [Paragraph [0180], [0192], Fig. 8b, decoder/processor] comprising:
receiving, in a video stream and using one or more client devices [Paragraph [0180]-[0181], [0192], Fig. 8b, decoder/processor], at least a portion of one or more packets representing one or more encoded frames of a plurality of encoded frames [Paragraph [0313]-[0316], packet stream];
decoding the one or more encoded frames [Paragraph [0173]-[0179], base layer images to be encoded at inter-predictor 306, with encoded prediction error of first frame of sequence of frames from entropy encoder 330] using the at least a portion of the one or more packets to generate a decoded version of the first frame [Paragraph [0181]-[0183], video decoder 550 decodes base layer pictures to reconstruct and filter base layer pictures for output]; and
displaying one or more images corresponding to the decoded version of the first frame [Paragraph [0143]-[0145], The decoder or a post-processing operation after decoding may extract the decoded constituent frames from the decoded picture(s) e.g. for displaying],
wherein the system is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing synthetic data generation operations; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system including a collaborative creation platform for three-dimensional (3D) content; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources [Paragraph [0083], For example, the invention may be applicable to video coding systems as well as network elements such as transcoders and cloud computing arrangements where video data is handled, and Paragraph [0143], More than two parallel views may be needed for applications which enable viewpoint switching or for autostereoscopic displays which may present a large number of views simultaneously].
However, Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose the plurality of encoded frames that include a first encoded frame representing a first layer of a first frame in a sequence of frames and a second encoded frame representing a second layer of the first frame [Paragraph [0092]-[0096], Fig. 6, Base-layer encoder encodes base-layer bitstream that encodes a downscaled version, as an encoded frame, of source video (sequence) frame as first frame based upon the motion vectors determined from comparing the input/source frame 611 as first frame, with reference frame 618 as second frame],
wherein the one or more packets include first one or more packets representing the first encoded frame and second one or more packets representing the second encoded frame [Paragraph [0002], [0050]-[0054], [0093]-[0106], Fig. 6 & 8-11, Base-layer bitstream and enhancement-layer bitstream are represented by packets and are transmitted to video receivers or receiving sub-system 1120 as one or more client devices].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hannuksela to incorporate and implement the video streaming schemes in Hui as above, to improve performance for video streaming in various aspects to achieve improved performance, such as improved latency, reliability, robustness, and picture quality (Hui, Paragraphs [0024]).
However, Hannuksela and Hui do not explicitly disclose of the first plurality of encoded frames are generated based at least on: dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on motion information between the first frame and a second frame in the sequence of frames.
Park teaches the first plurality of encoded frames are generated based at least on: dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on motion information between the first frame and a second frame in the sequence of frames [Paragraph [0081]-[0099], performing inter-layer prediction and splitting frames/current blocks into regions based upon the combination of at least two predictions of intra prediction (first layer), inter prediction, and inter-layer prediction (motion information)].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hannuksela to incorporate and implement the inter-layer prediction techniques in Park as above, for using efficient multi-layer video encoding and decoding methods using a depth block, encoding/decoding efficiency may be improved (Park, Paragraphs [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, Hannuksela discloses at least one processor [Paragraph [0180], [0192], Fig. 8b, decoder/processor] comprising:
one or more circuits [Paragraph [0180], [0192], Fig. 8b, decoder/processor as circuits] to:
generate, from a first frame in a sequence of frames, encoded frames [Paragraph [0173]-[0179], base layer images to be encoded at inter-predictor 306, with encoded prediction error of first frame of sequence of frames from entropy encoder 330], the generating being based at least on:
determining motion information between the first frame and a second frame in the sequence of frames [Paragraph [0173]-[0179], base layer images to be encoded at inter-predictor 306, with encoded prediction error of first frame of sequence of frames from entropy encoder 330]; and
transmit one or more packets representing the encoded frames to one or more client devices, the one or more packets including first one or more packets [Paragraph [0313]-[0316], packet stream] representing the first encoded frame and second one or more packets representing the second encoded frame,
wherein the processor is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system for performing synthetic data generation operations; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system including a collaborative creation platform for three-dimensional (3D) content; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources [Paragraph [0083], For example, the invention may be applicable to video coding systems as well as network elements such as transcoders and cloud computing arrangements where video data is handled, and Paragraph [0143], More than two parallel views may be needed for applications which enable viewpoint switching or for autostereoscopic displays which may present a large number of views simultaneously].
However, Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose of the encoded frames including a first encoded frame representing a first layer of the first frame and a second encoded frame representing a second layer of the first frame.
Hui teaches of the encoded frames including a first encoded frame representing a first layer of the first frame and a second encoded frame representing a second layer of the first frame [Paragraph [0092]-[0096], Fig. 6, Base-layer encoder encodes base-layer bitstream that encodes a downscaled version, as an encoded frame, of source video (sequence) frame as first frame based upon the motion vectors determined from comparing the input/source frame 611 as first frame, with reference frame 618 as second frame].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by Hannuksela to incorporate and implement the video streaming schemes in Hui as above, to improve performance for video streaming in various aspects to achieve improved performance, such as improved latency, reliability, robustness, and picture quality (Hui, Paragraphs [0024]).
However, neither Hannuksela nor Hui teach or suggest dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on the motion information.
Park teaches dividing the first frame into a first set of regions encoded to the first layer and a second set of regions encoded to the second layer based at least on the motion information [Paragraph [0081]-[0099], performing inter-layer prediction and splitting frames into regions based upon the combination of combination of at least two predictions of intra prediction, inter prediction, and inter-layer prediction].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by Hannuksela to incorporate and implement the inter-layer prediction techniques in Park as above, for using efficient multi-layer video encoding and decoding methods using a depth block, encoding/decoding efficiency may be improved (Park, Paragraphs [0007]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui) and Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Vanam et al. (US 2020/0267381 A1) (hereinafter Vanam).
Regarding claim 18, Hui discloses the processor of claim 16, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui and Park do not disclose the particulars of claim 18.
Vanam teaches wherein the one or more circuits are to: determine a cost of encoding one or more macroblocks corresponding to the first frame exceeds a threshold value; and include data corresponding to the one or more macroblocks in a first encoded sub-frame of the one or more encoded sub-frames based at least on the cost exceeding the threshold value [Paragraph [0102], Fig. 11, The encoder may compute the associated RD cost (RD.sub.skipA). The bias factor β may be determined (e.g., chosen) with a value greater than or equal to one. The bias factor β may be multiplied with RD.sub.orig. The product of multiplying bias factor β with RD.sub.orig, as cost of encoding, may be compared with the associated RD cost RD.sub.skipA as threshold value. If the product is greater than the associated RD cost RD.sub.SkipA, a flag (e.g., alf_skip_flag) may have a value of one in the bitstream].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the encoding cost comparisons in Vanam as above, as a less computationally complex method to determine skipping of filtering, thus reducing computational complexity (Vanam, Paragraphs [0012]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0322691 A1) (hereinafter Hui), Park et al. (US 2018/0176599 A1) (hereinafter Park) and Vanam et al. (US 2020/0267381 A1) (hereinafter Vanam) in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0128954 A1) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 19, Hui, Park, and Vanam disclose the processor of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Hui, Park, and Vanam do not disclose the particulars of claim 19.
Kim teaches wherein the threshold value is computed based at least on a mean cost of encoding a plurality of macroblocks corresponding to the first frame [Paragraph [0074]-[0075] & [0089]-[0092], If the calculated encoding cost of the current coding unit or the current prediction unit is greater than the average encoding cost of the reference units or the encoding cost of the higher unit].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hui to incorporate and implement the encoding cost comparisons in Kim as above, reducing complexity based on a scheme of determining whether to perform a predictive coding process with respect to a unit desired to be currently encoded through a reference coding unit by using statistical characteristics and encoding information of images (Kim, Paragraphs [0007]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487