DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 9 and 10 were previously canceled.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,736. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and patented claims are directed to resist compositions comprising sulfonium salts having phenyl-substituted phenyl via a linking group. Formula (I) of ‘736 when defined as: R1, R2 and R3 each independently represent *—O—R10, * —O—CO—O—R10 or *—O-L10-CO—O—R10, and * represents a bonding site to the benzene ring, L10 represents an alkanediyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, R10 represents an acid-labile group, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8 and R9 each independently represent a halogen atom, a haloalkyl group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms or a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms, the hydrocarbon group may have a substituent, and —CH2— included in the haloalkyl group and the hydrocarbon group may be replaced by —O—, —S—, —CO— or —SO2—, A1, A2 and A3 each independently represent a hydrocarbon group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, the hydrocarbon group may have a substituent, and —CH2— included in the hydrocarbon group is replaced by —O— or —S—, m1 represents an integer of 1 to 5, m2 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m3 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m4 represents an integer of 0 to 4, m5 represents an integer of 0 to 4, m6 represents an integer of 0 to 4, m7 represents an integer of 0 to 4, m8 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m9 represents an integer of 0 to 5, in which 1≤m1+m7≤5, 0≤m2+m8≤5, 0≤m3+m9≤5, and AI- is a sulfonic acid anion represented by formula (I-A) encompasses formula (I) of instant claim 1 when R4 is an iodine atom, R5, R6, R7, R8 and R9 each independently represent an alkyl hydrocarbon group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms, the hydrocarbon group may have a substituent, and —CH2— included in the haloalkyl group and the hydrocarbon group may be replaced by —O— or —CO—, A1, A2, and A3 represent *-X01-L01-, *-X02-L02-, and *-X03-L03- respectively when X01, X02, and X03 are -O- or -S- and L01, L02, and L03 are chain hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 6 carbon atoms, m1 represents an integer of 1 to 5, m2 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m3 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m4 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m5 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m6 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m7 represents an integer of 0 to 4, m8 represents an integer of 0 to 5, m9 represents an integer of 0 to 5, in which 1≤m1+m7≤5, 0≤m2+m8≤5, 0≤m3+m9≤5, and AI− is a sulfonic acid anion represented by formula (I-A). Claims 12-15 of ‘736 encompass instant claims 11-14 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et laal. (U.S. 2020/0089111).
Hatakeyama et al. teaches a resist composition comprising a base polymer and an acid generator containing a sulfonium salt having an iodized benzene ring [abstract] (claim 1) where the resist composition is of positive tone, the resist composition comprises a base polymer comprising recurring units containing an acid labile group, preferably recurring units having the formula (a1) or recurring units having the formula (a2) [0066] (claim 1) and a specific example of the base polymer includes the following polymer 1 used in the examples:
[0138] which is equivalent to a resin having an acid-labile group of instant claim 1 including a structural unit represented by formula (a1-2) of instant claim 11 when Ra5 is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, La2 is -O-, Ra7 is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, n1’ is 0, and n1 is 0; and a structural unit represented by formula (a2-A) of instant claim 12 when Ra50 is a hydrogen atom, Aa50 is a single bond, and mb is 0 respectively. Hatakeyama et al. also teaches wherein the sulfonium salt in the resist composition has the following formula (1):
[0013] wherein r is an integer of 1 to 3, R5 is a C1-C20 monovalent hydrocarbon group which may contain a heteroatom, in case of r=1, two R5 may be the same or different and may bond together to form a ring with the sulfur atom to which they are attached, q is an integer or 0 to 4, R4 can be fluorine, iodine, or a C1-4 monovalent hydrocarbon group, p can be 0, L2 and L3 can be single bonds, R1 can be a single bond, R2 can be a C1 divalent aliphatic hydrocarbon group, L1 can be an ether bond, n is an integer of 0 to 3, m is an integer of 1 to 5, and X- is a non-nucleophilic counter ion [0013] which is typically a fluorinated sulfonate, fluorinated imide or fluorinated methide ion [0014], examples include fluoroalkylsulfonate ions such nonafluorobutanesulfonate [0058-0060] which is equivalent to a salt represented by formula (I) of instant claims 1-6 when m1 is 1, m2 and m3 are 0 or 1, A1, A2, and A3 are *-L01-X01-, *-L02-X02-, and *-L03-X02- respectively where L01 to L03 are (chain) alkanediyl groups having 1 carbon atom and X01 to X03 are -O-, m4, m5, and m6 are 1 to 5 where R4, R5, and R6 are iodine atoms, m7, m8, and m9 are 0 to 4 where R7, R8, and R9 are fluorine atoms, iodine atoms, or alkyl groups having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, and AI- is a sulfonic acid anion of instant claim 7, specifically a sulfonic acid anion represented by formula (I-A) of instant claim 8 when Q1 and Q2 are fluorine atoms, L1 is a saturated hydrocarbon group having 2 carbon atoms in which all the hydrogen atoms are substituted with fluorine atoms, and Y1 is a methyl group having substituents (fluorine atoms). Hatakeyama et al. further teaches examples of the cation in the sulfonium salt having formula (1) are given [below], but not limited thereto [0063] and examples of the invention are given [below] by way of illustration and not by way of limitation [0135], although some preferred embodiments have been described, many modifications and variations may be made thereto in light of the above teachings. It is therefore to be understood that the invention may be practiced otherwise than as specifically described without departing from the scope of the appended claims [0152]. Hatakeyama et al. also teaches an object of the invention is to provide a resist composition which achieves a high sensitivity, minimal LWR and improved CDU independent of whether it is of positive or negative tone, and a pattern forming process using the resist composition [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make additional compositions comprising additional salts such as the above defined compounds and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve high sensitivity, minimal LWR, and improved CDU.
With regard to claim 13, Hatakeyama et al. teaches in the resist composition, a quencher may be blended [0102], onium salts such as sulfonium salts, iodonium salts and ammonium salts of sulfonic acids which are not fluorinated at α-position as described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,795,942 (JP-A 2008-158339) and similar onium salts of carboxylic acid may also be used as the quencher. While an α-fluorinated sulfonic acid, imide acid, and methide acid are necessary to deprotect the acid labile group of carboxylic acid ester, an α-non-fluorinated sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid is released by salt exchange with an α-non-fluorinated onium salt. An α-non-fluorinated sulfonic acid and a carboxylic acid function as a quencher because they do not induce deprotection reaction [0103] and examples of the quencher include a compound (onium salt of α-non-fluorinated sulfonic acid) having the formula (2) and a compound (onium salt of carboxylic acid) having the formula (3) [0104] wherein formula (3) is the following:
[0104] where R102 can be an adamantyl group substituted with a carbonyl group [0105-0106] which is equivalent to a salt generating an acid having an acidity lower than that of an acid generated from the acid generator of instant claim 13. Hatakeyama et al. also teaches examples of the invention are given below by way of illustration and not by way of limitation [0135], although some preferred embodiments have been described, many modifications and variations may be made thereto in light of the above teachings. It is therefore to be understood that the invention may be practiced otherwise than as specifically described without departing from the scope of the appended claims [0152], and an object of the invention is to provide a resist composition which achieves a high sensitivity, minimal LWR and improved CDU independent of whether it is of positive or negative tone, and a pattern forming process using the resist composition [0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make additional compositions comprising the above compounds and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve high sensitivity, minimal LWR, and improved CDU.
With regard to claim 14, Hatakeyama et al. teaches pattern formation using the resist composition may be performed by well-known lithography processes. The process generally involves coating, prebaking, exposure, and development. If necessary, any additional steps may be added [0126], e.g. after the exposure, the resist film may be baked (PEB) on a hotplate at 60 to 150° C for 10 seconds to 30 minutes, preferably at 80 to 120° C for 30 seconds to 20 minutes [0129].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues regarding the 103 rejection over Hatakeyama, the evidence provided in the specification was presented to show the unexpected results due to the specified A1 in formula (I). Therefore, the comparison should be made between the compounds having the same structures except for A1 and is improper to compare the results obtained from compounds having additional distinguishing features. For example, Example 24 may be compared to Comparative Example 6 and Example 40 may be compared to Comparative Example 12. Example 24 provided LER of 3.78 while Comparative Example 6 provided LER of 3.85; Example 40 provided LER of 3.72 while Comparative Example 12 provided LER of 3.81. Applicant confirmed that in the technical field of fine processing of semiconductors, the difference in LER values is deemed significant.
The Examiner is not persuaded by the results. The difference in LER values for the first comparison (Ex 24 vs Comp Ex 6) is only a 1.8% difference while the difference between the second comparison (Ex 40 vs Comp Ex 12) is 2.4%. These small differences would be expected for compounds that are structurally similar. This is made evident by Applicants other exemplary compounds and their subsequent LER values. Thus, the instant claims are still obvious over the entire disclosure of Hatakeyama such that one of ordinary skill in the art would easily arrive at the instant claims based on routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable linking groups in order to achieve optimum resist properties desired therein.
Applicant also argues claim 1 has been amended such that “at least one of R4 represents an iodine atom”.
The Examiner considers the examples to be commensurate in scope with currently amended claim 1.
Applicant requests the double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 11,820,736 be held in abeyance.
The double patenting rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737