DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619), and Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited.
(Re Claim 1) Wyant teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package, comprising:
attaching a tape (312; Fig. 3A) to a first side (device side – the bottom side shown in Fig. 3A; ¶17) of a semiconductor wafer; forming a plurality of first cuts (leftmost crack from top of 302 to the bottom; Fig. 3A) in a semiconductor wafer (302; Fig. 3A), wherein the plurality of first cuts extend through a first portion (between 324 and bottom of 302; Fig. 3A) of a thickness (top of 302 to the bottom) of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of first cuts comprises: a first set of first cuts (314; Fig. 3A) that are parallel to one another.
Wyant has not been shown to explicitly teach a method comprising:
a plurality of first cuts, wherein the plurality of first cuts comprises: a second set of first cuts that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of first cuts; and forming a plurality of second cuts in the semiconductor wafer after forming the plurality of first cuts, wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts and extend through a second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of second cuts comprises: a first set of second cuts that are parallel to one another; and a second set of second cuts that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of second cuts,
wherein the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
However, Wyant teaches another embodiment demonstrating completing a set of first lower cuts and a set of first upper cuts, where the first set of upper cuts are vertically aligned with the first lower set (See Fig. 5D and associated markup). Furthermore, Wyant teaches forming the cuts seen in the cross-section of Fig. 5D in a direction perpendicular to the set of first lower and upper of cuts (¶46), singulating each die (505) such that each die has four sides, with edges corresponding to laser cutting paths (¶46). This results in the cuts forming a grid pattern. These perpendicular lower and upper cuts form a set of second lower cuts and a set of second upper cuts.
As the lower and upper cuts are formed parallel to each other (Fig. 5C, 5D, and 6A; ¶46), and another set of lower and upper cuts can be formed perpendicular such that each die has four sides (¶46), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form – in the wafer as seen in Fig. 3B – a plurality of first cuts corresponding to the first and second lower cuts as discussed above, and a plurality of second cuts corresponding to the first and second upper cuts as discussed above, resulting in the predictable effect of cutting and separating the various dies (305; Fig. 3B) located in or at the wafer. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Modified Wyant then teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package comprising:
forming a plurality of first cuts (set of lower cuts, with reference to Fig. 3A markup and the discussion above) in a semiconductor wafer (302; Fig. 3A), wherein the plurality of first cuts extend through a first portion (from top of crack generated by 310 to the bottom) of a thickness (top of 302 to the bottom) of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of first cuts comprises:
a first set of first cuts (set of first lower cuts) that are parallel to one another (Fig. 3A markup); and
a second set of first cuts that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of first cuts (set of second lower cuts; ¶46); and
forming a plurality of second cuts (set of upper cuts, with reference to Fig. 3A markup and the discussion above) in the semiconductor wafer, wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3A markup) and extend through a second portion (from top of crack generated by 324 and 326 to the bottom) of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of second cuts comprises:
a first set of second cuts (set of first upper cuts) that are parallel to one another (Fig. 3A); and
a second set of second cuts (set of second upper cuts) that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of second cuts (see the discussion around ¶46).
It has yet to be shown that modified Wyant teaches forming a plurality of second cuts in the semiconductor wafer after forming the plurality of first cuts, as currently the first set of first cuts and first set of second cuts are formed, and then the second set of first cuts and second set of second cuts are formed.
Wyant does teach sequentially forming continuous layers of discontinuities (“the polycrystalline [discontinuity] regions will be at different depths as described above and can be continuous if the frequency and scanning speed are such that all of the silicon is affected”; Fig. 2A, ¶51; see also Fig. 6A for an example of continuous discontinuity layers), and a laser beam used for cutting that can be focused to multiple depths (¶16).
Kriebel teaches moving a laser along a first set of cut lines 12, and then a second set of cut lines 11 at a depth “a” (Fig. 1-4), and then repeating that process up to two more times (Fig. 3-4) at different depths, where the first cuts (any cracks propagating from the device side 19 to halfway between discontinuities 28 and 29 constitute the first cuts; Fig. 3-4) comprise a first set of first cuts (first cuts along cut line 12) that are parallel to one another; and
a second set of first cuts (first cuts along cut line 11) that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of cuts; and
forming a plurality of second cuts (cracks propagating from halfway between discontinuities 28 and 29 down to their farthest extent; Fig. 3-4) in the semiconductor wafer after forming the plurality of first cuts (¶¶42-44), wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3-4) and extend through a second portion (from the starting point of the second cuts to their end) of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of second cuts comprise:
a first set of second cuts (second cuts along cut line 12); that are parallel to one another; and
a second set of second cuts (second cuts along cut line 11) that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of second cuts.
Tamura teaches alternative embodiments of a laser to form discontinuities using either one or two focal points (Fig. 4-5).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to change the order of cut formation for the wafer as shown in Fig. 3B, by switching from a split beam operation to a single beam operation, in the manner of Tamura, to form the plurality of second cuts after forming the plurality of first cuts as defined above, as the single beam of Fig. 2A achieves the predictable result of forming layers of discontinuities, and using a single beam or split beam are known alternatives. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the first cuts and second cuts of modified Wyant in the order taught by Kriebel, such that the second cuts are formed after the first cuts, where the first cuts are the set of lower cuts (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup) and the second cuts are the set of upper cuts (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup), wherein the first set of first cuts and the first set of second cuts are along the first direction of Wyant; and the second set of first cuts and the second set of second cuts are along the second direction (Wyant: ¶46), as this cut formation sequence prevents defects in the second cuts from being influenced by defects in the first cuts (Kriebel: ¶16). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
Modified Wyant has yet to be shown to teach the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
Fukuyo teaches that cut height when using lasers can be adjusted according to the size of the discontinuity region (Col. 58 Ln. 42-45), that the size of the discontinuity region can be adjusted (Fig. 59-65; Col. 10 Ln. 30-38), and that the number of depths at which discontinuity regions are formed can be changed according to the wafer’s thickness or intrinsic cutting difficulty (Col. 70 Ln. 33-47).
In view of Fukuyo, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use two depths when forming the discontinuities of modified Wyant, that is only forming regions 310 and 324, rather than 310, 324, and 326, when the semiconductor wafer is thinner to allow for faster production by avoiding an additional depth of discontinuity formation. Thinner wafers also provide increase thermal conductivity (Keite-Telgenbuscher: ¶6).
This results in modified Wyant only forming the regions 310 and 324.
Fukuyo teaches that discontinuities may be formed either from farthest from the laser entry point to closest, or vice-versa (col. 70 ln. 48-67 to col. 71 ln. 1-7).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the regions 310 after forming the regions 324, rather than forming regions 324 after forming regions 310, as this is a known process sequence that predictably forms cuts in a thin semiconductor wafer to allow for singulation without force application (“can be cut along the line 5…or naturally without applying such force”; col. 70 ln. 29-32). See In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
For modified Wyant then, the method now comprises a plurality of first cuts comprises, wherein the plurality of first cuts extend through a first portion of a thickness (from the top of wafer 302, which is the dashed line, to the bottom of the crack generated when forming region 324; Fig. 3A markup below), wherein the plurality of first cuts comprises:
a first set of first cuts (set of first upper cuts) that are parallel to one another (Fig. 3A markup); and
a second set of first cuts that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of first cuts (set of second upper cuts; ¶46); and
and the plurality of second cuts (set of lower cuts, with reference to Fig. 3A markup and the discussion above) in the semiconductor wafer, wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3A markup) and extend through a second portion (from the top of the crack generated after forming region 310 to the bottom of wafer 302; Fig. 3A markup) of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of second cuts comprises:
a first set of second cuts (set of first upper cuts) that are parallel to one another (Fig. 3A); and
a second set of second cuts (set of second upper cuts) that are parallel to one another and perpendicular to the first set of second cuts (see the discussion around ¶46), wherein the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3A markup).
Therefore, modified Wyant teaches forming the plurality of second cuts closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
(Re Claim 2) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion comprises a first half of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer and the second portion comprises a second half of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer.
Fukuyo teaches that cut height when using lasers can be adjusted according to the size of the discontinuity region (Col. 58 Ln. 42-45), that the size of the discontinuity region can be adjusted (Fig. 59-65; Col. 10 Ln. 30-38), and that the number of depths at which discontinuity regions are formed can be changed according to the wafer’s thickness or intrinsic cutting difficulty (Col. 70 Ln. 33-47).
As the cut height is a result effective variable in view of Fukuyo, the claimed first and second half of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer that the first portion and second portion respectively occupy, as defined in claim 1 based on crack propagation, would have been obvious to optimize and ascertainable through routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
(Re Claim 3) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the plurality of first cuts comprises forming the plurality of first cuts with a laser cutter, wherein forming the plurality of second cuts comprises forming the plurality of second cuts with the laser cutter (¶51); and wherein the method further comprises: forming a first layer of discontinuities (continuous 310 layers) in the semiconductor wafer with the laser cutter when forming the plurality of first cuts; and forming a second layer of discontinuities (continuous 324 layers) in the semiconductor wafer with the laser cutter when forming the plurality of second cuts, wherein the first layer of discontinuities and the second layer of discontinuities are spaced from one another along the thickness of the semiconductor wafer (Fig. 2A, ¶51; see also Fig. 6A for an example discontinuity layers that are spaced apart).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619), and Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Yonehara et al. (US 2014/0038392) of record.
(Re Claim 4) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 3, but does not explicitly teach the method comprising applying an output power level for the laser cutter of 0.5 watts (W) to 0.7 W during forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts.
Yonehara teaches using a laser operated in the range of 0.1 to 1.5 watts (¶107).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619), and Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sherbin et al. (US 2020/0176314) of record.
(Re Claim 5) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the semiconductor wafer comprises a device side (at 312; Fig. 3B), and a non-device side (at 305 labelling; Fig. 3B) opposite the device side.
However, modified Wyant does not explicitly teach a method wherein a device side has a plurality of circuits formed thereon.
Sherbin teaches semiconductor die at a device side (105a; Fig. 1) of a semiconductor wafer (105; Fig. 1), wherein the semiconductor die include circuitry (¶22).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious that the semiconductor die (305; Fig. 3B) of modified Wyant include circuitry as taught by Sherbin, as this allows for the dies 305 to have various memory or logic functionality, and so modified Wyant in view of Sherbin also teaches a semiconductor wafer comprising a device having a plurality of circuits formed thereon (each circuit of semiconductor dies 305; Fig. 3B).
(Re Claim 6) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 5, comprising directing a laser of the laser cutter (204+206+208; Fig. 2A, ¶¶14-15, 17) through the non-device side while forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts, wherein the first side of the semiconductor wafer is the device side (“device side in contact with the dicing tape”; ¶17).
(Re Claim 7) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 5, but does not explicitly teach the method comprising directing a laser of the laser cutter through the device side while forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts, wherein the first .
However, in view of Sherbin (Fig. 1) and Applicant’s statement that Species A and B are obvious variants of each other (election received 11/12/2024), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to reorient the semiconductor wafer of Fig. 3B such that the dicing tape is on the non-device side and the laser of the laser cutter goes through the device side of the semiconductor wafer.
Additionally, as Fukuyo teaches that a formation sequence for discontinuity regions may be either from a depth farthest from the laser entry side then up, or a depth closest to the laser entry side then down (Col. 70 Ln. 62-67 to Col. 71 Ln. 1-3), a PHOSITA would find it obvious to still form first cuts and second cuts from a depth farthest from the laser entry side then up, as shown in Fig. 2A of Wyant.
Claims 8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Sherbin et al. (US 2020/0176314), Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0151508) all of record, Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), and Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619) all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited.
(Re Claim 8) Wyant teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package, comprising:
attaching a tape (312; Fig. 3A) to a first side (bottom side as shown in Fig. 3A) of a semiconductor wafer (302; Fig. 3A); directing a laser (in stealth dicing, a laser is directed through the non-device side of the semiconductor wafer; Fig. 2A and 3B, ¶¶6, 15) into the semiconductor wafer (302; Fig. 3B); forming a plurality of first cuts (316; Fig. 3B) with the laser (consequence of forming 310, 324, and 326 with the laser; ¶17) through a first portion of a thickness of the semiconductor wafer (top of 302 to the bottom).
However, Wyant does not explicitly teach a method wherein the semiconductor wafer comprises a plurality of circuits and a plurality of scribe streets positioned between the plurality of circuits; forming a plurality of first cuts with the laser that are vertically aligned with the plurality of scribe streets; and after forming the plurality of first cuts, forming a plurality of second cuts with the laser through a second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer that are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts, wherein the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
Sherbin teaches semiconductor die at a device side (105a; Fig. 1) of a semiconductor wafer (105; Fig. 1), wherein the semiconductor die include circuitry (¶22).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious that the semiconductor die (305; Fig. 3B) of modified Wyant include circuitry as taught by Sherbin, as this allows for the dies 305 to have various memory or logic functionality, and so modified Wyant in view of Sherbin also teaches a semiconductor wafer comprising a plurality of circuits formed thereon (each circuit of semiconductor dies 305; Fig. 3B).
Additionally, Sherbin teaches forming scribe streets (106; Fig. 1) between the circuits (Fig. 1).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to from scribe streets in the manner of Sherbin between the circuits of modified Wyant, in order to allow for alignment of the laser before cutting (Nakamura: Fig. 3, ¶¶27-28). This results in the lower set of cuts of modified Wyant (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup) being vertically aligned with the plurality of scribe streets.
Additionally, Wyant teaches completing a set of first lower cuts and a set of first upper cuts, where the first set of upper cuts are vertically aligned with the first lower set (See Fig. 5D and associated markup). Furthermore, Wyant teaches forming the cuts seen in the cross-section of Fig. 5D in a direction perpendicular to the set of first lower and upper of cuts (¶46), singulating each die (505) such that each die has four sides, with edges corresponding to laser cutting paths (¶46). This results in the cuts forming a grid pattern. These perpendicular lower and upper cuts form a set of second lower cuts and a set of second upper cuts.
As the lower and upper cuts are formed parallel to each other (Fig. 5C, 5D, and 6A; ¶46), and another set of lower and upper cuts can be formed perpendicular such that each die has four sides (¶46), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form – in the wafer as seen in Fig. 3B – a plurality of first cuts corresponding to the first and second lower cuts as discussed above, and a plurality of second cuts corresponding to the first and second upper cuts as discussed above, resulting in the predictable effect of cutting and separating the various dies (305; Fig. 3B) located in or at the wafer. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The first portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer and the second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer respectively correspond to the cracks propagated by 310, and 324+326.
Kriebel teaches moving a laser along a first set of cut lines 12, and then a second set of cut lines 11 at a depth “a” (Fig. 1-4), and then repeating that process up to two more times (Fig. 3-4) at different depths, where the first cuts (any cracks propagating from the device side 19 to halfway between discontinuities 28 and 29 constitute the first cuts; Fig. 3-4) are formed with a laser through a first portion of a thickness of a semiconductor wafer; and
after forming the plurality of first cuts, forming a plurality of second cuts (cracks propagating from halfway between discontinuities 28 and 29 down to their farthest extent; Fig. 3-4) with a laser through a second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer that are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3-4).
Tamura teaches alternative embodiments of a laser to form discontinuities using either one or two focal points (Fig. 4-5).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to change the order of cut formation for the wafer as shown in Fig. 3B, by switching from a split beam operation to a single beam operation, in the manner of Tamura, to form the plurality of second cuts after forming the plurality of first cuts as defined above, as the single beam of Fig. 2A achieves the predictable result of forming layers of discontinuities, and using a single beam or split beam are known alternatives. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the first cuts and second cuts of modified Wyant in the order taught by Kriebel, such that the second cuts are formed after the first cuts, where the first cuts are the set of lower cuts (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup) and the second cuts are the set of upper cuts (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup), as this cut formation sequence prevents defects in the second cuts from being influenced by defects in the first cuts (Kriebel: ¶16). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
Fukuyo teaches that cut height when using lasers can be adjusted according to the size of the discontinuity region (Col. 58 Ln. 42-45), that the size of the discontinuity region can be adjusted (Fig. 59-65; Col. 10 Ln. 30-38), and that the number of depths at which discontinuity regions are formed can be changed according to the wafer’s thickness or intrinsic cutting difficulty (Col. 70 Ln. 33-47).
In view of Fukuyo, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use two depths when forming the discontinuities of modified Wyant, that is only forming regions 310 and 324, rather than 310, 324, and 326, when the semiconductor wafer is thinner to allow for faster production by avoiding an additional depth of discontinuity formation. Thinner wafers also provide increase thermal conductivity (Keite-Telgenbuscher: ¶6).
This results in modified Wyant only forming the regions 310 and 324.
Fukuyo teaches that discontinuities may be formed either from farthest from the laser entry point to closest, or vice-versa (col. 70 ln. 48-67 to col. 71 ln. 1-7).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the regions 310 after forming the regions 324, rather than forming regions 324 after forming regions 310, as this is a known process sequence that predictably forms cuts in a thin semiconductor wafer to allow for singulation without force application (“can be cut along the line 5…or naturally without applying such force”; col. 70 ln. 29-32). See In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
For modified Wyant then, the method now comprises forming a plurality of first cuts (the set of upper cuts formed when forming regions 324; Fig. 3A markup; Wyant: ¶46), wherein the plurality of first cuts extend through a first portion (from the top of the wafer 302 to the bottom of the crack generated when forming region 324; Fig. 3A markup below); and
forming a plurality of second cuts (the set of lower cuts formed when forming regions 310; Fig. 3A markup; Wyant: ¶46) after forming the plurality of first cuts, wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts and extend through a second portion (from the top of the crack generated by 310 to the bottom of the wafer 302; Fig. 3A markup) of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3A markup).
Therefore, modified Wyant teaches forming the plurality of second cuts closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
(Re Claim 10) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the semiconductor wafer comprises a device side (side at 312; Fig. 3B) and a non-device side (side at 305 labelling), wherein the device side comprises the plurality of circuits and the plurality of scribe streets, and wherein the first portion of the thickness extends from the device side and the second portion of the thickness extends from the non-device side (Fig. 3B).
(Re Claim 11) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 10, wherein forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts comprises directing the laser into the semiconductor wafer from the non-device side (Fig. 2A and 3B, ¶¶6, and 15).
(Re Claim 12) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach the method wherein forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts comprise directing the laser into the semiconductor die from the device side.
However, in view of Sherbin (Fig. 1) and Applicant’s statement that Species A and B are obvious variants of each other (election received 11/12/2024), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to reorient the semiconductor wafer of Fig. 3B such that the dicing tape is on the non-device side and the laser of the laser cutter goes through the device side of the semiconductor wafer.
Additionally, as Fukuyo teaches that a formation sequence for discontinuity regions may be either from a depth farthest from the laser entry side then up, or a depth closest to the laser entry side then down (Col. 70 Ln. 62-67 to Col. 71 Ln. 1-3), as PHOSITA would find it obvious to still form first cuts and second cuts from a depth farthest from the laser entry side then up, as shown in Fig. 2A of Wyant.
(Re Claim 13) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 10, wherein forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts comprises not cutting tape (Fig. 3B).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Sherbin et al. (US 2020/0176314), Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0151508) all of record, Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), and Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619) all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yonehara et al. (US 2014/0038392), of record.
(Re Claim 9) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts comprise applying an output power level for the laser of 0.5 Watts (W) to 0.7 W.
Yonehara teaches using a laser operated in the range of 0.1 to 1.5 watts (¶107).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Sherbin et al. (US 2020/0176314), Nakamura et al. (US 2018/0151508) all of record, Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), and Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619) all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0037117), of record.
(Re Claim 14) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach the method comprising preventing crack propagating from the plurality of first cuts and the plurality of second cuts from meandering outside of the scribe streets.
Chen teaches using a laser to cut by forming a layer of discontinuity by skipping over cutting lines, to prevent excessive heat buildup in adjacent cutting lines, preventing meandering crack propagation (Fig. 9B, ¶¶32, 48).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to incorporate the laser cutting technique of Chen, in order to prevent fracturing or chipping of the semiconductor wafer (Chen: ¶32).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Yonehara et al. (US 2014/0038392), Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619), and Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited.
(Re Claim 15) Wyant teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package, comprising:
attaching a tape (312; Fig. 3A) to a first side (bottom side of 302 as seen in Fig. 3A) of a semiconductor wafer (302; Fig. 3A). forming a plurality of first cuts (316; Fig. 3B) in a semiconductor wafer with a laser (Fig. 2A and 3B, ¶¶6, 15), wherein the plurality of first cuts extend through a first portion (top of 302 to the bottom) of a thickness of the semiconductor wafer.
However, Wyant does not explicitly teach emitting an infrared laser from a laser cutter at a power level between 0.5 Watts (W) and 0.7 W; and forming a plurality of second cuts in the semiconductor wafer with the laser after forming the plurality of first cuts, wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts and extend through a second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and
wherein the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
Yonehara teaches using an infrared laser operated in the range of 0.1 to 1.5 watts (¶107).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Additionally, Wyant teaches completing a set of first lower cuts and a set of first upper cuts, where the first set of upper cuts are vertically aligned with the first lower set (See Fig. 5D and associated markup).
Furthermore, Wyant teaches forming the cuts seen in the cross-section of Fig. 5D in a direction perpendicular to the set of first lower and upper of cuts (¶46), singulating each die (505) such that each die has four sides, with edges corresponding to laser cutting paths (¶46). This results in the cuts forming a grid pattern. These perpendicular lower and upper cuts form a set of second lower cuts and a set of second upper cuts.
As the lower and upper cuts are formed parallel to each other (Fig. 5C, 5D, and 6A; ¶46), and another set of lower and upper cuts can be formed perpendicular such that each die has four sides (¶46), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form – in the wafer as seen in Fig. 3B – a plurality of first cuts corresponding to the first and second lower cuts as discussed above, and a plurality of second cuts corresponding to the first and second upper cuts as discussed above, resulting in the predictable effect of cutting and separating the various dies (305; Fig. 3B) located in or at the wafer. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The first portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer and the second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer respectively correspond to the cracks propagated by 310, and 324+326.
Kriebel teaches moving a laser along a first set of cut lines 12, and then a second set of cut lines 11 at a depth “a” (Fig. 1-4), and then repeating that process up to two more times (Fig. 3-4) at different depths, where the first cuts (any cracks propagating from the device side 19 to halfway between discontinuities 28 and 29 constitute the first cuts; Fig. 3-4) are formed with a laser through a first portion of a thickness of a semiconductor wafer; and
after forming the plurality of first cuts, forming a plurality of second cuts (cracks propagating from halfway between discontinuities 28 and 29 down to their farthest extent; Fig. 3-4) with a laser through a second portion of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer that are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3-4).
Tamura teaches alternative embodiments of a laser to form discontinuities using either one or two focal points (Fig. 4-5).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to change the order of cut formation for the wafer as shown in Fig. 3B, by switching from a split beam operation to a single beam operation, in the manner of Tamura, to form the plurality of second cuts after forming the plurality of first cuts as defined above, as the single beam of Fig. 2A achieves the predictable result of forming layers of discontinuities, and using a single beam or split beam are known alternatives. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the first cuts and second cuts of modified Wyant in the order taught by Kriebel, such that the second cuts are formed after the first cuts, where the first cuts are the set of lower cuts (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup) and the second cuts are the set of upper cuts (Wyant: Fig. 5D markup), as this cut formation sequence prevents defects in the second cuts from being influenced by defects in the first cuts (Kriebel: ¶16). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
Fukuyo teaches that cut height when using lasers can be adjusted according to the size of the discontinuity region (Col. 58 Ln. 42-45), that the size of the discontinuity region can be adjusted (Fig. 59-65; Col. 10 Ln. 30-38), and that the number of depths at which discontinuity regions are formed can be changed according to the wafer’s thickness or intrinsic cutting difficulty (Col. 70 Ln. 33-47).
In view of Fukuyo, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use two depths when forming the discontinuities of modified Wyant, that is only forming regions 310 and 324, rather than 310, 324, and 326, when the semiconductor wafer is thinner to allow for faster production by avoiding an additional depth of discontinuity formation. Thinner wafers also provide increase thermal conductivity (Keite-Telgenbuscher: ¶6).
This results in modified Wyant only forming the regions 310 and 324.
Fukuyo teaches that discontinuities may be formed either from farthest from the laser entry point to closest, or vice-versa (col. 70 ln. 48-67 to col. 71 ln. 1-7).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the regions 310 after forming the regions 324, rather than forming regions 324 after forming regions 310, as this is a known process sequence that predictably forms cuts in a thin semiconductor wafer to allow for singulation without force application (“can be cut along the line 5…or naturally without applying such force”; col. 70 ln. 29-32). See In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
For modified Wyant then, the method now comprises forming a plurality of first cuts (the set of upper cuts formed when forming regions 324; Fig. 3A markup; Wyant: ¶46), wherein the plurality of first cuts extend through a first portion (from the top of the wafer 302 to the bottom of the crack generated when forming region 324; Fig. 3A markup below); and
forming a plurality of second cuts (the set of lower cuts formed when forming regions 310; Fig. 3A markup; Wyant: ¶46) after forming the plurality of first cuts, wherein the plurality of second cuts are vertically aligned with the plurality of first cuts and extend through a second portion (from the top of the crack generated by 310 to the bottom of the wafer 302; Fig. 3A markup) of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer, and wherein the plurality of second cuts are closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts (Fig. 3A markup).
Therefore, modified Wyant teaches forming the plurality of second cuts closer to the tape than the plurality of first cuts.
(Re Claim 16) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion comprises a first half of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer and the second portion comprises a second half of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer.
Fukuyo teaches that cut height when using lasers can be adjusted according to the size of the discontinuity region (Col. 58 Ln. 42-45), that the size of the discontinuity region can be adjusted (Fig. 59-65; Col. 10 Ln. 30-38), and that the number of depths at which discontinuity regions are formed can be changed according to the wafer’s thickness or intrinsic cutting difficulty (Col. 70 Ln. 33-47).
In view of Fukuyo, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use two depths when forming the discontinuities of modified Wyant, that is only forming regions 310 and 324 rather than 310, 324, and 326, when the semiconductor wafer is thinner to allow for greater production yield.
Furthermore, as the cut height is a result effective variable in view of Fukuyo, the claimed first and second half of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer that the first portion and second portion respectively occupy, as defined in claim 1 based on crack propagation, would have been obvious to optimize and ascertainable through routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Yonehara et al. (US 2014/0038392), Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619), and Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited, as applied to claim above 15, and further in view of Sherbin et al. (US 2020/0176314) of record.
(Re Claim 17) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the semiconductor wafer comprises a device side (side at 312; Fig. 3B), and a non-device side (side at 305 labelling; Fig. 3B) opposite the device side.
Modified Wyant does not explicitly teach a device side having a plurality of circuits formed thereon.
Sherbin teaches semiconductor die at a device side (105a; Fig. 1) of a semiconductor wafer (105; Fig. 1), wherein the semiconductor die include circuitry (¶22).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious that the semiconductor die (305; Fig. 3B) of modified Wyant include circuitry as taught by Sherbin, as this allows for the dies 305 to have various memory or logic functionality, and so modified Wyant in view of Sherbin also teaches a semiconductor wafer comprising a device side having a plurality of circuits formed thereon (each circuit of semiconductor dies 305; Fig. 3B).
(Re Claim 18) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 17, comprising directing the laser through the non-device side while forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts (Fig. 2A and 3B, ¶¶6 and 15), wherein the first side of the semiconductor wafer is the device side (“device side in contact with the dicing tape”; ¶17).
(Re Claim 19) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 17, but does not explicitly teach the method comprising directing the laser through the device side while forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts, wherein the first side of the semiconductor wafer is the non-device side.
However, in view of Sherbin (Fig. 1) and Applicant’s statement that Species A and B are obvious variants of each other (election received 11/12/2024), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to reorient the semiconductor wafer of Fig. 3B such that the dicing tape is on the non-device side and the laser of the laser cutter goes through the device side of the semiconductor wafer.
Additionally, as Fukuyo teaches that a formation sequence for discontinuity regions may be either from a depth farthest from the laser entry side then up, or a depth closest to the laser entry side then down (Col. 70 Ln. 62-67 to Col. 71 Ln. 1-3), a PHOSITA would find it obvious to still form first cuts and second cuts from a depth farthest from the laser entry side then up, as shown in Fig. 2A of Wyant.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyant et al. (US 2020/0051860), Yonehara et al. (US 2014/0038392), Kriebel et al. (US 2016/0093534), Tamura et al. (US 2007/0202619), and Fukuyo et al. (US 6,992,026), all of record, and Keite-Telgenbuscher et al. (US 2008/0271845) newly cited, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Moeller et al. (US 2021/0305095) and Sherbin et al. (US 2020/0176314), both of record.
(Re Claim 20) Modified Wyant teaches the method of claim 15, comprising: separating a semiconductor die from the semiconductor wafer as a result of forming the plurality of first cuts and forming the plurality of second cuts (¶18).
However, Wyant does not explicitly teach coupling a circuit on the semiconductor die to a plurality of conductive terminals, and covering the semiconductor die with a mold compound.
Sherbin teaches semiconductor die at a device side (105a; Fig. 1) of a semiconductor wafer (105; Fig. 1), wherein the semiconductor die include circuitry (¶22).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious that the semiconductor die (305; Fig. 3B) of modified Wyant include circuitry as taught by Sherbin, as this allows for the dies 305 to have various memory or logic functionality, and so modified Wyant in view of Sherbin also teaches a semiconductor wafer comprising semiconductor dies comprising circuits (each circuit of semiconductor dies 305; Fig. 3B).
Moeller teaches that after the dies are singulated, they are connected to a plurality of conductive terminals (76; Fig. 8, ¶21), and covered with a mold compound (72).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to couple a circuit on the semiconductor die of modified Wyant in the manner taught by Moeller, in order to achieve the predictable result of accessing the functions of the semiconductor die while protecting the die from moisture and physical damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Wyant’s Fig. 3A-3B embodiment is modified according to teachings in the art as described in the rejection above; that embodiment does not have metal bridging associated with it (remarks, p. 8); a laser ablation step is not described as associated with this embodiment. The embodiment shown in Fig. 5A-5F, though demonstrating a laser ablation step, is used to demonstrate forming cuts after the laser ablation step that are perpendicular to each other. Furthermore, the laser ablation is not described as the first step of stealth dicing within the Wyant reference itself (“Wyant addresses this issue by partially ablating the metal layer in the scribe street at the first step of the singulation process”; remarks, p. 8). Rather, the laser ablation step is described as a distinct process step, separate from stealth dicing (Wyant: “The metal ablation plus [stealth dicing] SD procedure is illustrated along scribe streets 516 in a first direction in FIGS. 5A though 5F.”; ¶46).
Furthermore, Wyant only describes forming the metal ablation pass first, before performing a stealth dicing (SD) pass (e.g., ¶26); nothing in Wyant indicates that changing the order or depth of stealth dicing passes would disrupt die singulation for any embodiment demonstrated. An obviousness analysis is not restricted solely to a single reference and its explicit teachings (“Wyant further discloses forming the plurality of first cuts following partially ablating the metal layer and the plurality of first cuts are close to the taped side of the semiconductor wafer. Thus, a PHOSITA would not find it obvious to modify the cited references to realize the above-referenced features of claim 1, because doing so may defeat the purpose of Wyant to address the metal bridging issue in the scribe street.”; remarks, p. 8). That a PHOSITA can alter an embodiment in the prior art according to teachings from the art as a whole is understood to be within the ordinary capabilities of one of ordinary skill; "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miller et al. (US 2008/0220590) teaches a wafer (220; Fig. 2) with a thickness between approximately 5 µm to approximately 100 µm (¶21).
Sakamoto et al. (US 7,939,430) teaches cutting through a dielectric layer (26; Fig. 26) during formation of a cut (24; Fig. 26).
Sakamoto (US 2010/0009547) teaches forming two cuts (a5+b5 and a6+b6; Fig. 20).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898