Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, the arguments to remove the objection of the drawings on pages 5 and 6 are unpersuasive, as the drawings fail to show in detail satisfactory to disclose the invention adequately the connection of the metal pad (element 108) to the backside of the semiconductor device and the lead frame. The applicant merely stated that the drawings depict the connection with sufficient clarity but does not disclose how the drawings depict said connection. The applicant states that the metal pad is “part of the lead frame” but the claim states “the metal pad is on a top surface of the lead frame,” hence causing some confusion. The drawings are supposed to make clear how this distinction is to take place, and the drawings do not make the distinction clear of how the metal pad is both “on” a top surface of the lead frame and also “part of” the lead frame. The objection to the drawings is maintained.
With regards to arguments on pages 6 and 7 with regards to the 112(b) rejection, the office finds the argument not persuasive. The 112(b) rejection stated that there was confusion as to how a semiconductor device can both be comprised of a metal pad and also the metal pad being connected to a backside of the semiconductor device. The applicant did not make clear how something can be both “connected to” an item but also “part of” the same item. Additionally, the applicant argues that “claim 1 … reasonably identifies the claimed package structure…” but claim 1 does not specify a package but rather a semiconductor device. The lack of clarity of the claim comes from the fact that an item (the metal pad) is claimed to be both “part of” and also “connected to” the same portion of the device. The argument is found unpersuasive and the 112(b) rejection is maintained.
With regards to the applicants’ arguments on pages 8-10 regarding the 102(a) rejection, as the rejection states the encapsulant [element 6 of figure 9 and 10 of Gong et al] is disposed on the top surface of the lead frame [where element 2 as seen in figure 9 is the lead frame]. As seen in col 5 lines 50-56, Gong et al states “a second molding compound 6 is deposed from the top surface of the lead frame 2 covering the top surface of the lead frame 2.” The applicant argues that the metal clip 5 is “exposed from the top surface of the second molding compound 6” where element 5 and 502 is designated as the metal pad. However, the claim states “an encapsulant isolates the metal pad on the top surface of the lead frame” where it is understood that the encapsulant is on the top surface of the lead frame [which Gong et al discloses] and isolates the metal pad [element 5/502] from the die pad [element 211 – not element 213]. Gong et al does disclose the isolation of the two elements by the encapsulant, where the encapsulant is disposed on a top surface of the lead frame [element 2]. Therefore, the arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained. It is unclear if Applicant may be interpreting “in direct contact with the top surface” instead of the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘on’ which just means above the top surface.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, more detail of how element 108 (metal pad) connects to the backside of the semiconductor device and the leadframe, as well as drawings showing the die pad connecting to said lead frame as claimed in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in the preamble a semiconductor device is claimed to comprise certain elements, of which one of the limitations is the connection of the metal pad to the backside of said semiconductor device. One cannot have a semiconductor device comprising certain elements where one of the claimed elements is the device itself. Additionally, it is unclear what is meant by “backside” of the semiconductor device as no reference is made. Additionally, the same issue arises where the semiconductor device comprises certain elements, one of which connects to the backside of the semiconductor device, where the semiconductor device is an element making up the claimed device, rendering the claim unclear. It is recommended to the applicant that such language as “a semiconductor package comprises” and if there is a die attached to the die pad, the applicant claim said die such that a semiconductor device is separate from the claimed invention. Or claim as part of the semiconductor device “a bottom conductive layer under all other elements of the semiconductor device” [then claim the connections as desired].
Claims 2-13 include all the elements of claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong et al (US 9437528 B1).
Gong et al teaches
[claim 1] A semiconductor device comprising: a lead frame (col 5 lines 50-57, figure 9, element 2 is the lead frame and the semiconductor device is the entire device pictured in figures 9 and 10);
a metal pad on a top surface of the lead frame, wherein the metal pad is connected to a back side of the semiconductor device via the lead frame (figures 9 and 10, col 5 lines 29-57, where element 5 [metal clip] is the metal pad [and includes vertical elements 502] and it situated on a top surface of the lead frame [element 2, the lead frame, is situated below the device shown in figure 10 and connects to elements 211, 212, 213], and thus element 5 connects to the back side [bottom] of the semiconductor device via the lead frame);
a die pad on the top surface of the lead frame, wherein the die pad is attached to the lead frame via a die attach material (figures 9 and 10, col 5 lines 29-57, where element 101 is the die attach and element 211 is the die pad and is situated on the lead frame [element 2 is situated below the entire device pictured in figure 10, which can also be seen in figure 9]),
and an encapsulant disposed on the top surface of the lead frame; wherein the encapsulant isolates the metal pad on the top surface of the lead frame from the die pad on the top surface of the lead frame (figures 9 and 10, col 5 lines 29-57, where element 6 is the encapsulant and is situated on a top surface of the leadframe [figure 10, element 6 on element 2], and separates the metal pad [element 5/502] from the die pad [element 211]).
[claims 6] the semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor device is a device selected from the group consisting of a diode, a MOSFET transistor, a bipolar transistor, and a semiconductor device with more than three I/Os (col 4 lines 20-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al (US 9437528 B1) in view of Blansaer (US 20210118778 A1).
Gong et al teaches the limitations of the parent claim, claim 1, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 2] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lead frame acts as a heat sink.
However, Blansaer does teach
[claim 2] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lead frame acts as a heat sink (abstract, where “heat-sink lead frame” is understood to be a lead frame acting as a heat-sink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Gong et al to incorporate the teachings of Blansaer in order to reduce the overall thermal resistance of the semiconductor package, hence allowing higher heat dissipation. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have the semiconductor device be a MOSFET in order to create the building block for numerous circuits and applications which is widely known in the art, for example to build an RF amplifier a MOSFET is a required basic component of said circuit.
Regarding claim 9, Gong et al additionally teaches
[claims 9] the semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor device is a device selected from the group consisting of a diode, a MOSFET transistor, a bipolar transistor, and a semiconductor device with more than three I/Os (col 4 lines 20-38).
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al (US 9437528 B1) in view of David et al (US 20210057314 A1).
Gong et al teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 1, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 3] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lead frame is pre-plated with a surface finish.
[claim 5] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the surface finish is NlPdAu.
However, David et al does teach
[claim 3, 5] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lead frame is pre- plated with a surface finish that is NlPdAu (paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Gong et al with the teachings of David et al in order to put a specific finish on the lead frame, in this case NiPdAu, in order to enhance solderability and the semiconductor device to be a diode in order to create a functional device for sensing or other means.
Regarding claim 10, Gong et al further teaches
[claim 10] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the semiconductor device is a device selected from the group consisting of a diode, a MOSFET transistor, a bipolar transistor, and a semiconductor device with more than three I/Os (col 4 lines 20-38).
Claim(s) 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al (US 9437528 B1) in view of Xiaochun et al (US 20080164590 A1).
Gong et al teaches all of the limitation of the parent claim, claim 1, but do not specifically disclose
[claim 4] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the die attach material is a conductive die attach film, a silver epoxy or a sintering material.
However Xioachun et al does teach
[claim 4] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the die attach material is a conductive die attach film, a silver epoxy or a sintering material (paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Gong et al with Xiaochun et al in order to allow a conductive connecting material between the die and the lead frame, and use a transistor as the die in order to make and use a transistor device which is widely known in the art to be the basic building block of many circuits, so that one could use, for example, an RF amplification circuit in the device.
[claim 12] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the semiconductor device is a device selected from the group consisting of a diode, a MOSFET transistor, a bipolar transistor, and a semiconductor device with more than three I/Os (col 4 lines 20-38).
Claim(s) 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al (US 9437528 B1) and Blansaer (US 20210118778 A1) in further view of David et al (US 20210057314 A1).
Gong et al as modified teaches all of the limitation of the parent claim, claim 2, but do not specifically disclose
[claim 7] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the lead frame is pre- plated with a surface finish.
[claim 13] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the surface finish is NiPdAu.
However, David et al does teach
[claim 7] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the lead frame is pre- plated with a surface finish, such as NiPdAu (paragraph 0051).
[claim 13] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the surface finish is NiPdAu (paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Gong et al as modified with the teachings of David et al in order to put a specific finish on the lead frame, in this case NiPdAu, in order to enhance solderability.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gong et al (US 9437528 B1), and Blansaer (US 20210118778 A1) in further view of Xiaochun et al (US 20080164590 A1).
Gong et al as modified teaches all of the limitation of the parent claim, claim 2, but do not specifically disclose:
[claim 8] wherein the die attach material is a conductive die attach film, a silver epoxy or a sintering material.
However, Xiaochun et al does teach
[claim 8] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the die attach material is a conductive die attach film, a silver epoxy or a sintering material (paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Gong et al as modified with Xiaochun et al in order to allow a conductive connecting material between the die and the lead frame so that the die can connect to other periphery circuits outside the constrains of the die.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al (US 9437528 B1), and David et al (US 20210057314 A1) in further view of Xiaochun et al (US 20080164590 A1).
Gong et al as modified teaches all of the limitation of the parent claim, claim 3, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 11] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the die attach material is a conductive die attach film, a silver epoxy or a sintering material.
However, Xiaochun et al does teach
[claim 11] the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the die attach material is a conductive die attach film, a silver epoxy or a sintering material (paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Gong et al as modified with Xiaochun et al in order to allow a conductive connecting material between the die and the lead frame so that the die can connect to other periphery circuits outside the constrains of the die.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW JOHN ZABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818