Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments filed 06/10/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. Claims 1, 5, 15-18 are currently amended. Claims 13-14, and 21-22 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“Applicant respectfully submits that the human mind is not capable of “electronically discovering a first inventory of points of the BMS by scanning the BMS via a BMS network.”
The examiner notes that the “electronically” aspect is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f) which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Additionally the human mind is capable of “discovering a first inventory of points of the BMS by scanning the BMS via a BMS network” a human can visually observe the first inventory data points and discover any potential issues by looking at the data using a BMS network.
“the cited art does not appear to disclose “electronically discovering a first inventory of points an issues of the BMS by scanning the BMS via a BMS network at a first time”
The examiner find arguments persuasive and has removed the 101 rejection.
“Applicant respectfully submits that none of the cited references disclose “wherein the first inventory of points indicates devices, controllers, communication devices, access points, or equipment electronically discovered as being included in the BMS at the first time.” For example, Anderson is cited to include a “historical record” o information(e.g., “space temperatures,” etc.) that discloses “first inventory of points.””
Examiner agrees that this limitation is further defining an inventory points and that Anderson does not disclose this claim language. Examiner rejects claim 26 using a combination of Anderson, and Walther [0069] the MCU's auto discovery function, which is described below, the LTC will also transmit a beacon message during initialization containing its identifier and other status information, notifying all MCUs in the radio neighborhood of its presence and availability for service, [0092] the discovery process to produce the definitive list, [0106] FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of the automatic discovery mechanism employed by the MCU to maintain a list of onsite GPS sources, cameras, and LTCs. All LTCs are GPS sources, each LTC may have one or more cameras, and each is discovered separately. The system maintains a list of all cameras and LTCs that are authorized to work at a given location (e.g., all LLCs operated by a specific organization). The auto discovery process begins operation 1201 when launched during initialization of the MCU server software. The auto discovery process fetches the list of authorized LTCs 1202 and, starting at the beginning of the list, attempts to get the next LTC on the list 1203 and, if successful 1204, requests a status message from the LTC 1205).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15, 18-19, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US20150178865A1, herein Anderson).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches A method for a building management system (BMS) ([0013] systems for managing one or more buildings are provided. In an example embodiment, a system can include a data collector to collect historical building data, real-time building data, historical exogenous data, and real-time exogenous data and an adaptive stochastic controller operatively coupled to the data collector and adapted to receive collected data therefrom), the method comprising: electronically discovering a first inventory of points of the BMS by scanning the BMS via a BMS network at a first time (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0013] The adaptive stochastic controller can be configured to generate at least one predicted condition, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0055] Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made. Compensatory changes recommended by the TPO system 300 to the building operator can correct a problem before a tenant notices any discomfort, [0125] certain components can communicate with certain other components, for example via a network, e.g., the internet or intranet. To the extent not expressly stated above, the disclosed subject matter is intended to encompass both sides of each transaction, including transmitting and receiving. One of ordinary skill in the art will readily understand that with regard to the features described above, if one component transmits, sends, or otherwise makes available to another component, the other component will receive or acquire, whether expressly stated or not), electronically discovering a second inventory of points of the BMS by the BMS at a second time,(Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0050] the performance measurements 350 can include a comparison of energy usage for specific tenants so as to enable coordination with their respective secondary heating, cooling, and/or lighting systems to enable additional energy efficiencies. Moreover, the performance measurements 350 can include a scoring and/or relative accuracy rating of forward looking forecasts generated from the predictive model 315, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0055] Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made. Compensatory changes recommended by the TPO system 300 to the building operator can correct a problem before a tenant notices any discomfort) providing a user interface comprising a side by side view of the first inventory and the second inventory (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage, [0018] FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary display and a user interface in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosed subject matter);
Regarding claim 15, Anderson teaches A device for detecting attributes of a building management system (BMS) over time ([0013] systems for managing one or more buildings are provided. In an example embodiment, a system can include a data collector to collect historical building data, real-time building data, historical exogenous data, and real-time exogenous data and an adaptive stochastic controller operatively coupled to the data collector and adapted to receive collected data therefrom, [0013] The memory 72 of the illustrative HVAC controller 18 may be in communication with the processor 64. The memory 72 may be used to store any desired information, such as the aforementioned control algorithm, set points, schedule times, diagnostic limits such as, for example, differential pressure limits, delta T limits, and the like, [0123] stored in the memory 72 for execution by the processor 64), the device comprising: one or more processing circuits configured to implement operations comprising: electronically discovering a first inventory of points of the BMS scanning the BMS via a BMS network at a first time (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0013] The adaptive stochastic controller can be configured to generate at least one predicted condition, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0055] Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made. Compensatory changes recommended by the TPO system 300 to the building operator can correct a problem before a tenant notices any discomfort, [0125] certain components can communicate with certain other components, for example via a network, e.g., the internet or intranet. To the extent not expressly stated above, the disclosed subject matter is intended to encompass both sides of each transaction, including transmitting and receiving. One of ordinary skill in the art will readily understand that with regard to the features described above, if one component transmits, sends, or otherwise makes available to another component, the other component will receive or acquire, whether expressly stated or not), electronically discovering a second inventory of points of the BMS by scanning the BMS at a second time and ,(Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0050] the performance measurements 350 can include a comparison of energy usage for specific tenants so as to enable coordination with their respective secondary heating, cooling, and/or lighting systems to enable additional energy efficiencies. Moreover, the performance measurements 350 can include a scoring and/or relative accuracy rating of forward looking forecasts generated from the predictive model 315, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0055] Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made. Compensatory changes recommended by the TPO system 300 to the building operator can correct a problem before a tenant notices any discomfort);… providing a user interface comprising a side by side view of the first inventory of the BMS at the first time and the second inventory of the BMS at the second time(Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage, [0018] FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary display and a user interface in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosed subject matter), the second time occurring prior to the first time ([Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage, [0062] costs and usage can be normalized into percentages of improvement over the costs and usage of a previous period). (i.e. second time could be Fig. 4 4:00, and first time could be Fig. 4 8:00 or second time could be Fig. 6 00:00 of steam and then first time could be Fig. 6 640 04:00)
Regarding claim 18, Anderson teaches the device of claim 15 wherein the user interface further comprises a preventative maintenance indication and an out of date firmware indication (Anderson, [0239] Other icons and/or text messages may be used to convey error conditions and/or the receipt and installation of firmware updates).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson teaches the device of claim 15 wherein the user interface further comprises a key task indication and a backup database indication (Anderson, [0009] collecting data can include querying one or more databases including the historical building data, real-time building data, historical exogenous data, and real-time exogenous data, and forecasts thereof, [0038] The data 220 can be processed and formatted and can be stored, for example, in one or more databases, [0072] Task Runner gets new/updated recommendations/predictions/alarms from the TPO database, [0053] The Horizon Indicator 410, in connection with other components of the total property optimization system 300, such as the predictive model 315 and the automated online evaluator 332, can identify temperature trends and subsequent inspection and repair results ) .
Regarding claim 21, Anderson teaches The method of claim 1, the second time occurs prior to the first time (Anderson, [Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage, [0062] costs and usage can be normalized into percentages of improvement over the costs and usage of a previous period). (i.e. second time could be Fig. 4 4:00, and first time could be Fig. 4 8:00 or second time could be Fig. 6 00:00 of steam and then first time could be Fig. 6 640 04:00)
Regarding claim 22, Anderson teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising providing a feature assessment that identifies one or more BMS user interface features being underutilized by the BMS at the first time by at least one of (Anderson, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage): determining that the one or more BMS user interface features is not activated in at least a portion of the building; determining further utilization of the one or more BMS user interface features may result in potential benefits comprising at least one of energy savings, cost savings, or efficiency increases ([0012] recommendations can further include generating at least one of a recommended start-up time and ramp-down time for a HVAC system based on at least the trends in the one or more building conditions, the predicted conditions, and the performance measurements, [0091] An improvement strategy can assign optimal start-up and ramp-down times to all past days (thus gaining access to the full variable set), and then learn the functional mappings between these optimal times. The start-up (and ramp-down) recommendation generator can employ the next day's weather forecast to select those learned days from the past that most closely fit tomorrow's forecast by day of the week, [0107] resulting in a conservative estimate of savings of approximately $75,000 from a 7% reduction in energy consumption); and comparing a current usage of the one or more BMS user interface features in a first building to a measured usage in a second building (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage, [0018] FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary display and a user interface in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosed subject matter))
Regarding claim 23, Anderson teaches The method of claim 22, wherein the one or more BMS user interface features comprises an optimal start feature , (Anderson, [0091] An improvement strategy can assign optimal start-up and ramp-down times to all past days), a Demand Limiting Load rolling feature ([0044] peak historical and future predicted loads, [0061] display electric load forecasts), and a solar clock feature ([0090] Weather covariates can include temperature, dew point temperature, weather conditions (clear, cloudy, rain, snow, etc.) wind speed, wind direction, solar luminescent factors, heat index, pressure, and wet-bulb temperature) .
Regarding claim 24, Anderson teaches The system of claim 23, wherein the one or more BMS user interface features comprises at least one of an optimal start feature ([0091] An improvement strategy can assign optimal start-up and ramp-down times to all past days), a Demand Limiting Load rolling feature, or a solar clock feature.
Regarding claim 25, Anderson teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising implementing an intervention based on the first inventory and the second inventory, wherein the intervention comprises a repair, update, or installation configured to: resolve performance issues associated with one or more control strategies for equipment in the building at the first time (Anderson, Fig. 4 , Fig. 6, [0092] The recommendation engine can output an updated recommendation for the next day's operation, hourly, and building operators act upon these optimal recommendations as morning and evening approach, ([0051] The identified trends and the predicted conditions can be displayed (562) so as to alert (563) an operator can when an anomaly between the predicted conditions and the actual building condition arises. For purpose of illustration and not limitation, the building conditions can be, for example, motor load in connection with a HVAC system. The motor load can be predicted and compared to actual motor load conditions, and thus a potential problem can be identified if there is an anomaly. This can enable preventative maintenance of the HVAC system to take place), or performance issues associated with one or more supervisory devices installed in the building at the first time, or fulfill a requirement of the BMS necessary to implement one or more BMS features.
Claim(s) 2, 6-7, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US20150178865A1, herein Anderson), in view of Quam et al. (US2015015895, herein Quam).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first inventory of points of the BMS (Anderson, Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0008] communicating with the one or more buildings' HVAC systems to manually or automatically steer a floor condition of the said one or more buildings in response to the one or more trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface) …and provides an indication of energy savings predicted to result from configuring the operating schedule for the HVAC device (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0012] recommendations can further include generating at least one of a recommended start-up time and ramp-down time for a HVAC system based on at least the trends in the one or more building conditions, the predicted conditions, and the performance measurements, [0091] An improvement strategy can assign optimal start-up and ramp-down times to all past days (thus gaining access to the full variable set), and then learn the functional mappings between these optimal times. The start-up (and ramp-down) recommendation generator can employ the next day's weather forecast to select those learned days from the past that most closely fit tomorrow's forecast by day of the week]).
Anderson does not teach identifies an HVAC device that does not have an operating schedule associated there with
Quam teaches allows identifies an HVAC device that does not have an operating schedule associated there with ([0285] A tips/advice type of message may provide a user with information and/or recommend one or more actions that a user may take to improve the performance and/or efficiency of the HVAC system, and/or improve their comfort level. In one example, a tips/advice type of message may inform the user that the system performance has degraded and may recommend to the user to have the air ducts cleaned. In another example, the tips/advice message may recommend a schedule based on the user’s manual setpoint changes. Alternatively, or in addition, the message may include a recommendation to the user to use the geofencing feature (described else wherein herein) if the user’s manual setback changes do not follow a clear pattern. In yet another example, the message may display a recommendation to open one or more windows based on the outdoor temperature matching the desired indoor temperature setpoint, sometimes taking into account humidity, air quality and/or other factors inside and/or outside of the house). (i.e. the device in the art recommends a schedule for an HVAC system when there is not a schedule stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s teaching of an optimization system for energy efficiency including HVAC systems with Quam’s teaching of recommending a schedule for an HVAC device when there is no schedule stored. The combined teaching provides an expected result of an optimization system recommending a schedule for an HVAC device when there is no schedule stored. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve efficiency and user comfort as shown by Quam in paragraph [285] A tips/advice type of message may provide a user with information and/or recommend one or more actions that a user may take to improve the performance and/or efficiency of the HVAC system, and/or improve their comfort level.
Regarding claim 6, Anderson teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first inventory of points of the BMS provides an indication of equipment in the building (Anderson, Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0091] start-up and ramp-down recommendations can be made by the end of business the day before. An improvement strategy can assign optimal start-up and ramp-down times to all past days (thus gaining access to the full variable set), and then learn the functional mappings between these optimal times. The start-up (and ramp-down) recommendation generator can employ the next day's weather forecast to select those learned days from the past that most closely fit tomorrow's forecast by day of the week, [0092] Optimal start-up and ramp-down times can be calculated, and can be provided as the training labels for the recommendation engine)
Anderson does not teach with a dirty filter associated therewith and one or more issues resulting from the dirty filter.
Quam teaches with a dirty filter associated therewith and one or more issues resulting from the dirty filter (Fig. 19H, and 19L, [0106] In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include a first temperature sensor 38a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second temperature sensor 38b located in the discharge (outgoing or supply) air duct 10. Alternatively, or in addition, the equipment interface module 34 may include a differential pressure sensor including a first pressure tap 39a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second pressure tap 39b located downstream of the air filter 30 to measure a change in a parameter related to the amount of flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34, when provided, may include at least one flow sensor that is capable of providing a measure that is related to the amount of air flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include an air filter monitor. These are just some examples). (i.e. location for a filter that needs to be changed upstairs unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s teaching of an optimization system for energy efficiency including HVAC systems with Quam’s teaching of monitoring filters. The combined teaching provides an expected result of an optimization system monitoring filters. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure proper filter operation to protect HVAC components from dust and particulates as shown by Quam in paragraph [2104] In many instances, one or more air filters 30 may be used to remove dust and other pollutants from the air inside the building 2. In the illustrative example shown in FIG. 1, the air filter(s) 30 is installed in the return air duct 14, and may filter the air prior to the air entering the HVAC component 6, but it is contemplated that any other suitable location for the air filter(s) 30 may be used. The presence of the air filter(s) 30 may not only improve the indoor air quality, but may also protect the HVAC components 6 from dust and other particulate matter that would otherwise be permitted to enter the HVAC component.
Regarding claim 7, Anderson teaches The method of claim 6,
Quam further teaches further comprising identifying the dirty filter by determining that a pressure drop across the dirty filter is greater than a threshold (Anderson, [0106] In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include a first temperature sensor 38a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second temperature sensor 38b located in the discharge (outgoing or supply) air duct 10. Alternatively, or in addition, the equipment interface module 34 may include a differential pressure sensor including a first pressure tap 39a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second pressure tap 39b located downstream of the air filter 30 to measure a change in a parameter related to the amount of flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34, when provided, may include at least one flow sensor that is capable of providing a measure that is related to the amount of air flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include an air filter monitor. These are just some examples. [0107] When provided, the equipment interface module 34 may be configured to communicate with the HVAC controller 18 via, for example, a wired or wireless communication link 42. In other cases, the equipment interface module 34 may be incorporated or combined with the HVAC controller 18. In either cases, the equipment interface module 34 may communicate, relay or otherwise transmit data regarding the selected parameter (e.g. temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) to the HVAC controller 18. In some cases, the HVAC controller 18 may use the data from the equipment interface module 34 to evaluate the system’s operation and/or performance. For example, the HVAC controller 18 may compare data related to the difference in temperature (delta T) between the return air side and the discharge air side of the HVAC system 4 to a previously determined delta T limit stored in the HVAC controller 18 to determine a current operating performance of the HVAC system 4).
In view of the teachings of Quam it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Quam to Anderson before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to ensure proper filter operation to protect HVAC components from dust and particulates (cf. Quam, paragraph 0104, “[0104] In many instances, one or more air filters 30 may be used to remove dust and other pollutants from the air inside the building 2. In the illustrative example shown in FIG. 1, the air filter(s) 30 is installed in the return air duct 14, and may filter the air prior to the air entering the HVAC component 6, but it is contemplated that any other suitable location for the air filter(s) 30 may be used. The presence of the air filter(s) 30 may not only improve the indoor air quality, but may also protect the HVAC components 6 from dust and other particulate matter that would otherwise be permitted to enter the HVAC component.”).
Regarding claim 17, Anderson teaches the device of claim 15
Anderson does not teach wherein the user interface further comprises a critical issue indication and a firmware vulnerability indication.
Quam teaches wherein the user interface further comprises a critical issue indication is presented and comprises a firmware vulnerability indication ([0239] Other icons and/or text messages may be used to convey error conditions and/or the receipt and installation of firmware updates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s teaching of an optimization system for energy efficiency including HVAC systems with Quam’s teaching of indication of errors including receiving and installing firmware. The combined teaching provides an expected result of an optimization system having an indication of errors including receiving and installing firmware. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to keep the system up to date which can fix defects and improve performance.
Regarding claim 20, Anderson teaches the device of claim 15
Anderson does not teach the operations further comprising identifying a dirty filter by determining that a pressure drop across the dirty filter is greater than a threshold, and wherein the user interface provides an indication of the dirty filter.
Quam teaches the operations further comprising identifying a dirty filter by determining that a pressure drop across the dirty filter is greater than a threshold, and wherein the user interface provides an indication of the dirty filter ([0106] In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include a first temperature sensor 38a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second temperature sensor 38b located in the discharge (outgoing or supply) air duct 10. Alternatively, or in addition, the equipment interface module 34 may include a differential pressure sensor including a first pressure tap 39a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second pressure tap 39b located downstream of the air filter 30 to measure a change in a parameter related to the amount of flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34, when provided, may include at least one flow sensor that is capable of providing a measure that is related to the amount of air flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include an air filter monitor. These are just some examples. [0107] When provided, the equipment interface module 34 may be configured to communicate with the HVAC controller 18 via, for example, a wired or wireless communication link 42. In other cases, the equipment interface module 34 may be incorporated or combined with the HVAC controller 18. In either cases, the equipment interface module 34 may communicate, relay or otherwise transmit data regarding the selected parameter (e.g. temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) to the HVAC controller 18. In some cases, the HVAC controller 18 may use the data from the equipment interface module 34 to evaluate the system’s operation and/or performance. For example, the HVAC controller 18 may compare data related to the difference in temperature (delta T) between the return air side and the discharge air side of the HVAC system 4 to a previously determined delta T limit stored in the HVAC controller 18 to determine a current operating performance of the HVAC system 4).
Claims 8-10, 13-14, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US20150178865, herein Anderson), in view of Quam et al. (US20150159895, herein Quam), in further view of Walther et al. (US20150061896, herein Walther).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson teaches A building management system (BMS) comprising: one or more processors; and one or more computer-readable storage media having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement operations comprising ([0013] systems for managing one or more buildings are provided. In an example embodiment, a system can include a data collector to collect historical building data, real-time building data, historical exogenous data, and real-time exogenous data and an adaptive stochastic controller operatively coupled to the data collector and adapted to receive collected data therefrom, [0013] The memory 72 of the illustrative HVAC controller 18 may be in communication with the processor 64. The memory 72 may be used to store any desired information, such as the aforementioned control algorithm, set points, schedule times, diagnostic limits such as, for example, differential pressure limits, delta T limits, and the like, [0123] stored in the memory 72 for execution by the processor 64): electronically discovering a first inventory of points of the BMS by scanning the BMS via a BMS network at a first time (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0013] The adaptive stochastic controller can be configured to generate at least one predicted condition, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0055] Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made. Compensatory changes recommended by the TPO system 300 to the building operator can correct a problem before a tenant notices any discomfort, [0125] certain components can communicate with certain other components, for example via a network, e.g., the internet or intranet. To the extent not expressly stated above, the disclosed subject matter is intended to encompass both sides of each transaction, including transmitting and receiving. One of ordinary skill in the art will readily understand that with regard to the features described above, if one component transmits, sends, or otherwise makes available to another component, the other component will receive or acquire, whether expressly stated or not)) electronically discovering a second inventory of points of the BMS by scanning the BMS via a BMS network at a second time, and (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0050] the performance measurements 350 can include a comparison of energy usage for specific tenants so as to enable coordination with their respective secondary heating, cooling, and/or lighting systems to enable additional energy efficiencies. Moreover, the performance measurements 350 can include a scoring and/or relative accuracy rating of forward looking forecasts generated from the predictive model 315, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0055] Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made. Compensatory changes recommended by the TPO system 300 to the building operator can correct a problem before a tenant notices any discomfort); providing a user interface comprising a side by side view of the first inventory and the second inventory (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage, [0018] FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary display and a user interface in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosed subject matter);
Anderson does not teach comprising a link to a filter report or a firmware report, the filter report providing a list of controllers associated with a dirty filter, the firmware report providing a list of controllers having firmware recommended for an update.
Quam teaches comprising a link ([0311] a screen 1080 that may be displayed upon selection of prompt or link 1064 displayed on screen) to a filter report or a firmware report, the filter report providing … controllers associated with a dirty filter (Fig. 19H, and 19L, [0106] the equipment interface module 34, when provided, may include at least one flow sensor that is capable of providing a measure that is related to the amount of air flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include an air filter monitor, [0101] the HVAC controller(s) 18 may be a zone controller, or may include multiple zone controllers, [0104] location for the air filter(s), [0227] display capabilities, such as reporting system status, [0381] multiple thermostats may be located within the building, identifying the location of the HVAC controller), the firmware report providing … having firmware recommended for an update ([0229] Other icons and/or text messages may be used to convey error conditions and/or the receipt and installation of firmware updates or instructions from the cell phone, PC, or manufacturer's server, as desired, [0109] HVAC controller 18 may be configured to receive and/or download firmware and/or hardware updates)
The combination of Anderson and Quam do not teach a list of controllers
Walther teaches a list of controllers ([0097] MCL's existing list of active controllers… and any newly discovered units are added to the list for subsequent reporting and usage)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s teaching of an optimization system for energy efficiency including HVAC systems with Walther’s teaching of providing a list of active controllers for subsequent reporting and usage. The combined teaching provides an expected result of an optimization system providing a list of active controllers for subsequent reporting and usage. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to keep the system up to date which can fix defects and improve performance.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Anderson, Quam, and Walther teach The system of claim 8, wherein the user interface comprising the side by side view enables a comparison of issues found by a first scan at the first time and additional issues detected at the second time (Anderson, Fig. 4, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage,[0008] communicating with the one or more buildings' HVAC systems to manually or automatically steer a floor condition of the said one or more buildings in response to the one or more trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0012] recommendations can further include generating at least one of a recommended start-up time and ramp-down time for a HVAC system based on at least the trends in the one or more building conditions, the predicted conditions, and the performance measurements, [0091] An improvement strategy can assign optimal start-up and ramp-down times to all past days (thus gaining access to the full variable set), and then learn the functional mappings between these optimal times. The start-up (and ramp-down) recommendation generator can employ the next day's weather forecast to select those learned days from the past that most closely fit tomorrow's forecast by day of the week, [0051] The identified trends and the predicted conditions can be displayed (562) so as to alert (563) an operator can when an anomaly between the predicted conditions and the actual building condition arises. For purpose of illustration and not limitation, the building conditions can be, for example, motor load in connection with a HVAC system. The motor load can be predicted and compared to actual motor load conditions, and thus a potential problem can be identified if there is an anomaly, [0055] the Horizon Indicator can be presented to an operator in the form of a dashboard including the executable recommendations. When the space temperature does not follow its predicted signature, an anomaly can be identified and building operators can be alerted to potential operational problems. Because the Horizon Indicator monitors space temperatures in real time, a recommended change in tenant comfort can be observed within minutes after it is made, [0113] The Horizon Indicator within the TPO enabled identification of which floors were too warm based on their continuous space temperature).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Anderson, Quam, and Walther teach The system of claim 8, (Anderson, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage)
Quam further teaches wherein the user interface allows a user to view one or more new controllers that have been installed in the building between the second time and the first time ([0353] a screen 1560 that may be displayed on the user interface of the user's remote device … configuring the newly installed HVAC controller 18, [0355] screen 1580 that may be displayed on the user interface of the user's remote device 62 related to configuring the newly installed HVAC controller 18.) .
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Anderson, Quam, and Walther teach The system of claim 8, wherein the user interface comprises (Anderson, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, [0008] trends, predicted conditions, or executable recommendations displayed on the graphical user interface, [0063] FIG. 10 depicts another exemplary user interface for displaying comparisons of energy usage)
Quam further teaches an indication of one or more issues resulting from the dirty filter (Fig. 19H, and 19L, [0106] In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include a first temperature sensor 38a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second temperature sensor 38b located in the discharge (outgoing or supply) air duct 10. Alternatively, or in addition, the equipment interface module 34 may include a differential pressure sensor including a first pressure tap 39a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second pressure tap 39b located downstream of the air filter 30 to measure a change in a parameter related to the amount of flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34, when provided, may include at least one flow sensor that is capable of providing a measure that is related to the amount of air flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include an air filter monitor. These are just some examples). (i.e. location for a filter that needs to be changed upstairs unit).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Anderson, Quam, and Walther teach The system of claim 13,
Quam further teaches the operations further comprising identifying the dirty filter by determining that a pressure drop across the dirty filter is greater than a threshold ([0106] In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include a first temperature sensor 38a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second temperature sensor 38b located in the discharge (outgoing or supply) air duct 10. Alternatively, or in addition, the equipment interface module 34 may include a differential pressure sensor including a first pressure tap 39a located in the return (incoming) air duct 14, and a second pressure tap 39b located downstream of the air filter 30 to measure a change in a parameter related to the amount of flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34, when provided, may include at least one flow sensor that is capable of providing a measure that is related to the amount of air flow restriction through the air filter 30. In some cases, the equipment interface module 34 may include an air filter monitor. These are just some examples. [0107] When provided, the equipment interface module 34 may be configured to communicate with the HVAC controller 18 via, for example, a wired or wireless communication link 42. In other cases, the equipment interface module 34 may be incorporated or combined with the HVAC controller 18. In either cases, the equipment interface module 34 may communicate, relay or otherwise transmit data regarding the selected parameter (e.g. temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc.) to the HVAC controller 18. In some cases, the HVAC controller 18 may use the data from the equipment interface module 34 to evaluate the system’s operation and/or performance. For example, the HVAC controller 18 may compare data related to the difference in temperature (delta T) between the return air side and the discharge air side of the HVAC system 4 to a previously determined delta T limit stored in the HVAC controller 18 to determine a current operating performance of the HVAC system 4).
Regarding claim 26, Anderson teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first inventory of points… in the BMS at the first time (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, [0054] The Horizon Indicator 410 can be configured to analyze occupancy patterns, tenant behavior, and characteristics of the space, and can identify tenant behaviors that correspond to changes in temperatures in different spaces (e.g., total tenant space, floors, conference rooms, cubicles, and traditional offices). As the historical record from the Horizon Indicator grows, it can become an empirical database of the effects of architecture, operations, and tenant behavior on the thermodynamic behavior of building spaces. Moreover, the Horizon Indicator can become a record for characterizing normality for the purpose of anomaly detection as described herein, [0009] collecting data can include querying one or more databases including the historical building data, real-time building data, historical exogenous data, and real-time exogenous data, and forecasts thereof)
Anderson does not teach indicates devices, controllers, communication devices, access points, or equipment electronically discovered as being included...
Walther teaches indicates devices, controllers, communication devices, access points, or equipment electronically discovered as being included in the BMS at the first time ([0069] the MCU's auto discovery function, which is described below, the LTC will also transmit a beacon message during initialization containing its identifier and other status information, notifying all MCUs in the radio neighborhood of its presence and availability for service, [0092] the discovery process to produce the definitive list, [0106] FIG. 12 is a flow diagram of the automatic discovery mechanism employed by the MCU to maintain a list of onsite GPS sources, cameras, and LTCs. All LTCs are GPS sources, each LTC may have one or more cameras, and each is discovered separately. The system maintains a list of all cameras and LTCs that are authorized to work at a given location (e.g., all LLCs operated by a specific organization). The auto discovery process begins operation 1201 when launched during initialization of the MCU server software. The auto discovery process fetches the list of authorized LTCs 1202 and, starting at the beginning of the list, attempts to get the next LTC on the list 1203 and, if successful 1204, requests a status message from the LTC 1205).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s teaching of an optimization system for smart buildings collecting data with Walther’s teaching of providing a list of active controllers using a discovery process. The combined teaching provides an expected result of an optimization system for smart buildings providing a list of active controllers using a discovery process. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to keep the system up to date which can fix defects and improve performance as supported by Walther [0108] FIG. 13 is a screenshot of the MCU's main display page, which is designed to display and dynamically update various aspects of the MCU's current configuration and details concerning current and recent operations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Gupta (US20160269486) discloses a smart building device discovery and control.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117