DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US PGPub 2013/0020720, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”, IDS reference).
Kim discloses the semiconductor device as claimed. See figures 1-28, with emphases in figures 1-3B, and corresponding text, where Kim teaches, in claim 1, semiconductor device comprising:
a first semiconductor die 10a having a top planar surface;
a second semiconductor die 10b having a bottom planar surface and a top planar surface;
a protective layer (30) including a bottom planar surface, a top planar surface, and a plurality of apertures (7) extending from the top planar surface of the protective layer to the bottom planar surface of the protective layer thereof, the protective layer (30) positioned on the top planar surface of the first semiconductor die (10a) between the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (10b); and
an adhesive layer (9) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, the adhesive layer positioned on the top planar surface of the protective layer (30) between the protective layer (30) and the second semiconductor die (10b), a portion of the adhesive layer (9) extending through the plurality of apertures (7) in the protective layer (30) and directly contacting the first semiconductor die (10a), wherein a periphery of the top planar surface of the first semiconductor die (10a) is covered by a periphery of the bottom planar surface of the protective layer (30) (figure 2; [0069-0077]).
Kim teaches, in claim 4, wherein the plurality of apertures are positioned proximate the periphery of the protective layer (figure 2; [0069-0077]).
Kim teaches, in claim 5, wherein a periphery of the protective layer is substantially planar with the periphery of the first semiconductor die (figure 2; [0069-0077]).
Kim teaches, in claim 6, wherein the protective layer is configured to reduce the occurrence of peeling of the adhesive layer from the protective layer (figure 2; [0069-0077]).
Kim teaches, in claim 7, wherein a periphery of the bottom planar surface of the adhesive layer contacts the periphery of the top planar surface of the protective layer (figure 2; [0069-0077]).
Kim teaches, in claim 8, wherein the protective layer includes one of a polymer and a polyimide (figure 2; [0069-0077]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art of record based on applicant’s persuasive arguments does not suggest or render obvious to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 January 24, 2026