Attorney Docket Number: 9022-108038-01
Filling Date: 2/16/22
Priority Date: 6/30/21
Inventor: Kim et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a length obtained by subtracting the extension width from the first length is greater than 0 and equal to or less than about 10 nm, and the channel region is configured to extend between one of the source region and the drain region located on an opposite side of the extension region and the extension end of the extension region.” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 in last four lines recites “a length obtained by subtracting the extension width from the first length is greater than 0 and equal to or less than about 10 nm, and the channel region is configured to extend between one of the source region and the drain region located on an opposite side of the extension region and the extension end of the extension region.” However, it is not understood from the claim language and the drawings that how channel region is between S/D and the extension end of the extension region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hokazono et al (US 2014/0054657 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Hokazono discloses a tunnel field effect transistor (Fig. 10) comprising: a source region 5 (Para. 21) and a drain region 6 (Para. 21), positioned on a substrate 1 (Para. 15); a channel region 4 (Para. 15) positioned between the source region 5 and the drain region 6 and having a first length in a first direction (X-direction); a gate electrode 12 (Para. 14) positioned on the channel region 4; and a gate insulating layer 11 (Para. 14) positioned between the channel region 4 and the gate electrode 12, wherein the source region 5 is doped with impurities of a first conductivity type (Para. 21) and the drain region 6 is doped with impurities of a second conductivity type (Para. 21) that is different from the first conductivity type, and
one of the source region 5 and the drain region 6 includes an extension region 7a (Paras. 24, 25, 57) extending toward the other region in the first direction (X-direction) by an extension width, the extension region 7a being positioned under the channel region 4 to form a constant current independent of a gate voltage of the gate electrode 12, wherein the extension width is equal to the first length 7a (Fig. 14); and wherein the extension region 7a has the same type of conductivity (Para. 57) as one of the source region 5 and the drain region.
Regarding claim 13, Hokazono further discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 12, wherein an upper surface of the extension region 7a is apart from an upper surface of the channel region 4 by a certain distance in a second direction (Y-direction) intersecting with the first direction (X-direction).
Regarding claim 14, Hokazono further discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 13, wherein the source region 5 includes a first extension region as the extension region 7a, wherein the first extension region 7a has an extension width in the first direction (X-direction) and the extension width is equal to the first length of the channel region 4.
Regarding claim 15, Hokazono further discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 14, wherein the first extension region 7a has a same type of conductivity as the first conductivity type 5 (Paras. 21, 57).
Regarding claim 17, Hokazono further discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 13, wherein the drain region 6 includes a second extension region 7c as the extension region, wherein the second extension region 7c (Para. 57) has an extension width in the first direction and the extension width is equal to the first length 4 of the channel region.
Regarding claim 18, Hokazono further discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 17, wherein the second extension region 7c has a same type of conductivity as the second conductivity type 6 (Paras. 21, 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gossner et al (US 2017/0125556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gossner discloses a tunnel field effect transistor (Fig. 1) comprising: a source region 10 (Para. 31) and a drain region 20 (Para. 32), positioned on a substrate 100 (Para. 32); a channel region 30 (Para. 33) positioned between the source region 10 and the drain region 20 and having a first length in a first direction (X-direction); a gate electrode 70 (Para. 37) positioned on the channel region 30; and a gate insulating layer 55 (Para. 35) positioned between the channel region 30 and the gate electrode 70, wherein the source region 10 is doped with impurities of a first conductivity type (N-type) and the drain region 20 is doped with impurities of a second conductivity type (P-type) that is different from the first conductivity type, one of the source region 10 and the drain region includes an extension region 50 (Para. 38) extending toward the other region (right).
Gossner does not explicitly disclose the extension region being positioned under the channel region to form a constant current independent of a gate voltage of the gate electrode.
However, Gossner discloses the same structure as claimed (see above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the extension region being positioned under the channel region to form a constant current independent of a gate voltage (inherent) for intended purposes (Para. 47). Also, the claim does not specify the extension region completely and only under the channel as disclosed in the instant application figure 1.
Gossner does not explicitly disclose a length obtained by subtracting the extension width from the first length is greater than 0 and equal to or less than about 10 nm, and the channel region is configured to extend between one of the source region and the drain region located on an opposite side of the extension region and the extension end of the extension region.
However, Gossner discloses a length obtained by subtracting the extension width 50 from the first length 30 is greater than 0 and equal to or less than about 10 nm (it is greater), and the channel region 30 is configured to extend between one of the source region 10 and the drain region located on an opposite side of the extension region 50 and the extension end of the extension region 50. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain a length obtained by subtracting the extension width from the first length is greater than 0 and equal to or less than about 10 nm, and the channel region is configured to extend between one of the source region and the drain region located on an opposite side of the extension region and the extension end of the extension region for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the length.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed length or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the extension region 50 is apart from an upper surface of the channel region 30 (top surface) by a certain distance in a second direction (Y-direction) intersecting with the first direction (X-direction).
Regarding claim 3, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 2, wherein the source region 10 includes a first extension region 50 (Para. 38) as the extension region, wherein the first extension region 50 has an extension width in the first direction (X-direction) and the extension width is less than or equal to the first length of the channel region 30 (consider the figure 1 is scaled).
Regarding claim 4, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 3, wherein the first extension region 50 has a same type of conductivity as the first conductivity type (N-type).
Regarding claim 5, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 3, wherein the first extension region 50 has a same type of conductivity as the second conductivity type (obvious to have in the art, see KR20200083151 (A), 2020-07-08, elements SDa, Para. 85, Fig. 7), wherein a doping concentration of the first extension region 50 (Para. 38) is lower than a doping concentration of the drain region 20 (Para. 32).
Regarding claim 6, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 2, wherein the drain region 20 includes a second extension region 40 (Para. 39) as the extension region, wherein the second extension region 40 has an extension width in the first direction (X-direction) and the extension width is less than or equal to the first length of the channel region 30 (consider the figure 1 is scaled).
Regarding claim 7, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 6, wherein the second extension region 40 has a same type of conductivity as the second conductivity type 20 (P-type).
Regarding claim 8, Gossner discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 6, wherein the second extension region has a same type of conductivity as the first conductivity type (very common in the art, see KR20200083151 (A), 2020-07-08, elements SDa, Para. 85, Fig. 7), wherein a doping concentration of the second extension region 40 (Para. 39) is lower than a doping concentration of the source region 10 (Para. 31).
Claim(s) 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hokazono et al (US 2014/0054657 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hokazono further discloses the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 14, wherein the first extension region 7c (Para. 57) has a same type of conductivity as the second conductivity type 6 (Para. 21).
Hokazono does not explicitly disclose a doping concentration of the first extension region is lower than a doping concentration of the drain region.
However, Hokazono discloses a particular concentrations for the first extension region 7a and the drain 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain a doping concentration of the first extension region is lower than a doping concentration of the drain region for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the concentration.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed concentration or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 19, Hokazono does not explicitly disclose the tunnel field effect transistor of claim 17, wherein the second extension region has a same type of conductivity as the first conductivity type, wherein a doping concentration of the second extension region is lower than a doping concentration of the source region.
However, Hokazono discloses a particular concentrations and conductivity type for the second extension region 7c and the source 5. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the second extension region has a same type of conductivity as the first conductivity type, wherein a doping concentration of the second extension region is lower than a doping concentration of the source region for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the concentration and conductivity.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed concentration and conductivity or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter.
Claims 9-11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 12-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817