DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and specification filed August 26, 2026 are acknowledged. Claim 1 was amended, and claims 2, 5, and 7-8 were cancelled. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-12, and 14-21 are pending.
Restriction/Election
Claims 12, and 14-21 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 9-11 are under consideration hereinafter.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed provisional application, Application No. 62/308,434, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, Application No. 62/308,434 fails to disclose SEQ ID NOs: 2-8 recited in instant claim 10. The first disclosure of SEQ ID NOs: 2-8 is in Application No. 15/459,873 (pg. 40-44). Accordingly, the effective filing date of claim 10 is March 15, 2017. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9, and 11 find support in Application No. 62/308,434, and therefore, have an effective filing date of March 15, 2016.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and specification have been thoroughly considered. The cancellation of claim 7 is sufficient to overcome the § 112(b) rejection of claim 7. Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 are sufficient to overcome the § 101 rejections raised in the prior action. See paragraph 23 of the prior action which explains why the limitations directed to a viral expression vector are sufficient to distinguish the instant claims from any naturally-occurring counterpart. The amendments to claim 1 are also sufficient to overcome the § 102 rejections raised over GenBank, the § 102 rejections raised over Cohen as evidenced by GenBank, and the § 103 rejections raised over Cohen as evidenced by GenBank in view of Bernard. The aforementioned rejections are withdrawn, accordingly.
Applicant’s response has been considered, but it is not found persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow. Any objection or rejection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Notice to Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Zhao in view of UCSC, GenBank, and Bernard
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Zhao et al., published online 1 September 2014, Ann Rheum Dis, 75: 242-252) in view of UCSC (UCSC Genome Browser on Human (GRCh37/hg19), chr1:207,627,281-207,628,554, Human hg19 chr1:207627281-207628554 UCSC Genome Browser v505, available as early as 1 September 2014 as evidenced by Zhao, accessed 2 November 2026), GenBank (Homo sapiens complement component (3d/Epstein Barr virus) receptor 2 (CR2) gene, complete cds, GenBank: EF064746.1, available 13 November 2006; of record) as evidenced by dpSNP (dpSNP, Reference SNP (rs) Report, rs1876453, released 3 September 2024, accessed 31 March 2026; of record), and Bernard (Bernard et al., 2013, Oncogene, 32, pg. 2150-2160; of record). The rejections that follow are new and necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim 1 is directed to a retroviral, adenoviral, herpes viral, or lentiviral vector comprising “a human DNA sequence encoding a human long noncoding RNA (lncRNA) molecule and a fragment from intron 1 of a complement receptor 2 (CR2) gene.” The limitation “encoding a human long noncoding RNA (lncRNA) molecule,” is interpreted as a property of the human DNA sequence conferred by its structure. The human lncRNA molecule itself is not required of the claim, only the sequence(s) which encode the lncRNA molecule need be present in the human DNA sequence as interpreted herein. The sequences within the human DNA sequence which encode the human lncRNA molecule may be discontinuous. See exemplary lncRNAs described in the specification (pg. 40, line 25-28). The fragment of intron 1 and the sequence encoding the human lncRNA molecule may be overlapping. See examples in the specification which describe a naturally-occurring human DNA sequence on chromosome 1 which encompasses a fragment of intron 1 and which encodes at least one lncRNA molecule (Figs. 1A-B; pg. 12, lines 21-24). The fragment of intron 1 must also comprise a SNP, wherein the SNP is a g [Wingdings font/0xE0] a transposition that corresponds to chromosomal position rs1876453.
Zhao teaches a SNP located in intron 1 of a human CR2 gene, wherein the SNP is a g [Wingdings font/0xE0] a transposition that corresponds to chromosomal position rs1876453 (“rs1876453 is 97 nucleotides from the 5’ end of the first intron of CR2,” pg. 247; “Fig. 3). Zhao teaches that rs1876453 is associated with a decreased risk of lupus (pg. 245-246), and suggests it has “long-range effects on the regulation of expression of CR1” in B cells of subjects that decrease susceptibility to lupus (Abstract; pg. 247).
Zhao teaches that “understanding [rs1876453] mechanisms will have important therapeutic implications” (Abstract). Zhao proposes several possible mechanisms for rs1876453 function including, altered binding of regulatory factors to intron 1 of CR2 which affects chromatin looping that regulates CR1 transcription, and production of regulatory RNA generated from intronic CR2 sequences, owing to the rs1876453 allele introducing a cryptic splice acceptor site that is predicted to modify splicing (pg. 250). Zhao teaches that several expressed sequence tags have been aligned to the region of the rs1876453 allele in B cells, and that the area is actively transcribed (pg. 250; Fig. 3).
Based on Zhao, the skilled artisan would be motivated to further investigate the potential mechanism(s) through which rs1876453 regulates CR1 expression in B cells, and/or decreases susceptibility to lupus. Based on the potential mechanisms of Zhao, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to investigate at least the region of the human CR2 gene encompassing exon 1, intron 1, and exon 2, because doing so would enable the skilled artisan to examine differences in splicing introduced by the rs1876453 allele located in intron 1, which may facilitate production of regulatory RNA therefrom.
Zhao does not teach the DNA sequence of the human CR2 gene, which comprises the fragment of intron 1 comprising the rs1876453 allele. Zhao also does not teach a retroviral, adenoviral, herpes viral, or lentiviral vector comprising a reversible, inducible expression element.
With respect to the DNA sequence, in Fig. 3, Zhao teaches positions in the human CR2 gene in the UCSC Genome Browser of GRCh37/hg19 which encompass the rs1876453 allele (“GRCh37/hg19 chr1:207,627,281-207,628,554,” Fig. 3 and description). The UCSC Genome Browser of GRCh37/hg19 teaches the DNA sequence corresponding to the positions of Zhao Fig. 3. UCSC does not teach the full DNA sequence of intron 1, or the sequence of exon 2, of the human CR2 gene, however.
GenBank teaches the DNA sequence of the human CR2 gene, including exon 1, intron 1, and exon 2, wherein according to GenBank, intron 1 encompasses nucleotides 2150-14200 ("CDS join(2092 ... 2149,14201...14587," pg. 2). The GenBank sequence comprises the sequence taught by UCSC corresponding to the positions of Zhao, Fig. 3. See attached Appendix IV. As shown in the alignment of record in Appendix I, the human DNA sequence taught by GenBank comprises sequences 100% identical to the human lncRNA molecule sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1. GenBank teaches intron 1 comprises a single nucleotide polymorphism at position "2246," wherein the position comprises an "a," rather than a "g,” and which as evidenced by dpSNP corresponds to the rs1876453 allele ("variation 2246" /gene= "CR2" /frequency= "0.06" /replace = "a""). Thus, the human DNA sequence taught by GenBank comprises a fragment of intron 1 which comprises the rs1876453 SNP, and encodes a human lncRNA molecule as required of claims 1 and 10.
With respect to the viral expression vector, Bernard teaches a lentiviral vector encoding a sequence expressed from the human genome (p53 isoforms, “∆133p53α,” ∆133p53β,” and ∆133p53γ,”), wherein the sequence is operably linked to a reversible, inducible expression element (“tetracyclin-inducible pTRE promoter”)(Lentivector production and U87 cell transduction,” pg. 2159). Bernard teaches that the expressed sequences correspond to splice variants, which are relevant in human disease (Abstract; pg. 2150-2151). Bernard demonstrates that the lentiviral vector encoding the expressed sequence facilitates investigation of the functional relevance of the sequences in human disease (Fig. 3, pg. 2153).
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, and 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have encoded at least exon 1, intron 1 comprising the g [Wingdings font/0xE0] a transposition SNP corresponding to rs1876453, and exon 2 of the human CR2 gene sequence taught by GenBank, in Bernard’s lentiviral vector comprising a reversible, inducible expression element. It would have amounted to encoding a known human DNA sequence expressed from the human genome as evidenced by Zhao, in a known vector for expressing sequences to investigate their function, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing Bernard’s lentiviral vector with the known human DNA sequence because Bernard teaches vectors comprising human DNA sequences, and because Bernard demonstrates that lentiviral vectors can be used to investigate the functional relevance of human DNA sequences in cells. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to prepare a lentiviral vector comprising the known human DNA sequence operably linked to a reversible, inducible expression element, because Zhao explicitly teaches that investigating the mechanisms of rs1876453, e.g., whether it modulates splicing to produce regulatory RNAs, will have important therapeutic implications, and Bernard’s lentiviral vector would enable the skilled artisan to perform the investigation suggested by Zhao.
Regarding claim 6, as described above, intron 1 of the CR2 gene taught by GenBank comprises a single nucleotide polymorphism at position "2246," which corresponds to rs1876453 as evidenced by dpSNP ("variation 2246" /gene= "CR2" /frequency= "0.06" /replace = "a""). The resulting sequence in the fragment of intron 1 of a CR2 gene comprises the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 13 as shown in Fig. A below.
FIGURE A.
2221 agcagggggc caaaagcgag acggtggggg cagtgctcga cgcgtgtccg cctcccgcta
gcgag acggtaggg SEQ ID NO: 13
Regarding claim 9, as evidenced by the alignment of record in Appendix I, the human DNA sequences taught by GenBank which are 100% identical to the human lncRNA molecule sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1, comprise a fragment from exon 2 of the CR2 gene, wherein according to GenBank, exon 2 encompasses nucleotides 14201-14587 ("CDS join(2092 ... 2149,14201...14587," pg. 2). See "Range 2: 14201 to 14431.”
Regarding claim 11, as evidenced by the alignment of record in Appendix I, the human DNA sequences taught by GenBank which are 100% identical to the human lncRNA molecule sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 also comprise SEQ ID NO: 14.
Response to Remarks - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s remarks regarding the § 103 rejections raised in the prior action have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA L PERSONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600