DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Independent claim(s) 1, 19 and 20 and dependent claims 16 and 18 have been amended by applicant' s amendments received 17 September 2025.
Claims 14 and 15 have been cancelled, and therefore prior rejections are moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 10-11, and paragraphs 3-4 on page 12) that the applied prior art (Smits, US 20170176575 A1) does not teach a mirror within its receiver system, where the mirror specifically directs incoming reflected light to a receiver, and that the incident light is “directly received by the receivers (1002, 1004, 1006 of Fig. 10)”. Applicant’s arguments include a quote from paragraph [0210] of Smits (page 11, paragraph 8) which they state discusses the transmit system, however the examiner respectfully notes that this quote does not align with the ‘575 referenced prior art’s paragraph [0210], but may reflect a paraphrase of Smits’ paragraph [0120], which discusses portions of the transmission system (and which may include a mirror such as a MEMS, separate from the receiver systems), as seen in Fig. 4. Paragraph [0210] of Smits ‘575 states:
“ [0210] In one or more of the various embodiments, receive system 412 may provide ultra-wide fast scanning. For example, the receive system 412 may include one or more “Lamb Drive” piezo-electric driven resonant steel mirror systems that have been demonstrated recently in research laboratories in Tsukuba Japan. In some of the various embodiments, the receive system 412 can scan wide angles at up to 60 kHz (120, 000 lines per second).” (emphasis added)
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the system may employ a mirror, scanning or not, for each receiving system and that this would be a mirror which is independent of the transmitting systems. This mirror, placed either at the location of the apertures (1002, 1004, 1006 of Fig. 10) or between the apertures and sensors (1008, 1010, 1012 of Fig. 10), would therefore redirect light reflected off the objects in the environment towards the sensors.
Further arguments are noted, such as that “the other one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged behind the laser emitting unit…” (page 11, paragraph 4) is not anticipated or taught by Smits. If the emitter (1024 of Fig. 10) is on the ABE axis (1020), then under the broadest reasonable interpretation, any receiver on the lower axis (1022) would be behind, or on the farther side of (with respect to the environment/objects) the emitter (1024).
Applicant (page 12 of remarks) also makes note of a requirement that three factors need be considered: a receiver positioned on an axis behind the emitter, a reflecting mirror redirects reflected light to the receiving unit on the axis behind, and that the arrangement enables a compact structure. The second point has already been discussed regarding Smit’s teaching of a mirror specific to the receiver structures.
Regarding the first point as noted above, and additional remarks on page 14, the applicant argues that Shamlian et al. (Shamlian, US 20140088761 A1) does not employ a reflecting mirror, which is correct, but also that the field of views of the detectors (524 a, b) within Fig. 8D are not obstructed by the emitter (522), which is not a limitation which is claimed in the present application, however is an arrangement shown by Fig. 8A of Shamlian. The multiple embodiments of relative emitter and receiver locations, such as to parallel to and to a left and/or right side (such as Figs. 8B and 8C), behind (such as in Fig. 8D), or directly behind (such as in Fig. 8A) would all be an obvious combination with the system of Smits, which can employ a mirror in the multiple receive systems, to form a combination which detects a distance to an object or portion of an environment, such as a floor.
Regarding the third point, as mentioned on page 12 of the remarks, per the compact structure of the combination, the prior art of Shamlian is directed at a proximity sensor for use in systems such as robotic vacuum cleaners. While Smits is a more generally applicable distance measurement device, which may have a horizontal axis of up to 3 meters, Smits also teaches that the device can work with an extremely small offsets ([0314]), and the offset can be chosen for the desired system and range preferences.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1, 19 and 20 have been amended to incorporate limitations previously presented in claims 14 and 15, and as noted above the arguments regarding the teaching of prior art Smits (claim 14) and Smits in view of Shamlian (claim 15) were fully considered but found not to be persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-13 and 16-20 have been updated to reflect the new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smits (US 20170176575 A1) and in view of Shamlian et al. (hereinafter Shamlian, US 20140088761 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smits teaches a ranging apparatus, comprising:
a laser emitting unit ([0070]) configured to emit pulse laser to a target object to be ranged ([0148], [0156]; Fig. 10 (1024))
a first receiving unit configured to receive the pulse laser reflected from the target object and generate a corresponding first signal, wherein the first signal is for calculating and determining distance according to a triangle ranging principle ([0155] - [0158]; first receiving unit (1002) which may estimate distance by triangulation [0178] – [0179]);
a second receiving unit configured to receive the pulse laser reflected from the target object and generate a corresponding second signal, wherein the second signal is for calculating and determining distance according to a time-of-flight principle ([0155] - [0158]; second receiving unit (1004) which may estimate distance by time-of-flight (ToF) [0178] – [0179]); and
one or more circuit board, wherein the first receiving unit, the second receiving unit, and the laser emitting unit are all electronically connected to the circuit board ([0072], [0089], [0313], [0388]; where integrated Tx-Rx systems may be optically combined and connected via integrated circuitry);
wherein the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit are arranged on two sides of the laser emitting unit ([0166]; Fig. 13); or the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit are arranged on the same side of the laser emitting unit;
a reflecting mirror configured to reflect the pulse laser reflected from the target object to at least one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit ([0207], [0210]; Fig. 4, 10 where receiving system (412, 1002, 1004, 1006) may employ a scanning mirror).
Smits does not explicitly teach one receiving unit is arranged behind the emitter.
Shamlian teaches a ranging system where one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged left or right with the laser emitting unit; and the other one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged behind the laser emitting unit (Figs. 8A-8D, which show variations on emitter, first sensor and second sensor locations which may include adjacent to, and behind).
Smits does teach embodiments where the actual sensor (Fig. 10 (1008)) of a first receiver (Fig. 10, (1002)) does not lie on the same optical axis as the transmitter (Fig. 10, axis (1020) with emitter (1024)) and receiver apertures (Fig. 10 first aperture (1014)), and therefore would lie below, or behind, the emitter. Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Shamlian that a sensor can optically be placed behind a transmitter and a mirror, such as a MEMS, may direct the reflected light towards the sensor with a reasonable expectation of success of a modified optical alignment without affecting the operation of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
an optical axis of the laser emitting unit and an optical axis of the second receiving unit are both perpendicular to the same circuit board ([0164]; Fig. 13 where second sensing unit (1308) lies on same axis as emitter which creates emitted ray (1314) and both optical axes are parallel and each is connected to the same circuit board).
Regarding claim 3, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the ranging apparatus further comprises a first lens disposed upon the first receiving unit and allowing the reflected pulse laser to pass through and be projected to the first receiving unit ([0121] - [0122], [0155]; Fig. 10 where a first receiving unit (1002) includes an aperture (1014) which may include a lens above a sensor (1008)).
Regarding claim 4, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 3, wherein:
an optical axis of the first receiving unit is perpendicular to the circuit board, an optical axis of the first lens and the optical axis of the first receiving unit are parallel and offset, and the optical axis of the first receiving unit is further away from the optical axis of the laser emitting unit than the optical axis of the first lens ([0121], [0155]; Fig. 10 where the axis of first sensor (1008) is further from emitter (1024) than axis of aperture (1014) which may include a lens);
or the optical axis of the first receiving unit is perpendicular to the circuit board, and the optical axis of the first lens intersects with both the optical axis of the first receiving unit and the optical axis of the laser emitting unit, and the optical axis of the first lens passes through a receiving surface of the first receiving unit;
or the optical axis of the first lens intersects with the optical axis of the laser emitting unit, and the optical axis of the first lens passes through and is perpendicular to a receiving surface of the first receiving unit.
Regarding claim 5, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the ranging apparatus further comprises a second lens disposed upon the second receiving unit and allowing the reflected pulse laser to pass through and be projected to the second receiving unit ([0121] - [0122], [0155]; Fig. 10 where a second receiving unit (1004) includes an aperture (1016) which may include a lens above a sensor (1010)).
Regarding claim 11, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged up or down with the laser emitting unit, and the other of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged left or right with the laser emitting unit ([0161] - [0163] ; Figs. 11, 12 show variations on locations where sensors and transmitters may be placed. Fig. 11 shows sensors (1102, 1104) to sides of transmitter (1110) and sensor (1106) above transmitter).
Regarding claim 16, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the other one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is placed vertically or obliquely ([0161] - [0163] ; Figs. 11, 12 show variations on locations where sensors and transmitters may be placed. Fig. 11 shows sensors (1102, 1104) to sides of transmitter (1110) and sensor (1106) above transmitter);
or the one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit, and the laser emitting unit are arranged on the same circuit board or different circuit boards.
Regarding claim 17, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the ranging apparatus further comprises a calculating unit ([0114]) configured to receive the first signal and the second signal and perform distance calculation and determination according to the triangle ranging principle ([0188]; Fig. 18 (1816)) and the time-of-flight principle, respectively ([0191]; Fig. 18 (1820, 1822)).
Regarding claim 18, Smits teaches ranging apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the calculating unit is configured to:
analyze the first signal according to the triangle ranging principle to determine a first distance between the target object and the ranging apparatus, and analyze the second signal according to the time-of-flight principle to get to know a second distance between the target object and the ranging apparatus ([0188] - [0191]; Fig. 18, process (1816) occurs before process (1822));
Smits does not teach explicitly weighting the signals in any fashion for determining the distance to an object.
Shamlian teaches a system where a distance between the target object and the ranging apparatus can be calculated in a weighted manner according to the first distance and the second distance ([0064] - [0066], where the distance to an object (surface) uses both first and second distance calculations weighted by gain of each sensor).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Shamlian to use a known process in the art of weighting values (such as using the gain as taught by Shamlian) to determine an average or collective distance measurement to an object. There is a reasonable expectation of success for determining a distance based on both triangulation and time-of-flight data as they are two distance measurements collected by the same system, just from separate sensors and methods. Smits teaches calculating, and comparing, the distance determined from both sensors and both methods (triangulation and time-of-flight) where the two methods carry different uncertainties, and the system can compare values from sensors to increase accuracy ([0179]-[0194], Fig. 18).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smits (US 20170176575 A1) in view of Shamlian et al. (hereinafter Shamlian, US 20140088761 A1), and further in view of Pacala (US 20200025880 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, where transmitters may also include optical components to direct, focus, and scan the outgoing beam ([0071]).
Smits does not explicitly teach the optical components are a lens which is connected to a frame, which is connected to the circuit board.
Pacala teaches a ranging apparatus which comprises a third lens for emitted pulse laser to pass, wherein the third lens is mounted on a third frame, which is fixed to the circuit board ([0077], [0118]; Fig. 5B, where each emitting module carries individual optical components (215) and housing (512) and are connected to circuit board assembly (522)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Pacala, where a transmitter has a lens associated with it that is within an individual housing and connected to a circuit board assembly with a reasonable expectation of success of collimating or directing the outgoing beams of a transmitter. This is a simple substitution of two elements (a lens without an explicitly mentioned frame versus a lens mounted on an individual frame) which would occur with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the ranging apparatus further comprises a first lens disposed upon the first receiving unit and allowing the reflected pulse laser to pass through and be projected to the first receiving unit and/or the ranging apparatus further comprises a second lens disposed upon the second receiving unit and allowing the reflected pulse laser to pass through and be projected to the second receiving unit ([0121] - [0122], [0155]; Fig. 10 where a first receiving unit (1002) includes an aperture (1014), and a second receiving unit (1004) may both include a lens above their sensors (1008, 1010), respectively).
Smits does not explicitly teach the optical lenses are connected to a frame, which is connected to the circuit board.
Pacala teaches a ranging apparatus where a first lens is disposed upon the first receiving unit and allowing the reflected pulse laser to pass through and be projected to the first receiving unit, the first lens is mounted on a first frame, and the first frame is mounted on the third frame ([0077], [0118]; Fig. 5B, where each receiving module carries individual optical components (215) and housing (514) and are connected to circuit board assembly (522)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Pacala, where a receiver/sensor has a lens associated with it that is within an individual housing and connected to a circuit board assembly with a reasonable expectation of success of collimating or directing the incoming beams to a sensor within the device. This is a simple substitution of two elements (a lens without an explicitly mentioned frame versus a lens mounted on an individual frame) which would occur with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Smits teaches a lidar, comprising a ranging apparatus ([0003] );
wherein the ranging apparatus comprises:
a laser emitting unit ([0070]) configured to emit pulse laser to a target object to be ranged ([0148], [0156]; Fig. 10 (1024))
a first receiving unit configured to receive the pulse laser reflected from the target object and generate a corresponding first signal, wherein the first signal is for calculating and determining distance according to a triangle ranging principle ([0155] - [0158]; first receiving unit (1002) which may estimate distance by triangulation [0178]);
and a second receiving unit configured to receive the pulse laser reflected from the target object and generate a corresponding second signal, wherein the second signal is for calculating and determining distance according to a time-of-flight principle ([0155] - [0158]; second receiving unit (1004) which may estimate distance by time-of-flight (ToF) [0178]);
a reflecting mirror configured to reflect the pulse laser reflected from the target object to at least one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit ([0207], [0210]; Fig. 4, 10 where receiving system (412, 1002, 1004, 1006) may employ a scanning mirror).
Smits does not teach the explicit nature of the rotating pan-tilt of the housing, nor the housing specifics itself, for the range sensing system or explicitly teach one receiving unit is arranged behind the emitter.
Pacala teaches a lidar with a rotating pan-tilt comprising a base (Fig. 5B (502)), a rotating plate (Fig. 5B (522)), a transmission mechanism, and a driving apparatus (Fig. 5B the device can be rotated by rotary actuator (520)), wherein the rotating plate is rotatably mounted on the base, the driving apparatus is mounted on the base, the transmission mechanism connects the rotating plate with the driving apparatus, and the ranging apparatus is arranged on the rotating plate ([0114] - [0125]); and
the rotating pan-tilt further comprises a shell which is a solid structure capable of transmitting laser light ([0115] - [0116]; Figs. 5A, 5B where housing (508) includes window(s) (504) which allows light to pass).
Shamlian teaches a ranging system where one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged left or right with the laser emitting unit; and the other one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged behind the laser emitting unit (Figs. 8A-8D, which show variations on emitter, first sensor and second sensor locations which may include adjacent to, and behind).
Smits teaches that one embodiment of their transmit and receive system may be housed in a vehicle, such as is shown in Fig. 16 (1608) as an ultra-small vehicle, and additionally teaches embodiments where the actual sensor (Fig. 10 (1008)) of a first receiver (Fig. 10, (1002)) does not lie on the same optical axis as the transmitter (Fig. 10, axis (1020) with emitter (1024)) and receiver apertures (Fig. 10 first aperture (1014)), and therefore would lie below, or behind, the emitter. Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Pacala, where small vehicle such as a robot or drone may house the LIDAR system as taught by Smits, in a rotatable housing such as taught by Pacala, as well as the teachings of Shamlian where a sensor can optically be placed behind a transmitter and a mirror, such as a MEMS, and which may direct the reflected light towards the sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success of creating a small, mobile sensing unit which detects ranges to objects.
Regarding claim 20, Smits teaches a mobile robot, comprising a lidar, which comprises a ranging apparatus ([0003] );
wherein the ranging apparatus comprises:
a laser emitting unit ([0070]) configured to emit pulse laser to a target object to be ranged ([0148], [0156]; Fig. 10 (1024))
a first receiving unit configured to receive the pulse laser reflected from the target object and generate a corresponding first signal, wherein the first signal is for calculating and determining distance according to a triangle ranging principle ([0155] - [0158]; first receiving unit (1002) which may estimate distance by triangulation [0178]);
and a second receiving unit configured to receive the pulse laser reflected from the target object and generate a corresponding second signal, wherein the second signal is for calculating and determining distance according to a time-of-flight principle ([0155] - [0158]; second receiving unit (1004) which may estimate distance by time-of-flight (ToF) [0178]);
a reflecting mirror configured to reflect the pulse laser reflected from the target object to at least one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit ([0207], [0210]; Fig. 4, 10 where receiving system (412, 1002, 1004, 1006) may employ a scanning mirror).
Smits does not teach the explicit nature of the rotating pan-tilt of the system for the range sensing system or explicitly teach one receiving unit is arranged behind the emitter.
Pacala teaches a lidar with a rotating pan-tilt comprising a base (Fig. 5B (502)), a rotating plate (Fig. 5B (522)), a transmission mechanism, and a driving apparatus (Fig. 5B the device can be rotated by rotary actuator (520)), wherein the rotating plate is rotatably mounted on the base, the driving apparatus is mounted on the base, the transmission mechanism connects the rotating plate with the driving apparatus, and the ranging apparatus is arranged on the rotating plate ([0114] - [0125]).
Shamlian teaches a ranging system where one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged left or right with the laser emitting unit; and the other one of the first receiving unit and the second receiving unit is arranged behind the laser emitting unit (Figs. 8A-8D, which show variations on emitter, first sensor and second sensor locations which may include adjacent to, and behind).
Smits teaches that one embodiment of their transmit and receive system may be housed in a vehicle, such as is shown in Fig. 16 (1608) as an ultra-small vehicle, and additionally teaches embodiments where the actual sensor (Fig. 10 (1008)) of a first receiver (Fig. 10, (1002)) does not lie on the same optical axis as the transmitter (Fig. 10, axis (1020) with emitter (1024)) and receiver apertures (Fig. 10 first aperture (1014)), and therefore would lie below, or behind, the emitter. Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Pacala, where small vehicle such as a robot or drone may house the LIDAR system as taught by Smits, in a rotatable housing such as taught by Pacala, as well as the teachings of Shamlian where a sensor can optically be placed behind a transmitter and a mirror, such as a MEMS, and which may direct the reflected light towards the sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success of creating a small, mobile sensing unit which detects ranges to objects.
Claim(s) 8-10, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smits (US 20170176575 A1) in view of Shamlian et al. (hereinafter Shamlian, US 20140088761 A1), and further in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang, US 20230008790 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 1, where all components are connected via integrated circuitry ([0072], [0089], [0313], [0388]).
Smits does not teach the explicit separation of optical emitters/receivers onto circuit boards.
Zhang teaches a ranging apparatus where at least two of the laser emitting unit, the first receiving unit, and the second receiving unit are arranged on different circuit boards ([0044] - [0049]; Fig. 3 where emitter (111) and sensor (121) are housed on individual circuit boards (112) and (122), respectively).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success of utilizing multiple physical circuit boards, which are connected electronically and/or physically, to house different transmitters and/or receivers in the system of Smits. Zhang shows that you can combine emitters and sensors onto the same base, where there are multiple circuit boards one for each sensor and emitter (Fig. 3). To one of ordinary skill in the art, the system of Smits could use an individual board structure such as this for a single emitter and two sensors with a predictable result of having three individual circuit boards instead of one integrated board without fundamentally changing the functionality of the system.
Regarding claim 9, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 8, where all components are connected via integrated circuitry ([0072], [0089], [0313], [0388]).
Smits does not teach the explicit separation of optical emitters/receivers onto circuit boards.
Zhang teaches a ranging apparatus where the laser emitting unit, the first receiving unit, and the second receiving unit are respectively arranged on a first circuit board, a second circuit board, and a third circuit board, wherein the ranging apparatus further comprises a mounting structure that holds the first circuit board, the second circuit board, and the third circuit board relatively fixed);
or the laser emitting unit and the first receiving unit are arranged on a fourth circuit board, and the second receiving unit is arranged on a third circuit board, wherein the ranging apparatus further comprises a mounting structure that holds the fourth circuit board and the third circuit board relatively fixed ([0044] - [0049]; Fig. 3 where emitter (111) and sensor (121) are housed on individual circuit boards (112) and (122), respectively and all attached to frame (13).
As discussed above, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success of utilizing multiple physical circuit boards, which are connected electronically and/or physically, to house different combinations of transmitters and/or receivers in the system of Smits. Zhang shows that you can combine an emitter and a sensor onto the same base, where there are multiple circuit boards (one for each sensor and emitter) (Fig. 3). To one of ordinary skill in the art, the system of Smits could use a board structure such as this where an emitter and one of the sensors share a circuit board, and the second sensor is housed on a separate circuit board without fundamentally changing the functionality of the system.
Regarding claim 10, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 8, where all components are connected via integrated circuitry ([0072], [0089], [0313], [0388]).
Smits does not teach the explicit separation of optical emitters/receivers onto circuit boards.
Zhang teaches a ranging apparatus where the different circuit boards are arranged to be parallel to each other (Fig. 3, boards (112) and (122) are parallel with same orientation/optical axis).
As discussed above, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success of utilizing multiple physical circuit boards, which are connected electronically and/or physically, to house different combinations of transmitters and/or receivers in the system of Smits. Zhang shows that the multiple circuit boards may be arranged parallel to one another while attached to the base (Fig. 3). Smits teaches that the emitter and receiver units can be oriented parallel to one another (Figs. 11, 12) and utilizing the individual circuit boards of Zhang in an orientation taught by Smits would have predictable results of aligned optical axes with respect to connected circuit boards.
Regarding claim 12, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 11, where all components are connected via integrated circuitry ([0072], [0089], [0313], [0388]).
Smits does not teach the explicit separation of optical emitters/receivers onto circuit boards.
Zhang teaches a ranging apparatus where at least two of the laser emitting unit, the laser emitting unit, the first receiving unit, and the second receiving unit are all arranged on the same circuit board, or, the first receiving unit, and the second receiving unit are arranged on different circuit boards ([0044] - [0049]; Fig. 3 where emitter (111) and sensor (121) are housed on individual circuit boards (112) and (122), respectively).
As discussed above, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success of utilizing multiple physical circuit boards, which are connected electronically and/or physically, to house different transmitters and/or receivers in the system of Smits. Zhang shows that you can combine emitters and sensors onto the same base, where there are multiple circuit boards one for each sensor and emitter (Fig. 3). To one of ordinary skill in the art, the system of Smits could use an individual board structure such as this for a single emitter and two sensors with a predictable result of having three individual circuit boards instead of one integrated board without fundamentally changing the functionality of the system.
Regarding claim 13, Smits as modified above teaches the ranging apparatus according to claim 12, where all components are connected via integrated circuitry ([0072], [0089], [0313], [0388]).
Smits does not teach the explicit separation of optical emitters/receivers onto circuit boards.
Zhang teaches a ranging apparatus where the different circuit boards are arranged to be parallel to each other (Fig. 3, boards (112) and (122) are parallel with same orientation/optical axis).
As discussed above, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Smits to incorporate the teachings of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success of utilizing multiple physical circuit boards, which are connected electronically and/or physically, to house different combinations of transmitters and/or receivers in the system of Smits. Zhang shows that the multiple circuit boards may be arranged parallel to one another while attached to the base (Fig. 3). Smits teaches that the emitter and receiver units can be oriented parallel to one another (Figs. 11, 12) and utilizing the individual circuit boards of Zhang in an orientation taught by Smits would have predictable results of aligned optical axes with respect to connected circuit boards.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Snyder (US 20190313020 A1) teaches a Mobile Tracking Camera Device, which includes a base plate rotatably coupled to the housing and a motor to rotate the housing for use in an imaging system to monitor a space.
Carlson et al. (US 20210088175 A1) teaches a pan-tilt unit for use in lidar which utilizes a rotating platform, motor and coupling plates.
Nishide (US 20210061229 A1) teaches an imaging system which utilizes frames for internal optical components which are attached to a base unit.
Pashall et al. (US 20190161274 A1) teaches autonomous mobile robot systems used to detect objects and obstacles, where obstacle detection sensors such as LIDAR can be configured to use both time-of-flight and triangulation to determine distances and navigate workspaces.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645