DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated October 24, 2025, in which claims 1 and 11 were amended, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (U.S. Pub. 2023/0194998) in view of Miyasaka (U.S. Pub. 2010/0321705).
Regarding claim 1, Feng [Figs.1-16] discloses a structure for an alignment measurement mark, comprising:
a first overlay mark [12]; and
a second overlay mark [11], comprising a pattern structure to be measured;
wherein a layer [22] where the first overlay mark is located is adjacent to a layer [21] where the second overlay mark is located, and an orthographic projection of the first overlay mark onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is located at an inner side of the second overlay mark [Figs.1,8-12], or an orthographic projection of the first overlay mark onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is located at a periphery of the second overlay mark [Figs.1,8-12].
Feng fails to explicitly disclose the claimed relative spacing of the overlay marks. However, Miyasaka [Figs.13,16,18] discloses a structure wherein a spacing between the second overlay mark [201,202] and an edge of the orthographic projection of the first overlay mark [101] onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is not less than 2 µm [Paras.70-71,82-83] [Looking at the dimensions of the widths and spacing with respect to the overlay marks in Fig.18, it could be determined that the spacing between structures 202a and 101a to be about 3 µm, which is not less than 2 µm].
It would have been obvious to provide the dimensions and relative spacing as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2, 4-5, 7, 9, and 12-13, Feng [Figs.1-16] discloses a structure for an alignment measurement mark, comprising:
wherein the second overlay mark [11] comprises a shape of a circle, a cross or a regular polygon [Figs.1,8-12];
wherein when the orthographic projection of the first overlay mark onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is located on the periphery of the second overlay mark, the first overlay mark comprises:
a first alignment pattern [12], wherein an orthographic projection of the first alignment pattern onto the layer where the second overlay mark [11] is located, is located on two opposite sides of the second overlay mark, the first alignment pattern extends in a first direction [at least in Fig.8]; and
a second alignment pattern [12], wherein an orthographic projection of the second alignment pattern onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is located on two opposite sides of the second overlay mark, and on outer sides of the first alignment pattern, the second alignment pattern has a spacing from the first alignment pattern, the second alignment pattern extends in a second direction, the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction [at least in Fig.8];
wherein the first alignment pattern comprises a single first alignment structure [12] and the second alignment pattern comprises a single second alignment structure [12];
wherein the single first alignment structure and the single second alignment structure are both in a structure of strip [12];
wherein the single first alignment structure [12] has a length greater than a size of the second overlay mark [11] in the first direction and greater than a size of the second overlay mark in the second direction [At least in Figs.9-10];
wherein the first overlay mark [12] comprises an annular overlay mark [Fig.6];
wherein a center of the first overlay mark is overlapped with a center of the second overlay mark [Fig.8].
Regarding claim 3, Feng discloses a conductive hole [Para.51] but fails to explicitly disclose a through-silicon via. However, it would be obvious to provide wherein the second overlay mark comprises a through-silicon via pattern as claimed. It would have been obvious to apply one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Feng fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claims. However, Miyasaka [Figs.13,16,18] discloses a structure
wherein a size of the second overlay mark [20,201,202] in the first direction or the second direction is not less than 3 µm, a size of the first overlay mark [10,101] in the first direction or the second direction is 30 µm to 80 µm [Paras.70-71,82-83];
wherein at least one of the first overlay mark or the second overlay mark is located on a surface of a photoresist layer [Para.89].
It would have been obvious to provide the dimensions as claimed and the photoresist layer, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (U.S. Pub. 2023/0194998) in view of Miyasaka (U.S. Pub. 2010/0321705), as applied above and further in view of Lan (U.S. Pub. 2011/0156285).
Regarding claims 6, 8, and 10, Feng fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first alignment pattern comprises a plurality of first alignment structures arranged in parallel at intervals.
However, Lan [Fig.1C] discloses a structure
wherein the first alignment pattern [121] comprises a plurality of first alignment structures arranged in parallel at intervals, and the second alignment pattern [122] comprises a plurality of second alignment structures arranged in parallel at intervals;
wherein the first alignment structures and the second alignment structures are both in a structure of strip [Fig.1C];
wherein the first alignment structures [12] have a length greater than a size of the second overlay mark [13] in the first direction and greater than a size of the second overlay mark in the second direction [Fig.1C].
It would have been obvious to provide the alignment structures as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant's assertions that Miyasaka fails to disclose wherein a spacing between the second overlay mark and an edge of the orthographic projection of the first overlay mark onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is not less than 2 µm, are not persuasive. As presented above, Miyasaka [Fig.18] discloses the dimensions of the widths and spacing with respect to the overlay marks. It could be determined that the spacing between structures 202a and 101a to be about 3 µm. Consequently, Miyasaka discloses wherein a spacing between the second overlay mark and an edge of the orthographic projection of the first overlay mark onto the layer where the second overlay mark is located, is not less than 2 µm.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made Final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAC H AU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898