DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 2 is cancelled; claims 12-14 are withdrawn; claims 1 and 3-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Since they pertain to the amendments to the claims they will be addressed below in the prior art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osorio (U.S. 2012/0083700). Osorio discloses (Figure 1) the implantable medical device including a first electrode (par. 0181) coupled to a first cranial nerve structure and a second electrode coupled to a second cranial nerve structure, the method comprising: obtaining data (par. 0052) relating to at least a portion of a heart beat complex from a patient, the obtained data further related to a heart rate variability (par. 0044; Table 1); comparing the at least the portion of the heart beat complex to stored data relating to the patient; indicating an occurrence of a state change based upon a determination of the comparison; providing a first electrical signal to the first cranial nerve structure of the patient; determining that at least one heart beat complex shape fails to match a reference heart beat complex shape template (par. 0074); verifying the occurrence of the state change based upon the determination that the at least one heart beat complex shape fails to match the reference heart beat complex shape template; and providing a second electrical signal to the second cranial nerve structure.
Regarding claim 3, Osorio discloses (par. 0112) the verification of the occurrence of the state change is based on a determination that a portion of data relating to the patient failed to match the portion of the heart beat complex.
Regarding claim 4, Osorio discloses (par. 0215) determining a reference heart rate derived shape from the time series of cardiac data where the reference heart rate derived shape comprises a characteristic selected from a second number of phases relative to the reference heart rate derived shape; a number of positive phases relative to the reference heart rate derived shape; a number of negative phases relative to the reference heart rate derived shape; a number of extrema of the heart rate derivative; an area under a curve of a phase; or a number of directions of change of the heart rate derivative.
Regarding claim 5, Osorio discloses (par. 0215) the identifying the occurrence of the state change is further based upon a determination that the reference heart rate derived shape matches a portion of the data relating to the patient.
Regarding claim 6, Osorio discloses (par. 0215) the data relating to the patient is further related to a heart rate.
Regarding claim 7, Osorio discloses (par. 0215) obtaining a time series of cardiac data from the patient; determining a reference heart rate derived shape from the time series of cardiac data where the reference heart rate derived shape comprises at least one characteristic selected from: a number of phases relative to the reference heart rate parameter; a number of extrema of a heart rate derivative; a number of directions of change of the heart rate derivative; an area under a first curve of a first phase; a number of positive phases; or a number of negative phases.
Regarding claim 8, Osorio discloses (Table 1) the data relating to the patient comprises at least one of: an amplitude of a P wave; a polarity of the P wave; an amplitude of an R wave; a polarity of a Q wave; a polarity of the R wave; an amplitude of an S wave; a polarity of the S wave; an amplitude of a T wave; a polarity of the T wave; an area under a curve of the P wave; an area under a curve of the Q wave; an area under a curve of the R wave; an area under a curve of the S wave; an area under a curve of the T wave; a width of the P wave; a width of the Q wave; a width of the R wave; a width of the S wave; a width of the T wave; a morphology of the P wave; a morphology of the Q wave; a morphology of the R wave; a morphology of the T wave; a magnitude of a change in a distance from the P wave to the Q wave; a magnitude of a change in a distance from the P wave to the R wave; a magnitude of a change in a distance from the Q wave to the R wave; a magnitude of a change in a distance from the R wave to the S wave; a magnitude of a change in a distance from the R wave to the T wave; a magnitude of a change in a distance from the S wave to the T wave; a magnitude of an S-T segment elevation; a magnitude of an S-T segment depression; a magnitude of a Q-T segment elevation; a magnitude of a Q-T segment depression; a P-R interval; an R-S interval; an S-T interval; an R-T interval; and a Q-T interval.
Regarding claim 9, Osorio discloses (par. 0052) the identifying the occurrence of the state change is based upon a determination that a match occurred between the heart beat complex and the stored data relating to the patient.
Regarding claim 10, Osorio discloses (par. 0170) taking an action in response to the verification, wherein the action is at least one of: providing a warning of the seizure; logging a time of the seizure; computing one or more seizure indices; logging one or more computed seizure indices; providing at least one treatment of the seizure; and two or more thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Osorio discloses (par. 0112) the obtaining further comprises obtaining data relating to at least a portion of a plurality of heart beat complex shapes and the verification is based upon a determination that at least one heart beat complex shape of the plurality of heart beat complex shapes fails to match the reference heart beat complex shape template.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792