DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 12/30/2025 amended claims 1, 12 and 13. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 8-22 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Basset (US 20200096767 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Basset teaches an optical combiner (1; Fig. 1-24), wherein the optical combiner (1) comprises a transparent substrate (4) and a metasurface layer (2, 20) disposed on a surface of the transparent substrate (4), wherein the metasurface layer (2, 20) comprises a plurality of metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) arranged two-dimensionally with adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) forming metasurface unit pairs (a ridge from 22/23 and a corresponding ridge from 24/25), wherein at least some of the metasurface unit pairs are arranged in a V-shape or an inverted-V shape (Fig. 4a; [0089]), a spacing between two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) in the plurality of metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) gradually changes along one or two dimensions (Fig. 1), and a relative angle between any two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) is non-zero (Fig. 4a; [0029], [0030], [0093]-[0095]). Basset further teaches the metasurface layer (2, 20) is configured to reflect optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) in a narrow-linewidth band (Δλ, [0115]) and transmit optical signals in a broad-linewidth band (WORLD; [0102]), and wherein the optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) in the narrow-linewidth band (Δλ) comprise at least three wavelengths ([0103], [0130]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 12, Basset teaches an augmented reality (AR) device (Fig. 1-24; [0025]), wherein the AR device comprises: an optical combiner (1), wherein the optical combiner (1) comprises a transparent substrate (4) and a metasurface layer (2, 20), the metasurface layer (2, 20) is disposed on a surface of the transparent substrate (4), the metasurface layer (2, 20) comprises a plurality of metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) arranged two-dimensionally, with adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) forming metasurface unit pairs (a ridge from 22/23 and a corresponding ridge from 24/25), wherein at least some of the metasurface unit pairs are arranged in a V-shape or an inverted-V shape (Fig. 4a; [0089]), a spacing between two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) in the plurality of metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) changes along one or two dimensions (Fig. 1), and a relative angle between any two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) is non-zero (Fig. 4a; [0029], [0030], [0093]-[0095]); and at least one projector (110, 110a, 110b, 111, 112); and a fixing apparatus (100; Fig. 24), wherein the fixing apparatus (100) is configured to fix the optical combiner (1) and the at least one projector (110, 110a, 110b, 111, 112), wherein the optical combiner (1) is configured to reflect optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) in a narrow-linewidth band (Δλ) that are generated by the at least one projector (110, 110a, 110b, 111, 112) and transmit optical signals (WORLD) in a broad-linewidth band, and wherein the optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) in the narrow-linewidth band (Δλ) comprise at least three wavelengths ([0103], [0130]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 13, Basset teaches an augmented reality (AR) device (Fig. 1-24; [0025]), wherein the AR device comprises: an optical combiner (1), wherein the optical combiner (1) comprises a transparent substrate (4) and a metasurface layer (2, 20), the metasurface layer (2, 20) is disposed on a surface of the transparent substrate (4), the metasurface layer (2, 20) comprises a plurality of metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) arranged two-dimensionally, with adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) forming metasurface unit pairs (a ridge from 22/23 and a corresponding ridge from 24/25), wherein at least some of the metasurface unit pairs are arranged in a V-shape or an inverted-V shape (Fig. 4a; [0089]), a spacing between two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) in the plurality of metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) changes along one or two dimensions (Fig. 1), and a relative angle between any two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) is non-zero (Fig. 4a; [0029], [0030], [0093]-[0095]); and; and at least one projector (110, 110a, 110b, 111, 112), wherein the optical combiner (1) is configured to reflect optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) in a narrow-linewidth band (Δλ) that are generated by the at least one projector (110, 110a, 110b, 111, 112) and transmit optical signals (WORLD) in a broad-linewidth band, and the optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) in the narrow-linewidth band (Δλ) comprise at least three wavelengths ([0103], [0130]-[0135]).
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 18, Basset further teaches the metasurface layer (2, 20) comprises a plurality of regions, optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) corresponding to different regions have different emergent angles, to enable optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) emergent at different angles converge to one point (Fig. 1, 6, 7, 9, 17, and 19a-23).
Regarding claims 4, 15, and 19, Basset further teaches the spacing between two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) monotonically increases or decreases along one or two dimensions (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 20, Basset further teaches a relative angle between two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) monotonically changes along one or two dimensions (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Basset further teaches an area of a metasurface unit (22, 24 or 23, 25) monotonically changes along one or two dimensions (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Basset further teaches the metasurface layer (2, 20) comprises at least two layers of materials having different refractive indexes ([0104], [0106]).
Regarding claim 10, Basset further teaches the optical combiner (1) further comprises a transparent conductive layer (metallic layer; Fig. 3c, 3g), the metasurface layer (2, 20) is disposed on the transparent conductive layer, and the transparent conductive layer is configured to control reflection angles of optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) on the metasurface layer (2, 20).
Regarding claim 11, Basset further teaches a refractive index adjustment and control layer (5) is disposed on the metasurface layer (2, 20; Fig. 18), and the refractive index adjustment and control layer (5) is configured to adjust a refractive index of the metasurface layer (2, 20) to control reflection angles of the optical signals (10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e) on the metasurface layer (2, 20; Fig. 18; [0153]).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basset.
Regarding claims 8, 21, and 22, even though Basset does not explicitly teach the two adjacent metasurface units (ridges/grooves in 22/23 or 24/25) have different heights, Basset teaches parameters such as the grating depth, orientation, period, profile and composition of the waveguide layer are tunable to meet a set particular design goals ([0009], [0030], [0032], [0103], [0115]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the two adjacent metasurface units have different heights; because it is a matter of design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 13 have been fully considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 13, applicant/s argue,
From the outset, Basset discloses an optical combiner based on Resonant Waveguide Gratings (RWGs). See Basset, e.g., Abstract; 4-9, 30-32, 103-105; and Figures 1, 4a-5e. As illustrated in Basset's Figures 1, 4a-4b, and detailed in Figures 5a-5e, the disclosed structures are periodic grating lines, ridges, or grooves. For example, Basset's Figure 1 depict resonant waveguide grating regions (elements 23 and 25) arranged on the combiner. However, as clearly shown in Figure 1, the elements in Basset are arranged in a radial pattern. In this radial pattern, the adjacent pairs of elements (elements 23 and 25) effectively gradually rotate in a same angular direction along a radial, vertical, or horizontal direction. This gradual rotation in a radial layout is different from the claimed local arrangement where two adjacent units themselves form a V-shape or an inverted-V shape. These structures are continuous lines extending along a direction perpendicular to the grating vector.
Hence, Basset has not been shown to disclose adjacent metasurface units (such as nanopillars) arranged in the specific pairwise configuration recited in amended claim 1. Specifically, Basset has not been shown to describe or to suggest the specific geometric arrangement where "adjacent metasurface units forming metasurface unit pairs" and "at least some of the metasurface unit pairs are arranged in a V-shape or an inverted-V shape," as recited in amended claim 1.
Moreover, Basset further discloses that, within each grating region (23/25), the structural elements (elements 22 and 24) are prallel or slightly chirped grating lines (see ¶¶32, 94-5; Figures 5a-5e), not discrete units forming local V-shaped pairs. As such, Basset's micro-structures within the grating regions are not arranged in V-shape or an inverted-V shape either. Rather, Basset teaches a radial distribution of grating regions to achieve wide field-of-view, which does not render the claimed specific V-shaped micro-structure anticipated. Because Basset fails to disclose the specific structural limitation of V-shaped or inverted-V shaped metasurface unit pairs, it does not anticipate amended claim 1. (Remarks; p. 8-9).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1, 12, and 13 do not define or limit the metasurface unit to any particular shape or structure; hence the metasurface unit is interpreted as a ridge/groove in 22/23 or 24/25. Clearly, the “metasurface unit pairs are arranged in a V-shape or an inverted-V shape” (Fig. 4a; [0089]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882