DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 6/27/25
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 19 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 18 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17, 19 and 20 are pending and claim 14 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 19 and 20 are subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-13, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al., US Publication No. 2019/0386094 A1 (from the IDS).
Takeuchi teaches:
1. A semiconductor device (see figs. 1-3 and 5) having an active region (e.g. cell portion) through which a main current flows and a termination region (e.g. guard ring portion) surrounding a periphery of the active region, the semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1/2) containing a semiconductor (e.g. SiC) having a band gap wider than a band gap of silicon, the semiconductor substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to each other;
a first semiconductor region (2) of a first conductivity type (n-type), provided in the semiconductor substrate;
a second semiconductor region (3) of a second conductivity type (p-type), provided in the active region, between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the first semiconductor region;
a device element structure (4/7/8) formed in the active region, and including a pn junction between the second semiconductor region (3) and the first semiconductor region (2);
a first electrode (9) electrically connected to the second semiconductor region (3);
a second electrode (11) provided on the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate; and
a field limiting ring structure (21) in which a plurality of second-conductivity-type voltage (p-type) withstanding regions (21) are selectively provided apart from one another in a direction parallel to the first main surface in the first semiconductor region, in surface regions of the semiconductor substrate at the first main surface thereof in the termination region, the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) each concentrically surrounding the periphery of the active region, an interval between an adjacent two second-conductivity-type voltage (21) withstanding regions in a radial direction of a concentric circle formed by the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions increases in a direction away from the active region, wherein
…each of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) having side surfaces and a bottom surface connecting the side surfaces, the side surfaces and the bottom surface being in direct contact with the first semiconductor region (2),
the first semiconductor region (21) reaches the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (1/2) at portions between any adjacent two of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21), as viewed from a direction orthogonal to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and… See Takeuchi at para. [0001] – [0136], figs. 1-9.
Regarding claim 1:
Takeuchi is silent regarding the impurity concentration and thickness of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region (21).
However, Takeuchi teaches the p-type deep layer (5) has a depth of 1 µm or less, which overlaps the claimed range. See Takeuchi at para. [0039]. Also see the disclosure of 2 µm at para. [0040].
Takeuchi further teaches the p-type deep layer (5) has an impurity concentration of 1.0×1017/cm3 to 1.0×1019/cm3, which overlaps the claimed range. See Takeuchi at para. [0040].
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form:
“the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions have an impurity concentration that is less than 1x1018/cm3;
the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions each have a thickness in a depth direction in a range of 0.7 µm to 1.1 µm”
because Takeuchi, in figs. 3B-3E teaches the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region (21) are formed at the same time as p-type deep layer (5).
Takeuchi further teaches:
2. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the impurity concentration of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions is in a range of 3x1017/cm3 to 9x1017/cm3 (e.g. Takeuchi teaches the p-type deep layer (5) has an impurity concentration of 1.0×1017/cm3 to 1.0×10 19/cm3, which overlaps the claimed range. See Takeuchi at para. [0040]. Since the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region (21) are formed at the same time as p-type deep layer (5) in figs. 3B-3E, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region (21) have the same impurity concentration as the p-type deep layer (5).)
11. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) all have a same width that is a shortest length of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions in a direction parallel to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, fig. 5B.
12. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
each second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region (21) has a width that is a shortest length of said each second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region in a direction parallel to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and
the width of a second and subsequent ones of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) at least second from the active region is wider than the width of an innermost one of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions closest to the active region, fig. 2.
13. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) reach the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (1/2), fig. 2.
15. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) each have, in a cross-sectional view thereof, a rectangular shape (e.g. rectangular shape in fig. 2) or a barrel-like shape having a width that is relatively wider at a center position in a depth direction.
16. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate in the termination region (e.g. guard ring portion) is free of a conductive film (e.g. layer 10 is insulation film), fig. 2.
17. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate in the termination region (e.g. guard ring portion) is covered by an insulating layer (10), fig. 2.
20. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (1/2) is recessed (20) toward the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate in the termination region (e.g. guard ring portion) as compared to the active region (e.g. cell portion), fig. 2.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Endo et al., US Patent No. 2018/0151366 A1.
Regarding claim 3:
Takeuchi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly teach:
a second-conductivity-type high-concentration region selectively provided between the second semiconductor region and the first semiconductor region
In an analogous art, Endo teaches:
3. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, the comprising (see fig. 2)
a second-conductivity-type high-concentration region (30) selectively provided between the second semiconductor region (3) and the first semiconductor region (2b), and in contact with the second semiconductor region (3), the second-conductivity-type high-concentration region (30) surrounding the periphery of the active region (e.g. cell region in fig. 1; gate region 8/9 in fig. 2) and having an impurity concentration (e.g. p+ concentration) higher than an impurity concentration of the second semiconductor region (e.g. p concentration), wherein
the second-conductivity-type high-concentration region (30) is provided between the active region (e.g. cell region in fig. 1; gate region 8/9 in fig. 2) and the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) and faces the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) in a direction parallel to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, para. [0033] – [0052].
Regarding claim 5:
Endo further teaches:
5. The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein an innermost one of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (21) is in contact with the second- conductivity-type high-concentration region (30), the innermost one being closest among the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions to the active region, fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takeuchi with the teachings of Endo to provide coupling between “…the p-type deep layer 5 located in the cell region on the outer peripheral region side… to one p-type guard ring layer 21”. See Endo at para. [0049].
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Endo, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada et al., US Publication No. 2018/0308939 A1 (of record).
Regarding claims 6:
Takeuchi and Endo teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 3 above, but do not expressly teach specific numerical amounts for the intervals between the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region or specifically:
wherein a second interval between the innermost one of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions and a second one of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions is at most 2.1 µm, the second one being second among the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions from the active region.
In an analogous art, Yamada teaches (see fig. 3) the interval (Lb1, Lb2, Lb3) between voltage withstanding regions (11, 12, 13) is a result effective variable to achieve a uniform electric field, maintain breakdown voltage and suppress occurrence of electrical discharge. See Yamada at para. [0054] – [0060].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region to have the numerical intervals recited in claim 6, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP § 2144.05, Obviousness of Ranges and Optimization of Ranges. (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
Regarding claims 7-9:
Takeuchi and Endo teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 3 above, but do not expressly teach specific numerical amounts for the intervals between the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region or specifically:
wherein among the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions, a third interval between a second one of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions and a third one of the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions is at most 3.1 µm, the second one being second from the active region and the third one being third from the active region;
wherein the third interval is at most 1.0 µm;
wherein among the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions, a fourth interval between the third one of the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions and a fourth one of the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions is at most 2.0 µm, the fourth one being fourth from the active region.
In an analogous art, Yamada teaches (see fig. 3) the interval (Lb1, Lb2, Lb3) between voltage withstanding regions (11, 12, 13) is a result effective variable to achieve a uniform electric field, maintain breakdown voltage and suppress occurrence of electrical discharge. See Yamada at para. [0054] – [0060].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region to have the numerical intervals recited in claims 7-9, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP § 2144.05, Obviousness of Ranges and Optimization of Ranges. (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takeuchi with the teachings of Yamada because “By forming the breakdown voltage structure to satisfy at least expression (2) or expression (4), electric field applied to the surface protecting film 8 on the front surface of the silicon carbide base 4 may be made uniform, while the electric field strength in the silicon carbide base 4 is set to be about equal to that in the conventional breakdown voltage structure and the breakdown voltage is maintained…and the occurrence of electrical discharge at the surface of the surface protecting film 8 and/or at the interface of the surface protecting film 8 and the gel may be suppressed.” See Yamada at para. [0056].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al., US Publication No. 2018/0040688 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 19:
Takeuchi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly teach a channel stopper.
In an analogous art, Kobayashi teaches:
19. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, (see figs. 17-18) further comprising a channel stopper region (105) that is provided closer to a chip end than are the second- conductivity-type voltage withstanding regions (106, 107), the channel stopper region (104) having an upper surface that is exposed to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (101) and a lower surface (e.g. bottom surface forming interface with 101) that is farther from the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (101) than is an upper surface (e.g. top surface forming interface with 105) of each second-conductivity-type voltage withstanding region (106, 107). See Kobayashi at para. [0026] – [0027].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Takeuchi with the teachings of Kobayashi because a channel stopper is included in a conventional power semiconductor device having an edge termination region. See Kobayashi at para. [0026] – [0027]. Also see MPEP § 2144.07, Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Conclusion
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
26 January 2026