33Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
The response of the applicant t has been read and given careful consideration. Rejections of the first office action, not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 7,15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Shiratori et al. JP 2014-099462.
Shiratori et al. JP 2014-099462 (machine translation attached) teaches the formation of marks illustrated in figures 4 and 5 in the Mo/Si reflective multilayer, followed by a Ru capping layer and a TaN absorber layer. Example 2 is similar, but forms the marks after deposition of the Ru protective layer. The patterned absorber is illustrated in figure 9.
The differently sized cross markings are held to be different shaped alignment/reference marks.
In the response of 2/27/2026, the applicant argues that the comparison of the defect location to determine matching defects. The examiner points out that the EUV masks bear no artifacts form this measurement/determination. The argued position is not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought as the mask blank of claims 7 and 15 are the same before and after the measurements and determinations. Claim 20 is directed to forming a patterned mask from the mask blank of claim 7 and does not specifically refer to any of the steps of claim 1. Therefore the full scope embraces patterning the mask blank which includes the two reference marks. If the applicant wants the dot and cross marks, then the claims should recited this.
Claims 7,15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Shoki et al. WO 2013118716.
Shoki et al. WO 2013118716 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 1, two types of marks are formed: a rough alignment mark 12 having a relatively large size and a reference mark 13 of the present invention which is a small fine mark. In FIG. 1, these reference marks are shown on the surface of the glass substrate 11, but FIG. 1 merely shows an arrangement example of the reference marks on the main surface of the glass substrate. It is needless to say that the present invention is not limited to an embodiment in which the glass substrate is directly formed. The rough alignment mark 12 does not itself serve as a reference mark, but has a role for easily detecting the position of the reference mark 13. The fiducial mark 13 is small in size, and it is difficult to visually estimate the position. In addition, if it is attempted to detect the reference mark 13 from the beginning with inspection light or an electron beam, the detection takes a long time, and if a resist film is formed, unnecessary resist exposure may occur, which is not preferable. By providing the rough alignment mark 12 whose positional relationship with the reference mark 13 is determined in advance, the reference mark 13 can be detected quickly and easily. FIG. 1 shows an example in which the rough alignment marks 12 are arranged at four locations near the corner on the main surface of the rectangular glass substrate 11 and the reference marks 13 are arranged at two locations near each rough alignment mark 12. . Both the rough alignment mark 12 and the reference mark 13 are preferably formed on the boundary line of the pattern formation region indicated by the broken line A on the main surface of the substrate, or on the outer peripheral side from the pattern formation region. However, too close to the outer periphery of the substrate is not preferable because the flatness of the main surface of the substrate may be a region where the flatness is not very good or may intersect with other types of recognition marks. The number of reference marks and rough alignment marks is not particularly limited. Although at least three reference marks are required, three or more reference marks may be used [0041-0043].
Figures 2 and 3 show, as an example, a reference mark 13 composed of the main mark 13a and two auxiliary marks 13b and 13c arranged around the main mark 13a.In the present invention, the main mark 13a has a polygonal shape having at least two sets of sides which are perpendicular to and parallel to the scanning direction of the electron beam drawing machine or the defect inspection light (X direction and Y direction in FIG. 3). Is preferred. As described above, the main mark 13a has a polygonal shape having at least two sets of sides that are perpendicular to and parallel to the scanning direction of the electron beam or the defect inspection light, so that it can be detected by the electron beam drawing machine and the defect inspection apparatus. And the variation of the defect detection position can be further suppressed. 2 and 3, as a specific example, the main mark 13a is a square having the same length in both the vertical and horizontal directions (X and Y directions). In this case, the vertical and horizontal lengths (L) are 200 nm or more and 10 μm or less, respectively. The main mark 13a may be a point-symmetric shape. For example, as shown in FIG. 4A, the square corners are rounded, as shown in FIG. 4B, as shown in FIG. 4B, as shown in FIG. ) As shown in FIG. Also in this case, the size (length and width) L) of the main mark 13a is set to 200 nm or more and 10 μm or less. As a specific example, when the main mark 13a has a cross shape, the size (vertical and horizontal length) can be set to 5 μm or more and 10 μm or less. Although not shown, the main mark 13a may be a regular circle having a diameter of 200 nm to 10 μm. The two auxiliary marks 13b and 13c are arranged around the main mark 13a along the scanning direction of the electron beam or defect inspection light (X direction and Y direction in FIG. 3). In the present invention, it is preferable that the auxiliary marks 13b and 13c have a rectangular shape having a short side parallel to a long side perpendicular to the scanning direction of the electron beam or the defect inspection light. Since the auxiliary mark has a rectangular shape having a short side parallel to the long side perpendicular to the scanning direction of the electron beam or the defect inspection light, the auxiliary mark can be reliably detected by scanning with an electron beam drawing machine or a defect inspection device. The position of the main mark can be easily specified. In this case, it is desirable that the long side is a length that can be detected by the minimum number of scans of the electron beam drawing machine and the defect inspection apparatus. For example, it is desirable to have a length of 25 μm or more and 600 μm or less. On the other hand, if the length of the long side is short, for example, less than 25 μm, it may be difficult to detect the auxiliary mark by scanning with an electron beam drawing machine or a defect inspection apparatus. Further, if the length of the long side is long, for example, if it exceeds 600 μm, the processing time may exceed 1 hour / location depending on the method of forming the reference mark, which is not preferable. More preferably, the length of the long side is 25 μm or more and 400 μm or less, and more preferably 25 μm or more and 200 μm or less. Further, the auxiliary marks 13b and 13c and the main mark 13a may be separated from each other by a predetermined distance or may not be separated from each other. When the auxiliary mark and the main mark are separated from each other, the interval is not particularly limited. However, in the present invention, it is preferable to set the distance to, for example, about 25 μm to 50 μm [0046-0053].
In the response of 2/27/2026, the applicant argues that the comparison of the defect location to determine matching defects. The examiner points out that the EUV masks bear no artifacts form this measurement/determination. The argued position is not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought as the mask blank of claims 7 and 15 are the same before and after the measurements and determinations. Claim 20 is directed to forming a patterned mask from the mask blank of claim 7 and does not specifically refer to any of the steps of claim 1. Therefore the full scope embraces patterning the mask blank which includes the two reference marks. If the applicant wants the dot and cross marks, then the claims should recited this, but should note figures 1 and figure 4b. .
Claims 7,8,15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abe et al. JP 2013-131728.
Abe et al. JP 2013-131728 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figures 2a and 1a the formation of two etched alignment features (22) and (21) with different depths (D1,D2) in each corner of the substrate. Figure 2b shows an arrangement where there are three features, (two 21, one 22) etched into the corner of each substrate.
As shown in FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B, a reflective mask substrate 1 according to the present invention is a reflective mask substrate used for a reflective mask substrate for EUV exposure. The main surface has an alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection and an alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing, and both of the alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection and the alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing are It is a concave step mark, and the depth of the alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection is shallower than the depth of the alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing. As described above, the reflective mask substrate 1 according to the present invention has two types of alignment marks having different depths, that is, the alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection and the alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing. The alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection can be set to a depth suitable for detection by EUV light, and the alignment mark for electron beam drawing can be set to a depth suitable for detection by electron beam. Therefore, it is possible to perform both defect inspection with EUV light with high accuracy and alignment drawing with electron beams with high accuracy. The depth of the alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection is preferably in a range in which a defect inspection apparatus using EUV light does not cause saturation, for example, in a range of 10 nm to 30 nm. On the other hand, the depth of the alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing is determined by using an electron beam in a state in which a reflective layer, an absorption layer, and a resist layer are formed on the alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing. The depth is preferably such that the alignment mark 22 for electron beam drawing can be detected. For example, it is preferably in the range of 100 nm to 500 nm. As the planar shape of the alignment mark 21 for EUV light inspection, any shape can be used as long as it can be detected as an alignment mark by a defect inspection apparatus using EUV light. For example, a planar shape such as a cross shape, an L shape, or a rectangle shape. And a combination of one or a plurality of alignment marks. The planar size is a size that can be detected by a defect inspection apparatus using EUV light. For example, in the case of the cross shape, the overall length is about 1 mm to 3 mm, and the line width is about 1 μm to 10 μm. Further, as the planar shape of the electron beam drawing alignment mark 22, any shape can be used as long as it can be detected as an alignment mark by an electron beam drawing apparatus. For example, a planar shape such as a cross shape, an L shape, or a rectangle can be used. A combination of one or a plurality of alignment marks is included. The planar size is a size that can be detected by an electron beam drawing apparatus. For example, in the case of the cross shape, the overall length is about 1 mm to 3 mm, and the line width is about 1 μm to 10 μm. [0031-0035]. In example 1, the layout of the alignment marks in as in figure 2a, where both alignment mark 22 and 21 are 2 mm cross shapes (line widths of 2 microns) etched to differing depths (20 nm Vs 300 nm). The etched substrate is then coated with 40 periods/cycles of Mo/Si bilayers to form the reflective multilayer, a capping layer is formed and the maskblank is inspected using EUV light. A TaN absorber layer is then provided and patterned [0094-0105].
The position of the examiner is that the cross shape of the alignment features/marks (21) and (22) are formed by etching to different depths and therefore have a different three dimensional shape and the claims rejected under this heading are anticipated by example 1.
If this position is not upheld, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example 1 by replacing the cross pattern of the alignment features (21) or the alignment features (22) in an “L” or rectangle shape based upon the disclosed equivalence at [0031-0035].
The applicant argues that the references applied do not teach the EUV masks with two different reference marks in each of the corners. . The rejection is based upon Abe et al. JP 2013-131728, which teaches two different marks in each of the four corners of the masks in the example illustrated in figure 2a. Figure 2b teaches three marks in the corners.
In the response of 2/27/2026, the applicant argues that the comparison of the defect location to determine matching defects. The examiner points out that the EUV masks bear no artifacts form this measurement/determination. The argued position is not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought as the mask blank of claims 7,8,15 and 16 are the same before and after the measurements and determinations. With respect to claims 8 and 16, the depressions in the absorber layer are held to meet the “transferring …to the absorber film” limitation. The claims does not require the absorber layer be etched, merely that the reference mark is part of the absorber layer structure. Claims 18-20 are directed to forming a patterned mask from the mask blank of claim 7 and does not specifically refer to any of the steps of claim 1. Therefore the full scope embraces patterning the mask blank which includes the two reference marks.
Claims 7,8,15-16, 18-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abe et al. JP 2013-131728, in view of Shoki et al. 20190079382.
Shioki et al. 20190079382 in example 2 (see figure 6) forms an EUV mask by forming a reflective multilayer ion a TiO2-SiO2 substrate, where the reflective multilayer has a Ru protective capping layer formed on it. The first fiducial marks are formed by microindentions. The reflective layer was subjected to defect inspection using an ABI device (at 13.5 nm) with the fiducials used to map the location of any defects. The reflectance of the surface was also evaluated using an EUV reflectometer. An absorber TaBN/TaBO bilayer was then formed and patterned to reveal the first fiducial mark and a second fiducial mark was formed. The mask blank was then inspected again using the ABI device (at 13.5 nm) and used to adjust the electron beam exposure used to form the desired EUV mask pattern [0267-0286]. Figure 1 is a topside view. The formation of a first defect map relative to the first fiducial mark (22) and a second defect map relative to the second defect mark (42) is disclosed [0089]. The formation of a defect map with respect to an ABI (13.5 nm) inspection device relative to first fiducial marks (22) and second fiducial marks (42) is disclosed [0140,0246,0248]
As a defect inspection device for an EUV mask, an EUV mask blank, which is a master of the EUV mask, a substrate with a multilayer reflective film, and a substrate, for example, a mask substrate/blank defect inspection system for EUV exposure [MAGICS M7360] having an inspection light source wavelength of 266 nm manufactured by Lasertec Corporation, EUV mask/blank defect inspection system “Teron 600 series, for example, Teron 610” having an inspection light source wavelength of 193 nm manufactured by KLA-Tencor Corporation, and the like have been widely used. In recent years, there has been proposed an actinic blank inspection (ABI) device having an exposure light source wavelength of 13.5 nm as an inspection light source wavelength. However, in order to solve the above-mentioned problem, which occurs when the fiducial marks are formed on the multilayer reflective film, it is conceivable to form fiducial marks in an upper portion of the absorber film after formation of the absorber film and perform defect inspection of the reflective mask blank with reference to the fiducial marks. However, for example, when an attempt is made to perform defect inspection of the reflective mask blank through use of the above-mentioned ABI device, the reflectance of the absorber film with respect to a wavelength of 13.5 nm is low, and hence there arises another problem in that a defect cannot be detected with high sensitivity [0015-0016]. Alternative marks for to be formed in the reflective multilayer (22) are illustrated in figure 3 and 7-9.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of example 1 of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728 by forming two features (21) and two features (22) based upon figure 2b of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728 and the disclosure that 22 and 21 can each be one or more marks at [0031-0035] of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728 and to replace the small crosses with circles based upon the disclosure that the planar shape does not matter at [0031-0035 of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728 and the disclosed equivalence of crosses and circles for the alignment features formed in the multilayer in figure 3 of Shioki et al. 20190079382 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful photomask.
Further , it would have been obvious to modify the process of forming the EUV photomasks rendered obvious by the combination of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728 and Shoki et al. 20190079382 by forming openings (42) in the absorber layer corresponding to the alignment features formed in the substrate and reflective multilayer when patterning the absorber layer as taught in Shioki et al. 20190079382 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful EUV mask with alignment/fiducial feature.
In the response of 2/27/2026, the applicant argues that the comparison of the defect location to determine matching defects. The examiner points out that the EUV masks bear no artifacts form this measurement/determination. The argued position is not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought as the mask blank of claims 7,8,15,16 and 22 are the same before and after the measurements and determinations. With respect to claims 8 and 16, either depressions in the absorber layer or the openings (42) formed in the absorber layer of Shioki et al. 20190079382 to expose the alignment/fiducial marks are held to meet the “transferring …to the absorber film” limitation. The claims does not require the absorber layer be etched, merely that the reference mark is part of the absorber layer structure. Claims 18-20 are directed to forming a patterned mask from the mask blank of claim 7 and does not specifically refer to any of the steps of claim 1. Therefore the full scope embraces patterning the mask blank which includes the two reference marks.
Claims 1,2,4-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hamamoto et al. 20160377769, in view of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728, Shoki et al. 20190079382, Hanekawa 20170242330, Seki JP 2018-205458, Yan et al, “EUVL ML mask defect blank fiducial mark application for ML defect mitigation”, Proc. SPIE 7488, article 748819, 8 pages (2009) and Han et al., “EUV MET printing and actinic imaging analysis on the effects of phase defects on wafer CDs”, Proc. SPIE Vol. 6517 Article 65170B, 10 pages (2007).
Hamamoto et al. 20160377769 teaching in the examples forming a reflective multilayer including a Ru protective/capping layer on the substrate [0184-0188]. The reflective multilayer was inspected for defects using 193 with the Teron 610 [0196] and reported in table 3 [0198]. Additionally examples 1 and 2 were inspected for defects using a wavelength of 266nm (Magics M7360) and a highly sensitive defect inspection apparatus operating at 13.5 nm [0201]. Fiducial marks for mapping the location of the defects were formed using an ion beam exposure outside the transfer pattern region [0202]. Mask of examples 3 and 4 were formed by depositing an absorber layer and a conductive back layer on the substrate of example 2 [0207-0209]. The mask blanks were then patterned to form reflective masks [0215-0220].
Hanekawa 20170242330 establishes that it is known in the inspection of defects of a reflective (EUV) maskblank to use defect inspection devise which map the defects (mapping inspection). The defect inspection device may, for example, be a flow inspection device “MAGICS M1350” manufactured by Lasertec Corporation, with an inspection light source wavelength being 488 nm, a flow inspection device “MAGICS M7360” manufactured by Lasertec Corporation, with an inspection light source wavelength being 266 nm, a defect inspection device “Teron 610” manufactured by KLA-Tencor Corporation, with an inspection light source wavelength being 193 nm, etc [0008].
Seki JP 2018-205458 (machine translation attached) teaches a defect inspection apparatus for an EUV mask blank, where the reflective multilayer is irradiated with different wavelengths and imaged using an image detector which determines the position of the defect including its position within the thickness of the multilayer (abstract). Figure 8 illustrates the position of defects (60) in different depths and position in the reflective multilayer [0010]. Figure 7 illustrated the patterned mask including the substrate (40), the conductive back surface layer (50), the reflective multilayer (30), the protective layer (20) and the patterned absorber (10) [0001-0004]. A photomask blank (blank) refers to a form of a photomask before a circuit pattern is formed. In the present application, a form in which a multilayer film is formed but before an absorption film is formed, or a multilayer is formed. A form in which an absorption film is not formed later in order to dig a film instead of the absorption film pattern, and a state in which an alignment mark, an accessory pattern, etc. are drawn are also called EUV blanks. When producing an EUV mask from an EUV blank, the absorption film 10 is partially removed by electron beam (EB) lithography and etching technology, and an EUV light absorption part (low reflection part) and reflection part (high reflection part). A circuit pattern is formed. The light image reflected by the EUV mask thus manufactured is transferred to a semiconductor substrate (hereinafter referred to as a wafer) through a reflection optical system. [0006]
FIG. 3 shows results obtained by irradiating a plurality of light beams having different wavelengths from the surface of the multilayer film and simulating to which thickness of the multilayer film the light of each wavelength penetrates. The penetration depth of light varies depending on the optical characteristics of the material for each wavelength. When the wavelength is 193 nm, 3 layers from the surface of the multilayer film, 257 nm light from the surface is 2 layers, 365 nm is 5 layers, 488 nm is 12 layers It can be seen that light penetrates up to 11 layers at 532 nm. From the above, in the present invention, the position in the thickness direction of the defect is determined by utilizing the fact that the penetration depth of light into the multilayer film differs for each wavelength [0041]. The determination method of the thickness direction position in S3 process is demonstrated concretely. As described above, Table 3 shows an example in which the position in the thickness direction of the EUV blank phase defect is determined by using the difference in the penetration depth of light into the multilayer film surface due to the difference in the wavelength of light. Table 3 selects three types of light of 193 nm, 365 nm, and 488 nm, and irradiates light of each wavelength from the front surface (denoted as the table) or the back surface (denoted as the back) of the defective portion of the multilayer film. It is the result which described the presence or absence of the defect detection in. Result 1 is detected at 193 nm, which has the shallowest penetration depth among the three selected wavelengths. Since the penetration depth of the light having a wavelength of 193 nm into the multilayer film is three layers as shown in FIG. 3, defects are generated in the first to third layers which are the range in which the light of 193 nm penetrates. Result 2 is undetected at a wavelength of 193 nm (penetration depth 3 layers), so the defect occurrence position is deeper than the fourth layer, and is detected with light of wavelength 365 nm (penetration depth 5 layers). Therefore, the defect occurrence position is considered to be in the first to fifth layers, but it can be understood that the defect is generated in the fourth to fifth layers by combining the results of 193 nm and 365 nm. Similarly, since the result 3 is detectable at 488 nm of the penetration depth of 12 layers, the defect is considered to be in the 1 to 12 layers, but is not detected at 365 nm (penetration depth of 5 layers). It can be seen that it occurs between ~ 12 layers. Although the result 4 is not detected in any light of 193 nm, 365 nm, and 488 nm irradiated from the table, it can be detected by light with a wavelength of 193 nm irradiated from the back, so the first to third layers from the back, that is, It can be seen that defects have occurred in the 37th to 39th layers from the surface layer. When judged by the same method, it can be seen that the result 5 has defects in the 35th to 36th layers, and the result 6 has defects in the 28th to 34th layers. As for result 7, it is difficult to detect any light applied from the front surface and the back surface. If there is a defect within 12 layers from the front surface, it can be detected with light of 488 nm. Therefore, the position where the defect occurs is 13th layer or later, and similarly, from the back surface to the 12th layer (28th layer and beyond from the table) Since there is no defect, it can be seen that the defect occurs between the 13th and 27th layers. In this way, by combining detection results at each wavelength, it is possible to narrow down the range of defect occurrence positions. Similarly, the determination can be made with other combinations of wavelengths. For example, the same determination can be made with a combination of wavelengths 257 nm (penetration depth 2 nm) and 532 nm (penetration depth 11 nm). In this evaluation, light having a wavelength generally used in a defect inspection machine is taken as an example, but the same determination can be made by using light other than these wavelengths [0053-0059].
In the conventional photomask, the detected defect is corrected in a correction process. However, it is difficult to correct the phase defect of the EUV blank. For this reason, the EUV blank is not corrected, and first, the position and number of phase defects on the plane are recorded with reference to the alignment marks prepared on the substrate in advance. Next, the position of the phase defect of the EUV blank and the circuit pattern data are compared. If the phase defect is under the absorption film, the phase defect does not affect the exposure transfer onto the wafer. There is no need to fix. Therefore, when the circuit pattern is arranged on the EUV mask, the pattern layout is made so that the position of the phase defect is hidden under the area without the circuit pattern (light-shielding area) or under the absorption film by utilizing the position information of the phase defect. A method of changing is proposed. However, it is difficult to avoid all the phase defects even by using the above-described method of changing the pattern layout and hiding the phase defects under the light shielding region or the absorption film. It will be applied to the pattern. As an improvement method in this case, Patent Document 1 discloses that a compensation pattern for performing transformation (change) such as deletion or addition after deletion of the absorption film pattern adjacent to the phase defect is used on the wafer. Describes a method for improving the circuit pattern transferred to the computer. The deletion or addition is performed using a FIB (Focused Ion Beam) or a correction device using an electron beam. Hereinafter, a circuit pattern formed on the absorption film will be referred to as an absorption film pattern as appropriate [0016-0018].
Yan et al, “EUVL ML mask defect blank fiducial mark application for ML defect mitigation”, Proc. SPIE 7488, article 748819, 8 pages (2009) evidences with respect to figure 2, marks which are suitable for alignment of the e-beam and those which are suitable for EUV, but not e-beam. The standardization of fiducial marks for EUV is described as targeted for “mid 2010”.
Han et al., “EUV MET printing and actinic imaging analysis on the effects of phase defects on wafer CDs”, Proc. SPIE Vol. 6517 Article 65170B, 10 pages (2007) describes a M1350 fiducial mark in the text associated with figure 2 (page 2).
Hamamoto et al. 20160377769 teaches measuring the position of defects based upon fiducial marks outside the pattern area using 266 nm or 13.5nm, but does not teach comparting the defect positions measured using the different wavelengths or the use of multiple different alignment features formed at each of the corners of the reflective multilayer.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the processes of Hamamoto et al. 20160377769 by forming multiple different reference marks in the corners as taught by the combination of Abe et al. JP 2013-131728, Shoki et al. 20190079382 each of the different marks being useful with at least one of the inspection systems as taught by Yan et al, “EUVL ML mask defect blank fiducial mark application for ML defect mitigation”, Proc. SPIE 7488, article 748819, 8 pages (2009) and Han et al., “EUV MET printing and actinic imaging analysis on the effects of phase defects on wafer CDs”, Proc. SPIE Vol. 6517 Article 65170B, 10 pages (2007) and to use them in mapping the defects using for each of the Teron 610 (193nm), Magics M7360 (266nm) and ABI (13.5nm) inspection devices as taught in Shioki et al. 20190079382 at [0140,0246,0248] and Hanekawa 20170242330 at [0008], using one of the reference marks at the corner of the exposure field to establish an origin point from which the positions of all the other marks, defects and peusdodefects are referenced and comparing the defect positions measured using the different wavelengths as comparing the defects in the defect maps using the different wavelengths will provide information on the location of the each defect within the thickness of reflective multilayer as taught by Seki JP 2018-205458 which can useful in determining the correctability using FIB and the map location allows the circuit pattern to be adjusted to cover phase defects as discussed in Seki JP 2018-205458 at [0016-0018].
Further if would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to coat the resulting reflective multilayer with an absorber layer which is then patterned as taught in Abe et al. JP 2013-131728, Shoki et al. 20190079382 and provide a reference mark in the absorber layer and pattern the absorber as in the cited example of Hamamoto et al. 20160377769 with an eye to covering defects which cannot be corrected as taught in Seki JP 2018-205458 at [0016-0018]
In the response of 2/27/2026, the applicant argues that the added language comparing the defect location/distance in the different defect (coordinate systems)/maps and the size/length of the defects to determine if they are the same defect is not taught. The examiner disagrees holding that one skilled in the art after translating/harmonizing the different defect maps formed from the data of the different wavelengths would recognize that defect occupying the same location or essentially the same location (overlapping locations) in different defect maps would be the same defect.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito et al. JP 2000091194 illustrates in figure 6a, a mask with alignment features (64) formed of the absorber in recesses in the reflective multilayer (62).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 April 1, 2026