DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary of Claims
Claims 1, 10-11, 13-14, 17, and 19-20 are amended and claims 15-16 are cancelled due to Applicant's amendment dated 11/05/2025. Claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
The rejections of claims 15-16 as set forth in the previous Office Action are moot because claims 15-16 are cancelled due to the Applicant's amendment dated 11/05/2025.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2015/0105556 A1) in view of Chen (US 2020/0216481 A1) is herein revised to reflect the amended claim language due to the Applicant’s amendment dated 11/05/2025.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chen and Tamaru (US 2009/0236974 A1) is not overcome due to the Applicant’s amendment dated 11/05/2025. The rejection is maintained.
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chen and Joo (US 2018/0118742 A1) is not overcome due to the Applicant’s amendment dated 11/05/2025. The rejection is maintained.
The rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chen and Yoon (English translation of KR 20180074644 A obtained by Google Patents) is not overcome due to the Applicant’s amendment dated 11/05/2025. The rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 27-35 of the reply dated 11/05/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 as set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument –On pages 27-35, Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the claims as amended, which require A3 to be a group represented by Formula A3-1, a moiety
to be represented by one of Formulae A4-1 to A4-20, L3 to be a single bond, and R2 to be hydrogen.
Examiner's response –As discussed in greater detail in the rejection below, the modified compound of Li in view of Chen reads on the amended claims.
Applicant's argument –On pages 34-35, Applicant argues Chen discloses compounds which do not meet the amended structure, and further argues that the backbone of the compounds disclosed by Chen and Li are different. Accordingly, Applicant argues this would make it uncertain if the benefits of including the substituent represented by Formula II would still apply to the backbone of Li.
Examiner's response – Chen teaches tetradentate platinum complexes having the structure of Formula I comprising specific substituents that allow for the tuning of physical properties, such as sublimation temperature, emission color, and device stability (abstract). The specific substituents are represented by Formula II (¶ [0017]). That is, if a compound meets Chen’s Formula I and has a substituent represented by Formula II, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that compound to obtain the benefits taught by Chen.
As discussed in the rejection below, the modified compound of Li in view of Chen reads on Chen’s Formula I wherein: M is Pt; ring B is a 6-membered heterocyclic ring, rings C and D are each a 6-membered carbocyclic ring; X1 and X3 are each C and X2 is N; Y1 to Y3 are each a direct bond; CA is a carbene carbon; L1 is NR’, L2 is O, and L3 is a direct bond; m and n are each 1; R is represented by Formula II, R’ is a substituent that combines with ring B, RA is a substituent that combines with ring A, and RB, RC, and RD are each hydrogen; [X] and rings E and F are each a 6-membered carbocyclic ring; and RE and RF are each a substituent (see Chen, ¶ [0017]).
Accordingly, even though Li and Chen do not teach identical compounds, as the modified compound of Li in view of Chen reads on the Formula I of Chen and contains a substituent represented by Formula II, the modified compound of Li in view of Chen is expected to obtain the benefits taught by Chen.
Applicant's argument –Applicant further argues on page 35 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found any apparent reason or motivation to modify the compounds of Li with the structures of Chen without impermissible hindsight.
Examiner's response –As discussed above and in the rejection below, Chen teaches the tuning of physical properties may be achieved when a tetradentate platinum complex represented by Formula I contains a substituent represented by Formula II (abstract; ¶ [0017]). As Li’s compound reads on Chen’s Formula I except wherein it does not contain a substituent represented by Formula II, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Li to arrive at a compound of the claimed Formula 1 to obtain the benefits of tuning physical properties, as taught by Chen.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. As discussed above and outlined below, the rejections take into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant's disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes Formula A3-1, which is small and blurry.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites A1 is a group represented by one of Formula A1-1 to A1-15, A2 is a group represented by one of Formulae A2-1 to A2-11, and further recites definitions for variables within these Formulae A1-1 to A1-15 and A2-1 to A2-11. However, claim 14 also recites Formulae A3-1 to A3-5, A3-10, and A3-11 and thus it is unclear if a group may be represented by these formulae and it is further unclear what the definition for the variables in Formulae A3-1 to A3-5, A3-10, and A3-11 are. For purposes of examination, Formulae A3-1 to A3-5, A3-10, and A3-11 will be interpreted as not present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2015/0105556 A1) in view of Chen (US 2020/0216481 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 17 and 19-20, Li teaches platinum compounds represented by Formulas I and II for use as emitters in an organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) (abstract). The OLED comprises an anode, a hole-transporting layer, a light-emitting layer including a host and the emitter represented by Formula I or II, an electron-transporting layer, and a cathode (¶ [0192]). Li teaches examples of compounds represented by Formulas I and II including the compound on page 297.
Formula I:
Li’s compound on pg. 297:
Li’s compound fails to read on the claimed Formula 1 as it does not comprise a substituent that reads on the claimed Formula 6-1. However, Li does teach Ra may be an unsubstituted alkyl (as shown in Li’s compound above), a substituted aryl group, deuterium, and combinations thereof, among others (¶ [0014]).
Chen teaches tetradentate platinum complexes having the structure of Formula I comprising specific substituents that allow for the tuning of physical properties, such as sublimation temperature, emission color, and device stability (abstract). The specific substituents are represented by Formula II (¶ [0017]). Examples of compounds represented by Chen’s Formula I include the compound below on pg. 115.
Formula I:
Formula II:
Chen’s compound:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the methyl group in Li’s compound with a specific substituent as shown in Chen’s compound on pg. 115, based on the teaching of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to tune physical properties, such as sublimation temperature, emission color, and device stability, as taught by Chen.
The modified compound of Li in view of Chen reads on Chen’s Formula I wherein: M is Pt; ring B is a 6-membered heterocyclic ring, rings C and D are each a 6-membered carbocyclic ring; X1 and X3 are each C and X2 is N; Y1 to Y3 are each a direct bond; CA is a carbene carbon; L1 is NR’, L2 is O, and L3 is a direct bond; m and n are each 1; R is represented by Formula II, R’ is a substituent that combines with ring B, RA is a substituent that combines with ring A, and RB, RC, and RD are each hydrogen; [X] and rings E and F are each a 6-membered carbocyclic ring; and RE and RF are each a substituent (see Chen, ¶ [0017]). Accordingly, the modified compound of Li in view of Chen is expected to obtain the benefits of Chen.
The modified compound of Li in view of Chen has the structure below.
Formula 1:
Li in view of Chen:
The modified compound of Li in view of Chen reads on the claimed Formula 1 (claims 1 and 10) wherein:
M1 is Pt;
Y1 to Y3 are each C (claim 11);
A1 is a C7 heterocyclic group of benzimidazole, A2 is a C6 carbocyclic group of benzene, and A3 is a group represented by Formula A3-1 (claim 13);
Z31 to Z33 are each C;
the A4-A5 moiety is represented by Formula A4-1;
B1 to B4 are each a chemical bond (claim 12);
L1 and L3 are each a single bond, and L2 is *-O-*’;
a1 to a3 are each 1;
R1 is a group represented by Formula 6-1, and R2, R41 to R43, and R51 to R54 are each hydrogen;
wherein in Formula 6-1, Z71 and Z72 are each a phenyl group substituted with deuterium, and Z73 to Z75 are each hydrogen; and
b1 is 1 and b2 to b3 are each 3.
Additionally, A1 is a group represented by Formula A1-15 and A2 is a group represented by Formula A2-1 (claim 14); R1 is a terphenyl group substituted with deuterium (claim 17); Li’s compound reads on the claimed Formula 1B wherein X11 to X14 are each C(H) and R15 is represented by Formula 6-1 (claim 19), and reads on the claimed Formula 1B-1 wherein R15 is represented by Formula 6-1, R21 to R23, are each hydrogen, and X31 to X33 are each C(H) (claim 20).
With respect to claim 6, Li in view of Chen appear silent with respect to the property of the light-emitting layer emitting blue light having a maximum emission wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 490 nm.
The instant specification recites that an emission layer including the organometallic compound represented by the instant Formula 1 emits blue light having a maximum emission wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 490 nm (instant ¶ [0032] and [00176]). Examples of the organometallic compound represented by the instant Formula 1 include the instant compounds BD8, BD9, and BD17 (see instant pg. 31). Additionally, the instant specification recites the instant compound BD8 has a maximum emission wavelength of 459 nm and the instant compound BD17 has a maximum emission wavelength of 455 nm (see instant Table 3 on pg. 113). Since Li in view of Chen teach the modified compound, which is identical in structure to the instant BD9 and substantially identical in structure to the instant compounds BD8 and BD17, the property of the light-emitting layer emitting blue light having a maximum emission wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 490 nm is considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 8, although the instant claim is drawn to an apparatus, the only positive limitation of the claimed apparatus is organic light-emitting device of claim 1. Claim 8 does not add any further structural or functional limitations to the device and/or organometallic compound. Li in view of Chen teach the organic light emitting device according to claim 1, as described above, and does not include any components that would make it unfit for use as an apparatus. Therefore, the OLED of Li in view of Chen according to claim 1 may be considered an apparatus.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2015/0105556 A1) in view of Chen (US 2020/0216481 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tamaru (US 2009/0236974 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Chen teach the OLED of claim 4 including the modified compound of Li in view of Chen, as described above.
While Li teaches the light-emitting layer may include a host material (¶ [0192]), Li fails to teach the light-emitting layer includes a host material and Li’s modified compound, wherein the content of Li’s modified compound is in a range of about 0.01 parts to about 49.99 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the light-emitting layer.
Tamaru teaches an organic EL device comprising a light emission layer containing two or more kinds of host compounds and at least one phosphorescent dopant, wherein at least one of the two or more kinds of host compounds has an excited triplet energy of not less than 2.7 eV, and the two or more kinds of host compounds are represented by Formula (1) (¶ [0017]-[0019]). Tamaru teaches an organic EL device as described above has high emission luminance, high emission efficiency, high color purity, and high durability (¶ [0016]-[0019]).
Tamaru teaches the phosphorescent dopant is preferably a platinum complex (¶ [0111]) and the content in the light emission layer of the phosphorescent dopant is preferably lower than that of the host compound (¶ [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the light-emitting layer two or more kinds of host compounds represented by Tamaru’s Formula (1), wherein the host compounds are present in a higher content than that of the modified compound, and wherein at least one of the host compounds has an excited triplet energy of not less than 2.7 eV, based on the teaching of Tamaru. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device having high emission luminance, high emission efficiency, high color purity, and high durability, as taught by Tamaru.
As the light-emitting layer of Li in view of Chen and Tamaru comprises two kinds of host compounds and the modified compound of Li in view of Chen as a phosphorescent dopant, and the host compounds are present in a higher content than the modified compound, a content of the modified compound in the light-emitting layer is expected to fall within the claimed range.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2015/0105556 A1) in view of Chen (US 2020/0216481 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Joo (US 2018/0118742 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Chen teach the OLED including an electron-transporting layer, as described above with respect to claim 2.
Li in view of Chen fail to teach the electron-transporting layer includes a phosphine oxide-containing compound.
Joo teaches an organic light emitting diode including an organic compound represented by the formula below (¶ [0007]). When an electron transport layer includes the organic compound, electrons are efficiently transported or injected into the emission layer, resulting in reduced driving voltage and improved lifetime and efficiency (¶ [0144]). As seen from the formula, the organic compound includes a phosphine oxide moiety (¶ [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a compound of Joo’s Formula in the electron-transporting layer of the OLED of Li in view of Chen to reduce driving voltage and improve lifetime efficiency, as taught by Joo.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2015/0105556 A1) in view of Chen (US 2020/0216481 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yoon (English translation of KR 20180074644 A obtained by Google Patents).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Chen teach the OLED as described above with respect to claim 8.
Li in view of Chen fail to teach wherein the OLED further includes a color conversion layer or color filter layer.
Yoon teaches an organic light emitting diode display device that can efficiently prevent external light reflection (abstract). This device comprises a first substrate 210 that includes a white pixel region, a red pixel region, a green pixel region, and a blue pixel region, and a second substrate 260 facing the first substrate (first half of pg. 3, first half of pg. 4, and Fig. 4). A color filter layer 220 is located between the organic light emitting diode 240 and the first substrate 210, and corresponds to the red, green, and blue pixel regions (middle of pg. 4, and see Fig. 4). An antireflective layer 230 includes a color conversion pattern 232, which is located between the first substrate 210 and organic light emitting diode (bottom of pg. 4, and see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide in the device of Li in view of Chen a substrate comprising a white pixel region, a red pixel region, a green pixel region, and a blue pixel region, and to further provide in the device a second substrate, a color filter layer located between the device and the substrate, and an antireflective layer including a color conversion pattern located between the substrate and the device, as shown in Yoon’s Fig. 4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device that can efficiently prevent external light reflection, as taught by Yoon.
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1786