DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3/19/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because at least one document is presented with an incorrect document format. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
US document 20010045655 A1 is presented in the correct format and has been considered.
US document 2015221584 A is presented in an incorrect format and has not been considered. Instead, the Examiner has interpreted the correct document as US 20150221584 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “…a third surface of the conductive pad opposing the first external surface that is exposed to ambient” in lines 9-10 (emphasis added). As understood by the Examiner, the plain meaning of the term ‘ambient’ is a surrounding area or environment, and could be any material surrounding the conductive pad. Furthermore, the particular element exposed to ‘ambient’ is not specified, as it could mean the third surface, the first external surface, or some other portion of the conductive pad. Accordingly, the scope of claims 1 and 16 is indefinite.
Claims 2-8, 11-15 and 17-23 depend on claims 1 and 16, and are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) for implicitly including the indefinite subject matter above.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 1 to mean:
…a third surface of the conductive pad opposing the first external surface
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 11-13, 15-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster (Patent No. US 7,245,007 B1) in view of Im (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0357269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Foster teaches a method, comprising:
coupling conductive leads (col. 5 line 46: 16) and a conductive pad (col. 5 line 41: die pad 18) of an assembly (2) to a dielectric material of the assembly (fig. 1B & col. 6 lines 14-17: 16 and 18 coupled to molded dielectric 14/20), the conductive pad extending through a thickness of the dielectric material and providing a first external surface of the assembly (fig. 1C: 18 extends through at least a portion of the thickness of 14/20 to provide at least one external surface), each of the conductive leads including a first surface and a second surface (fig. 1B: 16 includes at least top and bottom surfaces), the second surface providing a second external surface of the assembly (fig. 1C: top surface 46 and/or bottom surface 50 of 16 provide external surfaces); and
coupling terminals of a packaged semiconductor device of the assembly (col. 13 lines 2-3 & fig. 9B: unlabeled leads of semiconductor package 58) to the first surfaces of at least some of the conductive leads via a conductive material (col. 6 lines 6-10 & fig. 9A: leads of package 58 coupled to surface 50 via unlabeled conductive material).
Foster further teaches the assembly comprises the conductive pad is configured to dissipate heat (col. 5 lines 60-63: 18 configured to dissipate heat).
Foster does not teach the method comprises coupling a thermal pad of the packaged semiconductor device to a third surface of the conductive pad opposing the first external surface that is exposed to ambient.
Im teaches a method including coupling a thermal pad (¶ 0058: 201v) of a packaged semiconductor device (fig. 1B: upper package 200, similar to 58 of Foster) to an exposed surface of a conductive pad (figs. 7A-7B, 9: 201v coupled to exposed surface of lead plate LP in region R1, similar to 18 of Foster) that is exposed to ambient (fig. 1B: coupled surface of 201v exposed to surrounding area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the method of Foster to include coupling the conductive pad to a thermal pad of the packaged semiconductor device, as a means to improve the thermal release characteristics of the packaged semiconductor device, improving the reliability of the semiconductor package (Im, ¶ 0112).
Regarding claim 3, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein coupling conductive leads to a dielectric material includes attaching leads having a head portion (Foster, col. 6 line 2: leads 16 include elongated portions 46) extending into the dielectric material (Foster, fig. 1C: 46 extends into 14/20), a foot portion (Foster, col. 6 line 6: leads 16 include bottom portion 50) extending away from the dielectric material and including the second surface (Foster, fig. 1C: 50 extends away from 14/20 to provide an external bottom surface), and a middle portion between and angled from the head and foot portions (Foster, middle portion of 16 between 46 and 50 includes a right angle).
Regarding claims 4-5, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, including attaching leads to a dielectric material (Foster, fig. 1C: 16 attached to 14/20).
Foster in view of Im as applied to claim 1 above does not teach the leads are S-shaped or Z-shaped.
However, Foster teaches additional embodiments (figs. 1E-1F, 2D, 4A-4B among others) wherein leads 16 are configured to include S-shaped or Z-shaped portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the leads of Foster in view of Im to include S-shapes or Z-shapes, as a means to position exposed portion of leads 16 closer toward the peripheral edge of die pad 18 (Foster, col. 7 lines 10-15), reducing the size of the assembly, and/or providing a surface suitable for a solder connection (Foster, col. 7 lines 22-24).
Furthermore, modifying Foster in view of Im to include the features of “attaching S-shaped leads to the dielectric material” (as recited in claim 4) and/or “attaching S-shaped leads to the dielectric material” (as recited in claim 5) would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed conductive lead is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein coupling terminals of a packaged semiconductor device to the first surfaces of at least some of the conductive leads via a conductive material includes placing the packaged semiconductor device entirely on the conductive leads and the dielectric material (Foster, fig. 9A: 58 placed entirely on 16 and 14).
Regarding claim 8, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conductive leads include two opposing sets of conductive leads (Foster, fig. 1A: opposing sets of leads 16), and wherein coupling terminals of a packaged semiconductor device to the first surfaces of at least some of the conductive leads via a conductive material includes placing the packaged semiconductor device between portions of the two opposing sets of conductive leads (Foster, fig. 9A: 58 placed between portions of opposing sets of leads 16).
Regarding claim 11, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conductive material includes at least one of solder joint or conductive epoxy (Foster, col. 6 lines 6-8: 58 mounted on 16 via solder joint connection 50).
Regarding claim 12, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dielectric material is a pre-mold dielectric material (Foster, col. 5 line 40: 14 comprises transfer molded epoxy mold compound).
Regarding claim 13, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dielectric material includes at least one of: plastic, epoxy, or resin (Foster, col. 5 line 44: 14 comprises epoxy).
Regarding claim 15, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the packaged semiconductor device includes a surface mount package (Foster, fig. 9B: 58 mounted on a surface of 2, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of “surface mount package”).
Regarding claim 16, Foster teaches an apparatus comprising:
an assembly (fig. 10B) including:
a dielectric material (col. 6 line 15: 14);
conductive leads (col. 5 line 64: 16) coupled to the dielectric material (figs. 1E, 10B: 16 coupled to 18), each of the conductive leads having a first surface and a second surface (fig. 10B: 16 includes top and bottom surfaces), the second surface providing a first external surface of the assembly (figs. 1E: 16 includes top surface external to dielectric 14 and package body 36, and bottom surface 50 external to dielectric 14);
a conductive pad (col. 5 lines 60-63 and col. 9 lines 5-6: pad 18, including thermal and/or electrical conductivity) and coupled to the dielectric material (fig. 1E: 50 coupled to 14), the conductive pad extending through a thickness of the dielectric material and having a third surface and a fourth surface opposing the third surface (fig. 1E: 18 includes opposing third and fourth surfaces), the fourth surface providing a second external surface of the assembly (fig. 1E: 50 extends through 14 to provide a surface external to 14); and
a packaged semiconductor device (col. 12 lines 66-67) having terminals (col. 13, lines 2-3: 58 includes non-labeled leads), the terminals being mounted on the first surfaces of at least some of the conductive leads via a conductive material (col. 13 lines 2-4 & fig. 10B: leads of 58 mounted on surfaces 50 of 16).
Foster does not teach the packaged semiconductor device comprises a thermal pad, and the thermal pad being mounted on the third surface of the conductive pad opposing the second external surface that is exposed to ambient.
Im teaches a method including coupling a thermal pad (¶ 0058: 201v) of a packaged semiconductor device (fig. 1B: upper package 200, similar to 58 of Foster) to a surface of a conductive pad (figs. 7A-7B, 9: 201v coupled to exposed surface of lead plate LP in region R1, similar to 18 of Foster) that is exposed to ambient (fig. 1B: coupled surface of 201v exposed to surrounding area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the assembly of Foster to include a thermal pad of the packaged semiconductor device mounted on a surface of the conductive pad, as a means to improve the thermal release characteristics of the packaged semiconductor device, improving the reliability of the semiconductor package (Im, ¶ 0112).
Regarding claim 17, Foster in view of Im teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein each of the conductive leads has at least one of:
a C-shape, an S-shape, or a Z-shape (Foster, fig. 1E: 16 includes an S-shape and/or a Z-shape).
Regarding claim 18, Foster in view of Im teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the conductive leads include two opposing sets of conductive leads (Foster, figs. 1A, 1C among others: opposing sets of leads 16), and the packaged semiconductor device is between the two opposing sets of conductive leads (Foster, fig. 10B: 58 arranged between opposing sets of 16).
Regarding claim 19, Foster in view of Im teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the packaged semiconductor device is entirely on the conductive leads and the dielectric material (Foster, fig. 10B: 58 disposed entirely on 16 and 14).
Regarding claim 20, Foster in view of Im teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the packaged semiconductor device includes a surface mount package (Foster, fig. 10B: 58 mounted on a surface of interposer 2, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of “surface mount package”).
Regarding claim 21, Foster in view of Im teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the second surface includes a circuit board mounting surface (Foster, fig. 4B: surface of 16 capable of mounting on PCB 28, thereby meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a circuit board mounting surface”).
Regarding claim 23, Foster in view of Im teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first external surface and the second external surface of the assembly are on opposite sides of the third surface of the conductive pad (Foster, fig. 10B: external surfaces of 58 on opposite sides of conductive pad 18).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster in view of Im as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ananiev (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0194374 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, including attaching conductive leads to dielectric material (Foster, figs. 1E, 10B: 16 attached to 14).
Foster in view of Im does not teach wherein coupling conductive leads further comprises attaching C-shaped conductive leads to the dielectric material.
Ananiev teaches a package device (fig. 1) including conductive leads (¶ 0053: 122, similar to 16 of Foster), wherein the conductive leads comprise C-shaped leads (¶ 0055 & fig. 1: 122 comprise C-shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the conductive leads of Foster in view of Im with a C-shape, as a means to increase the thermal service life of the electronic device (Ananiev, ¶ 0059).
Furthermore, arriving at the claimed feature of "attaching C-shaped conductive leads" would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed conductive leads is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster in view of Im as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chien (PG Pub. No. US 2011/0001229 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the packaged semiconductor device includes a first packaged semiconductor device (Foster, col. 12 lines 66-67: 58), wherein coupling terminals of a packaged semiconductor device to the first surfaces of at least some of the conductive leads via a conductive material includes mounting the terminals of the first packaged semiconductor device on the first surfaces of a first subset of the conductive leads (Foster, fig. 9A: terminals of 58 coupled to surfaces of at least a subset of 16).
Foster in view of Im does not teach wherein the method further comprises mounting terminals of a second packaged device on the first surfaces of a second subset of the conductive leads.
Chien teaches mounting a plurality of packaged semiconductor devices (¶ 0065 & fig. 1: plurality of 190, similar to 58 of Foster) on a plurality of subsets of conductive leads (figs. 1-2: each 190 mounted on a subset of 112a and/or 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the method of Foster in view of Im with the plurality of packages of Chien, as a means to integrate multi chips into a system (Chien, ¶ 0007), increasing package functionality.
Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In the instant case, modifying the method of Foster to include a second packaged semiconductor device mounted on surfaces of a second subset of conductive leads represents a mere duplication of the essential working parts disclosed by Foster.
Claims 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster in view of Im as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Karnezos (PG Pub. No. US 2005/0133916 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 22, Foster in view of Im teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the packaged semiconductor device includes at least one of:
a quad flat package, or a small outline package (Foster, col. 8 lines 31-34 & col. 12 lines 66-67: semiconductor package 58, including QFP or TSOP among others).
Foster in view of Im does not teach the packaged semiconductor device includes at least one of a quad flat no-lead package, or a small outline no-lead package.
Karnezos teaches a packaged semiconductor device (¶ 0098: 902) mounted on surfaces of at least some conductive leads (fig. 9: 902 at least indirectly mounted on leads of carrier 12), wherein the packaged semiconductor device includes a quad flat no-lead package (¶ 0103: in at least one embodiment, 902 comprises a QFN package).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the packaged semiconductor device of Foster in view of Im as a QFN package, as a means to optimize integration density, design flexibility, reduce manufacturing costs, and/or improve performance (Karnezos, ¶¶ 0115-0116).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1-8 and 11-23 have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., exposed to ambient) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Examiner notes that claim 1 requires a thermal pad or a conductive pad a third surface of a conductive pad, and a first external surface, at least one of which is exposed to ambient. Furthermore, the meaning of ‘ambient’ is not explicitly defined, such that the combination of Foster and Im reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US 2001/0040300 A1) teaches a semiconductor package (fig. 6) including a pad (720) exposed to ambient.
Carpenter et al. (US 2012/0228696 A1) teaches a semiconductor package (400) including a pad (clip #1) with upper and lower surfaces exposed to ambient (fig. 4).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818