DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A2-B2-C1, claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-12, 15-26, 29-31 in the reply filed on 10/15/24 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden, and that all generic claims are allowable. This is not found persuasive because undue burden was established in the previous restriction requirement, and allowability had not been determined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3, 7-8, 13-14, 27-28 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/15/24.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 23: Should say the rectifying circuit generates a “rectified” signal.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 16, 23, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan (US 2016/0001085).
Regarding claim 1, 16, 23, 29, Pan discloses the same invention as claimed (Figure 2 shown above for example), including an electrical stimulation device (Paragraph 30) comprising a signal receiving circuit configured to receive and output a frequency signal (Figure 2: e.g. receiving coil 231), a rectifying circuit configured to receive the frequency signal and rectify the frequency signal to generate a rectified signal (Figure 2: 232), and a signal processing circuit configured to receive the rectifying signal to generate an electrical stimulation signal (Figure 2: 21, 26; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses an electrode as recited (Figure 2: S6; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses the stimulation device does not have a battery (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Lu (US 2012/0035687).
Regarding claim 5, Pan does not explicitly disclose a counter or PWM circuit. However, Lu teaches a PWM circuit is commonly used to generate a stimulus signal (Paragraph 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Lu to include a PWM as recited, to generate the stimulus signal.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 19-22, 24, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Chang (US 2017/0113047).
Regarding claims 6, 9, 24, Pan does not disclose a sine signal. However, Chang teaches a signal converting circuit to generate a sine wave electrical stimulation signal as recited (Paragraph 58), in order to customize the stimulation signal as desired. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Chang to include a signal converting circuit as recited, in order to customize the stimulation signal as desired.
Regarding claims 19-22, 31, Pan does not disclose the electrical stimulation parameters as recited. However, Chang teaches it is common to select a frequency of 480-520 kHz (Paragraph 61) and voltage between -25 to 25 V (Paragraph 58) and current between 0 to 60 mA (Paragraph 64), in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Chang to include the stimulation parameters as recited, in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 15, 17-18, 25-26, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Kisker (WO 2012/013360; cited in IDS 4/25/23).
Regarding claims 11-12, 25-26, Pan does not disclose a protection circuit as recited. However, Kisker teaches a protection circuit including a reed switch as recited (e.g. Figure 1: 13, 14; Page 29, line 5), in order to appropriately generate stimulus signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Kisker to include a protection circuit as recited, in order to appropriately generate stimulus signals.
Regarding claim 15, Pan discloses an electrode as recited (Figure 2: S6; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claims 17-18, 30, Pan does not disclose the frequency as recited. However, Kisker teaches it is common to select a frequency such as 13.56 MHz (Page 64, line 8), in order to couple internal and external coils. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Kisker to include a frequency as recited, in order to couple internal and external coils.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 17687186 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9-12, 15-22, 24-26, 29-31 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, 20-24 of copending Application No. 17687186 (reference application) in view of Pan (US 2016/0001085). The copending claims recite substantially the same subject matter except for the rectifying circuit. However, Pan teaches it is common to include a rectifying circuit (Figure 2: 232), in order to convert the received coil energy to stimulation energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending application as taught by Pan to include a rectifying circuit as recited, in order to convert the received coil energy to stimulation energy.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (US 2016/0096023) shows energy transmission to an implanted device.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796