DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Application Status
Claim 1, 3, 5-7, 10-17, 22-24, 26 and 29 are under examination.
Claim 2, 4, 8-9, 18-21, 25, 27 and 28 are cancelled.
Claim 1, 3, 5-7, 10-17, 22-24, 26 and 29 are rejected.
Withdrawn Rejection
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10-17, 19, 22-24 and 26 as being unpatentable over Rinsch et al. (US 9,962,366) in view of Hamill et al. (WO 2018/118957 A1) have been withdrawn in light of Applicants’ amendment to recite new limitation in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the phrase “in one or more portions” is not clear. The metes and bounds of the “one or more portions” is not clearly set forth in the claim to meet the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10-17, 22-24, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Offord-Cavin et al. (CN 1602159, Machine Translation English) in view of Moore et al. (US 8,968,791 B2).
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “…improving and/or enhancing at least one bone benefit selected from the group consisting of bone mineralization, bone strength, bone mass, and bone mineral density…” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble, wherein the limitations with respect to the “the individual” in claim 7; and 23 are considered within the preamble of claim 1, does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claim 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 22, 23, 24, Offord-Cavin et al. (Offord-Cavin) discloses a method for improving bone regeneration including bone mineral density and bone mass comprising administering to an individual a food composition(‘159, pg. 3, ln. 5th – 11th paragraph), wherein the composition comprising plant extract including thymol (autophagy-inducing compounds) (‘159, pg. 3, 12th – 14th paragraph) and free amino acids mixture (‘159, pg. 4, 7th paragraph).
Offord-Cavin does not explicitly discloses the free amino acids mixture as anabolic amino acids. However, Moore et al. (Moore) discloses a dietary supplement to promote bone growth and repair (‘791, col. 2, ln. 48-51), wherein the supplement comprising several amino acids includes leucine, isoleucine, arginine and glutamine (anabolic amino acids) (‘791, col. 7, ln. 65-67; col. 8, ln. 1-8). Moore and Offord-Cavin are of the same field of endeavor of promoting bone growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to use Moore’s several amino acids includes leucine, isoleucine, arginine and glutamine (anabolic amino acids) (‘791, col. 7, ln. 65-67; col. 8, ln. 1-8) in Offord-Cavin’s composition to promote bone growth and repair as taught by Moore (‘791, col. 2, ln. 48-51). With respect to claim 5 and 6, modified Offord-Cavin discloses the administering in effective amount of the composition (‘159, pg. 2, 2nd paragraph). Modified Offord-Cavin uses like materials in a like manner as claimed, it would therefore be expected that the composition will have same characteristics claimed, particularly to activate mTOR or induce autophagy in bone in the individual. With respect to claim 7 and 23, the individual with bone disease (‘159, pg. 2, 2nd- 3rd paragraph). As noted, the limitations with respect to the “the individual” in claim 7 and 23 are considered within the preamble of claim 1, does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. With respect to claim 26, Moore’s several amino acids includes valine, proline, glycine, cysteine (‘791, col. 7, ln. 65-67; col. 8, ln. 1-8).
Regarding claim 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14, modified Offord-Cavin discloses the composition comprising protein (‘159, pg. 4, 7th paragraph) including animal protein. Moore and Offord-Cavin are of the same field of endeavor of promoting bone growth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to use Moore’s several amino acids includes leucine, isoleucine, arginine and glutamine (anabolic amino acids) (‘791, col. 7, ln. 65-67; col. 8, ln. 1-8) in Offord-Cavin’s composition to promote bone growth and repair as taught by Moore (‘791, col. 2, ln. 48-51). With respect to claim 11, the protein comprising milk protein (‘159, pg. 4, 7th paragraph). With respect to claim 13 and 14, modified Offord-Cavin discloses the protein comprising casein, wherein the casein is known as a hydrolyzed protein.
Regarding claim 15, modified Offord-Cavin does not explicitly disclose the protein has a formulation as cited; however it is well known in the art to obtain a desired molecular weight of a protein for intended use in a consumable product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivate to use known molecular weight including the cited weight in modified Offord-Cavin for a desired application in the composition, absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, modified Offord-Cavin discloses the composition comprising fat and carbohydrate source (‘159, pg. 4, 8th-9th paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, modified Offord-Cavin discloses the administrating the composition by enteral administration (‘159, pg. 4, 11th paragraph).
Regarding claim 29, modified Offord-Cavin discloses the administering in effective amount of the composition (‘159, pg. 2, 2nd paragraph). Modified Offord-Cavin does not explicitly discloses the thymol in an amount of 50 ug to 10 g per daily serving. However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the effective amount of thymol including the cited amount range to the individual to provide an effective results of promoting bone health as taught by Offord-Cavin.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 3, 5-7, 10-17, 22-24, 26 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/843,278 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims recites method of improving and/or enhancing at least one of bone benefits comprising administering to an individual a composition of anabolic amino acids and thymol as recited in claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/843,278
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792