DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A1-B1, claims 1-6, 10-16, 18-19, 22-24 in the reply filed on 10/18/24 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the circuits of claims 7-9 and 19-21 are not control units according to Paragraph 28 as filed. However, Paragraph 28 does not seem to provide any explanation of the term control unit. Nevertheless, claim 19 is now considered generic and rejoined (see more discussion in 112 below). Applicant additionally traverses there is no undue burden, and that all generic claims are allowable. This is not found persuasive because undue burden was established in the previous restriction requirement, and allowability had not been determined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-9, 17, 20-21 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/18/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3: It is not clear what are the metes and bounds of having no control unit. Paragraph 18 of the specification describes a control unit functions to perform frequency conversion of the received energy, control output time parameters for the stimulus signal, etc. However, the base claim already includes a signal processing circuit, which also appears to process the received energy from the frequency signal and output the stimulus signal. It is not clear what functionality or structure is intended to be excluded by requiring no control as recited. For examination purposes, the rectifying circuit is not considered a control unit since it is a simple input and output circuit which is not controlled by any control signal, thus claim 19 is rejoined. The protection circuit is considered a control unit since it responds to a control signal (e.g. Hall or reed switch).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 18, 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan (US 2016/0001085).
Regarding claim 1, 10, 18, 22, Pan discloses the same invention as claimed (Figure 2 shown above for example), including an electrical stimulation device (Paragraph 30) comprising a signal receiving circuit configured to receive and output a frequency signal (Figure 2: e.g. receiving coil 231), and a signal processing circuit configured to receive the frequency signal to generate an electrical stimulation signal (Figure 2: 21, 26; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses an electrode as recited (Figure 2: S6; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses the stimulation device does not have a battery (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Pan discloses a rectifying circuit configured to receive the frequency signal and rectify the frequency signal to generate a rectified signal (Figure 2: 232)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 11-12, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Kisker (WO 2012/013360; cited in IDS 4/25/23).
Regarding claims 3, 5, Pan does not disclose having no control unit as recited. However, Kisker teaches it is an obvious modification to locate the control unit separately and possibly externally so as to have no control unit in the stimulation device (Page 53, lines 10-16), in order to reduce implant size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Kisker to include having no control unit as recited, in order to reduce implant size.
Regarding claims 11-12, 23, Pan does not disclose the frequency as recited. However, Kisker teaches it is common to select a frequency such as 13.56 MHz (Page 64, line 8), in order to couple internal and external coils. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Kisker to include a frequency as recited, in order to couple internal and external coils.
Claim(s) 13-16, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Chang (US 2017/0113047).
Regarding claims 13-16, 24, Pan does not disclose the electrical stimulation parameters as recited. However, Chang teaches it is common to select a frequency of 480-520 kHz (Paragraph 61) and voltage between -25 to 25 V (Paragraph 58) and current between 0 to 60 mA (Paragraph 64), in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Chang to include the stimulation parameters as recited, in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10-16, 18-19, 22-24 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of copending Application No. 17685725 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (US 2016/0096023) shows energy transmission to an implanted device.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796