DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/06/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on03/07/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 04/30/2026, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of
claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13 as being unpatentable over Kita et al. (JP 2004/273190 A), Ogasawara et al. (US 2005/0202275 A1), and Seo et al. (WO 2020/109927 A1),
claim 3 as being unpatentable over Kita, Ogasawara, and Seo above, and further in view of Igarashi et al. (US 2001/0008711 A1),
claims 14-18 and 20 as being unpatentable over Kita et al. (JP 2004/273190 A) and Ogasawara et al. (US 2005/0202275 A1), and of
claims 1-10, 12-17, and 19-20 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2015/0105201 A) and Chung et al. (US 2017/0047526 A1), and further in view of Ogasawara et al. (US 2005/0202275 A1),
are withdrawn by the Office.
Claims 1-20 are originally filed.
Claims 1, 5, 11-15, and 17-20 are instantly amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2015/0336937 A1) in view of Cai et al. (CN 109928962 A, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claims 1, 4-8, and 10, Lee discloses an organic luminescence device comprising a first electrode (an anode, paragraph 0145), a hole transport region, an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a second electrode (a cathode, paragraph 0146), and the hole transport region comprises a compound of Formula 1 (paragraph 0142, lines 1-10), such as compound 49 (page 23), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Lee Formula 1A when X1 is oxygen (paragraph 0012), and R2 is represented by Formula 4-4 (page 12).
Lee also teaches that in Formula 1A, R2 is represented by Formula 5-1, which is pictured below, b11 and b12 are 1 (paragraph 0017) and R11 and R12 are a C12 aryl group (paragraph 0070, lines 1-10). In Formula 5-1, e3 is 3 and e4 is 4 (paragraphs 0104 and 0105), Z31 and Z32 are hydrogen atoms (paragraph 0101, lines 1-2), and Y31 is an oxygen atom (paragraph 0100).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula 1 when X is a heteroaryl group of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms comprising oxygen (dibenzofuran), L is a direct linkage, ring A is an unsubstituted heteroaryl ring of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms (dibenzofuran), a and b are 0 and R1 and R2 are not present, and Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 2.
In Formula 2, Y is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenyl), and ring B is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenylene).
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which, when used in an organic layer of an organic light-emitting device, results in a device which has improved consumption power, efficiency, luminance, and lifetime characteristics (paragraph 0141), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
However, Lee does not teach nor fairly suggest selection of the instantly claimed o-biphenyl moiety of Formula 2.
In analogous art, Cai teaches a carbazole compound for use in the hole transport layer of an organic electroluminescent device (paragraph 0060 and general formula (1) on page 16 of the untranslated document).
Cai teaches that the described carbazole compound uses a carbazole core which connects to rigid groups that are able to destroy the crystallinity of the molecule, avoid intermolecular aggregation, and which have high glass transition temperature. Cai teaches that when this type of material is used in OLED devices, high film stability is maintained, and the service life of OLED device is improved (paragraph 0063).
Cai gives examples of a suitable rigid substituent for the carbazole core which is able to accomplish the objective, which includes symmetrical o-biphenyl substituents (e.g., compounds 11, 16, 19, etc., page 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two o-biphenyl substituents on the carbazole core of the compound of Lee in order to destroy the crystallinity of the molecule, avoid intermolecular aggregation, and give high glass transition temperature, so that the compound may be used in an organic layer of an OLED device with high film stability, resulting in improved service life of the OLED device, as taught by Cai.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Lee and Cai teach the device of claim 1, and Lee also teaches that the device comprises a hole transport region comprising at least one of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, and an electron blocking layer (paragraph 0147), and the compound may be comprised anywhere in the hole transport region (paragraph 0142, liens 1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the compound of Formula 1 into any layer of the hole transport region, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 9, Lee and Cai teach the device of claim 1, and Formula 1 is represented by Formula 5 when two R5 are joined to form a dibenzofuran ring, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 11, Lee and Cai teach the device of claim 9, as discussed above.
Lee also teaches that R2 is represented by Formula 5-6 (paragraph 0098 and page 14) which is pictured below.
In this formula, each of e4 is 4 and Z31 and Z32 are hydrogen atoms (paragraphs 0101 and 0105).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula 6-1 when c is 0 and R3 is not present, n is 0 and R6 and f are not present, e is 2 and two of R5 are joined to form a dibenzofuran ring, a and b are 0 and R1 and R2 are not present, and Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 2.
In Formula 2, Y is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenyl), and ring B is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenylene).
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which, when used in an organic layer of an organic light-emitting device, results in a device which has improved consumption power, efficiency, luminance, and lifetime characteristics (paragraph 0141), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 12, Lee and Cai teach the device of claim 9, and Formula 5 is represented by Formula 6-2 when n is 0 and R6 and f are not present, d is 0 and R4 is not present, X2 is an oxygen atom, and e is 2 and two of R5 are joined to form a ring, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 13, Lee and Cai teach the device of claim 1, and the compound of Formula 1 is instant compound 99.
With respect to claims 14 through 16, Lee discloses compound 49 (page 23), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Lee formula 1A when X1 is oxygen (paragraph 0012), and R2 is represented by Formula 4-4 (page 12).
Lee also teaches that in Formula 1A, R2 is represented by Formula 5-1, which is pictured below, b11 and b12 are 1 (paragraph 0017) and R11 and R12 are a C12 aryl group (paragraph 0070, lines 1-10). In Formula 5-1, e3 is 3 and e4 is 4 (paragraphs 0104 and 0105), Z31 and Z32 are hydrogen atoms (paragraph 0101, lines 1-2), and Y31 is an oxygen atom (paragraph 0100).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula 1 when X is a heteroaryl group of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms comprising oxygen (dibenzofuran), L is a direct linkage, ring A is an unsubstituted heteroaryl ring of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms (dibenzofuran), a and b are 0 and R1 and R2 are not present, and Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 2.
In Formula 2, Y is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenyl), and ring B is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenylene).
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which, when used in an organic layer of an organic light-emitting device, results in a device which has improved consumption power, efficiency, luminance, and lifetime characteristics (paragraph 0141), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
However, Lee does not teach nor fairly suggest selection of the instantly claimed o-biphenyl moiety of Formula 2.
In analogous art, Cai teaches a carbazole compound for use in the hole transport layer of an organic electroluminescent device (paragraph 0060 and general formula (1) on page 16 of the untranslated document).
Cai teaches that the described carbazole compound uses a carbazole core which connects to rigid groups that are able to destroy the crystallinity of the molecule, avoid intermolecular aggregation, and which have high glass transition temperature. Cai teaches that when this type of material is used in OLED devices, high film stability is maintained, and the service life of OLED device is improved (paragraph 0063).
Cai gives examples of a suitable rigid substituent for the carbazole core which is able to accomplish the objective, which includes symmetrical o-biphenyl substituents (e.g., compounds 11, 16, 19, etc., page 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two o-biphenyl substituents on the carbazole core of the compound of Lee in order to destroy the crystallinity of the molecule, avoid intermolecular aggregation, and give high glass transition temperature, so that the compound may be used in an organic layer of an OLED device with high film stability, resulting in improved service life of the OLED device, as taught by Cai.
With respect to claim 17, Lee and Cai teach the compound of claim 14, and Formula 1 is represented by Formula 5 when e is 2 and two of R5 are joined to form a ring, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 18, Lee and Cai teach the compound of claim 17, as discussed above.
Lee also teaches that R2 is represented by Formula 5-6 (paragraph 0098 and page 14) which is pictured below.
In this formula, e4 is 4 and Z31 and Z32 are hydrogen atoms (paragraphs 0101 and 0105).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula 6-1 when c is 0 and R3 is not present, n is 0 and R6 and f are not present, e is 2 and two of R5 are joined to form a dibenzofuran ring, a and b are 0 and R1 and R2 are not present, and Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula 2.
In Formula 2, Y is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenyl), and ring B is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenylene).
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound which, when used in an organic layer of an organic light-emitting device, results in a device which has improved consumption power, efficiency, luminance, and lifetime characteristics (paragraph 0141), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 19, Lee and Cai teach the compound of claim 17, and Formula 5 is represented by Formula 6-2 when n is 0 and R6 and f are not present, d is 0 and R4 is not present, X2 is an oxygen atom, and e is 2 and two of R5 are joined to form a ring, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 20, Lee and Cai teach the compound of claim 14, and the compound is represented by instant compound 99.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786