Claims 1-11, 21-31 are presented for the examination.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) and further in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1).
As to claim 1, Mednick teaches a first integrated circuit having a first processor-per-processor cluster profile; suspending execution of a multi-threaded software process by a first processor cluster saving context of the first processor cluster's suspended execution of the software process, the saved context comprising processor state information needed for restoring execution of the suspended software process; migrating the saved context from the first integrated circuit to a second integrated circuit and based on the restored context, resuming execution of the software process on the at least one second processor cluster on the second integrated circuit(Processor cores within System on Chip (SoC) designs generally utilize more power as performance increases due to an increase in clock frequency and/or usage of additional logic elements, para[002], ln 1-5/ the heterogeneous processor system 100 includes a plurality of processor clusters, such as processor cluster 102 and processor cluster 104. Each processor cluster 102, 104 may include one or more processors or processor cores (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), digital signal processor (DSP), and the like). In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the processor cluster 102 includes a plurality of central processing unit (CPU) cores 106 and 108, which are relatively faster and consume more power than the CPU cores 110 and 112 in the processor cluster 104. The processor clusters 102 and 104 include cache memory used by the corresponding processors or processor cores in the clusters to reduce the average time to access data from a main memory 114, para[0012], ln 3-16/ s illustrated in FIG. 1, the processor clusters 102 and 104 of heterogeneous processor system 100 are asymmetric relative to each other. The CPU cores 106 and 108 of the processor cluster 102 may be distinguished from the CPU cores 110 and 112 of the processor cluster 104 by, for example, having micro-architectural features that enable relatively more performance but at the cost of additional power when executing a thread. For example, in some embodiments, the processor clusters 102 and 104 utilize, relative to each other, different cache memory sizes, different cache hierarchies, in-order vs. out-of-order execution units, para[0015]/ . In some embodiments, the processor cluster 102 supports a set of features including all of the features of the ISA and the processor cluster 104 supports a subset of features including less than all of the features of the ISA. In other embodiments, both the processor cluster 102 and the processor cluster 104 support subsets of features including less than all of the features of the ISA. However, the processor(s) and core(s) of processor cluster 104 generally supports a subset of features that is smaller than the subset of features supported by the processor(s) and core(s) of processor cluster 102. Accordingly, the processor clusters 102 and 104 are hereinafter referred to as the “high-feature processor” and “low-feature processor,” respectively, for ease of reference, para[0017]/ although the example of FIG. 1 illustrates two different processors, those skilled in the art will recognize that other embodiments may utilize three or more heterogeneous processors without departing from the scope of the disclosure described herein. The high-feature processor 102 supports features of the ISA generally associated with providing high performance and the low-feature processor 104 supports features generally associated with higher power efficiency. Switching between the high-feature processor 102 and the low-feature processor 104 for execution of instruction threads allows for improved power efficiency, para[0018], ln 14-28/ When the high-feature processor 202 is being underutilized (e.g., such as determined by cache controller 122 of FIG. 1 or another system performance monitor), the heterogeneous processor system 200 transitions to a lower-power mode by switching execution of a thread from the high-feature processor 202 to the low-feature processor 204. This switch of execution includes migrating data, such as thread state, used by the high-feature processor 202 from its L1 cache 206 to the L2 cache 210 shared and accessible by both the high-feature processor 202 to the low-feature processor 204. In other embodiments, the thread state of the high-feature processor 202 may be saved, para[0020], ln 1-15/ This switch of execution includes migrating data, such as thread state, used by the low-feature processor 204 from its L1 cache 208 to the L2 cache 210 shared and accessible by both the high-feature processor 202 to the low-feature processor 204. In other embodiments, the thread state of the low-feature processor 204 may be saved, para[0022], ln 1-8/ the heterogeneous processor system 300 transitions to a lower-power mode by switching execution of a thread from the high-feature processor 302 to the low-feature processor 304. However, rather than flushing thread states to the L2 cache 310 (such as previously described relative to FIG. 2), states are maintained in consistency by writing the states of both the high-feature processor 302 and the low-feature processor 304 to the L1 caches 306, 308 (i.e., shadowing). For example, when a thread state of a thread executing at the high-feature processor 302 is written to L1 cache 306, that same thread state is also written to L2 cache 308 of the low feature processor 304. Similarly, register writes (not shown) are also shadowed. Subsequently, the low-feature processor 304 to which execution is being switched restores to itself the thread state from its L1 cache 308, which contains a copy of thread state data of the high-feature processor 302, para[0024]/ Similar to the operations discussed above, the high-feature processor 302 to which execution is being switched restores to itself the thread state from its L1 cache 306, which contains a copy of thread state data of the low-feature processor 304. Additionally, with the low-feature processor 304 being a simpler processor (e.g., due to its micro-architecture only having to support a subset of the full ISA supported by heterogeneous processor system 300), shadow writes of states from the low-feature processor 304 to the L1 cache 306 are faster than the opposite direction of data migration, para[0025], ln 15-27/ block 406, the first processor stops executing the thread in response to detecting the attempt by the thread to employ the unsupported feature at block 404. For example, if an instruction decoder decodes an unsupported instruction, it may trap to a microcode routine that handles illegal instruction exceptions, and the microcode routine may stop the execution of subsequent instructions of the thread, para[0028], ln 1-10/ At block 502, a first of the heterogeneous processors (e.g., low-feature processor 304 of FIG. 3) is executing an application thread in a low-power mode. Examples of low-power modes include: a mode entered by the processor in response to an instruction that instructs the processor to halt execution of a thread, para[0029], ln 4-11/ At block 504, a thread state of the thread executing at the first processor is written to a private cache of the first processor (e.g., L1 cache 308 of FIG. 3). Additionally, the thread state of the thread executing at the first processor is shadow written to a private cache of a second processor (e.g., L1 cache 306 of high-feature processor 302 of FIG. 3). In addition to the thread state, the first processor may also transfer other data, such as register data, para[0030]/ The first processor also indicates a switch to a second processor (e.g., the high-feature processor 302 of FIG. 3) to execute the thread. At block 510, the second processor (e.g., the high-feature processor 302 of FIG. 3) restores the thread state from its private cache (e.g., the L1 cache 308 of FIG. 3) and begins executing the thread, para[0032], ln 8-15 ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this minimizes the power needed to support these operations, battery life can be greatly extended, thereby improving the efficiency of lower power operations and improving battery life and offers improvements in power savings relative to other implementations that employ other low power techniques, but continue to execute those instructions on full-feature processors.
Belmont teaches the saved context from the first integrated circuit to a second integrated circuit having different profile( provide different performance levels at different power levels in a computing system. The technique employs multiple processor cores. The multiple cores may be on the same die or different dies, in the same package or different packages, on the same platform or different platforms. They have different performance levels and operate at different power levels corresponding to the performance levels. For example, a core may run fast but at high power level, while another core may run slower but at lower power level, para[0018], ln 2-11/ IG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the dynamic multi-core unit 17/105 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B according to one embodiment of the invention. The dynamic multi-core unit 17/105 includes a first core 210, a second core 220, and a logic circuit 230. Note that the dynamic multi-core unit 17/105 may include more or less than the above components. For example, there may be more than two cores, or the logic circuit 230 may be embedded in one of the first and second cores 210 and 220.The first and second cores 210 and 220 contain the core circuits for the associated processors 15 or 130 and 170. They may be on the same die in the same package as in the processor 15 (FIG. 1A), or on separate dies in different packages. When they are in different packages, they may be located on the same platform, or on different platforms as in the processors 130 and 170 shown in FIG. 1B. They have dynamic swapping or interchange functionalities to accommodate various operating conditions such as different performance levels or different power levels. The first core 210 has a first instruction set to execute a program at a first performance level. The first core 210 stops executing the program when a triggering event occurs. The triggering event may be any event that indicates that the first core 210 is switched out of the current program so that the second core 220 may take over and continue executing the program. The swapping of the two cores is transparent to the software. Examples of the triggering event may include an activation of a closure mechanism such as a cover of the unit, an explicit user action (e.g., pressing a button, entering a command), or a processing a load that exceeds some pre-defined threshold level. In one embodiment, the first core 210 includes a first internal architecture 215 to provide the first performance level when executing the program at a first power level, para[0040] to para[0042]/ The second core 220 has a second instruction set compatible with the first instruction set so that it may continue executing the program. It has a second performance level different than the first performance level. The performance level may be lower or higher., para[0043], ln 1-6/ When the triggering event occurs, the processor state 325 in the first core 210 is saved to a memory (e.g., the memory 30, the memory 134, or the memory 164 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B). The memory is accessible to the first and second cores 210 and 220, para[0050], ln 11-16/ After the processor state is saved and the cache is flushed, the first core 210 executes a suspense instruction to enter a suspense or power down state. When the second core 220 is powered up to resume program execution, it restores the processor state from the memory by transferring the contents of the saved processor state to its register set. It then begins program execution using the restored processor state, para[0053]/ When a triggering event occurs to start the a core swapping, the active core saves its context and processor state such as saving the contents of its register set in memory and flushing the internal cache. It then enters in a power down state. Then, a substitute core is powered up to continue executing the program by restoring the saved processor state., para[0018], ln 11-28).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides a flexible and dynamic mechanism to provide different performance levels at different power levels according to some system criteria.
Poplack teaches first processor cluster on a first integrated circuit, second and third processor cluster a second integrated circuit different from the first integrated circuit(emulation chips may comprise hardware components, such as processors, capable of processor-based (e.g., hardware-based) emulation of logic systems, such as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), col 1, ln 20-25/ Complex integrated circuits, such as chips (e.g., emulation chips), may include any number of processors, which, in some cases, may be organized on a chip into one or more processor clusters, comprising a set of one or more processors, col 6, ln 17-25/ Emulation logic boards 232 comprise computing hardware components capable of emulation functionality to emulate the design and functions of an ASIC or other circuitry; non-limiting examples of emulated ASICs might include CPUs, GPUs, and ALUs, among others. The logic board 232 may comprise one or more emulation chips 234 performing the functions needed for emulation, and one or more buses interconnecting the emulation chips 234, col 10, ln 20-30/ an emulation system comprises a plurality of emulation chips. Each of the emulation chips comprises a plurality of processor clusters, col 15, ln 29-34/ Fig. 2B/ The sequencer 304 may be configured to provide commands to a set of emulation chips and/or processor clusters from a total number of emulation chips/processor clusters on each of the emulation chip, col 15, ln 40-45/ when mission cycles are run on different emulation chips, col 16, ln 51-55).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Ash and Dorsey with Poplack to incorporate the above feature because this enables one or more processors or one or more processor clusters at a time, thereby reducing the load step by a factor of the number of processors or processor clusters enabled.
Ellingson teaches the second integrated circuit having a different processor--per--processor cluster profile than the first integrated circuit( ELLINGSON teaches second integrated circuit having a different multi-core processing cluster per graphics processing processor per processor cluster (GPC) profile than the first integrated circuit profile( The term "system-on-chip" (SoC) is used herein to refer to a set of interconnected electronic circuits typically, but not exclusively, including a processing device, a memory, and a communication interface. A processing device may include a variety of different types of processors and processor cores, such as a general purpose processor, a central processing unit (CPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), a graphics processing unit (GPU), an accelerated processing unit (APU), a secure processing unit (SPU), a subsystem processor of specific components of the computing device, such as an image processor for a camera subsystem or a display processor for a display, an auxiliary processor, a single- core processor, and a multicore processor. A processing device may further embody other hardware and hardware combinations, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), para[0048], In 1-30/ The CPU 102, the GPU 104, the DSP 106, and the custom hardware accelerator 108, may each be configured for specific purposes that may be the same as or different from other processing devices of the SoC 100. One or more of the CPU 102, the GPU 104, the DSP 106, and the custom hardware accelerator 108 and their processor cores of the same or different configurations may be grouped together. A group of CPUs 102, GPUs 104, DSPs 106, and custom hardware accelerators 108 or their processor cores may be referred to as a multi-processor cluster, para[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Ash, Dorsey and Poplack with Ellingson to incorporate the above feature because this enables the processing device to generate a very large number of unpredictable element values and relationships among data elements from a relatively small number of portions and allows the reliability and security of digital certificates or other similar information for trusted device identity verification.
As to claim 21, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 1, In additional, Mednick teaches third processor cluster, para[0012], ln 3-6/ a plurality of processor clusters, Poplack teaches first processor cluster on a first integrated circuit, second and third processor cluster a second integrated circuit different from the first integrated circuit(emulation chips may comprise hardware components, such as processors, capable of processor-based (e.g., hardware-based) emulation of logic systems, such as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), col 1, ln 20-25/ Complex integrated circuits, such as chips (e.g., emulation chips), may include any number of processors, which, in some cases, may be organized on a chip into one or more processor clusters, comprising a set of one or more processors, col 6, ln 17-25/ Emulation logic boards 232 comprise computing hardware components capable of emulation functionality to emulate the design and functions of an ASIC or other circuitry; non-limiting examples of emulated ASICs might include CPUs, GPUs, and ALUs, among others. The logic board 232 may comprise one or more emulation chips 234 performing the functions needed for emulation, and one or more buses interconnecting the emulation chips 234, col 10, ln 20-30/ an emulation system comprises a plurality of emulation chips. Each of the emulation chips comprises a plurality of processor clusters, col 15, ln 29-34/ Fig. 2B/ The sequencer 304 may be configured to provide commands to a set of emulation chips and/or processor clusters from a total number of emulation chips/processor clusters on each of the emulation chip, col 15, ln 40-45/ when mission cycles are run on different emulation chips, col 16, ln 51-55).
Popllack teaches memory, and at least one processor or processing circuit connected to a first integrated circuit, a second integrated circuit and the memory, the at least one processor or processing circuit configured to perform operations comprising: controlling the first/second integrated circuit( A processor 306 of the emulation chip may be associated with a data memory array 302. In some cases, the data memory array 302 may be a component of the processor 306. In some cases, the data memory array 302 may be communicatively coupled to a plurality of processors 306, such that the data memory array 302 is accessible by a cluster of processors 306. The data memory array 302 is a memory circuit that stores outputs of processors 306 of the emulation chip, as well as data from other external processors. For example, the data memory array 302 may store results generated by the processor 306 after executing an mission instruction during a mission cycle, or the memory array 302 may store inputs from external sources (e.g., external processors of another emulation chip) that will be used by the processor 306 in an upcoming mission cycle, col 11, ln 55-67/ Emulation chips 234 may comprise any number of processors capable of performing the various tasks and processes for emulating logic systems (e.g., ASIC, FPGA) being designed; multiplexers configured to direct data signals to and from the processors; buses for communicating data between the processors; and data lanes connecting the components of processors, col 10, ln 39-46/ he emulation engine may test and verify the operation of an integrated circuit, an entire board of integrated circuits, or an entire system, without having to actually, physically fabricate the hardware, col 9, ln 15-20) for the same reason as to claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 3, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) and further in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) and further in view of in view of Chen( US 20160139655 A1)
As to claim 2, Chen teaches resuming execution includes resuming execution on a different number of processors of the second integrated circuit than had been executing the software process on the first integrated circuit( The helps indicates the required number of active processor cores for processing a system workload. In one embodiment, the required number of active processor cores can be obtained or calculated from the number of threads or tasks with loading greater than a threshold, e.g., the number of threads or tasks that the system is required to process multiplied by the loading. The loading increases when system workload increases and the number of active cores stays the same. When the loading exceeds a predetermined threshold, more processor cores or more clusters may be activated to keep the loading below that threshold. In one embodiment, the determination of how many active processor cores and active clusters to have in the system depends on the value of helps, para[0031], ln 20-35/ para[0044], ln 1-10/ para[0062], ln 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature because this provides a need to improve the power and performance management in a multi-cluster system that has more than one processor type.
As to claim 3, Chen teaches suspending and resuming are performed on a per-processor basis( para[0070], ln 12-20) for the same reason as to claim 1 above.
As to claims 22, 23, they are rejected for the same reasons as to claims 2, 3 above.
4. Claims 4, 5, 24, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) and further in view of RYU( US 20130339771 A1).
As to claim 4, Ryu teaches suspending and resuming include migrating execution of a first Singleton multi-core processing cluster to a second Singleton multi-core processing cluster( there is provided a multi-cluster processing system comprising: a first cluster including a plurality of first-type cores; a second cluster comprising a plurality of second-type cores; and a control unit which enables at least one disabled first-type cores, among the first-type cores, when a first event occurs, and the control unit which disables all enabled first-type cores, among the first-type cores and enables at least one of the disabled second-type cores, para[0010], ln 2-11).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the aboveteaching to incorporate the above feature because this reduces power consumption during operation.
As to claim 5, Ryu teaches wherein the first Singleton multi-core processing cluster and the second Singletons Singleton multi-core processing cluster have different physical and/or logical identifiers( para[0012], ln 2-14/ para[0029], ln 1-6/ para[0024]) for the same reason as to claim 4 above.
As to claims 24, 25, they are rejected for the same reasons as to claims 4, 5 above.
5. Claims 6, 7, 26, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) and further in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) and further in view of Therien(US 20170177407 A1).
As to claim 6, Therien teaches saving and restoring are performed on a per- processor basis( A migration request is shown in FIG. 2. In some embodiments, a processor uses virtual core identifiers to hide core migration from an operating system. The migration is shown in three phases: a context saving phase 210, a virtual core swap phase 212 and a restore phase 214. In the context saving phase 210, the cores 202 and 204 receive a request to save their state to the C6 storage 206, 208 associated with the cores 202, 204. The C0 (202) saves to the C6 storage 206. The C1 (204) saves to the C6 storage 208. After saving context, both cores 202, 204 quiesce. In the virtual core swap phase 212, a virtual core ID (e.g., an APIC ID) can be swapped from the C0 (202) to the C1 (204). The C0 (202) now appears externally to be C1 and the C1 (204) now appears externally to be C0. In the restore phase 214, the context stored in the C6 storage (208) of the C1 (204) is restored to the C0 (202). The context stored in the C6 storage (206) of the C0 (202) is restored to the C1 (204). When resumed, an external system (e.g., an OS) views threads as continuing to operate on the same virtual cores. However, the physical cores 202, 204 have been swapped. It should be noted that the uncore (not shown) should redirect traffic based on virtual core IDs, para[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the feature of saving and restoring are performed on a per- processor basis because this enable spare cores to be used alternatively with other cores to reduce overall stress, which can result in lower power and higher performance (as power demand can increase over lifetime use.
As to claim 7, Therien teaches the saving and restoring preserve virtual processor identifiers( para[0030]/ para[0036], ln 23-28) for the reason as to claim 4 above.
As to claims 26, 27, 29, they are rejected for the same reasons as to claims 6, 7, 9 above.
6. Claims 8, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) and further in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) in view of Therien(US 20170177407 A1) and further in view of ALBEN(US 20210286693 A1).
As to claim 8, Alben teaches saving and restoring GPC state information( The fault testing described herein may be performed on any type of processing cores and/or component thereof, such as graphics processing units (GPUs), central processing units (CPUs), graphics processing cluster (GPCs), para[0014], ln 10-19/ By storing the state information during the test, a state restorer 114 may be used to restore the state information to the component(s) after testing is completed. As such, once the component(s) are put back into operation, the state of the component(s) appears unchanged to the system, thereby ensuring continuity, accuracy, and the safety of the system. With reference to FIG. 2A, the state information may be retrieved from a component(s) of the system (e.g., from a GPC 208, a TPC 212, etc.), and stored in the memory 214. para[0024], ln 7-23).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature of do not teach saving and restoring GPC state information because this enables a component to be tested during an idle or low power state without interfering with operation of the system, while preserving the state integrity of the component.
As to claim 28, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 8 above.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) in view of Therien(US 20170177407 A1) and further in view of Lai( US 20170262291A1) .
As to claim 9, Mednick teaches resuming execution of the software process on more processors( para[0025], ln 15-27/ para[0017]Lai teaches synthesizing per-processor state information when resuming execution comprises resuming execution of the software process on more processors on the second integrated circuit than the software process had been executing on before being suspended on the first integrated circuit ( When SIMD execution switches from a first processor to a second processor, the stored context of the second processor can be quickly (e.g., in one cycle) retrieved from its internal registers or buffers to start the execution process. The context of the first processor is stored in its internal registers or buffers for fast retrieval when the SIMD execution switches back to the first processor, para[0026], ln 8-14).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the feature of do not teach saving and restoring GPC state information because this enables a component to be tested during an idle or low power state without interfering with operation of the system, while preserving the state integrity of the component.
8. Claims 10, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) and in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) and further in view of APPU( US 20180293701 A1).
As to claim 10, Appu teaches suspending execution is performed for a first number of GPCs, and resuming execution is performed for a second number of GPCs different from the first number of GPCs( virtualization mediator 1622 emulates virtual GPUs (vGPUs) 1624 for privileged resource accesses, and conducts context switches amongst the vGPUs 1624, para[0140], ln 1-5/ The steps used to switch a context in one embodiment are: 1) save current I/O states, 2) flush the current context, 3) use the additional commands to save the current context, 4) use the additional commands to restore the new context, and 5) restore I/O state of the new context, para[0147], ln 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the feature of suspending execution is performed on a first number of GPCs, and resuming execution is performed on a second number of GPCs different from the first number of GPCs because this performs full GPU virtualization through trap-and-emulation to emulate a full-featured virtual GPU (vGPU) while still providing near-to-native performance by passing through performance-critical graphics memory resources.
As to claim 30, it is rejected for the same reasons as to claim 10 above.
9. Claims 11, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEDNICK( US 20190129489 A1) in view of Belmont( US 20070079150 A1) in view of Poplack( US 10303230 B) in view of ELLINGSON( US 20200067927 A1) and further in view of KOO(US 20220092722 A1).
As to claim 11, Koo teaches dynamically disabling processors on the second integrated circuit by maintaining status updates to them but not sending work to them( glitchless switching between the low-power GPU 130 and the high-performance GPU 135 at the MUX 140 without blanking or artifacts, the control logic 120 signals the display device 170 to capture the current video frame at its frame buffer and replay the captured frame in response to the control logic 120 determining that a switch between the GPUs 130, 135 is to occur at the MUX 140. In response to receiving a Capture Frame signal to, the display device 170 begins to capture the current frame at the frame buffer. Once the capture is complete, the control logic 120 sends a Replay Frame signal to signal the display device 170 to maintain a static image by continually refreshing the panel using the captured frame. While the display device 170 refreshes the panel using the captured frame, the control logic 120 disables output from the active GPU, ceases transmitting data via the interconnect 160 to the display device 170, and initiates a switch from the active GPU 130, 135 to the other GPU 130, 135. For example, if the low-power GPU 130 was the initially active GPU that rendered the current frame, and the control logic 120 determines based on the graphics intensity of the next frame that a switch to the high-performance GPU 135 is desired, the control logic 120 disables output from the low-power GPU 130 once the display device 170 has begun self-refreshing with the captured frame and switches to the high-performance GPU 135 at the MUX 140, para[0018], ln 1-23/ If, at block 510, the control logic 120 determines to not switch GPUs 130, 135 at the MUX 140, the method flow continues back to block 504, at which the next frame of pixel data is received. If, at block 510, the control logic 120 determines to switch GPUs 130, 135 at the MUX 140, the method flow continues to block 512. At block 512, the active GPU 130, 135 sends a Capture Frame signal to the display device 170 to capture the current frame and a Replay Frame signal to replay the captured frame, para[0033], ln 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the above teaching to incorporate the above feature of dynamically disabling processors on the second integrated circuit by maintaining status updates to them but not sending any work to them because this conserves power and improves efficiency.
As to claim 31, it is rejected for the same reasons as to claim 11 above.
Response to the argument:
A. Applicant amendment filed on 07/16/2026 has been considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argued in substance that :
“ the Office Action contends Ash discloses saving and restoring context. However, Ash does not disclose the following which has been clarified by amendment: suspending execution of a software process by a first processor cluster ...saving context of the first processor cluster's suspended execution of the software
process, the saved context comprising processor state information needed for restoring execution of the suspended software process; restoring the saved context to at least one second processor cluster ”
B. Examiner respectfully disagreed with Applicant's remarks:
As to the point (1), Mednick teaches Processor cores within System on Chip (SoC) designs generally utilize more power as performance increases due to an increase in clock frequency and/or usage of additional logic elements, para[002], ln 1-5/ the heterogeneous processor system 100 includes a plurality of processor clusters, such as processor cluster 102 and processor cluster 104. Each processor cluster 102, 104 may include one or more processors or processor cores (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), digital signal processor (DSP), and the like). In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the processor cluster 102 includes a plurality of central processing unit (CPU) cores 106 and 108, which are relatively faster and consume more power than the CPU cores 110 and 112 in the processor cluster 104. The processor clusters 102 and 104 include cache memory used by the corresponding processors or processor cores in the clusters to reduce the average time to access data from a main memory 114, para[0012], ln 3-16/ s illustrated in FIG. 1, the processor clusters 102 and 104 of heterogeneous processor system 100 are asymmetric relative to each other. The CPU cores 106 and 108 of the processor cluster 102 may be distinguished from the CPU cores 110 and 112 of the processor cluster 104 by, for example, having micro-architectural features that enable relatively more performance but at the cost of additional power when executing a thread. For example, in some embodiments, the processor clusters 102 and 104 utilize, relative to each other, different cache memory sizes, different cache hierarchies, in-order vs. out-of-order execution units, para[0015]/ . In some embodiments, the processor cluster 102 supports a set of features including all of the features of the ISA and the processor cluster 104 supports a subset of features including less than all of the features of the ISA. In other embodiments, both the processor cluster 102 and the processor cluster 104 support subsets of features including less than all of the features of the ISA. However, the processor(s) and core(s) of processor cluster 104 generally supports a subset of features that is smaller than the subset of features supported by the processor(s) and core(s) of processor cluster 102. Accordingly, the processor clusters 102 and 104 are hereinafter referred to as the “high-feature processor” and “low-feature processor,” respectively, for ease of reference, para[0017]/ although the example of FIG. 1 illustrates two different processors, those skilled in the art will recognize that other embodiments may utilize three or more heterogeneous processors without departing from the scope of the disclosure described herein. The high-feature processor 102 supports features of the ISA generally associated with providing high performance and the low-feature processor 104 supports features generally associated with higher power efficiency. Switching between the high-feature processor 102 and the low-feature processor 104 for execution of instruction threads allows for improved power efficiency, para[0018], ln 14-28/ When the high-feature processor 202 is being underutilized (e.g., such as determined by cache controller 122 of FIG. 1 or another system performance monitor), the heterogeneous processor system 200 transitions to a lower-power mode by switching execution of a thread from the high-feature processor 202 to the low-feature processor 204. This switch of execution includes migrating data, such as thread state, used by the high-feature processor 202 from its L1 cache 206 to the L2 cache 210 shared and accessible by both the high-feature processor 202 to the low-feature processor 204. In other embodiments, the thread state of the high-feature processor 202 may be saved , para[0020], ln 1-15/ This switch of execution includes migrating data, such as thread state, used by the low-feature processor 204 from its L1 cache 208 to the L2 cache 210 shared and accessible by both the high-feature processor 202 to the low-feature processor 204. In other embodiments, the thread state of the low-feature processor 204 may be saved, para[0022], ln 1-8/ the heterogeneous processor system 300 transitions to a lower-power mode by switching execution of a thread from the high-feature processor 302 to the low-feature processor 304. However, rather than flushing thread states to the L2 cache 310 (such as previously described relative to FIG. 2), states are maintained in consistency by writing the states of both the high-feature processor 302 and the low-feature processor 304 to the L1 caches 306, 308 (i.e., shadowing). For example, when a thread state of a thread executing at the high-feature processor 302 is written to L1 cache 306, that same thread state is also written to L2 cache 308 of the low feature processor 304. Similarly, register writes (not shown) are also shadowed. Subsequently, the low-feature processor 304 to which execution is being switched restores to itself the thread state from its L1 cache 308, which contains a copy of thread state data of the high-feature processor 302, para[0024]/ Similar to the operations discussed above, the high-feature processor 302 to which execution is being switched restores to itself the thread state from its L1 cache 306, which contains a copy of thread state data of the low-feature processor 304. Additionally, with the low-feature processor 304 being a simpler processor (e.g., due to its micro-architecture only having to support a subset of the full ISA supported by heterogeneous processor system 300), shadow writes of states from the low-feature processor 304 to the L1 cache 306 are faster than the opposite direction of data migration, para[0025], ln 15-27/ block 406, the first processor stops executing the thread in response to detecting the attempt by the thread to employ the unsupported feature at block 404. For example, if an instruction decoder decodes an unsupported instruction, it may trap to a microcode routine that handles illegal instruction exceptions, and the microcode routine may stop the execution of subsequent instructions of the thread, para[0028], ln 1-10/ At block 502, a first of the heterogeneous processors (e.g., low-feature processor 304 of FIG. 3) is executing an application thread in a low-power mode. Examples of low-power modes include: a mode entered by the processor in response to an instruction that instructs the processor to halt execution of a thread, para[0029], ln 4-11/ At block 504, a thread state of the thread executing at the first processor is written to a private cache of the first processor (e.g., L1 cache 308 of FIG. 3). Additionally, the thread state of the thread executing at the first processor is shadow written to a private cache of a second processor (e.g., L1 cache 306 of high-feature processor 302 of FIG. 3). In addition to the thread state, the first processor may also transfer other data, such as register data, para[0030]/ The first processor also indicates a switch to a second processor (e.g., the high-feature processor 302 of FIG. 3) to execute the thread. At block 510, the second processor (e.g., the high-feature processor 302 of FIG. 3) restores the thread state from its private cache (e.g., the L1 cache 308 of FIG. 3) and begins executing the thread, para[0032], ln 8-15 ).
Belmont teaches the saved context from the first integrated circuit to a second integrated circuit having different profile( provide different performance levels at different power levels in a computing system. The technique employs multiple processor cores. The multiple cores may be on the same die or different dies, in the same package or different packages, on the same platform or different platforms. They have different performance levels and operate at different power levels corresponding to the performance levels. For example, a core may run fast but at high power level, while another core may run slower but at lower power level, para[0018], ln 2-11/ IG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the dynamic multi-core unit 17/105 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B according to one embodiment of the invention. The dynamic multi-core unit 17/105 includes a first core 210, a second core 220, and a logic circuit 230. Note that the dynamic multi-core unit 17/105 may include more or less than the above components. For example, there may be more than two cores, or the logic circuit 230 may be embedded in one of the first and second cores 210 and 220.The first and second cores 210 and 220 contain the core circuits for the associated processors 15 or 130 and 170. They may be on the same die in the same package as in the processor 15 (FIG. 1A), or on separate dies in different packages. When they are in different packages, they may be located on the same platform, or on different platforms as in the processors 130 and 170 shown in FIG. 1B. They have dynamic swapping or interchange functionalities to accommodate various operating conditions such as different performance levels or different power levels. The first core 210 has a first instruction set to execute a program at a first performance level. The first core 210 stops executing the program when a triggering event occurs. The triggering event may be any event that indicates that the first core 210 is switched out of the current program so that the second core 220 may take over and continue executing the program. The swapping of the two cores is transparent to the software. Examples of the triggering event may include an activation of a closure mechanism such as a cover of the unit, an explicit user action (e.g., pressing a button, entering a command), or a processing a load that exceeds some pre-defined threshold level. In one embodiment, the first core 210 includes a first internal architecture 215 to provide the first performance level when executing the program at a first power level, para[0040] to para[0042]/ The second core 220 has a second instruction set compatible with the first instruction set so that it may continue executing the program. It has a second performance level different than the first performance level. The performance level may be lower or higher., para[0043], ln 1-6/ When the triggering event occurs, the processor state 325 in the first core 210 is saved to a memory (e.g., the memory 30, the memory 134, or the memory 164 shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B). The memory is accessible to the first and second cores 210 and 220, para[0050], ln 11-16/ After the processor state is saved and the cache is flushed, the first core 210 executes a suspense instruction to enter a suspense or power down state. When the second core 220 is powered up to resume program execution, it restores the processor state from the memory by transferring the contents of the saved processor state to its register set. It then begins program execution using the restored processor state, para[0053]/ When a triggering event occurs to start the a core swapping, the active core saves its context and processor state such as saving the contents of its register set in memory and flushing the internal cache. It then enters in a power down state. Then, a substitute core is powered up to continue executing the program by restoring the saved processor state., para[0018], ln 11-28).
Poplack teaches first processor cluster on a first integrated circuit, second and third processor cluster a second integrated circuit different from the first integrated circuit(emulation chips may comprise hardware components, such as processors, capable of processor-based (e.g., hardware-based) emulation of logic systems, such as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), col 1, ln 20-25/ Complex integrated circuits, such as chips (e.g., emulation chips), may include any number of processors, which, in some cases, may be organized on a chip into one or more processor clusters, comprising a set of one or more processors, col 6, ln 17-25/ Emulation logic boards 232 comprise computing hardware components capable of emulation functionality to emulate the design and functions of an ASIC or other circuitry; non-limiting examples of emulated ASICs might include CPUs, GPUs, and ALUs, among others. The logic board 232 may comprise one or more emulation chips 234 performing the functions needed for emulation, and one or more buses interconnecting the emulation chips 234, col 10, ln 20-30/ an emulation system comprises a plurality of emulation chips. Each of the emulation chips comprises a plurality of processor clusters, col 15, ln 29-34/ Fig. 2B/ The sequencer 304 may be configured to provide commands to a set of emulation chips and/or processor clusters from a total number of emulation chips/processor clusters on each of the emulation chip, col 15, ln 40-45/ when mission cycles are run on different emulation chips, col 16, ln 51-55).
Ellingson teaches the second integrated circuit having a different processor--per--processor cluster profile than the first integrated circuit( ELLINGSON teaches second integrated circuit having a different multi-core processing cluster per graphics processing processor per processor cluster (GPC) profile than the first integrated circuit profile( The term "system-on-chip" (SoC) is used herein to refer to a set of interconnected electronic circuits typically, but not exclusively, including a processing device, a memory, and a communication interface. A processing device may include a variety of different types of processors and processor cores, such as a general purpose processor, a central processing unit (CPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), a graphics processing unit (GPU), an accelerated processing unit (APU), a secure processing unit (SPU), a subsystem processor of specific components of the computing device, such as an image processor for a camera subsystem or a display processor for a display, an auxiliary processor, a single- core processor, and a multicore processor. A processing device may further embody other hardware and hardware combinations, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), para[0048], In 1-30/ The CPU 102, the GPU 104, the DSP 106, and the custom hardware accelerator 108, may each be configured for specific purposes that may be the same as or different from other processing devices of the SoC 100. One or more of the CPU 102, the GPU 104, the DSP 106, and the custom hardware accelerator 108 and their processor cores of the same or different configurations may be grouped together. A group of CPUs 102, GPUs 104, DSPs 106, and custom hardware accelerators 108 or their processor cores may be referred to as a multi-processor cluster, para[0075]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
US 20200192669 A1 teaches the state of the thread circuit A may be saved to allow the next hardware thread circuit B to execute during a first context switch. The state of thread circuit A can then be resumed when it is time to restart the thread circuit A after another context switch.
US 20190129489 A1 teaches Reducing power in high-performance processors can be difficult due to the techniques required to achieve high performance, such as implementation of complex instructions, deep pipelining, superscalar capabilities and aggressive speculative operations. C
US 20160055333 A1 teaches This means that when the processor switches back to processing that process, the processing state of the process can be reloaded and execution can be resumed from the point where the previous context-switch occurred.
US 20140082630 A1 teaches which migrates the process back to the large core, saves the small core state, and restores the corresponding large core registers including a super state (corresponding to the state of the large core.
US 20140059548 A1 teaches cluster switching one or more shared resources utilized by the given core of the multi-core cluster to the core of the single-core cluster after power-ungating the core of the single-core cluster and saving the context of the one or more processes executing on the given core of the multi-core cluster, wherein the multi-core cluster.
US 20140189317 A1 teaches a high level flow in which one or more processor clusters 804 perform general purpose processing operations and one or more accelerator clusters 801 perform accelerator-specific operations. By way of example, the general purpose processor clusters 804 may include execution logic within a processor core for executing instructions.
US 20170168876 A1 teaches Processor , which may be a data processor, a graphics engine, a graphics pose processor (GPP), a processing core, clusters of processing cores, input/output (I/O) masters, a digital signal processor (DSP), a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) device as has been described, controls outgoing requests element to transmit in any order first and second reservation requests for reservation of one or more resources needed for execution of the first and second transaction requests.
US 6950963 B1 teaches When all group members have requested the group scan, the chain manager 106 commences with the group scan, and then deallocates all group resources, effectively dissolving the group. The system user may select synchronous or asynchronous group control of the processor group for commands such as run, resume, step, step-n, halt, and halt at breakpoint. All knowledge of the processor-specific IEEE 1149.1 interface for a given processor is contained in the corresponding TAP manager program.
US 20140157277 A1 teaches as the number of processor cores sharing a common supply rail or the number of processors in a processor group sharing a common supply rail increase, whether on a same chip or on different chips,
US 20140298480 teaches power controller 130, in order to render the processing unit fully functional for highly current consuming use cases, transmit command (603) to the second cluster (i.e. processors ) in order to wake them up. Both processors restore (611 and 612) their own personal context and inform the power controller that they are fully functional (604a and 604b).
US 20170024329 A1 teaches The suspend detection circuit 18 outputs an all-core suspend signal ALL_CORE_SUSPEND indicating that all cores in a cluster are in a suspend state when all threads belonging to the cluster are offline or suspended. The suspend detection circuit includes an OR gate that takes logical OR between offline signals and suspend signals of each thread in the cluster and an AND gate 182 that takes logical AND between the outputs of the OR gates 181 of all threads.
US 20230088998 A1 teaches The first sub-processor cluster 112, the second sub-processor cluster 114 and the communication CPU LCPU may be attached onto a main board of the system on chip .
US 20160013643 teaches A1Once the tasks are appropriately migrated, the clocks driving the processors of the clusters are temporarily gated by the power rail controller 102, at step 222, to pause all processes running on the processors so that the processors stop once the current instructions are completed.
/LECHI TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194