Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending;
Claims 18-20 are currently withdrawn;
Claims 1-2 and 8 are currently amended.
Status of Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of 04/22/2025
The 112(d) rejection of claim 2 is withdrawn in view of the amendment;
The 112(b) rejections of claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn in view of the amendment;
The 103 rejection of claims 1-17 as obvious over Sahin in view of Yamashita have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s argument; a new grounds of rejection has been raised.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes the limitation “each of said cells” in line 5 that should be changed to “each of said n cells” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein each of the cell units is connected in parallel with another cell unit; and each of the cell units is connected in series with another cell unit” in lines 3-4. It is unclear if the “another cell unit” of line 3 is the same as the “another cell unit” of line 4. In other words, it is unclear if a given cell unit is connected in both series and parallel to a single other “another cell unit”, or if a given cell unit is connected in parallel with one “another cell unit” and connected in series with a different “another cell unit.” For the sake of examination, the examiner is interpreting the limitation to mean that a given cell unit is connected to one other adjacent cell unit in parallel, and is connected to a different other adjacent cell unit in series, as is seen in fig. 2 of the instant application. Claims 2-17 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the number of cell units” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the number of cell units” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the oxide of Ti" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pouyadou et. al. (US-20230187757-A1), hereinafter Pouyadou, in view of Sahin et al. (US-20200328416-A1), hereinafter Sahin..
Regarding claim 1, Pouyadou teaches a battery cell assembly comprising: a plurality of cell units ([0107]; fig. 2 modular battery packs BM1-BM6 are interpreted as cell units); wherein each of the cell units is connected in parallel with another cell unit ([0107]; fig. 2 each cell unit has a parallel connection); and each of the cell units is connected in series with another cell unit ([0107]; fig. 2 each cell units has a series connection); wherein each of the cell units comprises n cells connected in series ([0022] modular series-connected battery pack; [0035] the number of cells in series on a line), each of said cells comprising an anode and a cathode (a battery cell inherently contains both an anode and a cathode), wherein the n cells comprise a first end cell, a second end cell, and n - 2 middle cells interposed between the first end cell and the second end cell; and wherein n ≥ 2 ([0107]; fig. 2 shows greater than 2 n cells; [0035] number of cells on a line to be 1 to x depending on desired voltage).
Pouyadou fails to teach that the n cells having a voltage range tolerance of z% greater than a nominal operational voltage range and wherein z(n - 1) ≥ 100.
Sahin is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. Sahin teaches that the n cells having a voltage range tolerance of z% greater than a nominal operational voltage range ([0040]; cell has a high tolerance for overcharge and discharge, therefore has some kind of tolerance z% greater than a nominal operational voltage range), and wherein z(n - 1) ≥ 100 ([0083] Sahin teaches that the number of cells in series can include any suitable number of cells from 1 to 50,000; given that the cells of Pouyadou are being modified to be replaced with the cells of Sahin, it would be obvious that the ceiling number “x” number of cells in series of Pouyadou (Pouyadou [0035]), would follow the number of cells able to be connected in series of Sahin in order to achieve the desired voltage. Given this, (Sahin [0040]) the cell has a high tolerance for overcharge, meaning the tolerance z% greater than a nominal operational voltage range is greater than zero. Even if the z% was just 1%, z(n-1) would still be at least 100 within the given cell range in Sahin [0083]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the lithium battery cells of Pouyadou with the lithium battery cells of Sahin. Doing so provides a lithium-ion cell with improved safety and stability (Sahin [0040]; [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Pouyadou also teaches that n is 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 ([0035] 1 to x cells connected in series; fig. 3a shows an example of 4 cells). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Pouyadou also teaches that n is 3 or more ([0035] 1 to x cells connected in series; fig. 3a shows an example of 4 cells). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Pouyadou also teaches that the number of cell units connected in parallel (x) is 2 or greater (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Pouyadou also teaches that the number of cell units connected in series (y) is 2 or greater (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the anode, the cathode , or both comprise a current collector substrate comprising aluminum (Sahin [0068] the current collector of the anode, cathode, or both may include aluminum).
Regarding claim 7, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the anode and cathode are in a pouch cell (Sahin [0012] a cell can be in any configuration such as a pouch cell).
Regarding claim 8, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Pouyadou also teaches a cell within said cell unit comprises a cathode, the cathode comprising a polycrystalline cathode electrochemically active material comprising the formula Li1+xMO2+y, wherein -0.9≤x≤0.3, -0.3≤y≤0.3, and wherein M comprises Ni at 80 atomic percent or higher relative to total M (Sahin [0047]), the cathode electrochemically active material comprising a non-uniform distribution of Co (Sahin [0051]); and an anode comprising an electrochemically active material with an electrochemical redox potential of at least 400 mV versus Li/Li+ (Sahin [0067] potential of LTO is above 1 volt versus Li/Li+); and wherein the cell is optionally anode limited in capacity, area or both (Sahin [0072]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the anode electrochemically active material comprises an oxide of Nb, Sn, Sb, Ti, Si, or combinations thereof (Sahin [0062] the negative electrode includes a lithium titanium oxide).
Regarding claim 11, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the anode electrochemically active material comprises an oxide of Ti (Sahin [0062] the negative electrode includes a lithium titanium oxide).
Regarding claim 12, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the oxide of Ti has the formula Li 4+aTi5O12+b wherein -0.3≤a≤3.3, -0.3≤b≤0.3 (Sahin [0011]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches the anode electrochemically active material has an electrochemical redox potential versus lithium metal of 1 Volt or greater (Sahin [0067] potential of LTO is above 1 volt versus Li/Li+).
Regarding claim 14, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches the cathode electrochemically active material includes a plurality of crystallites (Sahin [0047]) and a grain boundary between the plurality of crystallites (Sahin [0051]), wherein a concentration of cobalt, aluminum, or both is higher in the grain boundary than in a center of the adjacent crystallites (Sahin [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that M in the formula Li1+xMO2+y comprises Ni and one or more metals selected from the group consisting of Mg, Sr, Co, Al, Ca, Cu, Zn, Mn, V, Ba, Zr, Ti, Cr, Fe, Mo, B, and any combination thereof (Sahin [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the cathode electrochemically active material comprises Ni and one or more of Mg, Co, or Al (Sahin [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou also teaches that the middle cells are absent a parallel connection (Pouyadou ([0022] modular series-connected battery pack; Pouyadou [0035] the number of cells in series on a line; fig. 2; cells are connected in series, therefore the middle cells would be absent a parallel connection).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pouyadou in view of Sahin as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US-20210083277-A1), hereinafter Yamashita.
Regarding claim 10, modified Pouyadou teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Modified Pouyadou fails to teach that the anode electrochemically active material comprises an oxide of Nb. However, Nb as an anode electrochemically active material is common in the art.
Yamashita is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0002]). Yamashita teaches an electrode active material of a monoclinic niobium titanium composite oxide ([0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Modified Pouyadou to incorporate the teachings of Yamashita and replace the anode active material with a niobium containing oxide. Doing so would improve the cycle life properties when used with an aluminum current collector (Yamashita [0057]), as is the case in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 as obvious over Sahin in view of Yamashita have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pouyadou in view of Sahin and Pouyadou in view of Sahin and Yamashita.
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722