DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 84, 88, and 98-104 are under consideration in this office action.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Any objection or rejection of record pertaining to cancelled claim 95 is rendered moot by applicant’s cancellation of said claim.
The objection to the specification and the rejection of claims 84, 88, and 98-102 as failing to comply with the written description are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment of claim 84 to remove limitations directed to prophylactic treatment.
Modified Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 84, 88, and 98-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception(s) without significantly more. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors, the instant claims are determined to be directed to a natural phenomenon and an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Under Step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance the claimed method is found to be drawn to one of the four statutory categories of inventions, a process.
Under Step 2A, prong 1, the claims have been determined to recite a natural phenomenon (detecting T2R stimulation) and an abstract idea (stratification into phenotypic categories based on response to stimulation).
The claims recite a method of stratifying a patient and improving immune response of the patient to viral infection. The method steps comprising introducing T2R agonists, detecting perceived level of stimulation, identifying category of phenotypic expression, stratifying patients based on their phenotype category into a category of inferred risk of viral infection, and administering to the patient agonists to stimulate T2R to improve innate immune response to viral infection. The new limitation directed to a method of improving immune response by administering T2R agonists is not sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, as it is recited at a high level of generality.
The claims involve the natural phenomenon whereby level of taste perception correlates with the risk for infection of an upper respiratory tract infection. Natural correlations are laws of nature that have been deemed ineligible subject matter because methods directed to the natural correlation without significantly more, preempt use of the natural correlation itself. A claim recites a mental process if it is directed to collecting and comparing known information, which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind [see Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2011)].
The claims recite the judicial exceptions natural phenomenon and abstract idea (STEP 2A, Prong One: YES). The invention as a whole is directed to judicial exceptions and thus required further analysis at Step 2B to determine if the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself.
Under Step 2A, prong 2, the claims have been determined to not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, i.e., the claims do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. It is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements, such as the obtaining and detecting of steps, does not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to a natural phenomenon [see, e.g., Alice Corp v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)].
MPEP section 2106.04(d) recites further consideration for integration of a judicial exception to a practical application. Relevant considerations include an improvement in the technical field; applying the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for disease; implementing the judicial exception with a particular machine; effecting a transformation to a different state or thing; and, applying or using the judicial exception in some meaningful way beyond generally linking the use to a technological environment. In the instant case, the additional steps of stimulating chemosensory receptors, recording a discerned level of stimulation, stratifying patients based on response, and administering T2R agonists offer no improvement in the technology. Although amended claim 84 is directed to a method of improving immune response, this method is not sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. This is because there is no causal use of the stratification, e.g., the phenotypic response does not determine whether or how the patient is treated. The administering step is not functionally linked to the stratification step. Further, the agonist is described at a high level of generality; it can be any compound that activates the receptor. The treatment step is generic and there is no treatment decision beyond what is already routine in the art.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because stimulating chemosensory receptors and stratifying patients based on response to chemosensory receptors require the steps of introducing, detecting, and stratifying that were well understood, routine, and conventional in the art at the time of filing.
The present claims do not require performing any steps that are not routine and conventional. For example, the claims do not require using a novel T2R agonist to detect the phenotypic expression of T2Rs nor do they require use of a particular machine, wherein the particular machine implements one or more of the judicial exceptions or integrates the judicial exception into a particular practical application. The active step of the claim is the step of detecting perceived level of T2R stimulation, stratifying patients into categories of phenotype expression of T2R, and administering T2R agonists.
The method for improving immune response is recited at a high level of generality and is not sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the natural phenomenon and naturally occurring correlation. The courts have found that arranging a hierarchy of groups is to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity when they are claimed at a high level of generality Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1331, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Therefore, the step does not relate to the natural principles in a significant way to impose a meaningful limit on the scope. Note that the Supreme Court in Mayo v. Prometheus has made clear that to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the “apply it.” Essentially, appending conventional steps or at a high level of generality to laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas cannot make those laws, phenomena, and ideas patent-eligible.
In Prometheus, the court found that “[i]f a law of nature is not patentable, then neither is a process reciting a law of nature, unless that process has additional features that provide practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself.” Additionally, “conventional or obvious”” “[pre]solution activity” is normally not sufficient to transform unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law”. Flook, 437, U.S., at 590; see also Bilski, 561 U.S., (“[T]he prohibition against patenting abstract ideas ‘cannot be circumvented by’…, adding ‘insignificant post-solution activity’” (quoting Diehr, supra, at 191-102).
The required steps are merely the extra solution activity that must be performed in order to observe the natural phenomenon itself.
Since the claims recite stimulating T2Rs, recording level of stimulating, and correlating the discerned level of T2R stimulation to predict inferred risk of infection of an upper respiratory tract interaction or determining a prophylactic treatment, they effect no transformation of the data collected to a different state. As a whole, the additional steps/elements do not apply the judicial exception in any meaningful way. (STEP 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Under final Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception encompassed by the method of the instant claims, i.e. the claims do not recite elements beyond the well-understood, routine, or conventional activities previously known to the field.
In the instant claims, the elements in addition to the correlation are stimulating chemoreceptors with an agonist and then detecting a level of stimulating. These steps are recited at a high level of generality, the breadth of which reads upon practices that are routinely performed, such as tasting a bitter stimulus. For example, if chemosensory receptors in the oral tissue are contacted with a bitter stimulus, like quinine, the perception of a bitter taste can be recorded; in this way, the subject expresses taste receptors responsible for bitter perception, namely T2Rs. Further, the categorization/stratification of subjects based on perception of taste is directed to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind.
Methods for stimulating T2Rs and recording a discerned level of taste perception in human patients via use of self-reporting was well established, routine, and conventional practices at the time the application was filed. The following prior art teaches methods relating to categorization of humans based on taste detection of the bitter compounds phenylthiocarbamide (PTC) (Bufe et al, see Summary, PTO-892 from 10/31/22; Lee et al, pg 4145, column 2 ln 11-15, PTO-892 from 10/31/22). The prior art reference teaches that PTC is useful for modulating taste perception and that detection of PTC (the phenotype) is linked to the genotype of a bitter taste receptor, TAS2R38 (Bufe et al, pg 325, columns 1-2). Further, US 2015/0017099 (“Cohen”; PTO-892 from 10/31/2022) teaches that polymorphisms of chemosensory receptors are linked to significant differences in the ability of upper respiratory cells to clear and kill bacteria [0152], which reads on predicting risk of infection and innate microbial activity. Thus, the prior art establishes that the steps and elements recited in addition to the judicial exception of the claims were all well understood, routine, and conventional prior to filing. For all of these reasons, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (STEP 2B: NO).
The preponderance of evidence demonstrates that the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter, and claims 84, 88, and 98-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Modified Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 84, 88, and 98-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2015/0017099A1 (“Cohen”).
Claims 84 and 88 are directed to method for stratification of a patient into a category of current risk of viral infection based on stimulating T2Rs without reference to genotype testing and a method of improving an immune response by administering T2R agonists, said method comprising the steps of administering a taste test kit comprising a plurality of agonists, detecting patient perceived level of stimulation, categorization of patient based on taste perception and risk for viral infection, and administering T2R agonists.
Cohen teaches a method for determining the susceptibility of a subject to a respiratory infection associated disease such as sinusitis or rhinosinusitis [0127]. Sinusitis or rhinosinusitis of the method can be caused by infection by viruses [0134], as in claim 84. Subjects are categorized as tasters or non-tasters based on the intensity of a taste upon presentation of a bitter tasting compound (a T2R agonist) [0137], which reads on the stratification of patients based on phenotypic expression in claim 84 and prediction of inferred risk of infection of claim 88. In this embodiment of Cohen, there is no reference to genotype testing, as in claim 84. Cohen teaches a method of treating a respiratory infection by administering an agent capable of activating better taste signal pathway, such as a T2R38 agonist [0018], as in the new limitation of instant claim 84 regarding administration of T2R agonists.
Claim 84 has been amended to include a limitation comprising stratifying reference levels into ranges indicative of innate antiviral activity. Cohen teaches that response to a chemosensory receptor bitter taste test that relies on bitter taste sensitivity on the tongue can indicate bitter taste sensitivity of the upper respiratory tract [0112]. Less sensitive receptors “in the upper respiratory tract will provide a poor defense against microbes” [0112]. Cohen postulates that individuals will differ in how their innate immunity functions as a result of the expression of their bitter chemosensory receptor, and, thus, those who are relatively less sensitive to bitter compounds are more prone to respiratory pathogen infection compared to those with more bitter chemosensory receptor sensitivity [0112], which reads on the stratification indicating innate antiviral activity of instant claim 84.
Cohen teaches presenting a plurality of test compounds (includes at least one bitter receptor agonist and one non-bitter receptor agonist) and having the subject rate the intensity of the taste response to the test compounds; the intensity of the taste response is then compared with pre-calibrated intensities to determine susceptibility to a respiratory infection [0013]. Cohen teaches that the bitter test compounds used in the taste test may include phenylthiocarbamide, quinine, and denatonium benzoate [0120] and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [0142]. The teachings of the Cohen reference teaches all the components of the kit and therefore meet the requirements as set forth for the kit in the method of claim 84.
Cohen teaches that the subjects taste the bitter tasting compounds and rate the intensity [0013], which reads on the method of stratifying the patient at the time of administering the taste, as required by claim 98.
Cohen teaches that the taste test uses a plurality of bitter taste compounds and the rated intensities of the taste response are compared with pre-calibrated intensities to determine susceptibility to a respiratory infection [0013], which reads on the repeated stimulation in a predetermined sequence of plurality of agonists of instant claims 99-101. The pre-calibrated intensity of taste response does not reference genotype testing, as required by claim 102, and the genotype of the patients is not determined [0013], which reads on new claims 103-104.
Even though there is no expressed support in Cohen for the introduction of a plurality of T2R agonists in a “predetermined sequence established in relation to a statistically significant reference population”, as required by claim 84 and 99, Cohen teaches the method of testing, which inherently comprises a sequential delivery step. Without these steps, there is no delivery of the plurality of compounds.
Further, the court in Integra Life Sciences | Ltd. v. Merck KGaA, 50 USPQe2d 1846 (DC SCalif, 1999) held that a reference teaching a process may anticipate claims drawn to a method comprising the same process steps, despite the recitation of a different intended use in the preamble or the later discovery of a particular property of one of the starting materials or end products. Because the only active method steps recited in claim 84 are introducing to T2Rs a plurality of agonists, detecting a level of stimulation, identifying a category by comparing said level of stimulation to a reference level, stratifying the patients into categories of phenotypic expression of T2Rs, and administering T2R agonists and because Cohen teaches these steps, the reference inherently teaches the method of stratifying a patient into a category of phenotypic expression, without reference to genotype, as set forth in amended claims 84 and 103-104.
Therefore, Cohen anticipates claims 84, 88, and 98-104.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding STEP 2A Prong One, Applicant submits that the amended claims are not directed to a judicial exception because they include the additional step of administering T2R agonists to improve innate immune response to the viral infection, which is not a law of nature (remarks, pg 12). Moreover, the claimed method results in a real-world medical intervention (remarks, pg 15). However, because there is no causal use of the stratification, e.g., the phenotypic response does not determine whether or how the patient is treated, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained. The administering step is not functionally linked to the stratification step. Further, the T2R agonist is described at a high level of generality; it can be any compound that activates the receptor. The treatment steps is generic and there is no treatment decision beyond what is already routine in the art.
With respect to STEP2A Prong Two, Applicant asserts that the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application and that the methods steps are not performed at a high level of generality (remarks, pg 15). The courts have found that arranging a hierarchy of groups is to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity when they are claimed at a high level of generality Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1331, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Therefore, the step does not relate to the natural principles in a significant way to impose a meaningful limit on the scope. Note that the Supreme Court in Mayo v. Prometheus has made clear that to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the “apply it.” Essentially, appending conventional steps or at a high level of generality to laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas cannot make those laws, phenomena, and ideas patent-eligible. Without recitation of additional elements demonstrating that the claim integrates the exception into a practical application, for example a method of preventing or treating a disease or medical condition that functionally links the administering step to the stratification step, the claimed method is not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Regarding STEP 2B, applicant asserts that the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (remarks, pg 16). The claimed steps of identifying a category and stratifying the patient, however, are merely the extra-solution activity necessary to observe the natural phenomenon. These steps were well understood at the time the application was filed, see Bufe et al, Lee et al, and Cohen as applied in the rejection above. Although Cohen teaches the relationship between the taste test response and genotype, Cohen also teaches that an intervention to treat an infection can be determined using a phenotype test [0137], which is what is claimed. There is clearly support in the prior art for phenotype predicting risk of viral infection. Applicant argues that in the taste test of Cohen, only one agonist is applied and that the claimed method is directed to a specific set of three agonists that are administered in a predetermined sequence (remarks, pg 17). These limitations are not in the claim, and the examiner maintains their position that Cohen teaches the same steps. The stratifications steps that require understanding of quantitative thresholds and predefined classification criteria (remarks, pg 18) are not performed at a high level and can be performed in the human mind.
For the reasons detailed in the rejection above, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained. The step of administering a T2R agonist is not sufficient.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), the amendment of claim 84 to include methods of stratifying patients and administering a T2R agonist treatment are anticipated by Cohen. Cohen teaches that the bitter taste test sensitivity of tongues is an indicator of bitter taste function in the upper respiratory tract [0112]. Further, Cohen teaches administration of T2R agonists for the treatment of respiratory infection. Because the only other active method steps recited in claim 84 are introducing to T2Rs a plurality of agonists, detecting a level of stimulation, identifying a category by comparing said level of stimulation to a reference level, and stratifying the patients into categories of phenotypic expression of T2Rs, and because Cohen teaches these steps, the reference inherently anticipates the method of amended claim 84.
Claim 84 is directed to a limitation comprising stratifying reference levels into ranges indicative of innate antiviral activity. Cohen teaches that response to a chemosensory receptor bitter taste test that relies on bitter taste sensitivity on the tongue can indicate bitter taste sensitivity of the upper respiratory tract [0112]. Less sensitive receptors “in the upper respiratory tract will provide a poor defense against microbes” [0112]. Cohen postulates that individuals will differ in how their innate immunity functions as a result of the expression of their bitter chemosensory receptor, and thus, those who are relatively less sensitive to bitter compounds are more prone to respiratory pathogen infection compared to those with more bitter chemosensory receptor sensitivity [0112]; this is detection of a phenotype without respect to genotype.
Applicant argues that Cohen does not employ the plurality of test compounds for assessing the risk of the infection (remarks, pg 22). This is not persuasive; as the claims are drawn to a method of stratifying patients with a taste test comprised of administering a T2R agonist and a method of administering T2R agonists for improving immune response. Since Cohen teaches these steps, Cohen anticipates the instant method. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) is maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Jennifer Benavides
Examiner
Art Unit 1675
/JENNIFER A BENAVIDES/Examiner, Art Unit 1675