DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The present amendment, filed on or after 1/15/2026, has been entered. The Applicant has amended claims 15, 21, 28-29 and 35. Accordingly, claims 15-25 and 27-35 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims 21 and 28-29 have overcome all objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 9/24/ 2025, except the one indicated in the Claim Objections section below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Chinese Application Serial Number 202111639302.X, filed on 12/29/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 is objected, because the following limitations/phrases should be aligned to the prior limitations/phrases to avoid 112 issues due to indefiniteness:
For proper interpretation of claim 21, “first doped region” on line 12 should be changed to “first doped region of the drain”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-956 (US 2007/0034956 A1) in views of Wei (US 2009/0008711 A1) and Yan (CN 107819026 A).
Regarding claim 15, Lee-956 teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (high voltage p-type metal-oxide semiconductor (HVP-MOS) device, Figs. 2-12, Abstract and [0017]), comprising:
forming a first well region (N+ buried layer 22, Fig. 2; [0025]) and a second well region (doped semiconductor layer 24, Fig. 3; [0026]) in a substrate (substrate 20, Figs. 2-3, [0025]);
forming a third well region (high-voltage n-well (HVNW) region 28, Fig. 4; para. 0027]) in the second well region (high-voltage p-well (HVPW) region 26, Fig. 4; [0027]: to associate the regions of Lee-956 to specific regions of the current application, the two parts of the doped semiconductor layer 24 were identified as second and third well regions, respectively, as above);
forming a gate structure (gate dielectric 60 and gate electrode 62, Fig. 8; [0038]) over the second well region (HVPW region 26, Fig. 8) and the third well region (HVNW region 28, Fig. 8), such that an interface of the second well region and the third well region (the interface between HVPW region 26 and HVNW region 28, Fig. 8) extends downward from the gate structure (a gate dielectric 60 and a gate electrode 62, Fig. 8);
performing a first implantation process (Fig. 6, [0030]) with first dopants (p-type dopant, [0030]) to form a source region (source region 46, Fig. 6; [0030]) in the third well region (HVNW region 28, Fig. 6; [0030]) and a first doped region (drain region 44, Fig. 6; [0030]) in the second well region (HVPW region 26, Fig. 6; [0030]); and
performing a second implantation process (Fig. 7, [0031]) with second dopants (n-type dopant, [0031]) having a conductivity type different from the first dopants (p-type dopant implantation, [0030]) to form a second doped region (N+ region 54, Fig. 7; [0031]) such that a drain region including the first doped region (drain region 44, Fig. 7) and the second doped region (N+ region 54, Fig. 7) is defined and the first doped region (drain region 44, Fig. 7) of the drain region is between the source region (source region 46, Fig. 7) and the second doped region (N+ region 54, Fig. 7) of the drain region.
Lee-956, however, does not teach that the first implantation process with first dopants and the second implantation with second dopants are performed after forming the gate structure, and
a vertical distance between a bottom surface of the first doped region of the drain region and a bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region is less than a depth of the second doped region of the drain region and is greater than a distance between the bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region and a bottom surface of the second well region.
Wei, on the other hand, teaches a method for manufacturing semiconductor device (high-voltage metal-oxide semiconductor (HVMOS) device, Figs. 2-9, Abstract and [0014]) wherein the method comprises
after forming the gate structure (gate dielectrics 50, gate electrodes 52 and spacers 54, Fig. 7, [0028]), performing a first implantation process (p-type impurity implantation, Fig. 8, [0029]) with first dopants (p-type, [0029]); and
performing a second implantation process (n-type impurity implantation, Fig. 9, [0030]) with second dopants (n-type, [0030]) having a conductivity type different from the first dopants (p-type, [0029]).
The device structures disclosed by Lee and Wei are similar, except that the drain region in Wei does not include a second area. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would realize that the method disclosed by Wei provides an alternative to the method of Lee in terms of forming the drain and source regions and the gate structure. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify Lee-956’s method of manufacturing such that the drain and source regions and the gate structure are formed by the method disclosed by Wei, which would provide the benefit of protecting channel region of the device, and stabilizing the channel resistance, due to the usage of the gate electrode as an extra mask during ion implantation for forming the source and drain regions (evidenced by Nishizawa (JP 2011100913 A, [0011] and [0020], see also claim 28 rejection below)).
Furthermore, Wei further discloses that “one skilled in the art will realize that the order of forming N +regions, P+ regions and gates is a matter of mere design choice.” ([0030], where N+ regions are formed by the second implantation and P+ regions are formed by the first implantation), which indicates that the first and second implantation processes in Lee-956’s method can be alternatively performed after forming the gate structure as disclosed by Wei. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, because the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)), see also In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results)).
The combination of Lee-956 and Wei, however, does not teach that
a vertical distance between a bottom surface of the first doped region of the drain region and a bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region is less than a depth of the second doped region of the drain region and is greater than a distance between the bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region and a bottom surface of the second well region.
Yan, on the other hand, teaches an LDMOS transistor (Fig. 2, [0044]), which is analogous (with opposite conductivity types for individual regions) to the semiconductor device manufactured by the method of Lee-956 in view of Wei in that the first well region corresponds to semiconductor substrate 1 (Fig. 2, [0049]), the second well region corresponds to drift region 2 (Fig. 2, [0049]), the third well region corresponds to body region 3 (Fig. 2, [0050]), source region corresponds to source region 6 (Fig. 2, [0052]), first doped region of the drain corresponds to drain region 7 (Fig. 2, [0053]) and the second doped region corresponds to hole injection region 9 (Fig. 2, [0054]). Yan further teaches that that in the LDMOS device of Yan
a vertical distance (see distance D1 in Illustrative Fig. 1 which is an annotated version of Yan’s Fig. 2) between a bottom surface of the first doped region of the drain region (drain region 7, Illustrative Fig. 1, [0053]) and a bottom surface (dashed horizontal line, Illustrative Fig. 1) of the second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9, Illustrative Fig. 1, [0054]) is less than a depth (D2, Illustrative Fig. 1) of the second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9, Illustrative Fig. 1) and is greater than a distance (D3, Illustrative Fig. 1) between the bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9, Illustrative Fig. 1) and a bottom surface of the second well region (drift region 2, Illustrative Fig. 1, [0049]; also see [0027]: “A further improvement is that the knot depth of the hole injection region is less than or equal to the knot depth of the drift region”, meaning that the distance D3 can be as small as zero.).
Yan further discloses that the depth of the hole injection region 9 being larger than the depth pf the drain region 7 provides the benefit of reducing the on-resistance when the device is turned on ([0025]), and a further improvement is that the knot depth of the hole injection region 9 is less than or equal to the knot depth of the drift region ([0027]: this implies that the D1 is larger than D3, as shown in Illustrative Fig. 1, as the depth of the hole injection layer 9 can be close to the depth of the drift region 2). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of Lee-956 in view of Wei according to the teachings of Yan, to form the first doped region and second doped region such that a vertical distance between a bottom surface of the first doped region of the drain region and a bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region is less than a depth of the second doped region of the drain region and is greater than a distance between the bottom surface of the second doped region of the drain region and a bottom surface of the second well region, which would provide the benefit of reducing the on-resistance of the semiconductor device.
Thus, combination of Lee-956, Wei, and Yan meets all the limitations of the method disclosed in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan teaches the method of claim 15, wherein
Lee-956 further teaches that the second implantation process (Fig. 7; [0031]: n+ dopant implantation) is performed after the first implantation process (Fig. 6, [0030]: p+ dopant implantation).
Regarding claim 17, Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan teaches the method of claim 15, wherein
Lee-956 further teaches that performing the second implantation process (Fig. 7; [0031]) further comprises forming a bulk region (N+ region 56, Fig. 7; [0031]) adjacent to the source region (source region 46, Fig. 7, [0031]).
Regarding claim 18, while Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan teaches the method according to claim 15,
neither Lee-956 nor Wei teaches that the second implantation process is performed such that the depth of the second doped region of the drain region is greater than a depth of the first doped region of the drain region.
Yan, on the other hand, teaches an LDMOS transistor (Fig. 2, [0044]), where a depth (D2, Illustrative Fig. 1) of the second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9, Illustrative Fig. 1) is greater than the depth (D4, Illustrative Fig. 1) of the first doped region of the drain region (drain region 7, Illustrative Fig. 1, [0053]).
Yan further discloses that the depth of the hole injection region 9 being larger than the depth pf the drain region 7 provides the benefit of reducing the on-resistance when the device is turned on ([0025]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of Lee-956 in view of Wei according to the teachings of Yan, to form the first doped region and second doped region such that a depth of the second doped region of the drain region is greater than the depth of the first doped region of the drain region, which would provide the benefit of reducing the on-resistance of the semiconductor device.
Thus, the combination of Lee-956, Wei and Yan meets all the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, while Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan teaches the method according to claim 15,
Lee-956 does not teach that the method further comprises:
forming a spacer on a sidewall of the gate structure before performing the first implantation process.
Wei, on the other hand, teaches a method (for manufacturing a high-voltage metal-oxide semiconductor (HVMOS) device, Figs. 2-9, Abstract and para. [0014]) comprising:
forming a spacer (spacer 54, Fig. 7, [0028]) on a sidewall of the gate structure (gate dielectrics 50, gate electrodes 52; Fig. 7, [0028]) before performing the first implantation process (p-type impurity implantation, Fig. 8, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that forming spacers on the sidewalls of the gate structure would protect the gate from contamination by dopants during the subsequent dopant implantation processes. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to cover the sidewalls of the gate structure in the method of Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan with spacers, as disclosed by Wei, to obtain the predictable outcome of protecting the gate structure during the subsequent implantation processes (see MPEP 2143 (I-D) for obviousness due to application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Thus, the combination of Lee-956, Wei, and Yan meets all the limitations of claim 19.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-956 (US 2007/0034956 A1) in views of Wei (US 2009/0008711 A1) and Yan (CN 107819026 A) as applied to claims 15-19 above, and further in view of Liu (US Patent No: 9,871,132 B1).
Regarding claim 20, while Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan teaches the method according to claim 15,
Lee-956, Wei and Yan do not teach that the method further comprising:
forming a resist protective layer extending over a portion of the gate structure and over the third well region after performing the second implantation process.
Liu, on the other hand, teaches a method for forming a medium voltage LDMOS device (Figs. 3a-h; column 2, lines 38-43) comprising
forming a resist protective layer (silicide block layer 140, Fig. 3b; column 11, lines 54-59) extending over a portion of the gate structure (gate dielectric 125 and a gate electrode 126, Fig. 3b; column 11, lines 54-59) and over the third well region (third doped well 116, Fig. 3b; column 11, lines 54-59) to prevent salicidation of the substrate between the gate and drain regions (column 6, lines 7-12) during the subsequent steps of making electrical contacts.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to include steps for forming a resist protective layer extending over a portion of the gate structure and over the third well region after performing the second implantation process of Lee-956 in views of Wei and Yan, to protect the substrate between the gate and drain regions, as taught by Liu, during the following manufacturing steps (Liu: column 6, lines 7-12).
Claims 21-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-066 (US 2019/0288066 A1) in views of Lee-956 (US 2007/0034956 A1) and Yan (CN 107819026 A).
Regarding claim 21, Lee-066 teaches a method for manufacturing (Figs. 4A-F, [0077]) a semiconductor device (power semiconductor device, Fig. 4F, [0077]), comprising:
forming a first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200, Fig. 4B, [0079]) having a first conductivity type ([0079]: “first conductivity type”) in a substrate (comprising substrate 110, first conductivity type buried layer 130, second conductivity type buried layer 150, and active region 170, Fig. 4A, [0078]);
forming a second well region (second conductivity type body region 250, Fig. 4B, [0081]) having a second conductivity type ([0081]: “second conductivity type”) in the substrate (comprising substrate 110, first conductivity type buried layer 130, second conductivity type buried layer 150, and active region 170, Fig. 4A), wherein the first conductivity type ([0079]: first conductivity type is N-type) is different from the second conductivity type ([0081]: second conductivity type is P-type);
forming a gate structure (comprising gate insulating layer 310 and gate electrode 300, Fig. 4B, [0080]) over the first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200, Fig. 4B) and the second well region (second conductivity type body region 250, Fig. 4B);
forming a spacer (spacer 330, Fig. 4C, [0082]) on a sidewall (left and right sidewalls in Fig. 4C) of the gate structure (gate insulating layer 310 and gate electrode 300, Fig. 4C);
forming a source region (first conductivity type source region 430, Fig. 4C, [0082]) in the second well region (second conductivity type body region 250, Fig. 4C) and a first doped region of a drain region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4C, [0082]) in the first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200, Fig. 4C), wherein the source region (first conductivity type source region 430, Fig. 4C) and the first doped region of the drain region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4C) both have the first conductivity type (first conductivity type), the spacer (spacer 330, the portion on the right sidewall, Fig. 4C) is between the gate structure (gate insulating layer 310 and gate electrode 300, Fig. 4C) and the first doped region of the drain region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4C) and laterally spaced apart from the first doped region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4C) by the first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200, Fig. 4C);
forming a resist protective layer (protection layer 600, Fig. 4D, [0083]) to cover a sidewall (right sidewall, Fig. 4D) of the spacer (spacer 330, Fig. 4D), a portion of the first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200, Fig. 4D), and a portion of the first doped region of the drain region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4C) and in direct contact with a portion (the portion of the first conductivity type drift region 200 between the spacer 330 and first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4D) of the first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200, Fig. 4D).
Lee-066, however, does not teach that the method comprises
forming the source region and the first doped region of the drain region simultaneously, and
forming a second doped region of the drain region in the first well region, wherein the second doped region of the drain region has the second conductivity type and in contact with the first doped region of the drain region.
Yan, on the other hand, teaches an LDMOS transistor (Fig. 2, [0044]), which is analogous (with opposite conductivity types for individual regions) to the semiconductor device manufactured by the method of Lee-066 in that the first well region corresponds to drift region 2 (Fig. 2, [0049]), the second well region corresponds to body region 3 (Fig. 2, [0050]), source region corresponds to source region 6 (Fig. 2, [0052]), first doped region of the drain corresponds to drain region 7 (Fig. 2, [0053]). Yan further teaches that the semiconductor device also includes
a second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9, Fig. 2, [0054]) in the first well region (drift region 2, Fig. 2), wherein the second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9, Fig. 2) has the second conductivity type (P+-type, Fig. 2, [0039]) and in contact (see Fig. 2) with the first doped region of the drain region (drain region 7, Fig. 2).
Yan further teaches that including a hole injection region having a depth larger than the drain region 7 and located outside the drain region provides the benefit of reducing the drift region resistance and, consequently, the on-resistance ([0039]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of Lee-066 according to the teachings of Yan, to form a second doped region of the drain region with the second conductivity type in the first well region, in contact with the first doped region of the drain region, as taught by Yan, which would provide the benefit of reducing the on-resistance of the semiconductor device.
Lee-066 and Yan, however, do not teach that the method comprises
forming the source region and the first doped region of the drain region simultaneously, and
Lee-956, on the other hand, teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (high voltage p-type metal-oxide semiconductor (HVP-MOS) device, Figs. 2-12, Abstract and [0017]) including a source region (source region 46, Fig. 8; [0030]) in the second well region (HVNW region 28, Fig. 8), a first doped region of a drain region (drain region 44, Fig. 8; [0030]) and a second doped region of the drain (N+ region 54, Fig. 8; [0031]) in the first well region (HVPW region 26, Fig. 6), wherein the method comprises
forming the source region (source region 46, Fig. 6) and the first doped region of the drain region (drain region 44, Fig. 6) simultaneously (Fig. 6 and [0030]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would realize that the semiconductor devices manufactured by the method of Lee-066 in view of Yan and Lee-956 are analogous (high voltage LDMOS devices) to each other, with conductivity types of analogous regions in Lee-066 in view of Yan and Lee-956 are flipped with respect to each other. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would also realize that source region and the first doped region of the drain region in both Lee-066 in view of Yan and Lee 956 are formed by ion implantation (see Lee-066, [0082] and Lee-956, [0030]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to form the source region and first doped region of the drain region in Lee-066 in view of Yan simultaneously, as taught by Lee-956, to reduce the number of processing steps in the manufacturing process and the overall manufacturing time.
Thus, the combination of Lee-066, Yan and Lee-956 meets all the limitations of claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, Lee-066 in views of Yan and Lee-956 teaches the method of claim 21,
wherein
the combination of Lee-066, Yan and Lee-956 further teaches that the second doped region of the drain region (hole injection region 9 (see Yan, Fig. 2) included in the semiconductor device manufactured by the method Lee-066 according to the teachings of Yan; see claim 21 rejection above) is deeper than the first doped region of the drain region (see claim 21 rejection above).
Regarding claim 23, Lee-066 in views of Yan and Lee-956 teaches the method of claim 21, wherein
the combination of Lee-066, Yan and Lee-956 further teaches that the second doped region of the drain region (Yan’s hole injection region 9 introduced into the method of Lee-066 (see claim 21 rejection above)) is shallower (Yan discloses that the depth of the hole injection region 9 is less than the depth of the drift region 2 which is equivalent to first well conductivity type drift region 200 of Lee-066, [0054]) than the first well region (first conductivity type drift region 200 of Lee-066, Fig. 4F of Lee-066).
Regarding claim 24, Lee-066 in views of Yan and Lee-956 teaches the method of claim 21, wherein
the combination of Lee-066, Yan and Lee-956 further teaches that the second doped region of the drain region (Yan’s hole injection region 9 introduced into the method of Lee-066 (see claim 21 rejection above)) is deeper (Yan discloses that the depth of the hole injection region 9 larger than the depth of drain region 7 [0054]) than the source region (first conductivity type source region 430 of Lee-066, Fig. 4F: because the source region 430 and the first conductivity type drain region 410 have the sane depth in Lee-0066, in the method of Lee-066 modified by Yan, the second doped region of the drain is formed to be deeper than the source region.).
Regarding to claim 25, Lee-066 in views of Yan and Lee-956 teaches the method of claim 21, wherein
The combination of Lee-066, Yan and Lee-956 further teaches that the first doped region of the drain region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4F of Lee-066) is between the gate structure (comprising gate insulating layer 310 and gate electrode 300, Fig. 4F of Lee-066) and the second doped region of the drain region (Yan’s hole injection region 9 introduced into the method of Lee-066 (see claim 21 rejection above) such that the hole injection region 9 is on the right side of the first conductivity type drain region 410 in Fig. 4F).
Regarding to claim 27, Lee-066 in views of Yan and Lee-956 teaches the method of claim 21, wherein
The combination of Lee-066, Yan and Lee-956 further teaches that the resist protective layer (protection layer 600, Fig. 4F, [0083]) is in contact with the first doped region of the drain region (first conductivity type drain region 410, Fig. 4F) but is spaced apart from the second doped region of the drain region (Yan’s hole injection region 9 is introduced on the right side of the first conductivity type drain region 410 in the semiconductor device manufactured by method of Lee-066 (see Fig. 4F and claim 21 rejection above). Since the resist protective layer reaches only to the left portion of the top surface of the first conductivity type drain region 410 in Fig. 4F, the resist protective layer is spaced apart from the second doped region of the drain in the semiconductor device of Lee-066 modified by the teachings of Yan.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28-34 are allowed.
Claim 28 is allowed, because the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure and examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, as least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding the limitations that
“after forming the third well region, performing an etching process to the patterned conductive layer and the exposed portion of the gate dielectric layer to form a gate structure over the second well region and the third well region;
and
forming a source region in the third well region and a first doped region of a drain region in the second well region, wherein the source region and the first doped region of the drain region have a first conductivity type”
as recited in claim 28, in combination with the remaining methodological and structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding the closest prior art, as also detailed in the non-final office action mailed on 9/24/2025, Lee-956 (US 2007/0034956 A1), Hwang (US 2002/0013029 A1) and Nishizawa teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (high voltage p-type metal-oxide semiconductor (HVP-MOS) device, Figs. 2-12, Abstract and [0017]), comprising:
forming a first well region (N+ buried layer 22, Fig. 2; [0025]) in a substrate (substrate 20, Fig. 2; [0025]);
forming a second well region (doped semiconductor layer 24, Fig. 3; [0026]) in the substrate (substrate 20, Fig. 3) and over the first well region (N+ buried layer 22, Fig. 3);
forming a source region (source region 46, Fig. 6; [0035]) in the third well region (high-voltage n-well (HVNW) region 28, Fig. 8) and a first doped region of a drain region (drain region 44, Fig. 6; [0035]) in the second well region (high-voltage p-well (HVNPW) region 26, Fig. 6), wherein the source region (source region 46, Fig. 6) and the first doped region of the drain region (drain region 44, Fig. 6) have a first conductivity type (p-type dopant, [0030]); and
forming a bulk region (N+ region 56, Fig. 7; [0031]) in the third well region (high-voltage n-well (HVNW) region 28, Fig. 7) and in contact with the source region (source region 46, Fig. 7), wherein the bulk region (N+ region 56, Fig. 7) has a second conductivity type (n-type dopant, [0031]) different from the first conductivity type (p-type dopant, [0030]).
Lee-956, however, does not teach the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprises
forming a gate dielectric layer and a conductive layer over the second well region;
patterning the conductive layer to expose a portion of the gate dielectric layer;
after patterning the conductive layer, forming a third well region in the second well region;
after forming the third well region, performing an etching process to the patterned conductive layer and the gate dielectric layer to form a gate structure over the second well region and the third well region; and
the bulk region that is deeper than the source region.
Hwang, on the hand, discloses a high-voltage device (Figs. 1a and 2), wherein the bulk region (P+ bulk region 8’, Fig. 2; [0013]) is deeper than the source region (N+ source region 7, Fig. 2; [0013]), to mitigate the lowering of the maximum operating voltage of the device due to latch-up phenomenon ([0013]).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of manufacturing taught by Lee-956 to form a bulk region deeper than the source region, as disclosed by Hwang, to improve the maximum operating voltage of the semiconductor device (Hwang: [0013]).
Lee-956 and Hwang, however, do not teach that the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprises
forming a gate dielectric layer and a conductive layer over the second well region;
patterning the conductive layer to expose a portion of the gate dielectric layer;
after patterning the conductive layer, forming a third well region in the second well region;
after forming the third well region, performing an etching process to the patterned conductive layer and the gate dielectric layer to form a gate structure over the second well region and the third well region.
Nishizawa, on the other hand, teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (DMOS transistor, Figs. 9-13 and 6-8, [0030]), comprising:
forming (Fig. 9, [0030]) a gate dielectric layer (gate oxide film 6, Fig. 9, [0030]) and a conductive layer (gate electrode film 7, Fig. 9, [0030]) over the second well region (N-type silicon substrate 1, Fig. 9, [0030]);
patterning (Fig. 10, [0031]) the conductive layer (gate electrode film 7, Fig. 10) to expose a portion of the gate dielectric layer (gate oxide film 6, Fig. 10);
after patterning the conductive layer (gate electrode film 7, Fig. 10), forming (Figs. 10-11, [0031]-[0032]) a third well region (first body region 5 and second body region 9, Figs. 10-11, para.[0031]-[0032]) in the second well region (N-type silicon substrate 1, Figs. 10-11);
after forming the third well region (first body region 5 and second body region 9, Fig. 11), performing an etching process (Figs. 13 and 6, [0036]-[0037]) to the patterned conductive layer (gate electrode film 7A, Fig. 6, [0037]) and the exposed portion of the gate dielectric layer (gate oxide film 6, Fig. 6: gate oxide film 6 is not labeled in Fig. 6, please refer to Fig. 11; the exposed portion of the gate oxide film is removed in the exposed regions) to form a gate structure (comprising gate electrode film 7A and gate oxide film 6, Fig. 6) over the second well region (N-type silicon substrate 1, Fig. 6) and the third well region (first body region 5 and second body region 9, Fig. 6).
Nishizawa further discloses that forming the second well region, third well region and the gate structure by the method taught by Nishizawa has the advantages of (1) stabilizing the channel resistance by protecting the channel region by using the gate electrode as a mask during ion implantation ([0011] and [0020]), and (2) reducing the risk of misalignment of the doped regions and the photoresist mask ([0021] and [0023]). Therefore, the combination of Lee-956 in view of Hwang with Nishizawa would meet all the limitations of claim 28. However, such a combination is not feasible and lacks motivation due to following reasons: (1) the source region (source region 10, Fig. 12, [0023]) of Nishizawa is also motivated to be formed through the gate dielectric layer (gate oxide film 6, Fig. 12), which is different than the invention in claim 28; and (2) the thick gate dioxide layer on the drain side in Fig 6, prevents the first doped region of the drain in the method Lee-956 in view of Hwang to be formed next to the gate structure (see Fig. 8 of Lee-956). Therefore, combining the teachings of Lee-956 in view of Hwang with Nishizawa would lead structural changes in Lee-956 in view Hwang and motivates a method different than the one disclosed in claim 28.
There has been no other prior art identified that can, by itself or in combination of others, render the invention disclosed in claim 1 anticipated or obvious. Therefore, claim 28 is allowed. Accordingly, claims 29-34 are also allowed, because these claims inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 28.
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 35, disclosing: forming a third doped region in the substrate and overlapping the first well region and the third well region, wherein the third doped region has a top surface lower than a top surface of the third well region, and a portion of the source region is embedded in the third doped region, would be allowable if these limitations are incorporated with claim 15 or are written in an independent form.
Response to Arguments
It has been acknowledged that the applicant amended claims 15, 21, 28-29, and 35 per response dated on 1/15/2026.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been fully considered. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant on that the amendments to independent claims 15, 21, and 28 overcame all claim rejections made previously for based on the prior art Lee-956 (US 2007/0034956 A1) in views of Wei (US 2009/0008711 A1) and Hailian (Hailian et al 2014, J. Semicond. 35 094005, DOI 10.1088/1674-4926/35/9/094005) for claim 1, based on Lee-956 in views of Zhang (Zhang et al, 2012, Semicond. Sci. Technol. 27 035006 DOI 10.1088/0268-1242/27/3/035006) and Lee-066 (US 2019/0288066 A1) for claim 21, and based on Lee-956 in views of Nishizawa (JP 2011100913 A) and Hwang (US 2002/0013029 A1) for claim 28.
However, amended claim 15 is now rejected under new grounds based on a new prior-art, Yan (CN 107819026 A), combined with Lee-956 and Wei of the non-final office action. Rejections are also made on claims 16-20, which are dependent on claim 1, based on these prior art or their combination of other prior art of the non-final office action. Amended claim 35, which is also dependent on claim 15, is, however, objected due to its dependency on rejected claim 15.
Claim 21 is also rejected under new grounds based on the new prior-art Yan combined with Lee-066 (US 2019/0288066 A1) and Lee-956 of the non-final office action. Claims 22-25 and 27, which are dependent on claim 21, are also rejected based on these prior art.
Claim 28, however, is now allowed as detailed in the office action above. Claims 29-34 are also allowed because they inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 28.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner notes that incorporating claim 35 with claim 1 will make claim 1 allowable, and incorporating structural and methological limitations similar to the ones associated with allowable subject matter in claims 28 and 35 in claim 21 might also render claim 21 inventive and not obvious.
The Examiner is available for an interview at Applicant’s convenience if the Applicant would like to discuss the application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ILKER NMN OZDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812