DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments involve discussing why the previously cited prior art documents fail to disclose the amended limitations. As Examiner has not had a previous opportunity to examine these amendments, there is no position for Applicant to have previously addressed and therefore no position taken previously to defend. The applicability of the reference(s) to the amended elements is discussed in the claim rejections above for Applicants to now respond to.
Regarding the pending double patenting rejection, Applicant has amended claim 1 to sufficiently differentiate from U.S. Patent No. 12,295,170 B2 (hereafter Lavric), and thus the pending double patenting rejection is rescinded.
Regarding the Objections to the specification, it does not appear as though Applicant has mitigated the issues set forth in the non-final of 8/26/25, and thus the objections will be repeated below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and are currently being examined. Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. Claims 7-20 have been withdrawn per the 6/30/25 restriction election. No new claims have been added.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [0131], "a gate stacks" appears to be a typo.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms "Bluetooth", "Wi-Fi", "long term evolution (LTE)", etc., which each are a trade name or a mark used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. THIS IS NOT AN EXHAUSTIVE LIST, PLEASE REVIEW THE SPECIFICATION AND CORRECT ALL INSTANCES OF IMPROPER USE OF TRADE NAMES AND MARKS (found predominately in [0151]).
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (US 9,997,519 B1, hereafter Bao) in view of Lai et al. (US 2023/0178601 A1, hereafter Lai).
Regarding claim 1, in Fig. 6B Bao teaches an integrated circuit structure, comprising:
a first vertical arrangement (see annotated Fig. 6B) of horizontal nanowires (215, column 6, line 14) ;
a second vertical arrangement (see annotated Fig. 6B) of horizontal nanowires (214, column 6, line 12);
a P-type gate stack (see annotated Fig. 6B) over the first vertical arrangement of horizontal nanowires (215), the P-type gate stack having a P-type conductive layer (WF2 metal layer 226 and bottom barrier layer 224/224’, column 6, line 56 and column 6 lines 46-49) over and in direct contact with a first gate dielectric comprising a high-k dielectric layer (218, column 5, lines 47-48) [226 is also a conductive material according to column 4 lines 52-54, column 7 lines 4-6, and column 5 lines 50-51, making it a part of the P-type conductive layer]; and
an N-type gate stack (see annotated Fig. 6B) over the second vertical arrangement of horizontal nanowires (214), the N-type gate stack having a mid-gap conductive layer (top capping layer 212, bottom barrier layer 220, and WF1 metal layer 222, column 5 line 18, column 5 lines 50-51, and column 5 line 61) over and in direct contact with a second gate dielectric (218, see Fig. 5B indicating 218 in both stacks) comprising the high-k dielectric layer (column 5, lines 47-48). [220 and 222 are also conductive materials according to column 4 lines 52-54, column 5 lines 50-51, and column 5 lines 60-61, making it a part of the N-type mid-gap conductive layer].
Bao fails to teach a dipole material layer. However, Lai teaches a semiconductor device similar to Bao in Fig. 19A which includes a dipole material layer (106, [0059]). This dipole layer is added to the device to allow for the creation of differentials in the electrical potential of the overall gate structure [0059] of Lai. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bao to include the dipole material as taught by Lai.
Regarding claim 2, Bao in view of Lai teach the integrated circuit structure of claim 1. Bao further teaches the high-k dielectric layer (218, column 5, lines 47-48) comprises hafnium and oxygen. Column 5, lines 47-49 indicate layer 218 may be comprised of the same material as layer 206, which is said to be hafnium dioxide in column 6 lines 46-47.
Regarding claim 3, Bao in view of Lai teach the integrated circuit structure of claim 1. Lai further teaches in paragraph [0059] the dipole material layer (106, [0059]) comprises an oxide of La, Mg, Y, Ba or Sr.
Regarding claim 4, Bao in view of Lai teach the integrated circuit structure of claim 1. Lai further teaches in paragraph [0059] the dipole material layer has a thickness in the range of 1-3 Angstroms (paragraph [0059] recites a range of 1 Angstrom to 9 Angstroms).
Regarding claim 5, Bao in view of Lai teach the integrated circuit structure of claim 1. Lai further teaches in paragraph [0059] the dipole material layer has a thickness in the range of 4-6 Angstroms (paragraph [0059] recites a range of 1 Angstrom to 9 Angstroms)
Regarding claim 6, Bao in view of Lai teach the integrated circuit structure of claim 1. In Fig. 6B Bao further teaches the P-type conductive layer (WF2 metal layer 226 and bottom barrier layer 224/224’, column 6, line 56 and column 6 lines 46-49) of the P-type gate stack (see annotated Fig. 6B) further extends over the mid-gap conductive layer (top capping layer 212, bottom barrier layer 220, and WF1 metal layer 222, column 5 line 18, column 5 lines 50-51, and column 5 line 61) of the N-type gate stack (see annotated Fig. 6B).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892