DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 12, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zirun Li, Wenbo Mi, and Haili Bai, Orbital Redistribution Enhanced Perpendicular Magnetic Anisotropy of CoFe3N Nitrides by Adsorbing Organic Molecules ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces 2018 10 (19), 16674-16680
Re claim 1, Li teaches an apparatus for generating a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy comprising a substance (C6H6, C6F6, Sc4H4 molecules) chemisorbed on a surface of a ferromagnet (CoFe3N) forming chemisorbed bonds between the substance and the ferromagnet surface, wherein the chemisorbed bonds formed between the substance and the ferromagnet surface induce perpendicular magnetic anisotropy at an interface between the chemisorbed substance and the ferromagnet (abstract).
Re claim 4, Li teaches wherein the ferromagnet comprises at least one material from the group comprising transition metals, alkali metals, and lanthanides, including but not limited to Manganese, Iron, Cobalt, Nickel, Molybdenum, Ruthenium, Rhodium, Palladium, Cesium, Hafnium, Tantalum, Tungsten, Rhenium, Iridium, Platinum, Gadolinium, Terbium, Dysprosium, Holmium, and their alloys, or selected from a group comprising non-metallic materials, including but not limited to ferrites, garnets, rare-earth oxides, Heusler alloys, CrO2, graphene, CrI3, and Cr2Ge2Te-6 (CoFe3N).
Re claim 9, Li teaches a method for generating a perpendicular magnetic anisotropy comprising: chemisorbing a substance (C6H6, C6F6, Sc4H4 molecules) on a surface of a ferromagnet (CoFe3N) forming chemisorbed bonds between the substance and the ferromagnet surface, wherein the chemisorbed bonds formed between the substance and the ferromagnet surface induce perpendicular magnetic anisotropy at an interface between the chemisorbed substance and the ferromagnet (abstract).
Re claim 12, Li teaches wherein the ferromagnet comprises at least one material from the group comprising transition metals, alkali metals, and lanthanides, including but not limited to Manganese, Iron, Cobalt, Nickel, Molybdenum, Ruthenium, Rhodium, Palladium, Cesium, Hafnium, Tantalum, Tungsten, Rhenium, Iridium, Platinum, Gadolinium, Terbium, Dysprosium, Holmium, and their alloys, or selected from a group comprising non-metallic materials, including but not limited to ferrites, garnets, rare-earth oxides, Heusler alloys, CrO2, graphene, CrI3, and Cr2Ge2Te6 (CoFe3N).
Re claim 17, Li teaches an apparatus comprising:
a ferromagnet;
a reservoir of a substance adjacent the ferromagnet; and
a circuit for driving the substance from the reservoir onto a surface of the ferromagnet, wherein the substance is chemisorbed on the surface of the ferromagnet forming chemisorbed bonds between the substance and the ferromagnet surface, and wherein the chemisorbed bonds formed between the substance and the ferromagnet surface induce perpendicular magnetic anisotropy at an interface between the chemisorbed substance and the ferromagnet.
Re claim 19, Li teaches wherein the ferromagnet comprises at least one material from the group comprising transition metals, alkali metals, and lanthanides, including but not limited to Manganese, Iron, Cobalt, Nickel, Molybdenum, Ruthenium, Rhodium, Palladium, Cesium, Hafnium, Tantalum, Tungsten, Rhenium, Iridium, Platinum, Gadolinium, Terbium, Dysprosium, Holmium, and their alloys, or selected from a group comprising non- metallic materials, including but not limited to ferrites, garnets, rare-earth oxides, Heusler alloys, CrO2, graphene, CrI3, and Cr2Ge2Te6 (CoFe3N).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896