DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2014/021798 to Bulent (Bulent hereinafter, copy provided by applicant on 17 March 2025) in view of U.S. Patent 10,450,063 to Randall (Randall).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Bulent teaches a hubless aeropropulsive electrical vertical thrust generating propulsor or aeropropulsor (1) comprising: a rotatable shroud (1.2) having a rim that defines an inner space therein, the shroud carrying magnetic elements (1.5) and blades (1.3), the blades projecting from the rotatable shroud into the inner space, no hub or axle being disposed within the inner space (see Fig. 1); and a further structure (1.1, 1.6) configured to be fixed to a vertical takeoff and landing (VTOL) aircraft (aerial vehicle, see e.g. page 7, ln. 25) and to support the rim of the rotatable shroud so that the rotatable shroud is rotatable relative to the further structure with the use of magnetic bearings (1.6), the further structure generating, in response to electrical current, a magnetic field that interacts with the magnetic elements carried by the rotatable shroud to cause the rotatable shroud to rotate relative to the further structure and generate an upward thrust causing the VTOL aircraft to rise. Bulent does not teach operation without magnetic bearings. Randall teaches another VTOL aircraft generally, and particularly teaches rotation with or without the use of magnetic bearings (e.g. with air bearings 30, see also claim 22). That is, Randall teaches that air bearings are a known alternative to magnetic bearings in the field of VTOL propulsion, and that their design and construction is according to principles well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use air bearings as taught by Randall instead of the magnetic bearings of Bulent as the mere substitution of one known bearing type for another within the same application and according to known methods of construction and operation. Additionally, Bulent clearly teaches secondary structure such as the airframe that encloses the rotatable shroud, including a fan air intake (which may be any aperture in the airframe through which air flows to the fan). To any extent which Bulent is considered not to teach a secondary structure, Randall teaches a nacelle (76) which has such structure, and those of ordinary skill in the art are well aware of the advantages of aerodynamic shaping of inlets to fans. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a fan air intake configured to pass air to the fan of Bulent to allow for generation of thrust.
Regarding claim 2, Bulent teaches electromagnetic coil windings (1.1, see page 6, ln. 31).
Regarding claim 3, Bulent teaches a motor controller (3) that supplies controlled current to the electromagnetic windings (page 7, ln. 9-32).
Regarding claim 4, Bulent teaches an aerodynamically designed rotating shape (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Bulent as modified by Randall teaches a hydrodynamic suspension (see e.g. claim 22 of Randall).
Regarding claim 7, Bulent teaches a cylinder (1.2) with upper and lower lips and blades on the inner circumferential surface (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, as shown in Fig. 2, Bulent teaches blades which are curved away from the upper inlet.
Regarding claim 10, Bulent as modified by Randall teaches that the propulsor provides an interface between the rotatable shroud and the further structure that exchanges power, forces and moments by a non-magnetic suspension system (air bearing from Randall).
Regarding claim 11, Bulent teaches secondary structure (i.e. the hull of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 12, Bulent teaches a single rotor disk (1.2). As such the propulsor has no tandem disks.
Regarding claim 15, Bulent teaches electric coils (1.1) that controllably generate the magnetic field.
Regarding claim 16, Bulent teaches blades (1.3).
Regarding claim 17, Bulent teaches a brushless motor (page 4, ln. 4), and the examiner has taken Official Notice that examples of such motors utilizing direct current are well known in the art and are usable with batteries which produce direct current.
Regarding claim 18, Bulent teaches electric coils (1.1) that controllably generate the magnetic field (page 7, ln. 9-32), thereby controlling rotation speed variably.
Regarding claim 19, Bulent teaches thrust generation by forced air flow from an upper inlet to a lower exhaust.
Regarding claim 20, Bulent teaches an aerodynamic fairing (not labeled, see Fig. 1)) with the prime movers within a void therein.
Regarding claim 21, Bulent teaches a single rotor (1.2). Thus, there is no additional level of blades or rotatable shroud.
Regarding claim 22, Bulent teaches pushing air downward (see e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, at a minimum, a donut shaped structure is taught by Randall as being advantageously aerodynamic (see e.g. col. 16, ln. 4-17) and having a concave inner surface leading toward the blades. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a donut shaped structure with a concave inner surface as taught by Randall in order to provide aerodynamic flow to the fan and produce lift.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 January 2026 and 30 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that Bulent does not teach an air intake, the examiner does not agree. First, as a matter of claim interpretation, an air intake is not restricted to any shape or degree of aerodynamic efficiency beyond the mere conveyance of air to the fan. As such, since Bulent teaches that thrust is produced by forcing air downward, this requires an air inlet as no other source of air would present itself to those of ordinary skill in the art when contemplating the disclosure. Therefore applicant’s discussion of the advantages of such a “well-designed air intake” is not relevant to the claimed invention, which does not require any such structure. Second, as discussed above, Randall provides several teachings relative to aerodynamic fairings and housings for electric motors in a rim drive motor system, and in particular teaches the claimed donut shape.
The examiner therefore maintains that the claimed invention is obvious over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 5 March 2026