DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 05/22/26.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2021/0066617 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 02/25/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1-10, 12-16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2021/0066617 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 02/25/26 is NOT overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2021/0066617 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-20, Shin et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light-emitting device) comprising the following layers: first electrode (anode) (110), interlayer (130), and second electrode (cathode) (150) (Fig. 1); the interlayer comprises the following sequence of layers: hole-transporting region, light-emitting layer, and electron-transporting region ([0120]). The hole-transporting region comprises a hole-injecting layer and a hole-transporting layer ([0386]); the electron-transporting layer comprises a bilayer comprising an electron-transporting layer and an electron-injecting layer ([0260]). The electron-injecting layer comprises a mixture of KI and Yb (co-deposited, of any relative weight ratio) ([0296]); the electron-transporting layer comprises at least one “π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing C1-C60 cyclic group” such as the following in further combination with metal-containing materials such as Liq ([0262], [0287]):
(page 64) (first compound) such that X1-3 = N, a1 = a2 = 0, Ar1 = Ar2 = unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (naphthyl), a3 = 1, L3 = unsubstituted C6 carbocyclic group (phenylene), and Ar3 = unsubstituted C9 heterocyclic group (quinolinyl) (electron-transporting group) of Applicant’s Formula I. Shin et al. further discloses that the cathode comprises Mg, which can be in combination with a variety of other materials ([0300]); the anode is electrically connected to a source or drain electrode of a thin-film transistor ([0015]). Shin et al. discloses an electronic apparatus comprising the organic EL device, further comprising a color filter ([0312]). There exists capping layers deposited outside of the electrodes ([0302]).
Regarding Claim 15, notice that defining the second electrode (cathode) to encompass the layer (of any arbitrary thickness) comprising Mg and any directly adjacent portion of the electron-injecting layer (of any arbitrary thickness) which does not comprise any Mg would inherently result in the wt% as recited in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2021/0066617 A1).
Shin et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light-emitting device) of Claim 1 as shown above in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) rejection. Shin et al. discloses the following first compound:
(page 64). Shin et al. discloses that such compounds are encompassed by the following formula:
([0274]) where R611-613 = independently C3-60 carbocyclic group (among others) such as phenyl and naphthyl ([0268], [0280], [0353]-[0354], [0364]). It would have been obvious to modify compound ET27 as disclosed by Shin et al. such that the resulting compound corresponds to ET2 as recited in the claim. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modify merely involves an exchange of one group (naphthyl) for a functional equivalent (another aryl, i.e., phenyl) selected from a highly finite list of viable substituent groups as taught by Shin et al. (and easily envisioned from the scope of its general formula), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
The closet prior art is provided by Shin et al. (US 2021/0066617 A1), which discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light-emitting device) comprising the following layers: first electrode (anode) (110), interlayer (130), and second electrode (cathode) (150) (Fig. 1); the interlayer comprises the following sequence of layers: hole-transporting region, light-emitting layer, and electron-transporting region ([0120]). The hole-transporting region comprises a hole-injecting layer and a hole-transporting layer ([0386]); the electron-transporting layer comprises a bilayer comprising an electron-transporting layer and an electron-injecting layer ([0260]). The electron-injecting layer comprises a mixture of KI and Yb (co-deposited, of any relative weight ratio) ([0296]); the electron-transporting layer comprises at least one “π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing C1-C60 cyclic group” such as the following in further combination with metal-containing materials such as Liq ([0262], [0287]):
(page 64) (first compound). Shin et al. further discloses that the cathode comprises Mg, which can be in combination with a variety of other materials ([0300]); the anode is electrically connected to a source or drain electrode of a thin-film transistor ([0015]). Shin et al. discloses an electronic apparatus comprising the organic EL device, further comprising a color filter ([0312]). There exists capping layers deposited outside of the electrodes ([0302]). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Shin et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses the light-emitting device as recited in the claim, particularly in regards to the nature of the materials comprising the capping layers.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant argues on pages 15-17 the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art in view of then newly amended claim. However, the arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Notice that compound ET27 as disclosed by Shin et al. can easily bypass the newly added condition as recited in Claim 1 as alternative assignments of Ar1-3 of Formula 1 can be made (i.e., when Ar1-2 are naphthyl groups instead; see above rejection).
Furthermore, in regards to Claim 11, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786