DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 4/3/2026 has been considered by examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 5/22/2026 has been entered. Claim 30 is added. Claims 1, 3-11, and 21-30 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3/12/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1 and 3-11, drawn to a method of preparing a battery, classified in H01M 10/0565.
II. Claim 30, drawn to a method of preparing a battery, classified in H01M 4/139.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, claim 1 of Invention I recites “forming a layer of solid polymer electrolyte on the first electrode” in line 3, whereas claim 30 of Invention II recites “disposing a layer of solid polymer electrolyte on the first electrode”, which may include stacking a preformed layer on the first electrode, as opposed to forming it on the first electrode as required in claim 1. Additionally, claim 30 recites “attaching a second electrode to the layer of solid polymer electrolyte” which require a form of bonding or connection between the second electrode and the layer of solid polymer electrolyte, whereas claim 1 merely recites “placing a second electrode against the layer of solid polymer electrolyte” which does not require the second electrode and the layer of solid polymer electrolyte to be bonded/connected. Claim 1 also recites the functional statement, “wherein, during operation of the battery, the solid polymer electrolyte is capable of growing a passivating polymer layer … thereby stopping a dendrite growth as soon as the dendrite is formed” which is not present in claim 30. Claim 30 recites the limitation “wherein the solid polymer electrolyte forms a passivating polymer layer”, but does not make it clear if the passivating polymer layer is formed merely by the solid polymer electrolyte being present, or if there is a subsequent formation step that provides for the passivating polymer layer as recited in claim 1. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
There would be a serious search and examination burden due to the different classifications of the groups, as well as the different methods of each group, which would require a unique classification and text search for each group.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Noble Woo on 8/10/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Invention I, claims 1 and 3-11. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 30 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. ("An effectively inhibiting lithium dendrite growth in-situ-polymerized gel polymer electrolyte", hereinafter referred to as "Niu") in view of Wu et al. ("The role of the solid electrolyte interphase layer in preventing Li dendrite growth in solid-state batteries", hereinafter referred to as "Wu") and Song et al. (KR 20030034736, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding claim 1, Regarding claim 1, Niu teaches a method of preparing a lithium battery, comprising: providing a first electrode (anode); forming a layer of solid polymer electrolyte (gel polymer electrolyte, or GPE) on the first electrode; and placing a second electrode (cathode) against the solid polymer electrolyte, thereby forming the battery [Niu Fig. 5, page 350, paragraphs 4-5, “The precursor solutions (150 mL) were cast onto the anode materials”, “cathodes were suspended above the precursor solution”, “the polymerization was initiated”, “Finally, the coin cells (CR 2025) were assembled”]. Niu further teaches that during operation, the solid polymer electrolyte is capable of growing a passivating layer, or solid electrolyte interface (SEI), at an interface between the first electrode and the solid polymer electrolyte [page 353, paragraph 1, “When the SEI film formed during the initial charge-discharge cycle, a polymer enhanced SEI formed”]. Niu further teaches that the solid polymer electrolyte (or gel polymer electrolyte, or GPE) comprises a portion of solvent, or liquid electrolyte, swollen within the solid polymer electrolyte, or polymer matrix [page 349, paragraph 1, “Gel polymer electrolytes (GPEs), containing polymer matrices and liquid electrolytes”]. Niu further discloses that lithium dendrites which form during operation of the battery are suppressed because of the continuous inhibition of polymer-enhanced SEI [page 353, paragraph 1, “the lithium dendrite is effectively suppressed because of continuous inhibition of polymer-enhanced SEI”]. While Niu does not specifically state that a portion of swollen solvent reacts with a growing dendrite to form polymers on the dendrite, it is well-established in the art that when lithium dendrites begin to grow during battery operation, they react with the liquid electrolyte or solvent within a solid electrolyte, which forms an SEI on top of the dendrite, as seen in Wu [page 1808, paragraph 3, “The liquid electrolyte can quickly react with Li dendrites to form an SEI”, “the improvement in the cycling of the liquid electrolyte containing Li/LLZO/Li cell is due to the formation of a ‘protective’ SEI layer derived from the liquid electrolyte on Li metal”, “Considering the fact that the gel electrolyte used is actually polymers swelled by absorbing liquid electrolyte within the polymeric framework, the underlying enabling mechanism of this gel electrolyte is likely the same as the liquid electrolyte added to our cell”]. Wu also teaches that when Li dendrites meet with the liquid electrolyte, or solvent, in a solid electrolyte the Li dendrites quickly react to form an SEI, which prevents them from growing through the solid electrolyte, thus implying that dendrites are formed but are prevented from growing as soon as they form [page 1808, paragraph 3, “The liquid electrolyte can quickly react with Li dendrites to form an SEI, thus preventing them from growing through the solid electrolyte pellet”]. As described previously, Wu teaches that this is the same mechanism through which gel electrolytes operate [page 1808, paragraph 3, “the underlying enabling mechanism of this gel electrolyte is likely the same as the liquid electrolyte added to our cell”]. Wu teaches that when adding a liquid electrolyte to a solid electrolyte material, the resistance of the cell, or battery is reduced, and shorting of the cell due to dendrites is also alleviated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known method of preparing a lithium battery which forms polymers on Li dendrites in the form of a polymer-enhanced SEI as taught by Niu, with the know method of reacting a liquid electrolyte swollen in a gel electrolyte with the Li dendrites to form an SEI on the dendrite to stop the dendrite growth as soon as it is formed as taught by Wu. It would have been obvious to do so in order to obtain the predictable result of the suppression of dendrite formation in the anode [see MPEP 2143(I)(A)]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Niu and Wu in order to reduce battery resistance and alleviate the occurrence of shorting due to dendrites, as taught by Wu.
Niu does not specifically teach the thickness of the layer of solid polymer electrolyte, nor an inert polymer mesh in the layer of solid polymer electrolyte.
Song teaches analogous art of a method of manufacturing a lithium battery, the lithium battery comprising a layer of solid polymer electrolyte (polymer electrolyte) [P9-10]. Song teaches that the solid polymer electrolyte is a gel-type polymer electrolyte containing a solvent (electrolyte) [P39, “a polymer solid electrolyte containing a gel-type polymer electrolyte”, “The polymer electrolyte contains a polymerization … and an electrolyte”]. Song teaches that the layer of solid polymer electrolyte comprises an inert polymer mesh (insulating resin having a mesh/network structure) [P29, “an insulating resin having a mesh structure”, P39, “an insulating resin sheet having a network structure is used as a separator, and a polymer solid electrolyte containing a gel-type polymer electrolyte is used within the network structure and on the surface of the insulating resin sheet”]. Song further discloses that the thickness of the inert polymer mesh is 9 to 25 µm, which overlaps the recited range [P53]. Song also teaches that the thickness of the layer of solid polymer electrolyte may be 5 to 90 µm, which overlaps the recited range [P64]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Song teaches that the inert polymer mesh serves as a support for the solid polymer electrolyte and maintains its strength [P53]. Song also teaches that since the solid polymer electrolyte exists in a gel state within the inert polymer mesh, electrolyte leakage does not occur [P39]. Furthermore, Song discloses that when the thickness of the layer of solid polymer electrolyte is within the disclosed range, the solid polymer electrolyte has excellent ionic conductivity [P64].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer of solid polymer electrolyte taught by Niu to include an inert polymer mesh at a thickness within the range disclosed by Song, in order to provide support to and maintain the strength of the layer of solid polymer electrolyte, as well as to prevent electrolyte leakage. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer of solid polymer electrolyte taught by Niu to have a thickness within the range disclosed by Song, in order to provide the layer of solid polymer electrolyte with excellent ionic conductivity.
Further regarding claim 4, Niu teaches that the solid polymer electrolyte is polymerized to a surface of the first or second electrode [page 353, paragraph 2, “a fusion layer, containing electrode materials and PEGPEA-GPEs, formed after in situ polymerization. This fusion layer could tightly connect the PEGPEA-GPE phase and the electrode material phase”].
Further regarding claim 11, Niu teaches that the second electrode, or cathode, comprises a lithiated metal oxide, Li(Ni0.5Co0.2Mn0.3)O2, KB (ketjen black carbon, which is a conductive carbon), and PVDF [page 350, paragraph 5].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu ("An effectively inhibiting lithium dendrite growth in-situ-polymerized gel polymer electrolyte") in view of Wu ("The role of the solid electrolyte interphase layer in preventing Li dendrite growth in solid-state batteries") and Song (KR 20030034736) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee at al. ("Cycling performance of lithium-ion polymer batteries assembled using in-situ chemical cross-linking without a free radical initiator", hereinafter referred to as "Lee").
Regarding claim 3, modified Niu teaches the method of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Niu also teaches that fluorinated ethylene carbonate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) as an additive in polymer electrolytes can suppress dendrite formation, but is silent to its function as a crosslinking agent.
Lee teaches analogous art of a method of preparing a gel polymer electrolyte [page 6, paragraph 2, “a cross-linked gel polymer electrolyte was synthesised without any initiators”]. Lee teaches that FEC is added to the gel electrolyte precursor and reacted with PEI to form fluorinated carbamate, which is then reacted with PEGDE, thereby forming a cross-linked polymer [page 7, paragraph 2].
Lee teaches that the battery assembled with the cross-linked gel polymer electrolyte had strong interfacial adhesion with the electrodes, as well as improved capacity retention and good rate capability. Lee also discloses that the fluorinated carbamate formed by FEC and PEI is important in stabilizing the lithium salt (LiPF6) in the electrolyte and promoting stable interfacial characteristics [page 11, paragraphs 1-2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add fluorinated ethylene carbonate as taught by Lee to the solid polymer electrolyte in the method taught by modified Niu, in order to promote strong interfacial adhesion with the electrodes, improve capacity retention and rate capability, and stabilize the lithium salt.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu ("An effectively inhibiting lithium dendrite growth in-situ-polymerized gel polymer electrolyte") in view of Wu ("The role of the solid electrolyte interphase layer in preventing Li dendrite growth in solid-state batteries") and Song (KR 20030034736) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. ("A High-Performance Lithium Metal Battery with Ion-Selective Nanofluidic Transport in a Conjugated Microporous Polymer Protective Layer" hereinafter referred to as "Zhang").
Regarding claim 5, modified Niu teaches the method of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Niu further teaches that the passivating polymer layer is self-healing due to the mixture of dissociable lithium salt, carbonate solvent, and lithium metal surface [page 353, paragraph 1, “The solvent molecule, oligomer of EGPEA and PEGPEA segment was tightly connected to the lithium metal surface”, “the lithium dendrite is effectively suppressed because of continuous inhibition of polymer-enhanced SEI”]. The solvent disclosed by Niu is a 1 M solution of LiPF6 (lithium salt) in EC-DMC-EMC (ethylene carbonate/dimethyl carbonate/ ethyl methyl carbonate) [page 350, paragraph 2]. It is well established in the art that SEI films form from the reaction between lithium metal and liquid electrolyte/solvent containing lithium salt and film forming additives such as carbonate. Therefore, the continuous SEI inhibition is a self-healing process. Niu also teaches that the close adherence of the solid polymer electrolyte and the electrode, which forms a passivation layer, or fusion layer, provides continuous ionic channels. However, Niu is silent as to whether the passivating polymer layer is microporous.
Zhang teaches analogous art of a method for passivating an electrode to suppress dendrite formation [page 1, paragraph 1, “developing a stable interface that supports rapid Li-ion diffusion and passivates the lithium anode from dendrite formation is crucial”. Zhang teaches a passivating polymer layer formed from a conjugated microporous polymer (CMP) [page 2, paragraph 2, “CMP can be used to form a passivating layer on large-area lithium”].
Zhang teaches that the microporous nature of the passivating layer facilitates ion transport and separation [page 2, paragraph 4, “The ability of the CMP layer to facilitate ion transport and separation originates from the intrinsic sub-nanometer pores in the CMP nanosheets”]. Zhang further teaches that the microporous layer blocks larger anions, suppressing dendrite formation [page 2, paragraph 4, “the negatively charged, sub-nanosized channels block anions by size limitation and charge repulsion to reduce the interfacial parasitic reaction of the lithium anode with the electrolyte, forming a strong SEI to suppress dendrite formation”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the passivating polymer layer taught by modified Niu to be microporous, as taught by Zhang, in order to suppress dendrite formation and facilitate ion transport and separation.
Further regarding claim 6, Niu teaches that the passivating polymer layer is adherent to the first electrode and prevents dendrite growth due to its self-healing properties [page 353, paragraph 1, “The solvent molecule, oligomer of EGPEA and PEGPEA segment was tightly connected to the lithium metal surface”, “the lithium dendrite is effectively suppressed because of continuous inhibition of polymer-enhanced SEI”].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu ("An effectively inhibiting lithium dendrite growth in-situ-polymerized gel polymer electrolyte") in view of Wu ("The role of the solid electrolyte interphase layer in preventing Li dendrite growth in solid-state batteries") and Song (KR 20030034736) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gruar et al. (WO 2022112735, using US 20230411701 as translation thereof, hereinafter referred to as "Gruar").
Regarding claim 7, modified Niu teaches the method of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Niu is silent regarding forming a layer of solid polymer electrolyte on the second electrode.
Gruar teaches analogous art of a method of making a battery comprising a ceramic layer and a polymer electrolyte layer. Gruar teaches that the ceramic layer coats the cathode [0023], and can be porous, allowing the polymer electrolyte to extend through the ceramic layer [0024]. Gruar teaches that the polymer electrolyte can be deposited on both the cathode-ceramic laminate and the anode [0073]. Gruar discloses that the deposition may be carried out via electrophoretic depositing, in which colloidal particles in a solution are deposited on a substrate (in this case the electrode) under the influence of an electric field, or electrochemical potential. The solution for the polymer electrolyte comprises a lithium salt [0037] and a carbonate solvent [0038].
Gruar teaches that solid polymer electrolytes have improved electrochemical and thermal stability [0035]. Forming a layer of solid polymer electrolyte on the cathode as well as the anode could improve the overall stability of the battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by modified Niu to include immersing the second electrode in a solution of dissociable salt and carbonate solvent, and applying an electrochemical potential to form a layer of solid polymer electrolyte on the second electrode prior to placing it against the first electrode and solid polymer electrolyte as taught by Gruar, in order to improve the electrochemical and thermal stability of the battery.
Regarding claim 8, modified Niu teaches the method of claim 7, as described in the rejection for instant claim 7. Modified Niu is silent regarding concurrently forming solid polymer electrolyte layers on the first and second electrodes concurrently. Having those steps occur simultaneously would be obvious in order to reduce the amount of time needed to make a battery, and selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C).
Regarding claim 9, modified Niu teaches the method of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Niu is silent regarding the solid polymer electrolyte comprising a polymer ceramic composite material or one or more ionic conducting ceramic or inorganic materials.
Gruar teaches that the ceramic layer provided in the battery may be a porous ceramic mesh through which the polymer electrolyte extends [0024].
Gruar teaches that by including both polymer and ceramic, the risk of thermal runaway is reduced [0010]. Furthermore, the ceramic can function as a separator, preventing the anode and cathode from coming into direct contact and short-circuiting the battery cell [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by modified Niu to include a polymer ceramic composite material in the solid polymer electrolyte, as taught by Gruar, in order to reduce the risk of thermal runaway and prevent short-circuiting.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu ("An effectively inhibiting lithium dendrite growth in-situ-polymerized gel polymer electrolyte") in view of Wu ("The role of the solid electrolyte interphase layer in preventing Li dendrite growth in solid-state batteries") and Song (KR 20030034736) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20130260257, hereinafter referred to as "Choi").
Regarding claim 10, modified Niu teaches the method of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Niu is silent regarding solid polymer electrolyte comprising one or materials from the list of materials recited in instant claim 10.
Choi teaches analogous art of a lithium battery comprising a multi-layered structure electrolyte including a ceramic and polymer electrolyte [Abstract]. Choi teaches that the ceramic solid electrolyte may be an inorganic ceramic sulfide, such as Li2S—P2S5 or an inorganic ceramic oxide such as lithium lanthanum titanium oxide (LLTO) [0031].
Choi teaches that adding a ceramic solid electrolyte can prevent explosion or fire due to an electrical short circuit. Choi also teaches that the sulfide based ceramic has high ion conductivity and reactivity with moisture, while LLTO is stabilizing [0031].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by modified Niu to include a ceramic material such as Li2S—P2S5 or lithium lanthanum titanium oxide as taught by Choi, in order to prevent fire or explosion in the battery, improve ionic conductivity or improve the stability of the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729