DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/06/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending with claims 3-4, 8-9, 11-13, and 18-19 being amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims submitted on 01/06/2026 overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous Office action except for those set forth in the claim objection section.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes wherein Applicant argues the newly amended limitations, which have not been addressed by the prior art of record. As such, Examiner has augmented the below rejection(s) in view of the prior art of record to address the newly amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/29/2026, with respect to the possible rejection of claims 1, 16, and 20 under 112(b) issue have been fully considered and are persuasive. The remarks clarify that the limitation “determined by positioning” is performed through a positioning function of the system such as GPS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 101704634 B1), hereinafter Kim in view of Oba et al. (US 20180011489 A1), hereinafter Oba and Kornhauser et al. (US 20150253142 A1), hereinafter Kornhauser.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A navigation method, performed by a computer device, comprising:
obtaining route information of a target route corresponding to a target start point and a target end point to obtain a route information set, (Page 10, Paragraphs 10-11, "The traveling route generating apparatus 100 receives a destination and searches for a traveling route corresponding to the input destination (S502). Here, when the destination is input, the driving route generating apparatus 100 searches for an existing traveling route.
At this time, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 searches for a traveling path that can reach the destination input from the traveling path storing unit 150. [ If there is no traveling route, the traveling route generating apparatus 100 informs the driver and can notify the start of the generation of the traveling route.
The traveling path generating apparatus 100 detects the GPS position of the vehicle using GPS and converts the detected GPS position into TM coordinates (S504). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 converts the GPS information of the traveling vehicle into the TM coordinate system, which is an XY absolute coordinate, and stores the traveling position of the vehicle in the traveling path storing unit 150.") the target route corresponding to a current navigation scenario and a next navigation scenario, wherein the current navigation scenario and the next navigation scenario are sequential; (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG.")
determining target route information based on the route information set, the target route information comprising current sub-route information corresponding to the current navigation scenario and next sub-route information corresponding to the next navigation scenario; (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling
path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.")
providing route guidance according to the current sub-route information (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).") …
switching to the next navigation scenario (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG." as well as Page 11, Paragraphs 3-4, "Thereafter, the travel route generating apparatus 100 confirms whether the current location of the vehicle is the end point of the route section (S512). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 designates the current point of the traveling vehicle as the end point of the path section when the variation of the yaw rate at the present yaw rate and the starting point is equal to or more than a certain range or the cumulative distance is equal to or greater than a certain distance.
If the current vehicle position is the end of the route section, the travel route generator 100 calculates a route equation of the route section (S514). That is, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 calculates the path equation using the TM coordinates and the polynomial regression analysis from the start point to the end point. Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 can calculate the polynomial path equation coefficient using polynomial regression. At this time, when the amount of change in the yaw rate sensor value is less than a predetermined range, or when the cumulative distance is less than a predetermined distance, [Image Omitted] )." This demonstrates that the system switches between the current section to the subsequent section when it is determined that the vehicle has reached the end point of the current section.) … and
providing route guidance according to the next sub-route information. (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).")
Kim does not specifically teach monitoring the linear distance and the route distance between the current vehicle position and the target position or the position of the user being off of the desired route and the second current location being a position on the route closest to the users location. However, Oba, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… based on a first linear distance between a first current positioning point and a first navigation end point of the current navigation scenario, and further based on a first route distance between a first current location point and the first navigation end point, … based on a second linear distance between a second current positioning point and the first navigation end point, and further based on a second route distance between a second current location point and the first navigation end point, … (Paragraphs 0055-0057, “By taking, as the minimum distance, a slant distance d1 from the current position S to the target position E and also taking, as the maximum distance, a distance d2 over which the vehicle moves so as to draw a polygonal line from the current position S through the intersection X, which is formed by a front half line along the axial line SL of the vehicle at the current position S and a back half line along the axial line EL of the vehicle at the target position E, to the target position E, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the graph generating unit 6 also generates a graph so that the distance s traveled from the current position S to the target position E falls into a range from the minimum distance d1 to the maximum distance d2. This graph generation processing will be specifically described later with reference to FIG. 2.
The route setting unit 7 sets, as the movement route of the vehicle, a travel trajectory represented by the graph generated by the graph generating unit 6. Data of the movement route set by the route setting unit 7 is stored in the route data storage unit 102. The data of the movement route is composed of, for example, data indicating curvature at intervals of a predetermined distance starting from the current position and data of a travel trajectory represented by the curvature data.
The travel control unit 103 controls the steering angle in steering at intervals of a predetermined distance according to the movement route data stored in the route data storage unit 102 to control the travel of the vehicle. The curvature stored as movement route data in the route data storage unit 102 indicates the reciprocal of the turning radius of the vehicle, so the steering angle can be derived from the reciprocal.” Examiner Note: The position is continuously monitored, therefor the "second" current position is continuously determined and used when determining the distance between the position and the end point both linearly as well as along the route.)
However, Kornhauser, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous navigation guidance, teaches:
… wherein the first current positioning point is determined by positioning not to be on the target route, (Paragraph 0027, “In an implementation, the server 130 determines return-to-route criteria 128 and proximity criteria 122. The server 130 also obtains or determines an origin location 110 and a destination location 112. Using the origin location and destination location, the server 130 determines a prescribed route 114. Prescribed route 138, proximity criteria 136, and return-to-route criteria 134 are transmitted to a client 132. At client 132, the current route 116 is set to equal the prescribed route 114. Client 132 then determines a current location 118 and determines whether current location is proximate to the current route 120. In making this determination, client 132 utilizes the proximity criteria to compare the current location with the current route. For example: if the proximity criteria is X kilometers, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route; as another example, if the proximity criteria is X kilometers and Y minutes, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route and within Y minutes of the destination along the route according to the current estimated travel time along the route to the destination considering current traffic conditions and the most recent expected traffic conditions. If the current location is proximate to the current route (120: Yes), client 130 extracts and displays for execution the next maneuver along the current route 124. The client then returns to determine the current location 118. If, however, the current location is not proximate to the current route (120: No), client 132 determines a new current route according to return-to-route criteria 134. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route. Once the new route is determined, client 132 returns to determine the current location 118.”) and wherein the first current location point is a closest point on the target route to the first current positioning point; (Paragraph 0030, “Referring now to FIG. 3, a diagram of a prescribed route 314 navigating a path between origin 310 and destination 312. Illustrated as a dashed outline, prescribed proximity criteria 322 defines the maximum distance the client can deviate before the return-to-route requirements are triggered. A deviation 384 begins at point of deviation 382 and continues outside the proximity criteria 322 to a current location 318. Various alternative paths to return to the prescribed route 384, 386, 388, 390, 392 exist. In various implementations, the controlling authority or authorities can predetermine return-to-route criteria appropriate to the trip, vehicle, driver, load, and/or destination. These, in turn, can determine which alternative path is chosen by the navigation system. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation 384 back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation 386, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route 388, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route 388, 390 ; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route 392.” And Paragraph 0041, “The return-to-route criteria can be defined as finding the best current route to the destination regardless of the prescribed route (least strict), or finding the best route to a reasonably nearby point on the prescribed route (less strict), or finding the best route to the absolutely nearest point on the prescribed route (more strict), or backtracking along the route of deviation (most strict). The least strict return-to-route could be most suitable for general cargo, the less strict for high-value cargo, the more strict for munitions, and the most strict for oversize/overweight cargo. "Nearest" or "nearby" could be defined by distance, time, or impedance, and "reasonably nearby" could be defined as a sliding scale from absolutely favoring the prescribed route (such as favoring the links of the prescribed route by 1000:1 over other links, or avoiding other links by 1000:1 compared to the prescribed route's links) to not favoring the prescribed route's links or avoiding the other links at all.”) … wherein the second current positioning point is determined by positioning not to be on the target route, (Paragraph 0027, “In an implementation, the server 130 determines return-to-route criteria 128 and proximity criteria 122. The server 130 also obtains or determines an origin location 110 and a destination location 112. Using the origin location and destination location, the server 130 determines a prescribed route 114. Prescribed route 138, proximity criteria 136, and return-to-route criteria 134 are transmitted to a client 132. At client 132, the current route 116 is set to equal the prescribed route 114. Client 132 then determines a current location 118 and determines whether current location is proximate to the current route 120. In making this determination, client 132 utilizes the proximity criteria to compare the current location with the current route. For example: if the proximity criteria is X kilometers, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route; as another example, if the proximity criteria is X kilometers and Y minutes, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route and within Y minutes of the destination along the route according to the current estimated travel time along the route to the destination considering current traffic conditions and the most recent expected traffic conditions. If the current location is proximate to the current route (120: Yes), client 130 extracts and displays for execution the next maneuver along the current route 124. The client then returns to determine the current location 118. If, however, the current location is not proximate to the current route (120: No), client 132 determines a new current route according to return-to-route criteria 134. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route. Once the new route is determined, client 132 returns to determine the current location 118.”) and wherein the second current location point is a closest point on the target route to the second current positioning point; … (Paragraph 0030, “Referring now to FIG. 3, a diagram of a prescribed route 314 navigating a path between origin 310 and destination 312. Illustrated as a dashed outline, prescribed proximity criteria 322 defines the maximum distance the client can deviate before the return-to-route requirements are triggered. A deviation 384 begins at point of deviation 382 and continues outside the proximity criteria 322 to a current location 318. Various alternative paths to return to the prescribed route 384, 386, 388, 390, 392 exist. In various implementations, the controlling authority or authorities can predetermine return-to-route criteria appropriate to the trip, vehicle, driver, load, and/or destination. These, in turn, can determine which alternative path is chosen by the navigation system. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation 384 back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation 386, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route 388, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route 388, 390 ; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route 392.” And Paragraph 0041, “The return-to-route criteria can be defined as finding the best current route to the destination regardless of the prescribed route (least strict), or finding the best route to a reasonably nearby point on the prescribed route (less strict), or finding the best route to the absolutely nearest point on the prescribed route (more strict), or backtracking along the route of deviation (most strict). The least strict return-to-route could be most suitable for general cargo, the less strict for high-value cargo, the more strict for munitions, and the most strict for oversize/overweight cargo. "Nearest" or "nearby" could be defined by distance, time, or impedance, and "reasonably nearby" could be defined as a sliding scale from absolutely favoring the prescribed route (such as favoring the links of the prescribed route by 1000:1 over other links, or avoiding other links by 1000:1 compared to the prescribed route's links) to not favoring the prescribed route's links or avoiding the other links at all.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of tracking the linear distance as well as the route distance between the vehicle and the target position as taught by Oba into the vehicle control method as taught by Kim and to further integrate the “return-to-route” functionality as taught by Kornhauser. This would allow the system to monitor the current position of the user, the distance left to travel, the route which meets the needs of the user and other influencing criteria and to make a determination as to whether or not the target position has been reached.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
2. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 1, wherein the target route further comprises additional navigation scenarios and the target route information further comprises corresponding sub-route information for each of the additional navigation scenarios. (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.")
Regarding claim 3, where all the limitations of claim 2 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
3. (Currently Amended) The navigation method according to claim 2, wherein before providing the route guidance according to the current sub-route information, the method further comprises: (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the
current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.") when the first current positioning point is different than a first navigation end point of the current navigation scenario, (Page 4, Paragraph 4, "On the other hand, if the current vehicle position is not the end point of the route segment, the travel route creation apparatus 100 transits to step S504 of performing vehicle position detection and coordinate conversion.") obtaining route guidance information corresponding to the first current positioning point from the current sub-route information and determining (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.") wherein the providing route guidance according to the current sub-route information comprises providing route guidance according to the current sub-route information based on the route guidance event. (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).")
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 3 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
4. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 3, further comprising:
obtaining a navigation state set, wherein the navigation state set comprises a first state subset corresponding to the current navigation scenario, the first state subset comprising a first navigation sub-state corresponding to the current navigation scenario; and (Page 10, Paragraph 11, "The traveling path generating apparatus 100 detects the GPS position of the vehicle using GPS and converts the detected GPS position into TM coordinates (S504). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 converts the GPS information of the traveling vehicle into the TM coordinate system, which is an XY absolute coordinate, and stores the traveling position of the vehicle in the traveling path storing unit 150.")
determining the first navigation sub-state as a current control state. (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route." Examiner Note: The position of the vehicle is monitored and based on the current position, the system generates a path equation for the section of the route based on the position of the vehicle.)
Regarding claim 5, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
5. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 4, wherein the navigation state set further comprises an end state, and the method further comprises: determining the end state as the current control state based on a determination that a fourth current positioning point is the same as the target end point to trigger ending of the navigation method. (Page 2, Paragraph 8, "The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.")
Regarding claim 7, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
7. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 4, wherein the first state subset comprises a first end sub-state corresponding to the current navigation scenario, and before the switching to a next navigation scenario, the method further comprises: determining the first end sub-state corresponding to the current navigation scenario as the current control state, based on a determination that the second current positioning point is the same as the first navigation end point and is different than the target end point to trigger ending of the navigation method. (Page 2, Paragraph 8, "The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.")
Regarding claim 8, where all the limitations of claim 7 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
8. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 7, wherein the switching to the next navigation scenario comprises: determining a second navigation sub-state corresponding to the next navigation scenario as the current control state. (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG." as well as Page 11, Paragraphs 3-4, "Thereafter, the travel route generating apparatus 100 confirms whether the current location of the vehicle is the end point of the route section (S512). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 designates the current point of the traveling vehicle as the end point of the path section when the variation of the yaw rate at the present yaw rate and the starting point is equal to or more than a certain range or the cumulative distance is equal to or greater than a certain distance. If the current vehicle position is the end of the route section, the travel route generator 100 calculates a route equation of the route section (S514). That is, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 calculates the path equation using the TM coordinates and the polynomial regression analysis from the start point to the end point. Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 can calculate the polynomial path equation coefficient using polynomial regression. At this time, when the amount of change in the yaw rate sensor value is less than a predetermined range, or when the cumulative distance is less than a predetermined distance, [Image Omitted] )." As well as Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route." This demonstrates that the system switches between the current section to the subsequent section when it is determined that the vehicle has reached the end point of the current section.
Regarding claim 10, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
10. (Currently Amended) The navigation method according to claim 2, wherein before the switching to the next navigation scenario, the method further comprises:
… that the second current positioning point is the same as the first navigation end point corresponding to the current navigation scenario(Page 2, Paragraph 8, "The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.")
Kim does not specifically teach monitoring the linear distance or the route distance between the current vehicle position and the target position. However, Oba, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… determining, in a case that the first linear distance between the second current positioning point and the first navigation end point does not exceed a first preset distance threshold and the first route distance between the second current location point and the first navigation end point does not exceed a second preset distance threshold, … (Paragraphs 0055-0057, “By taking, as the minimum distance, a slant distance d1 from the current position S to the target position E and also taking, as the maximum distance, a distance d2 over which the vehicle moves so as to draw a polygonal line from the current position S through the intersection X, which is formed by a front half line along the axial line SL of the vehicle at the current position S and a back half line along the axial line EL of the vehicle at the target position E, to the target position E, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the graph generating unit 6 also generates a graph so that the distance s traveled from the current position S to the target position E falls into a range from the minimum distance d1 to the maximum distance d2. This graph generation processing will be specifically described later with reference to FIG. 2.
The route setting unit 7 sets, as the movement route of the vehicle, a travel trajectory represented by the graph generated by the graph generating unit 6. Data of the movement route set by the route setting unit 7 is stored in the route data storage unit 102. The data of the movement route is composed of, for example, data indicating curvature at intervals of a predetermined distance starting from the current position and data of a travel trajectory represented by the curvature data.
The travel control unit 103 controls the steering angle in steering at intervals of a predetermined distance according to the movement route data stored in the route data storage unit 102 to control the travel of the vehicle. The curvature stored as movement route data in the route data storage unit 102 indicates the reciprocal of the turning radius of the vehicle, so the steering angle can be derived from the reciprocal.” Examiner Note: The position is continuously monitored, therefor the "second" current position is continuously determined and used when determining the distance between the position and the end point both linearly as well as along the route.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of tracking the linear distance as well as the route distance between the vehicle and the target position as taught by Oba into the vehicle control method as taught by Kim. This would allow the system to monitor the distance left to travel and make a determination as to whether or not the target position has been reached.
Regarding claim 16, Kim further teaches:
16. (Currently Amended) A navigation apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the navigation apparatus:
obtain route information of a target route corresponding to a target start point and a target end point to obtain a route information set, (Page 10, Paragraphs 10-11, "The traveling route generating apparatus 100 receives a destination and searches for a traveling route corresponding to the input destination (S502). Here, when the destination is input, the driving route generating apparatus 100 searches for an existing traveling route.
At this time, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 searches for a traveling path that can reach the destination input from the traveling path storing unit 150. [ If there is no traveling route, the traveling route generating apparatus 100 informs the driver and can notify the start of the generation of the traveling route.
The traveling path generating apparatus 100 detects the GPS position of the vehicle using GPS and converts the detected GPS position into TM coordinates (S504). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 converts the GPS information of the traveling vehicle into the TM coordinate system, which is an XY absolute coordinate, and stores the traveling position of the vehicle in the traveling path storing unit 150.") the target route corresponding a current navigation scenario and a next navigation scenario, wherein the current navigation scenario and the next navigation scenario are sequential; (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG.")
determine target route information based on the route information set, the target route information comprising current sub-route information corresponding to the current navigation scenario and next sub-route information corresponding to the next navigation scenario; (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling
path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.")
provide route guidance according to the current sub-route information (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).") …
switch to the next navigation scenario (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG." as well as Page 11, Paragraphs 3-4, "Thereafter, the travel route generating apparatus 100 confirms whether the current location of the vehicle is the end point of the route section (S512). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 designates the current point of the traveling vehicle as the end point of the path section when the variation of the yaw rate at the present yaw rate and the starting point is equal to or more than a certain range or the cumulative distance is equal to or greater than a certain distance.
If the current vehicle position is the end of the route section, the travel route generator 100 calculates a route equation of the route section (S514). That is, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 calculates the path equation using the TM coordinates and the polynomial regression analysis from the start point to the end point. Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 can calculate the polynomial path equation coefficient using polynomial regression. At this time, when the amount of change in the yaw rate sensor value is less than a predetermined range, or when the cumulative distance is less than a predetermined distance, [Image Omitted] )." This demonstrates that the system switches between the current section to the subsequent section when it is determined that the vehicle has reached the end point of the current section.) … and
provide route guidance according to the next sub-route information. (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).")
Kim does not specifically teach monitoring the linear distance and the route distance between the current vehicle position and the target position or the position of the user being off of the desired route and the second current location being a position on the route closest to the users location. However, Oba, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… based on a first linear distance between a first current positioning point and a first navigation end point of the current navigation scenario, and further based on a first route distance between a first current location point and the first navigation end point, … based on a second linear distance between a second current positioning point and the first navigation end point and further based on a second route distance between a second current location point and the first navigation end point, … (Paragraphs 0055-0057, “By taking, as the minimum distance, a slant distance d1 from the current position S to the target position E and also taking, as the maximum distance, a distance d2 over which the vehicle moves so as to draw a polygonal line from the current position S through the intersection X, which is formed by a front half line along the axial line SL of the vehicle at the current position S and a back half line along the axial line EL of the vehicle at the target position E, to the target position E, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the graph generating unit 6 also generates a graph so that the distance s traveled from the current position S to the target position E falls into a range from the minimum distance d1 to the maximum distance d2. This graph generation processing will be specifically described later with reference to FIG. 2.
The route setting unit 7 sets, as the movement route of the vehicle, a travel trajectory represented by the graph generated by the graph generating unit 6. Data of the movement route set by the route setting unit 7 is stored in the route data storage unit 102. The data of the movement route is composed of, for example, data indicating curvature at intervals of a predetermined distance starting from the current position and data of a travel trajectory represented by the curvature data.
The travel control unit 103 controls the steering angle in steering at intervals of a predetermined distance according to the movement route data stored in the route data storage unit 102 to control the travel of the vehicle. The curvature stored as movement route data in the route data storage unit 102 indicates the reciprocal of the turning radius of the vehicle, so the steering angle can be derived from the reciprocal.” Examiner Note: The position is continuously monitored, therefor the "second" current position is continuously determined and used when determining the distance between the position and the end point both linearly as well as along the route.)
However, Kornhauser, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous navigation guidance, teaches:
… wherein the first current positioning point is determined by positioning not to be on the target route, (Paragraph 0027, “In an implementation, the server 130 determines return-to-route criteria 128 and proximity criteria 122. The server 130 also obtains or determines an origin location 110 and a destination location 112. Using the origin location and destination location, the server 130 determines a prescribed route 114. Prescribed route 138, proximity criteria 136, and return-to-route criteria 134 are transmitted to a client 132. At client 132, the current route 116 is set to equal the prescribed route 114. Client 132 then determines a current location 118 and determines whether current location is proximate to the current route 120. In making this determination, client 132 utilizes the proximity criteria to compare the current location with the current route. For example: if the proximity criteria is X kilometers, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route; as another example, if the proximity criteria is X kilometers and Y minutes, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route and within Y minutes of the destination along the route according to the current estimated travel time along the route to the destination considering current traffic conditions and the most recent expected traffic conditions. If the current location is proximate to the current route (120: Yes), client 130 extracts and displays for execution the next maneuver along the current route 124. The client then returns to determine the current location 118. If, however, the current location is not proximate to the current route (120: No), client 132 determines a new current route according to return-to-route criteria 134. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route. Once the new route is determined, client 132 returns to determine the current location 118.”) and wherein the first current location point is a closest point on the target route to the first current positioning point; (Paragraph 0030, “Referring now to FIG. 3, a diagram of a prescribed route 314 navigating a path between origin 310 and destination 312. Illustrated as a dashed outline, prescribed proximity criteria 322 defines the maximum distance the client can deviate before the return-to-route requirements are triggered. A deviation 384 begins at point of deviation 382 and continues outside the proximity criteria 322 to a current location 318. Various alternative paths to return to the prescribed route 384, 386, 388, 390, 392 exist. In various implementations, the controlling authority or authorities can predetermine return-to-route criteria appropriate to the trip, vehicle, driver, load, and/or destination. These, in turn, can determine which alternative path is chosen by the navigation system. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation 384 back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation 386, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route 388, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route 388, 390 ; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route 392.” And Paragraph 0041, “The return-to-route criteria can be defined as finding the best current route to the destination regardless of the prescribed route (least strict), or finding the best route to a reasonably nearby point on the prescribed route (less strict), or finding the best route to the absolutely nearest point on the prescribed route (more strict), or backtracking along the route of deviation (most strict). The least strict return-to-route could be most suitable for general cargo, the less strict for high-value cargo, the more strict for munitions, and the most strict for oversize/overweight cargo. "Nearest" or "nearby" could be defined by distance, time, or impedance, and "reasonably nearby" could be defined as a sliding scale from absolutely favoring the prescribed route (such as favoring the links of the prescribed route by 1000:1 over other links, or avoiding other links by 1000:1 compared to the prescribed route's links) to not favoring the prescribed route's links or avoiding the other links at all.”) … wherein the second current positioning point is determined by positioning not to be on the target route, (Paragraph 0027, “In an implementation, the server 130 determines return-to-route criteria 128 and proximity criteria 122. The server 130 also obtains or determines an origin location 110 and a destination location 112. Using the origin location and destination location, the server 130 determines a prescribed route 114. Prescribed route 138, proximity criteria 136, and return-to-route criteria 134 are transmitted to a client 132. At client 132, the current route 116 is set to equal the prescribed route 114. Client 132 then determines a current location 118 and determines whether current location is proximate to the current route 120. In making this determination, client 132 utilizes the proximity criteria to compare the current location with the current route. For example: if the proximity criteria is X kilometers, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route; as another example, if the proximity criteria is X kilometers and Y minutes, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route and within Y minutes of the destination along the route according to the current estimated travel time along the route to the destination considering current traffic conditions and the most recent expected traffic conditions. If the current location is proximate to the current route (120: Yes), client 130 extracts and displays for execution the next maneuver along the current route 124. The client then returns to determine the current location 118. If, however, the current location is not proximate to the current route (120: No), client 132 determines a new current route according to return-to-route criteria 134. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route. Once the new route is determined, client 132 returns to determine the current location 118.”) and wherein the second current location point is a closest point on the target route to the second current positioning point; … (Paragraph 0030, “Referring now to FIG. 3, a diagram of a prescribed route 314 navigating a path between origin 310 and destination 312. Illustrated as a dashed outline, prescribed proximity criteria 322 defines the maximum distance the client can deviate before the return-to-route requirements are triggered. A deviation 384 begins at point of deviation 382 and continues outside the proximity criteria 322 to a current location 318. Various alternative paths to return to the prescribed route 384, 386, 388, 390, 392 exist. In various implementations, the controlling authority or authorities can predetermine return-to-route criteria appropriate to the trip, vehicle, driver, load, and/or destination. These, in turn, can determine which alternative path is chosen by the navigation system. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation 384 back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation 386, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route 388, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route 388, 390 ; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route 392.” And Paragraph 0041, “The return-to-route criteria can be defined as finding the best current route to the destination regardless of the prescribed route (least strict), or finding the best route to a reasonably nearby point on the prescribed route (less strict), or finding the best route to the absolutely nearest point on the prescribed route (more strict), or backtracking along the route of deviation (most strict). The least strict return-to-route could be most suitable for general cargo, the less strict for high-value cargo, the more strict for munitions, and the most strict for oversize/overweight cargo. "Nearest" or "nearby" could be defined by distance, time, or impedance, and "reasonably nearby" could be defined as a sliding scale from absolutely favoring the prescribed route (such as favoring the links of the prescribed route by 1000:1 over other links, or avoiding other links by 1000:1 compared to the prescribed route's links) to not favoring the prescribed route's links or avoiding the other links at all.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of tracking the linear distance as well as the route distance between the vehicle and the target position as taught by Oba into the vehicle control method as taught by Kim and to further integrate the “return-to-route” functionality as taught by Kornhauser. This would allow the system to monitor the current position of the user, the distance left to travel, the route which meets the needs of the user and other influencing criteria and to make a determination as to whether or not the target position has been reached.
Regarding claim 17, where all the limitations of claim 16 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
17. (Previously Presented) The navigation apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the target route further comprises additional navigation scenarios and the target route information further comprises corresponding sub-route information for each of the additional navigation scenarios. (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.")
Regarding claim 18, where all the limitations of claim 16 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
18. (Previously Presented) The navigation apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the memory storing computer-readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, further causes the navigation apparatus to:
when the first current positioning point is different than a first navigation end point of the current navigation scenario, (Page 4, Paragraph 4, "On the other hand, if the current vehicle position is not the end point of the route segment, the travel route creation apparatus 100 transits to step S504 of performing vehicle position detection and coordinate conversion." As well as Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the
current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.") obtain route guidance information corresponding to the first current positioning point from the current sub-route information and determine a route guidance event carrying the route guidance information, (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.") wherein the providing route guidance according to the current sub-route information comprises providing route guidance according to the current sub-route information based on the route guidance event. (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).")
Regarding claim 19, where all the limitations of claim 18 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
19. (Previously Presented) The navigation apparatus according to claim 18, further comprising:
obtaining a navigation state set, wherein the navigation state set comprises a first state subset corresponding to the current navigation scenario, the first state subset comprising a first navigation sub-state corresponding to the current navigation scenario; and (Page 10, Paragraph 11, "The traveling path generating apparatus 100 detects the GPS position of the vehicle using GPS and converts the detected GPS position into TM coordinates (S504). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 converts the GPS information of the traveling vehicle into the TM coordinate system, which is an XY absolute coordinate, and stores the traveling position of the vehicle in the traveling path storing unit 150.")
determining the first navigation sub-state as a current control state. (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route." Examiner Note: The position of the vehicle is monitored and based on the current position, the system generates a path equation for the section of the route based on the position of the vehicle.)
Regarding claim 20, Kim further teaches:
20. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code that when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to:
obtain route information of a target route corresponding to a target start point and a target end point to obtain a route information set, (Page 10, Paragraphs 10-11, "The traveling route generating apparatus 100 receives a destination and searches for a traveling route corresponding to the input destination (S502). Here, when the destination is input, the driving route generating apparatus 100 searches for an existing traveling route.
At this time, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 searches for a traveling path that can reach the destination input from the traveling path storing unit 150. [ If there is no traveling route, the traveling route generating apparatus 100 informs the driver and can notify the start of the generation of the traveling route.
The traveling path generating apparatus 100 detects the GPS position of the vehicle using GPS and converts the detected GPS position into TM coordinates (S504). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 converts the GPS information of the traveling vehicle into the TM coordinate system, which is an XY absolute coordinate, and stores the traveling position of the vehicle in the traveling path storing unit 150.") the target route corresponding a current navigation scenario and a next navigation scenario, wherein the current navigation scenario and the next navigation scenario are sequential; (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG.")
determine target route information based on the route information set, the target route information comprising current sub-route information corresponding to the current navigation scenario and next sub-route information corresponding to the next navigation scenario; (Page 2, Paragraphs 7-10, "The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the traveling path equations of the same path section by using the polynomial regression and the position coordinates of the vehicle below the threshold range if the variation of the yaw rate between the starting point and the current point of the path section is less than the threshold range.
The traveling path calculating unit may repeatedly calculate the path section equation for each path section until the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path, unless the end point of the path section is the destination point of the traveling path.
The traveling path calculating unit may calculate the coefficient of the path equation for each path section by using the position coordinates of the vehicle and the polynomial regression, and store the calculated coefficient of the path equation for each path section in the traveling path storing unit.
The traveling route storage unit may store location coordinates of a starting point and an ending point for each route section of the traveling route and a route section equation for each route section of the traveling route.")
provide route guidance according to the current sub-route information (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).") …
switch to the next navigation scenario (Page 9, Paragraph 4, "As shown in FIG. 2, the entire traveling route is divided into a respective route section (for example, a route section between P0 and P1, a route section between P1 and P2, ..., a route section between P9 and P10). Here, the traveling path calculating unit 140 calculates the path equation of the path section between P0 and P1 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P1 and P2 [Image Omitted] , The path equation of the path section between P2 and P3 [Image Omitted] And a path equation having different coefficients for each path section as shown in FIG." as well as Page 11, Paragraphs 3-4, "Thereafter, the travel route generating apparatus 100 confirms whether the current location of the vehicle is the end point of the route section (S512). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 designates the current point of the traveling vehicle as the end point of the path section when the variation of the yaw rate at the present yaw rate and the starting point is equal to or more than a certain range or the cumulative distance is equal to or greater than a certain distance.
If the current vehicle position is the end of the route section, the travel route generator 100 calculates a route equation of the route section (S514). That is, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 calculates the path equation using the TM coordinates and the polynomial regression analysis from the start point to the end point. Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 can calculate the polynomial path equation coefficient using polynomial regression. At this time, when the amount of change in the yaw rate sensor value is less than a predetermined range, or when the cumulative distance is less than a predetermined distance, [Image Omitted] )." This demonstrates that the system switches between the current section to the subsequent section when it is determined that the vehicle has reached the end point of the current section.) … and
provide route guidance according to the next sub-route information. (Page 6, Paragraph 5, "According to a second aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for controlling a vehicle, comprising: obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a traveling route using a global positioning system (GPS); Obtaining yaw-rate information of the vehicle; Converting the GPS information of the obtained vehicle into position coordinates of the vehicle; Calculating a path equation for each route segment of the traveling route by using a polynomial regression with the positional coordinates of the vehicle if it is determined that the vehicle traveled from the starting point to the ending point for each divided route segment, ; And storing a path equation for each route segment of the calculated travel route." as well as Page 12, Paragraph 5, "The travel controller 200 receives the route equation for each route section calculated by the travel route generator 100 and calculates a lane equation using the route equation for each route section and the lane information for the lane on which the traveling vehicle travels (S704).")
Kim does not specifically teach monitoring the linear distance and the route distance between the current vehicle position and the target position or the position of the user being off of the desired route and the second current location being a position on the route closest to the users location. However, Oba, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… based on a first linear distance between a first current positioning point and a first navigation end point of the current navigation scenario, and further based on a first route distance between a first current location point and the first navigation end point; … based on a second linear distance between a second current positioning point and the first navigation end point and further based on a second route distance between a second current location point and the first navigation end point; … (Paragraphs 0055-0057, “By taking, as the minimum distance, a slant distance d1 from the current position S to the target position E and also taking, as the maximum distance, a distance d2 over which the vehicle moves so as to draw a polygonal line from the current position S through the intersection X, which is formed by a front half line along the axial line SL of the vehicle at the current position S and a back half line along the axial line EL of the vehicle at the target position E, to the target position E, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, the graph generating unit 6 also generates a graph so that the distance s traveled from the current position S to the target position E falls into a range from the minimum distance d1 to the maximum distance d2. This graph generation processing will be specifically described later with reference to FIG. 2.
The route setting unit 7 sets, as the movement route of the vehicle, a travel trajectory represented by the graph generated by the graph generating unit 6. Data of the movement route set by the route setting unit 7 is stored in the route data storage unit 102. The data of the movement route is composed of, for example, data indicating curvature at intervals of a predetermined distance starting from the current position and data of a travel trajectory represented by the curvature data.
The travel control unit 103 controls the steering angle in steering at intervals of a predetermined distance according to the movement route data stored in the route data storage unit 102 to control the travel of the vehicle. The curvature stored as movement route data in the route data storage unit 102 indicates the reciprocal of the turning radius of the vehicle, so the steering angle can be derived from the reciprocal.” Examiner Note: The position is continuously monitored, therefor the "second" current position is continuously determined and used when determining the distance between the position and the end point both linearly as well as along the route.)
However, Kornhauser, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous navigation guidance, teaches:
… wherein the first current positioning point is determined by positioning not to be on the target route, (Paragraph 0027, “In an implementation, the server 130 determines return-to-route criteria 128 and proximity criteria 122. The server 130 also obtains or determines an origin location 110 and a destination location 112. Using the origin location and destination location, the server 130 determines a prescribed route 114. Prescribed route 138, proximity criteria 136, and return-to-route criteria 134 are transmitted to a client 132. At client 132, the current route 116 is set to equal the prescribed route 114. Client 132 then determines a current location 118 and determines whether current location is proximate to the current route 120. In making this determination, client 132 utilizes the proximity criteria to compare the current location with the current route. For example: if the proximity criteria is X kilometers, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route; as another example, if the proximity criteria is X kilometers and Y minutes, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route and within Y minutes of the destination along the route according to the current estimated travel time along the route to the destination considering current traffic conditions and the most recent expected traffic conditions. If the current location is proximate to the current route (120: Yes), client 130 extracts and displays for execution the next maneuver along the current route 124. The client then returns to determine the current location 118. If, however, the current location is not proximate to the current route (120: No), client 132 determines a new current route according to return-to-route criteria 134. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route. Once the new route is determined, client 132 returns to determine the current location 118.”) and wherein the first current location point is a closest point on the target route to the first current positioning point; (Paragraph 0030, “Referring now to FIG. 3, a diagram of a prescribed route 314 navigating a path between origin 310 and destination 312. Illustrated as a dashed outline, prescribed proximity criteria 322 defines the maximum distance the client can deviate before the return-to-route requirements are triggered. A deviation 384 begins at point of deviation 382 and continues outside the proximity criteria 322 to a current location 318. Various alternative paths to return to the prescribed route 384, 386, 388, 390, 392 exist. In various implementations, the controlling authority or authorities can predetermine return-to-route criteria appropriate to the trip, vehicle, driver, load, and/or destination. These, in turn, can determine which alternative path is chosen by the navigation system. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation 384 back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation 386, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route 388, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route 388, 390 ; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route 392.” And Paragraph 0041, “The return-to-route criteria can be defined as finding the best current route to the destination regardless of the prescribed route (least strict), or finding the best route to a reasonably nearby point on the prescribed route (less strict), or finding the best route to the absolutely nearest point on the prescribed route (more strict), or backtracking along the route of deviation (most strict). The least strict return-to-route could be most suitable for general cargo, the less strict for high-value cargo, the more strict for munitions, and the most strict for oversize/overweight cargo. "Nearest" or "nearby" could be defined by distance, time, or impedance, and "reasonably nearby" could be defined as a sliding scale from absolutely favoring the prescribed route (such as favoring the links of the prescribed route by 1000:1 over other links, or avoiding other links by 1000:1 compared to the prescribed route's links) to not favoring the prescribed route's links or avoiding the other links at all.”) … wherein the second current positioning point is determined by positioning not to be on the target route, (Paragraph 0027, “In an implementation, the server 130 determines return-to-route criteria 128 and proximity criteria 122. The server 130 also obtains or determines an origin location 110 and a destination location 112. Using the origin location and destination location, the server 130 determines a prescribed route 114. Prescribed route 138, proximity criteria 136, and return-to-route criteria 134 are transmitted to a client 132. At client 132, the current route 116 is set to equal the prescribed route 114. Client 132 then determines a current location 118 and determines whether current location is proximate to the current route 120. In making this determination, client 132 utilizes the proximity criteria to compare the current location with the current route. For example: if the proximity criteria is X kilometers, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route; as another example, if the proximity criteria is X kilometers and Y minutes, determine whether the current location is within X kilometers of the route and within Y minutes of the destination along the route according to the current estimated travel time along the route to the destination considering current traffic conditions and the most recent expected traffic conditions. If the current location is proximate to the current route (120: Yes), client 130 extracts and displays for execution the next maneuver along the current route 124. The client then returns to determine the current location 118. If, however, the current location is not proximate to the current route (120: No), client 132 determines a new current route according to return-to-route criteria 134. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route. Once the new route is determined, client 132 returns to determine the current location 118.”) and wherein the second current location point is a closest point on the target route to the second current positioning point; … (Paragraph 0030, “Referring now to FIG. 3, a diagram of a prescribed route 314 navigating a path between origin 310 and destination 312. Illustrated as a dashed outline, prescribed proximity criteria 322 defines the maximum distance the client can deviate before the return-to-route requirements are triggered. A deviation 384 begins at point of deviation 382 and continues outside the proximity criteria 322 to a current location 318. Various alternative paths to return to the prescribed route 384, 386, 388, 390, 392 exist. In various implementations, the controlling authority or authorities can predetermine return-to-route criteria appropriate to the trip, vehicle, driver, load, and/or destination. These, in turn, can determine which alternative path is chosen by the navigation system. For example: if the return-to-route criteria is very strict, determine the new current route as backtracking along the deviation 384 back to the point of deviation; if less strict, as the least-cost route to the point of deviation 386, or to the nearest point on the prescribed route 388, or, to any of a range of nearest points on the prescribed route 388, 390 ; if not strict at all, as the least-cost route to the destination irrespective of the prescribed route 392.” And Paragraph 0041, “The return-to-route criteria can be defined as finding the best current route to the destination regardless of the prescribed route (least strict), or finding the best route to a reasonably nearby point on the prescribed route (less strict), or finding the best route to the absolutely nearest point on the prescribed route (more strict), or backtracking along the route of deviation (most strict). The least strict return-to-route could be most suitable for general cargo, the less strict for high-value cargo, the more strict for munitions, and the most strict for oversize/overweight cargo. "Nearest" or "nearby" could be defined by distance, time, or impedance, and "reasonably nearby" could be defined as a sliding scale from absolutely favoring the prescribed route (such as favoring the links of the prescribed route by 1000:1 over other links, or avoiding other links by 1000:1 compared to the prescribed route's links) to not favoring the prescribed route's links or avoiding the other links at all.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of tracking the linear distance as well as the route distance between the vehicle and the target position as taught by Oba into the vehicle control method as taught by Kim and to further integrate the “return-to-route” functionality as taught by Kornhauser. This would allow the system to monitor the current position of the user, the distance left to travel, the route which meets the needs of the user and other influencing criteria and to make a determination as to whether or not the target position has been reached.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Oba and Kornhauser and in further view of Yunoki et al. (US 20180231982 A1), hereinafter Yunoki.
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Kim does not specifically teach receiving a request to end autonomous navigation and stopping the autonomous control. However, Yunoki, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
6. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 4, wherein the navigation state set further comprises an end state, and the method further comprises:
determining the end state as the current control state, based on receiving a navigation end request to trigger ending of the navigation method. (Paragraph 0062, "FIG. 5 is a functional block diagram of the remote controlled traveling server program 501. The remote controlled traveling server program 501 is executed in the information processing device 302 in the semi-autonomous vehicle 101. The remote controlled traveling server program 501 is a program that enables the semi-autonomous vehicle 101 to travel on the basis of a command transmitted from the remote control server 105. The remote controlled traveling server program 501 includes an operation command output program 502, a network communication program 503, and a traveling stop command output program 504. In a case in which the control command output program 502 receives the control command transmitted from the remote control server 105 via the wireless communication device 304 and the network communication program 503, the control command output program 502 outputs the control command to the traveling control device 306. In a case in which the control command is not received for a certain period of time while the semi-autonomous vehicle 101 is performing the remote controlled traveling, the control command output program 502 generates a traveling stop command, and outputs the traveling stop command to the traveling stop command output program 504. In a case in which the traveling stop command is received from the control command output program 502, the traveling stop command output program 504 outputs the traveling stop command to the traveling control device 306." as well as paragraphs 0063 and 0064)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control methods as taught by Kim with the methods of cancelling the method and stopping the vehicle as taught by Yunoki. It would be obvious to modify Kim to incorporate the ability to cancel the autonomous control of the vehicle as taught by Yunoki. This ensures that if there is a malfunction or other issue with the system, the vehicle may be safely stopped.
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Oba and Kornhauser and in further view of Irie et al. (US 20210253164 A1), hereinafter Irie.
Regarding claim 9, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Kim further teaches:
9. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 4, wherein the first state subset corresponding to the current navigation scenario comprises a first yaw state corresponding to the current navigation scenario, and the method further comprises:
determining the first yaw state corresponding to the current navigation scenario as the current control state, (Page 4, Paragraph 3, "If it is determined in step S506 that the current position of the vehicle is the starting point, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 stores TM coordinates and yaw rate information as position coordinates of the starting point in step S508.") … and
determining the first navigation sub-state corresponding to the current navigation scenario
as the current control state again after the route re-planning information is obtained. (Page 1, Abstract, "The apparatus for generating a driving route of an autonomous vehicle includes: a position information obtaining unit for obtaining GPS
information of a vehicle traveling on a driving route by using a global positioning system (GPS); a vehicle information obtaining unit for obtaining yaw-rate
information of the vehicle")
Kim does not specifically disclose determining a variation in the actual yaw when compared to the expected yaw and based on that comparison, triggering a re-calculation of the route. However, Irie, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… based on a determination that the first current positioning point yaws from a route corresponding to the current navigation scenario, to trigger to obtain route re-planning information that has the first current positioning point as a start point and the first navigation end point as an end point and that corresponds to the current navigation scenario; … (Please see Figure 3 as well as Paragraphs 0030-0031, "In the automatic steering control by the steering control apparatus 20, a target traveling route is acquired from a higher control apparatus, and electric power to supply to the motor 8 is controlled so that a difference between a real traveling route of the vehicle and the target traveling route is eliminated. In FIG. 1, functions of the steering control apparatus 20 related to the automatic steering control is illustrated with blocks. As illustrated with blocks in FIG. 1, the steering control apparatus 20 comprises a target traveling route tracking control part 22, a command steering angle selection part 24, a command steering angle tracking control part 26, a route difference judgement part 28 and a command steering angle recalculation part 30. These parts 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 that the steering control apparatus 20 comprises correspond to a program or part of a program that is stored in the memory of the steering control apparatus 20. The functions of these parts 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 are realized in the steering control apparatus 20 by the program being read from the memory and being performed with the processor. The function of each part 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 is described sequentially as follows from the target traveling route tracking control part 22.
3. Details of Function of Steering Control Apparatus
The target traveling route tracking control part 22 (hereafter, it is simply referred to as a first tracking control part 22) acquires the target traveling route from the higher control apparatus and acquires the information on a current vehicle state from the vehicle speed sensor, the acceleration sensor, the yaw rate sensor, the camera, the GPS equipment, and the like. And, based on the target traveling route and the current vehicle state, the first tracking control part 22 calculates a steering angle necessary to make the vehicle track the target traveling route, that is, a steering angle to eliminate a difference between the target traveling route and the real traveling route of the vehicle, and outputs the steering angle as a command steering angle. In the first tracking control part 22, the command steering angle is calculated to make the real traveling route converge to the target traveling route with a constant response. Note that, about the calculation of the command steering angle to make the vehicle track the target traveling route, the method thereof has been already suggested in a lot of well-known literatures. Therefore, the details are not described in the present specification.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of controlling a vehicle and causing the system to calculate and re-calculate a desired route between positions as taught by Kim with the ability to cause the system to re-calculate the route based on a noted deviation from the expected yaw as taught by Irie. This would allow the system to avoid compounding error and arrive at the target position.
Regarding claim 11, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above,
11. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 9, further comprising:
… a yaw event carrying the first current positioning point,
wherein the determining the first yaw state corresponding to the current navigation scenario as the current control state is further based on the yaw event. (Page 4, Paragraph 3, "If it is determined in step S506 that the current position of the vehicle is the starting point, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 stores TM coordinates and yaw rate information as position coordinates of the starting point in step S508.")
Kim does not specifically disclose monitoring the actual yaw with respect to the expected yaw on a route. However, Irie, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… determining, in a case that the first current positioning point yaws from a route corresponding to the current navigation scenario, … (Please see Figure 3 as well as Paragraphs 0030-0031, "In the automatic steering control by the steering control apparatus 20, a target traveling route is acquired from a higher control apparatus, and electric power to supply to the motor 8 is controlled so that a difference between a real traveling route of the vehicle and the target traveling route is eliminated. In FIG. 1, functions of the steering control apparatus 20 related to the automatic steering control is illustrated with blocks. As illustrated with blocks in FIG. 1, the steering control apparatus 20 comprises a target traveling route tracking control part 22, a command steering angle selection part 24, a command steering angle tracking control part 26, a route difference judgement part 28 and a command steering angle recalculation part 30. These parts 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 that the steering control apparatus 20 comprises correspond to a program or part of a program that is stored in the memory of the steering control apparatus 20. The functions of these parts 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 are realized in the steering control apparatus 20 by the program being read from the memory and being performed with the processor. The function of each part 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 is described sequentially as follows from the target traveling route tracking control part 22.
3. Details of Function of Steering Control Apparatus
The target traveling route tracking control part 22 (hereafter, it is simply referred to as a first tracking control part 22) acquires the target traveling route from the higher control apparatus and acquires the information on a current vehicle state from the vehicle speed sensor, the acceleration sensor, the yaw rate sensor, the camera, the GPS equipment, and the like. And, based on the target traveling route and the current vehicle state, the first tracking control part 22 calculates a steering angle necessary to make the vehicle track the target traveling route, that is, a steering angle to eliminate a difference between the target traveling route and the real traveling route of the vehicle, and outputs the steering angle as a command steering angle. In the first tracking control part 22, the command steering angle is calculated to make the real traveling route converge to the target traveling route with a constant response. Note that, about the calculation of the command steering angle to make the vehicle track the target traveling route, the method thereof has been already suggested in a lot of well-known literatures. Therefore, the details are not described in the present specification.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of controlling a vehicle and control the system based on yaw measurements as taught by Kim with the ability to cause track a deviation from the expected yaw as taught by Irie. This would allow the system to avoid compounding error and arrive at the target position.
Regarding claim 15, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above,
15. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 1, wherein before the providing route guidance according to the route guidance information, the method further comprises:
obtaining current positioning information (Page 1, Abstract, "The apparatus for generating a driving route of an autonomous vehicle includes: a position information obtaining unit for obtaining GPS information of a vehicle traveling on a driving route by using a global positioning system (GPS); a vehicle information obtaining unit for obtaining yaw-rate
information of the vehicle") and history positioning information; (Page 2, Paragraph 5,"The embodiments of the present invention store the positional coordinates of the starting point and the ending point of each route section of
the travel route and the route section equation of each route section of the travel route so that a large amount of vehicle position data And it
is an object of the present invention to provide an apparatus and method for generating a traveling route of an autonomous traveling vehicle
which can reduce a calculation load when a traveling control of an autonomous traveling vehicle is controlled.") and
determining a positioning point in the current positioning information as the first current positioning point (Page 4, Paragraph 1, "The traveling path generating apparatus 100 detects the GPS position of the vehicle using GPS and converts the detected GPS position
into TM coordinates (S504). Here, the traveling path generating apparatus 100 converts the GPS information of the traveling vehicle into the
TM coordinate system, which is an XY absolute coordinate, and stores the traveling position of the vehicle in the traveling path storing unit
150.") …
Kim does not specifically teach determining whether or not the current position matches the expected position based on the historical route information. However, Irie, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
… in a case that determining that the first current positioning information satisfies a preset condition according to the history positioning information. (Please see Figure 3 as well as Paragraphs 0030-0031, "In the automatic steering control by the steering control apparatus 20, a target traveling route is acquired from a higher control apparatus, and electric power to supply to the motor 8 is controlled so that a difference between a real traveling route of the vehicle and the target traveling route is eliminated. In FIG. 1, functions of the steering control apparatus 20 related to the automatic steering control is illustrated with blocks. As illustrated with blocks in FIG. 1, the steering control apparatus 20 comprises a target traveling route tracking control part 22, a command steering angle selection part 24, a command steering angle tracking control part 26, a route difference judgement part 28 and a command steering angle recalculation part 30. These parts 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 that the steering control apparatus 20 comprises correspond to a program or part of a program that is stored in the memory of the steering control apparatus 20. The functions of these parts 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 are realized in the steering control apparatus 20 by the program being read from the memory and being performed with the processor. The function of each part 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 is described sequentially as follows from the target traveling route tracking control part 22.
3. Details of Function of Steering Control Apparatus
The target traveling route tracking control part 22 (hereafter, it is simply referred to as a first tracking control part 22) acquires the target traveling route from the higher control apparatus and acquires the information on a current vehicle state from the vehicle speed sensor, the acceleration sensor, the yaw rate sensor, the camera, the GPS equipment, and the like. And, based on the target traveling route and the current vehicle state, the first tracking control part 22 calculates a steering angle necessary to make the vehicle track the target traveling route, that is, a steering angle to eliminate a difference between the target traveling route and the real traveling route of the vehicle, and outputs the steering angle as a command steering angle. In the first tracking control part 22, the command steering angle is calculated to make the real traveling route converge to the target traveling route with a constant response. Note that, about the calculation of the command steering angle to make the vehicle track the target traveling route, the method thereof has been already suggested in a lot of well-known literatures. Therefore, the details are not described in the present specification.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of controlling the vehicle and storing route information as taught by Kim with the ability to compare the current position to the stored information as taught by Irie. Kim teaches storing the determined routes for use as well as monitoring the position of the vehicle. It would be obvious to incorporate the method of determining a difference between the real position and the expected position wherein the expected is the historical route stored as taught by Irie. This would ensure a higher level of precision in repetitive route travelling.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Oba and Kornhauser and in further view of Newlin et al. (US 20160298977 A1), hereinafter Newlin.
Regarding claim 14, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kim does not specifically teach displaying a route and associated information on a display. However, Newlin, in the same field of endeavor of vehicular control, teaches:
14. (Previously Presented) The navigation method according to claim 1, wherein after the determining target route information based on the route information set, the method further comprises:
causing a current display interface to display a corresponding target route according to the target route information; (Paragraph 0025, "FIG. 15 is a schematic view of an exemplary GUI for display of data related to driving to a destination and a route for driving to a destination location, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure;") and
causing the current display interface to display the route guidance information. (Paragraph 0033, "Data related to each mode of transportation may be displayed to the user for direct comparison and evaluation of each displayed mode. For example, travel time and/or the monetary cost for the user to travel from the start to the destination location for each mode of transportation may be displayed. This data may additionally or alternatively include any information the user expressly requests and/or the application developer chooses to display for various modes of transportation. Moreover, the type of displayed data may depend on the mode displayed (e.g., altitude change may be displayed for a bike route, but may not be of interest when a user is evaluating a bus route).")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the methods of controlling a vehicle as taught by Kim with the ability to display a route and associated information to a user as taught by Newlin. This would allow a user to efficiently interact with the system when inputting information and provide them with a greater understanding in the event the system requires intervention such as a stop command.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657