DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
In response to Office action mailed 12/09/2025, Applicants amended claims 1, 13 and 19 in the response filed 03/05/2026
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-24 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see 06/26/2026 Remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-5 and 7-24 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
Yasukawa teaches the recited multi-die apparatus comprising integrated circuit dies 12,22 within a redistribution layer (i.e. mold material 32,33,34,35,36; wherein the redistribution layer is connected to a package substrate (para [0060]); and wherein the mold material comprises metal layers 14,15,16 defining horizontal traces 15 between the integrated circuit dies; see Fig. 1).
Hwang is introduced to teach a redistribution layer 100; wherein the redistribution layer comprises a mold material (110,120,130,140,150) and metal layers 112,122,132,142 (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) within the mold material; and one or more passive electrical components 500 formed at least partially by traces 510 (112 of Fig. 1), 530 (122 of Fig. 1) within metal layers.
Hwang further teaches that adding a capacitor within a redistribution layer (like that of Yasukawa) would provide the additional benefit of decoupling, filtering, and/or resonance damping to a multi-die apparatus (para [0036]).
It is for this reason the previous rejection of independent claim 1, claim 13 and claim 19 is maintained. For similar reasons the argument to claim 13 wherein “a multi-die complex (1) is coupled to [a package] substrate (para [0060])” is considered taught. Should the applicant feel there is something of novelty with a multi-die complex being attached to a package substrate, he is encouraged to amend the claims accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-10, 12-13, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa et al. (PG Pub 2021/0183782; hereinafter Yasukawa) and Hwang et al. (PG Pub 2019/0057949; hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claim 1, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Yasukawa teaches a multi-die apparatus 1 comprising:
a mold material 32,33,34,35,36 (para [0058]);
a first integrated circuit die 22 within the mold material (see Fig. 1);
a second integrated circuit die 12 within the mold material above the first integrated circuit die (see Fig. 1);
one or more metal layers 14,15,16 within the mold material, the metal layers defining horizontal traces 15 between the first integrated circuit die and the second integrated circuit die (see Fig. 1); and
Although, Yasukawa teaches the horizontal traces 15 of the metal layers 14,15,16, he does not explicitly teach “one or more passive electrical components formed at least partially by traces within the metal layers.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1 and the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 2 (emphasis on Fig. 2) provided above, Hwang teaches a semiconductor package comprising: one or more passive electrical components 500 formed at least partially by traces 510 (112 of Fig. 1), 530 (122 of Fig. 1) within metal layers 112,122,132,142 (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the traces of Yasukawa to form a capacitor, as taught by Hwang, to “provide various functions, such as decoupling, filtering, and/or resonance damping” (para [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the one or more passive electrical components 500-Hwang includes a capacitor (para [0036]) formed by a portion of a first layer (14 of Yasukawa = 510 of Hwang) of the one or more metal layers, a portion of a second layer (16 of Yasukawa = 530 of Hwang) of the one or more metal layers, and a dielectric material (520 of Hwang) between the portions of the first layer and the second layer that define the capacitor (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 8, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach (Regarding claim 7) the first integrated circuit die 22 comprises active circuitry (bottom of die), and the second integrated circuit die 12 comprises active circuitry (bottom of die) (see Fig. 1); and
(Regarding claim 8) wherein the first integrated circuit die 22 comprises a processor (para [0073]) and the second integrated circuit die 12 comprises one or more of a processor, memory circuitry, a voltage regulator, and a power management integrated circuit (PMIC (para [0062]).
Regarding claim 9 and claim 10, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach
(Regarding claim 9) the first integrated circuit die 22 comprises active circuitry (bottom of die), and the second integrated circuit die 12 comprises active circuitry (bottom of die) (see Fig. 1); and
(Regarding claim 10) wherein the first integrated circuit die 22 comprises a processor (para [0073]) and the second integrated circuit die 12 comprises passive power delivery circuitry (para [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the metal layers 14,15,16 within the mold material 32,36 comprise one or more traces 14,16 to interconnect the first integrated circuit die and the second integrated circuit die (para [0060]).
Regarding claim 13, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Yasukawa teaches an integrated circuit assembly 1 comprising:
a multi-die complex 1 comprising:
a mold material 32,33,34,35,36;
a first integrated circuit die 22 within the mold material (see Fig. 1);
a second integrated circuit die 12 within the mold material above the first integrated circuit die (see Fig. 1);
one or more metal layers 14,15,16 within the mold material (see Fig. 1), the metal layers defining horizontal traces 14,16 between the first integrated circuit die and the second integrated circuit die (see Fig. 1).
Although, Yasukawa teaches the multi-die complex and the traces within the mold material, he does not explicitly teach a package substrate; and one or more passive electrical components formed at least partially by traces within the metal layers.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1 and the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 2 (emphasis on Fig. 2) provided above, Hwang teaches a semiconductor package comprising: a package substrate 394; and one or more passive electrical components 500 formed at least partially by traces 510 (112 of Fig. 1), 530 (122 of Fig. 1) within metal layers 112,122,132,142 (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the traces of Yasukawa to form a capacitor, as taught by Hwang, to “provide various functions, such as decoupling, filtering, and/or resonance damping” (para [0036]). In addition, it would have been advantageous to couple the multi-die complex of Yasukawa to the package substrate of Hwang, to thereby provide the desired transmission of signals.
Regarding claim 15, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the one or more passive electrical components 500-Hwang includes a capacitor (para [0036]) formed by a portion of a first layer (14 of Yasukawa = 510 of Hwang) of the one or more metal layers 14,15,16, a portion of a second layer (16 of Yasukawa = 530 of Hwang) of the one or more metal layers, and a dielectric material (520 of Hwang) between the portions of the first layer and the second layer that define the capacitor (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 31 provided above, Yasukawa teaches a computing system 10a comprising:
memory 61; and
a processor (annotated “processor” in Fig. 31) comprising a multi-die integrated circuit apparatus, the multi-die integrated circuit apparatus (annotated “apparatus” in Fig. 31) comprising:
a mold material 31-36;
a first integrated circuit die 22 within the mold material (see Fig. 31);
a second integrated circuit die 12 within the mold material above the first integrated circuit die (see Fig. 31);
one or more metal layers 14-16 within the mold material (see Fig. 31), the metal layers defining horizontal traces between the first integrated circuit die and the second integrated circuit die (see Fig. 31).
Although, Yasukawa teaches the horizontal traces 15 of the metal layers 14,15,16, he does not explicitly teach “one or more passive electrical components formed at least partially by traces within the metal layers.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 1 and the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 2 (emphasis on Fig. 2) provided above, Hwang teaches a semiconductor package comprising: one or more passive electrical components 500 formed at least partially by traces 510 (112 of Fig. 1), 530 (122 of Fig. 1) within metal layers 112,122,132,142 (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the traces of Yasukawa to form a capacitor, as taught by Hwang, to “provide various functions, such as decoupling, filtering, and/or resonance damping” (para [0036]).
Regarding claim 21, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the one or more passive electrical components 500-Hwang includes a capacitor (para [0036]) formed by a portion of a first layer (14 of Yasukawa = 510 of Hwang) of the one or more metal layers, a portion of a second layer (16 of Yasukawa = 530 of Hwang) of the one or more metal layers, and a dielectric material (520 of Hwang) between the portions of the first layer and the second layer that define the capacitor (see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 2, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa and Hwang, as applied to claim 1, claim 13 and claim 19 respectively above, and further in view of Liu et al. (PG Pub 2019/0200454; hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 2, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the one or more passive electrical components 500-Hwang includes a capacitor formed in a layer of the one or more metal layers (see Fig. 2 above).
Hwang does not explicitly teach the one or more passive electrical components includes an inductor.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 3a and Fig. 3b-provided above, Liu teaches a three- dimensional inductor-capacitor apparatus 399 comprising: one or more passive electrical components 200 includes a inductor-capacitor (para [0024]) formed in a layer of one or more metal layers 210,220,230,240.
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the traces of Yasukawa form a portion of the inductor, as taught by Liu, to minimize the distance between the passive device and the dies, as taught by Liu, to reduce the package size (para [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the one or more passive electrical components 500-Hwang includes a capacitor formed in a layer of the one or more metal layers (see Fig. 2 above).
Hwang does not explicitly teach the one or more passive electrical components includes an inductor.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 3a and Fig. 3b-provided above, Liu teaches a three- dimensional inductor-capacitor apparatus 399 comprising: one or more passive electrical components 200 includes a inductor-capacitor (para [0024]) formed in a layer of one or more metal layers 210,220,230,240.
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the traces of Yasukawa form a portion of the inductor, as taught by Liu, to minimize the distance between the passive device and the dies, as taught by Liu, to reduce the package size (para [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the one or more passive electrical components 500-Hwang includes a capacitor formed in a layer of the one or more metal layers (see Fig. 2 above).
Hwang does not explicitly teach the one or more passive electrical components includes an inductor.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 3a and Fig. 3b-provided above, Liu teaches a three- dimensional inductor-capacitor apparatus 399 comprising: one or more passive electrical components 200 includes a inductor-capacitor (para [0024]) formed in a layer of one or more metal layers 210,220,230,240.
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the traces of Yasukawa form a portion of the inductor, as taught by Liu, to minimize the distance between the passive device and the dies, as taught by Liu, to reduce the package size (para [0005]).
3. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa and Hwang, as applied to claim 13 respectively above, and further in view of Yu et al. (PG Pub 2020/0176387; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 17, refer to the figures cited above, Yasukawa and Hwang teach the metal layers 14,15,16 with the mold material 33. He does not teach a "main circuit board, wherein the package substrate is coupled to the main circuit board and the metal layers with the mold material comprise traces coupled to traces within the package substrate that are coupled to power supply lines within the main circuit board."
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 23, Yu teaches an integrated circuit package comprising: a main circuit board 302, wherein a package substrate 122 is coupled to the main circuit board and metal layers 116 with a mold material 120 comprise traces 110 coupled to traces 130 within the package substrate (See Fig. 23) that are coupled to power supply lines 138B within the main circuit board (see Fig. 22).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a main circuit board and package substrate interconnection, as taught by Yu, to provide a connection between power and ground to the device.
4. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa and Hwang, as applied to claim 13 respectively above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (PG Pub 2020/01212020; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 23, refer to the cited figures above, the combination of Yasukawa and Hwang teach the metal layers14-16 with the mold material 31-36 comprise traces 14,16 coupling the first integrated circuit die 22 and the second integrated circuit die 21 (see Fig. 31).
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 4, Zhang teaches a semiconductor device 100 comprising: a power supply (not shown; para [0021]) coupling a first integrated circuit die 114-1 and a second integrated circuit die 114-2 to the power supply (para [0021); see Fig. 4).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a power supply, as taught by Lin in view of Lao, in the device of Lin, for the purpose of providing power to the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 4-5, 11, 16, 18, 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 4, the one or more passive electrical components includes a radio frequency (RF) shield surrounding the second integrated circuit die, the RF shield comprising: a set of metal pillars within the mold material and surrounding the second integrated circuit die; and a set of traces defined in a layer of the one or more metal layers, the set of traces arranged in a grid pattern and coupled to the metal pillars of the set of metal pillars.
Claim 5 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 5, the one or more passive electrical components includes a radio frequency (RF) shield surrounding the second integrated circuit die, the RF shield comprising: a set of metal pillars within the mold material and surrounding the second integrated circuit die; and a plane defined in a layer of the one or more metal layers and coupled to the metal pillars of the set of metal pillars.
Claim 11 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 11, second integrated circuit die comprises die-to-die communication circuitry coupling the first integrated circuit die and the third integrated circuit die.
Claim 16 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 16, the one or more passive electrical components includes a radio frequency (RF) shield surrounding the second integrated circuit die, the RF shield comprising: a set of metal pillars within the mold material and surrounding the second integrated circuit die; and a plane defined in a layer of the one or more metal layers and coupled to the metal pillars of the set of metal pillars.
Claim 18 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 18, a main circuit board, wherein the package substrate is coupled to the main circuit board and the metal layers with the mold material comprise a first layer and a second layer, a portion of the first layer coupled to a voltage supply plane of the main circuit board and a portion of the second layer coupled to a ground plane of the main circuit board.
Claim 22 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 22, the one or more passive electrical components includes a radio frequency (RF) shield surrounding the second integrated circuit die, the RF shield comprising: a set of metal pillars within the mold material and surrounding the second integrated circuit die; and a set of traces defined in a layer of the one or more metal layers, the set of traces arranged in a grid pattern and coupled to the metal pillars of the set of metal pillars.
Claim 24 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 24, the metal layers with the mold material comprise a first layer and a second layer, a portion of the first layer coupled to a voltage supply plane of a main circuit board of the computing system and a portion of the second layer coupled to a ground plane of the main circuit board of the computing system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817