Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 01/21/2026, in response to claims 1-10 and 12-16 rejection from the non-final office action (10/22/2025), by argument only with claim amendment is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretations
The previously added limitation “an upper end of the oblique surface of the third hole part to a lower end of the oblique surface of the third hole part“ of claim 1, as the third hole part has only two ends, the upper end is the topmost end and the lower end is the lowest end. (This is not as broad as an upper portion and a lower portion which may not be the two ends).
The “the (or an) upper end of the first hole part being covered with the second part“, as the boundary between the first hole part and the third hole part has not been defined, this limitation is a self-definition of the boundary between the first hole part and the third hole part.
The “a first hole part that is continuous with the first surface …” of claim 1, the “continuous” includes “next” or “neighboring” with an angle, as Applicants’ first hole part 13a and the first surface 11 includes an angle [Symbol font/0x71][Symbol font/0x61]. The first hole part and the first surface is not on a same line or on a same curve.
The “wherein an average crystallite size of the polycrystalline ceramic calculated using a TEM image having a magnification of 400,000 times to 2,000,000 times is not less than 3 nanometers and not more than 50 nanometers“ of claim 8, the method of measurement (by TEM) does not affect the structure of the ceramic layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eto et al. (US 20120037596, hereafter ‘596). (Ito et al., US 20080106842, hereafter ‘842, is evidenced for yttria having higher plasma resistance than alumina).
‘596 teaches all limitations of:
Claim 1: a microfabrication process for manufacturing a semiconductor device ([0003]), FIG. 1 is a sectional view schematically illustrating an example of the configuration of a plasma treatment apparatus according to the first embodiment. Here, a RIE apparatus is used as a plasma treatment apparatus 10. The plasma treatment apparatus 10 includes a chamber 11 ([0017], 2nd sentence), A shower head 41 serving as an upper electrode ([0020], includes the claimed “A semiconductor manufacturing apparatus member used inside a chamber of a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, the member comprising”):
a shower head 41 serving as a base material includes a plurality of surfaces with angles different from each other ([0037], 2nd sentence), So far, the case in which the protective film 50 including the yttria film is formed on the shower head 41 made of aluminum has been described. However, an alumina film may be formed on aluminum, and the protective film 50 may be further formed on the alumina film ([0030], includes the claimed “a ceramic base material including a first surface, a second surface at a side opposite to the first surface”),
the shower head 41 is formed with a plurality of gas supply passages 42 passing through the plate in the thickness direction of the plate ([0020], last sentence, includes the claimed “and at least one hole extending through the first and second surfaces”);
A protective film 50 is formed on the surface of a member constituting the plasma treatment apparatus 10 with such a configuration, which is in contact with a plasma generation area, that is, on the surface of a member constituting the plasma treatment chamber 61. In detail, the protective film 50 including an yttria-containing film (hereinafter, referred to as an yttria film) is formed on the inner wall surface of the chamber 11 which constitutes the plasma treatment chamber 61 ([0024]0, includes the claimed “and a ceramic layer located on the base material”, see Fig. 2 or Fig. 8), In addition, since others are the same as the first embodiment, description thereof will not be repeated. For example, the protective film 50 used is the same as the protective film 50 used in the first embodiment. Furthermore, the protective film 50 may be directly formed on the shower head 41 made of aluminum, or an alumina film may be formed on aluminum and the protective film 50 may be formed on the alumina film ([0041]), In addition, in the first and second formation methods, the case, in which a lateral side as a part of the gas supply passage 42 formed by the protective film 50 in the vicinity of the inflectional section 43 positioned at the boundary between the gas flow channel 421 and the exhaust port 422 is level with the inner surface of the gas flow channel 421 constituting the shower head 41, has been described with reference to the figures. However, the embodiment is not limited thereto. As described above, the protective film 50 may be formed such that at least a part of the inflectional section 43 is exposed ([0057]), Specifically, the crack 56 and the like may easily occur in the inflectional section 43 due to the thermal expansion difference between yttria and aluminum during the heating (during the plasma treatment 70) (Fig. 5, [0035], last sentence), the protective film 50 with such a structure, since stress concentrated on a corner section 44 is further reduced as compared with the second embodiment, crack does not easily occur as compared with the second embodiment ([0043], the three paragraphs [0057], [0035], [0043] describe that avoiding stress concentration at inflectional point 43 is applicable to all figures, a different configuration than Fig. 2 or Fig. 8 with part of the inflectional section 43 uncoated by the protective film. As shown in illustrations 1 and 2 below, it reads into the claimed “the at least one hole including a first hole part that is continuous with the first surface, the first hole part having an oblique surface oblique to a first direction, the first direction being from the first surface toward the second surface, a second hole part that is positioned between the second surface and the first hole part in the first direction and extends along the first direction, and a third hole part that is positioned between the first hole part and the second hole part in the first direction, the third hole part having an oblique surface oblique to the first direction, a plasma corrosion resistance of the ceramic layer being greater than a plasma corrosion resistance of the base material, the ceramic layer including a first part located on the first surface, the first part being exposed, and a second part located on the oblique surface of the first hole part, the oblique surface of the third hole part being exposed from an upper end of the oblique surface of the third hole part to a lower end of the oblique surface of the third hole part without the ceramic layer being provided on the second hole part and the third hole part, an upper end of the first hole part being continuous with the lower end of the oblique surface of the third hole part, the upper end of the first hole part being covered with the second part”, in case Applicants argue that ‘596 does not expressly teach that exposing inflectional point 43 in Fig. 2, it would have been obvious to avoid cracking at inflectional point of Fig. 2),
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st
surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd
surface)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Part of
Inflectional
section 43
is exposed)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st hole part,
Upper end
covered)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd
hole
part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3rd hole part
-- as part of
this section
is exposed)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (13c)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (13a)]
The illustration 3 below shows the claimed “the first hole part having a first end portion located at one end of the first hole part in the first direction, and a second end portion located at the other end of the first hole part in the first direction,
the second hole part having a first end portion located at one end of the second hole part in the first direction, and a second end portion located at the other end of the second hole part in the first direction,
the third hole part having a first end portion located at one end of the third hole part in the first direction, and a second end portion located at the other end of the third hole part in the first direction,
the first end portion of the first hole part being continuous with the first surface,
the second end portion of the second hole part being continuous with the second surface,
the first end portion of the third hole part being continuous with the second end portion of the first hole part,
the second end portion of the third hole part being continuous with the first end portion of the second hole part”,
A gas supply port 13 is provided near the upper portion of the chamber 11 to supply treatment gas used in plasma treatment ([0021]), the shower head 41 is formed with a plurality of gas supply passages 42 passing through the plate in the thickness direction of the plate ([0020], last sentence, includes the claimed “the at least one hole being configured to supply a raw material gas for plasma to the chamber“).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st
surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd
surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st
hole
part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd
hole
part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3rd hole part
-- as part of
this section
is exposed)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (13c)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (13a)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st
End of 1st
hole
part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd end of
2nd hole
part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st end of 2nd hole
Part & 2nd end of
3rd hole part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st end of 3rd hole
Part & 2nd end of
1st hole part)]
Note ‘842 teaches well-known fact that “the thermally sprayed Y2O3 coating has a higher plasma resistance than those of the thermally sprayed Al2O3 coating and the alumina ceramic plate” ([0065]).
‘596 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: Fig. 2 shows a straight line in the oblique surface of the exhaust part 422 of the hole 42 (includes the claimed “wherein the oblique surface of the respective first hole part and the third hole part has a straight-line shape in a cross section parallel to the first direction”).
Claim 4: the thickness of a protective film 50 is gradually reduced toward the vicinity of the center of an exhaust port 422 ([0043], 4th sentence, Fig. 8), the novel embodiments described herein may be embodied in a variety of other forms ([0061], i.e. this variation is applicable to Fig. 2, includes the claimed “wherein a thickness of the second part is less than a thickness of the first part”).
Claims 9-10: the protective film 50 including an yttria-containing film (hereinafter, referred to as an yttria film) is formed on the inner wall surface of the chamber 11 which constitutes the plasma treatment chamber 61 ([0024], includes the claimed “wherein the ceramic layer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of an oxide of a rare-earth element, a fluoride of a rare-earth element, and an acid fluoride of a rare-earth element” of claim 9 and “wherein the rare-earth element is at least one selected from the group consisting of Y, Sc, Yb, Ce, Pr, Eu, La, Nd, Pm, Sm, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, and Lu”).
Claim 12: an alumina film may be formed on aluminum, and the protective film 50 may be further formed on the alumina film ([0030], includes the claimed “the base material includes alumina”).
Claim 13. the protective film 50 including an yttria-containing film (hereinafter, referred to as an yttria film) is formed on the inner wall surface of the chamber 11 which constitutes the plasma treatment chamber 61 ([0024], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “A semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, comprising: a chamber; and the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus member according to claim 1, the chamber including an interior wall, the interior wall defining a space in which plasma is generated, the ceramic layer of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus member being included in at least a portion of the interior wall”).
Claim 14: The gas supply passage 42 includes a gas flow channel 421 with the first diameter ([0027], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the at least one hole extending through the first and second surfaces is circular”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘596, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Eto et al. (JP 2012036487, hereafter ‘487). (Shih et al. US 20140295670 is evidenced for dense film is hard).
‘596 does not teach the limitation of:
Claim 3: an angle between the first surface and the oblique surface of the first hole part is greater than an angle between the second hole part and the oblique surface of the third hole part.
Claim 5: wherein a density of the second part is greater than a density of the first part.
Claim 6: wherein a hardness of the second part is greater than a hardness of the first part.
‘487 is an analogous art in the field of YTTRIA-CONTAINING FILM AND FORMING METHOD THEREOF, AND SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING APPARATUS AND PLASMA TREATMENT APPARATUS (title), A shower head 41 functioning as an upper electrode is provided above the support table 21 so as to face the support table 21 (middle of page 2). Fig. 6 of ‘487 shows the inclined surface of the teaches that second hole 422 is less than 45 degree (the relationship of claim 3). ‘487 further teaches that the protective film 50 is formed of a laminated film of the base film 51 and the melted solidified film 52 having a higher density than the base film 51 only in the vicinity of the gas discharge port 42, and is formed of the base film 51 in other regions (Fig. 6, middle of page 5), for the purpose of suppressing dust (lower portion of page 4).
US 20140295670 is cited for a dense oxide coating that is hard, dense, and corrosion resistant ([0009], in other words, the denser the coating, the harder it is).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have changed the angle of the exhaust port 422 of the hole of ‘596 to less than 45 degree (the limitation of claim 3), as taught by ‘487. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966. Furthermore, to have adopted a higher density and higher hardness of the protective film 50 near the exhaust port 422 than the bottom of the shower head 41 in ‘596, for the purpose of suppressing dust (lower portion of page 4, the limitations of claims 5-6).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘596, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Tran et al. (US 20180330923, hereafter ‘923).
‘596 does not teach the limitation of:
Claim 7: wherein the ceramic layer includes a polycrystalline ceramic.
‘923 is an analogous art in the field of MULTI-LAYER PLASMA EROSION PROTECTION FOR CHAMBER COMPONENTS (title), including showerheads ([0005], see Fig. 3) and Y2O3, Al2O3 ([0034]). ‘923 teaches that FIG. 7 is a transmission electron spectroscopy (TEM) image 700 of an article with a coating architecture that includes a first thin conformal layer 710, a second thin conformal layer 715 and a thick plasma resistant layer 720 … the article 705 (e.g., a coated chamber component such as a showerhead) is aluminum. The first thin conformal layer 710 is an amorphous Al2O3 coating formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD) … The Al2O3 sub-layers prevent the Y2O3 sub-layers from becoming crystalline in embodiments. As a result of the Al2O3 sub-layers, the Y2O3 sub-layers remain in a polycrystalline state ([0098]), for the purpose of reducing particles ([0029], last sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted polycrystalline state for the Y2O3, Al2O3 as the plasma erosion protection for chamber component, as taught by ‘923, as the state of the yttria or alumina protective film 50 of ‘596, for the purpose of reducing particles, as taught by ‘923 ([0029], last sentence) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘923 further teaches that the first plasma resistant layer may be thinner, and may have a thickness of about 10 nm to about 200 nm ([0078], 6th sentence, therefore, the grain size overlaps with the limitation “wherein an average crystallite size of the polycrystalline ceramic calculated using a TEM image having a magnification of 400,000 times to 2,000,000 times is not less than 3 nanometers and not more than 50 nanometers” of claim 8).
Note Fig. 3 of ‘923 also shows the angle relationship of claim 3 of instant application.
Alternatively claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘596 and ‘923, as being applied to claim 7 rejection above, in view of IWASAWA et al. (US 20160332921, hereafter ‘921).
In case Applicants argue that the TEM image is measure in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the microcrystal can be very thin but much larger than the thickness of the polycrystalline alumina or yttria. Therefore, the combination of ‘596 and ‘923 does not teach the limitation of:
Claim 8: wherein an average crystallite size of the polycrystalline ceramic calculated using a TEM image having a magnification of 400,000 times to 2,000,000 times is not less than 3 nanometers and not more than 50 nanometers.
‘921 is an analogous art in the field of a plasma-resistant member used in a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus that performs processing such as dry etching, sputtering, CVD, etc., inside a chamber ([0001]), including an yttria polycrystalline body and being plasma resistant (abstract) and alumina ([0079]). ‘921 teaches that As in the photograph shown in FIG. 29, the crystal particle size of the yttria polycrystalline body was about 15 to 20 nm. As in the comparison table shown in FIG. 30, the average crystal particle size of the yttria polycrystalline body formed by aerosol deposition (AD) was 19 nm as calculated by XRD (X-ray Diffraction) analysis ([0229]), for the purpose of reducing particles ([0009]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted polycrystalline particle size of 15-20 nm, as taught by ‘921, as the state of the yttria or alumina protective film 50 of ‘596, for the purpose of reducing particles, as taught by ‘921 ([0009], last sentence) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘596, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Nishimoto et al. (US 20070034337, hereafter ‘337).
‘596 does not teach the limitation of:
Claim 15: wherein an arithmetical mean height Sa of the third hole part is greater than an arithmetical mean height Sa of a surface of the first part and greater than the arithmetical mean height Sa of a surface of the second part.
‘337 is an analogous art in the field of Apparatus For An Improved Upper Electrode Plate With Deposition Shield In A Plasma Processing System (title), fabrication of an electrode plate with a deposition shield coupled to the upper electrode advantageously provides gas injection of a process gas with substantially minimal erosion of the upper electrode while providing protection to a chamber interior (abstract), the electrode plate 24 with the deposition shield 26 further comprises a protective barrier 150 formed on the exposed surfaces 145 of the electrode plate 24 with the deposition shield 26. In an embodiment of the present invention, the protective barrier 150 can comprise a compound including an oxide of aluminum such as Al2O3. In another embodiment of the present invention, the protective barrier 150 can comprise a mixture of Al2O3 and Y2O3 (Fig. 5, [0058]). ‘337 teaches that forming the protective barrier can further comprise polishing the thermal spray coating. For example, polishing the thermal spray coating can comprise the application of sand paper to the sprayed surfaces ([0063], last two sentences), smoothing said protective coating (claim 28 of ‘337), for the purpose of reducing frequent maintenance ([0006]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added smoothing the protective film 50 of ‘596, for the purpose of reducing frequent maintenance, as taught by ‘337 ([0006]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘596, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Chen et al. (US 20140252134, hereafter ‘134).
‘596 does not teach the limitation of:
Claim 16: wherein an injector injecting a raw material gas of a plasma is located at the at least one hole.
‘134 is an analogous art in the field of INSULATED SEMICONDUCTOR FACEPLATE DESIGNS (title), including plasma ([0002]). ‘134 teaches that the faceplate may include a plate 520 such as a conductive plate defining a plurality of apertures 565. The faceplate 500 may also include a plurality of inserts 515, where each one of the plurality of inserts 515 is disposed within one of the plurality of apertures 565. Each of the apertures 565 may have similar characteristics as the other apertures, or the apertures 565 may include a variety of patterns and shapes (Fig. 5, [0050]), for the purpose of improved uniformity of distribution may be provided from the channels of the inserts ([0011]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added inserts a variety of patterns and shapes of ‘134, to the gas supply passages 42 of ‘596, for the purpose of improved uniformity of distribution may be provided from the channels of the inserts, as taught by ‘134 ([0011]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are partly not persuasive and partly persuasive.
Applicants argue that In Eto, the above-describe cracking problem due to a thermal expansion difference arises when the protective film is yttria and the base material is aluminum. When both the protective film and the base material are ceramic, the thermal expansion difference is not considered to be significant, Eto does not describe that a cracking problem due to a thermal expansion difference between the protective film and the base material are ceramic, see the bridging paragraph between pages 8 and 9.
This argument is found partly not persuasive.
Eto ‘596 (not Eto ‘487) clearly stated that
In addition, since others are the same as the first embodiment, description thereof will not be repeated. For example, the protective film 50 used is the same as the protective film 50 used in the first embodiment. Furthermore, the protective film 50 may be directly formed on the shower head 41 made of aluminum, or an alumina film may be formed on aluminum and the protective film 50 may be formed on the alumina film.
In other words, the protective film 50 over alumina film is subjected to the same cracking problem.
No bounded by the theory, the alumina film is usually thin, and the protective film 50 having thickness of up to 100 [Symbol font/0x6D]m ([0028]) or even 200 [Symbol font/0x6D]m ([0037]). The thermal expansion stress is still present relative to the bulk aluminum body.
The examiner found this argument is persuasive in alternatively 103 rejection over ‘596 in view of ‘815. Therefore, the alternative 130 rejection over ‘596 in view of ‘815 is withdrawn.
The examiner notice Applicants Specification describes ceramic layer 20 directly on the base material ([0131]-[0132]). However, the examiner found several reference teaching the difficulty for doing so, includes ‘596 (Figs. 3B, [0029]) and JP 2008214110 describes problem with forming yttria sintered body on alumina sintered body (P2, last paragraph) and provides a solution with a joining layer 4 (Abstract, solution).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2008214110 describes problem with forming yttria sintered body on alumina sintered body (P2, last paragraph) and provides a solution with a joining layer 4 (Abstract, solution).
US 20210403337 is cited for protective barrier 150 thinner in the interior of the hole (Fig. 5).
US 20040002221 is cited for coating partially penetrate gas holes [0049].
US 20180044800 is cited for improving hardness by providing a dense overcoat ([0208]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716