DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 15 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170176342 (Colletti) in view of US 20070050156 (Vaidyanathan) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mushimoto et al. (US 20160018256) and Le Neel (US 20180321028).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant did not make amendments so this action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colletti (US 20170176342) in view of Vaidyanathan (US 20070050156), and further in view of Mushimoto et al. (hereafter Mushimoto - US 20160018256).
Claim 1 recites “an inspection system for a bladed rotor.” Harman teaches such an inspection system for a bladed rotor, as will be shown.
Colletti teaches (Figs. 5-8) an inspection system for a bladed rotor, the inspection system comprising: a support structure 55; a first scanner 41 moveably coupled to the support structure (see para. 0027); a second scanner (second 41, see Fig. 7) moveably coupled to the support structure (para. 0027); a motor (gear mechanism 47) operably coupled to a shaft (claim 6), the shaft rotatably coupled to the support structure (para. 0036), the shaft configured to be coupled to the bladed rotor (claim 6); and a controller (50) in electronic communication with the first scanner, the second scanner, and the motor (para. 0027, 0039).
However, Colletti does not teach the controller configured to generate a point cloud for the bladed rotor based on scanning data received from the first scanner and the second scanner, the controller configured to: command the first scanner to scan the bladed rotor; command the second scanner to scan the bladed rotor.
Vaidyanathan (Figs. 1-4) teaches an inspection system for vanes comprising a controller 78 configured to generate a point cloud for the bladed rotor based on scanning data received from the first scanner and the second scanner (claim 2). Vaidyanathan further teaches this results in the most accurate scan data (para. 0030).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Vaidyanathan to the inspection system of Colletti to have the controller configured to generate a point cloud for the bladed rotor based on scanning data received from the first scanner and the second scanner, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to inspection systems for rotors. Doing so would result in accurate scans, as recognized by Vaidyanathan.
Mushimoto teaches an inspection system comprising a controller 40 configured to: command a first scanner 2 to scan (see para. 0060, 0091).
Mushimoto further teaches the controller may restart the scanner if it is in a defective state (para. 0091).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Mushimoto to the inspection system of modified Colletti to have the controller configured to: command the first scanner to scan the bladed rotor; command the second scanner to scan the bladed rotor, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to scanner systems. Doing so would result in convenient operation of the scanners, as recognized by Mushimoto.
Regarding Claim 2, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 1. However, modified Colleti does not teach the first scanner and the second scanner are both blue light scanners.
Using a blue light scanner is mere simple substitution, as it is known to use them for bladed rotor to form point clouds, e.g. described in Clark et al. (US 11250189).
Regarding Claim 3, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: command the motor to rotate the shaft a fixed amount between scanning by the first scanner and the second scanner (para. 0025).
Regarding Claim 4, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to determine each portion of the bladed rotor has been scanned by the first scanner and the second scanner in response to determining an angular position of the bladed rotor is 360 degrees from an initial position of the bladed rotor (para. 0025).
Regarding Claim 5, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 1, wherein the point cloud has a point density twice that of a single scanner inspections system (two scanners would have more point density).
Regarding Claim 7, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 1, further comprising a first track system and a second track system, the first scanner configured to travel along the first track system, the second scanner configured to travel along the second track system (arms 42).
Regarding Claim 8, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 7, wherein the first track system and the second track system are distinct (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 8, wherein the first track system is disposed opposite the second track system on the support structure (see Fig. 5).
Claim 10 recites an article of manufacture comprising the same features of Claim 1 and 6 which are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 11 recites an article of manufacture comprising the same features of Claim 3 which are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 12, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the article of manufacture of claim 10, wherein the first portion of the bladed rotor is a first blade, and wherein the second portion of the bladed rotor is a second blade (para. 0039).
Claim 13 recites an article of manufacture comprising the same features of Claim 2 which are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 14, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the article of manufacture of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise receiving, via the processor, location data of the first scanner and the second scanner relative to a datum; and generating the point cloud relative to the datum (Vaidyanathan para. 0030).
Regarding Claim 16, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) a method of claim 15, wherein a blue light scanner scans the bladed rotor the first time and the second time (Fig. 5, Fig 8).
Regarding Claim 17, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) a method of claim 15, wherein scanning the bladed rotor the first time further comprises: scanning a first portion of the bladed rotor; rotating the bladed rotor a fixed amount; and scanning a second portion of the bladed rotor (para. 0039).
Regarding Claim 18, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) a method of claim 15, wherein scanning the bladed rotor the first time and scanning the bladed rotor the second time occurs simultaneously (para. 0036).
Claim 19 recites a method comprising the same features of Claim 2 which are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 20, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) a method of claim 15, wherein the point cloud is generated relative to a datum based on location data of a scanner that performs the scanning the first time and the scanning the second time (Vaidyanathan para. 0030).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colletti in view of Vaidyanathan, and further in view of Mushimoto, and further in view of Le Neel (US 20180321028).
Regarding Claim 6, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) the inspection system of claim 1.
However, modified Colletti does not teach the inspection system is configured to scan between 99% and 100% of an external surface area of the bladed rotor.
Le Neel teaches an inspection system configured to scan between 99% and 100% of an external surface area of the bladed rotor (para. 0022, entire blade, i.e. 100%).
Le Neel further teaches inspection of the totality of the dimensional characteristics of the blade can then be performed using measurement points derived from the scanning means.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Le Neel to the inspection system of modified Colletti to have the inspection system is configured to scan between 99% and 100% of an external surface area of the bladed rotor, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to inspection systems for bladed rotors. Doing so would result in more accurate inspections, as recognized by Le Neel.
Regarding Claim 15, Colletti, as modified with Vaidyanathan and Mushimoto in Claim 1 above, teaches (Colletti Figs. 5-8) a method of inspecting a bladed rotor, the method comprising.
However, modified Colletti does not teach scanning between 95% and 100% of an external surface area of the bladed rotor a first time; scanning between 95% and 100% of the external surface area of the bladed rotor a second time; and generating a point cloud based on scanning data received from scanning the bladed rotor the first time and the second time.
Le Neel teaches a method system configured to scanning between 95% and 100% of an external surface area of the bladed rotor a first time; (para. 0022, entire blade, i.e. 100%).
Le Neel further teaches inspection of the totality of the dimensional characteristics of the blade can then be performed using measurement points derived from the scanning means.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Le Neel to the inspection system of modified Colletti to have scanning between 95% and 100% of an external surface area of the bladed rotor a first time; scanning between 95% and 100% of the external surface area of the bladed rotor a second time, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to inspection systems for bladed rotors. Doing so would result in more accurate inspections, as recognized by Le Neel. When applying Le Neel to modified Colletti, there would be a second scan because of the second scanner.
Conclusion
/ANDREW THANH BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745