DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 23 December 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 9, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites the limitation, “wherein the inner portion completely overlaps the first contact pad ring vertically, wherein the first contact pad ring is disposed over the first seal ring wall, wherein an edge of the first contact pad ring extends beyond the inner wall surface.” This appears to contain a typographical error and may be corrected as, “wherein the inner portion completely overlaps the first contact pad ring vertically, wherein the first contact pad ring is disposed over the first seal ring wall, and wherein an edge of the first contact pad ring extends beyond the inner wall surface.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0315723, hereinafter Singh ‘723) of record in view of Miki (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0241178, hereinafter Miki ‘178) of record and Liang et al. (US Patent 9,627,332, hereinafter Liang ‘332).
With respect to claim 9, Singh ‘723 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 5B) an integrated circuit (IC) chip substantially as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (110, 114, 116, and 120) ([0015]) comprising:
a device region (110) ([0015]),
a ring region (114 and 116) surrounding the device region (110) ([0015]), and
four corner regions (although only one corner is shown in the upper left of semiconductor device 500 in FIG. 5B, said semiconductor device 500 may be a rectangle having four corners) disposed at outer corners of the ring region (114 and 116) ([0027, 0043]);
an interconnect structure (122, 124, 126, and 128) disposed on the substrate (110, 114, 116, and 120) ([0015]) and comprising:
a first region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in device region 110) directly over the device region (110) ([0015]), and
a second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) directly over the ring region (114 and 116) ([0015]);
a first passivation layer (140) disposed over the interconnect structure (122, 124, 126, and 128) ([0020]);
a contact pad (150) disposed on the first passivation layer (140) and directly over the first region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in device region 110) ([0015]);
a first contact pad ring (154a) disposed on the first passivation layer (140) and directly over the second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) ([0015]);
a second passivation layer (142) disposed over the contact pad (150) and the first contact pad ring (154a) ([0020]); and
a polymer layer (160 and 162) disposed on a portion of the second passivation layer (142) ([0020, 0028]),
wherein the polymer layer (160 and 162) does not vertically overlap the four corner regions ([0020, 0027-0028, 0043]),
wherein, in a top view, the first contact pad ring (154a) comprises four cut-off corners (FIG. 5B shows first contact pad ring 554a having cut-off corners; first contact pad ring 554a corresponds to first contact pad ring 154a) corresponding to the four corner regions ([0043]),
wherein the polymer layer (160 and 162) completely overlaps the first contact pad ring (154a) ([0020, 0028]),
wherein the second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) comprises a first seal ring wall (125a) surrounding the device region (110) in a closed loop ([0017]),
wherein the first seal ring wall (125a) includes an inner wall surface (see annotated FIG. 1 below) and an outer wall surface (see annotated FIG. 1 below) ([0017]),
wherein the inner wall surface includes innermost metal lines (see annotated FIG. 1 below) and innermost via bars (see annotated FIG. 1 below) ([0017]), and
wherein the outer wall surface includes outermost metal lines (see annotated FIG. 1 below) and outermost via bars (see annotated FIG. 1 below) ([0017]).
Thus, Singh ‘723 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the contact pad is a plurality of contact pads;
wherein the polymer layer comprises a rectangular shape in a top view;
wherein innermost sidewalls of the innermost metal lines and the innermost via bars are vertically aligned; and
wherein outermost sidewalls of the outermost metal lines and the outermost via bars are vertically aligned.
However, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a plurality of contact pads (37) to provide multiple points of connection to a device region (12) ([0113]).
Further, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a polymer layer (23) comprising a rectangular shape in a top view such that the polymer layer does not vertically overlap corner regions to permit contact to be made to a contact via ring (portion of 47 embedded in first passivation layer 21) ([0114, 0204]). Still further, such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Still further, Liang ‘332 teaches (FIG. 1B) seal ring structures (30, e.g. 33) wherein innermost sidewalls of innermost metal lines (e.g. 54) and innermost via bars (e.g. 56V and 56R) are vertically aligned, and wherein outermost sidewalls of outermost metal lines (e.g. 54) and outermost via bars (e.g. 56V and 56R) are vertically aligned (col. 2, ln. 41-59; col. 6, ln. 7-51) to avoid metal dishing issues, to provide enough mechanical robustness, and to maintain sufficient moisture blocking ability at the same time (col. 2, ln. 18-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the contact pad of Singh ‘723 as a plurality of contact pads as taught by Miki ‘178 to provide multiple points of connection to a device region; to have formed the polymer layer of Singh ‘723 comprising a rectangular shape in a top view as taught by Miki ‘178 to permit contact to be made to the contact via ring and because such a modification would have involved a mere, obvious change in shape of a component; and to have formed innermost sidewalls of the innermost metal lines and the innermost via bars, and outermost sidewalls of the outermost metal lines and the outermost via bars of Singh ‘723 vertically aligned as taught by Liang ‘332 to avoid metal dishing issues, to provide enough mechanical robustness, and to maintain sufficient moisture blocking ability at the same time.
With respect to claim 10, Singh ‘723 teaches (FIG. 5A) wherein each of plurality of contact pads (550) comprises a first width, and wherein the first contact pad ring (554a) comprises a second width greater than the first width ([0042-0043]).
With respect to claim 11, Singh ‘723 teaches where a ratio of the second width to the first width is between about 2 and about 4 ([0042-0043]).
With respect to claim 16, Singh ‘723 teaches (FIGs. 1, 5A, and 5B) an integrated circuit (IC) chip substantially as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (110, 114, 116, and 120) ([0015]) comprising:
a device region (110) ([0015]),
a ring region (114 and 116) surrounding the device region (110) ([0015]), and
four corner regions (although only one corner is shown in the upper left of semiconductor device 500 in FIG. 5B, said semiconductor device 500 may be a rectangle having four corners) disposed at outer corners of the ring region (114 and 116) ([0027, 0043]);
an interconnect structure (122, 124, 126, and 128) disposed on the substrate (110, 114, 116, and 120) ([0015]) and comprising:
a first region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in device region 110) directly over the device region (110) ([0015]), and
a second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) directly over the ring region (114 and 116) ([0015]);
a first passivation layer (140) disposed over the interconnect structure (122, 124, 126, and 128) ([0020]);
a second passivation layer (142) disposed over the first passivation layer (140) ([0020]);
a first contact via (130 under 154a) embedded in the first passivation layer (140) ([0015]);
a first contact pad ring (154a) disposed on the first contact via (130 under 154a) and the first passivation layer (140) ([0015]); and
a polymer layer (160 and 162) disposed on an inner portion of the second passivation layer (142) but not on an outer portion of the second passivation layer ([0020]),
wherein the outer portion of the second passivation layer (142) vertically overlaps the second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) ([0020]),
wherein the polymer layer (160 and 162) does not vertically overlap the four corner regions ([0020, 0027, 0043]),
wherein, in a top view, the first contact pad ring (154a) comprises four cut-off corners (FIG. 5B shows first contact pad ring 554a having cut-off corners; first contact pad ring 554a corresponds to first contact pad ring 154a) corresponding to the four corner regions ([0043]),
wherein the polymer layer (160 and 162) completely overlaps the first contact pad ring (154a) ([0020, 0028]),
wherein the second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) comprises a first seal ring wall (125a) ([0017]),
wherein the first seal ring wall (125a) includes an inner wall surface (see annotated FIG. 1 above) and an outer wall surface (see annotated FIG. 1 above) ([0017]),
wherein the inner wall surface includes innermost metal lines (see annotated FIG. 1 above) and innermost via bars (see annotated FIG. 1 above) ([0017]), and
wherein the outer wall surface includes outermost metal lines (see annotated FIG. 1 above) and outermost via bars (see annotated FIG. 1 above) ([0017]).
Thus, Singh ‘723 is shown to teach all features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the first contact via is a first contact via ring;
wherein the polymer layer comprises a rectangular shape in a top view;
wherein innermost sidewalls of the innermost metal lines and the innermost via bars are vertically aligned; and
wherein outermost sidewalls of the outermost metal lines and the outermost via bars are vertically aligned.
However, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a contact via ring (portion of 47 embedded in first passivation layer 21) and a contact pad ring (portion of 47 above the first passivation layer 21) formed as a single element completely surrounding a device region (12) ([0113]) to prevent moisture and impurities from entering said device region ([0012, 0033]). When applied to the IC chip of Singh ‘723, this would result in the first contact via becoming a first contact via ring.
Further, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a polymer layer (23) comprising a rectangular shape in a top view such that the polymer layer does not vertically overlap corner regions to permit contact to be made to a contact via ring (portion of 47 embedded in first passivation layer 21) ([0114, 0204]). Still further, such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Still further, Liang ‘332 teaches (FIG. 1B) seal ring structures (30, e.g. 33) wherein innermost sidewalls of innermost metal lines (e.g. 54) and innermost via bars (e.g. 56V and 56R) are vertically aligned, and wherein outermost sidewalls of outermost metal lines (e.g. 54) and outermost via bars (e.g. 56V and 56R) are vertically aligned (col. 2, ln. 41-59; col. 6, ln. 7-51) to avoid metal dishing issues, to provide enough mechanical robustness, and to maintain sufficient moisture blocking ability at the same time (col. 2, ln. 18-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first contact via of Singh ‘723 as a first contact via ring as taught by Miki ‘178 to prevent moisture and impurities from entering the device region; to have formed the polymer layer of Singh ‘723 comprising a rectangular shape in a top view as taught by Miki ‘178 to permit contact to be made to the contact via ring and because such a modification would have involved a mere, obvious change in shape of a component; and to have formed innermost sidewalls of the innermost metal lines and the innermost via bars, and outermost sidewalls of the outermost metal lines and the outermost via bars of Singh ‘723 vertically aligned as taught by Liang ‘332 to avoid metal dishing issues, to provide enough mechanical robustness, and to maintain sufficient moisture blocking ability at the same time.
With respect to claim 17, Singh ‘723 teaches wherein the first passivation layer (140) and the second passivation layer (142) comprise undoped silicate glass (USG), silicon nitride, silicon oxide, or silicon oxynitride ([0030-0031]), and wherein the polymer layer (160 and 162) comprises epoxy, polyimide (PI), benzocyclobutene (BCB), or polybenzoxazole (PBO) ([0021, 0028]).
With respect to claim 18, Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, and Liang ‘332 teach the device as described in claim 16 above, with primary reference Singh ‘723 teaching the additional limitation further comprising: a second contact via (130 under 154b) embedded in the first passivation layer (140); and a second contact pad ring (154b) disposed on the first passivation layer and the second contact via, wherein the second contact pad ring surrounds the first contact pad ring (154a) ([0015, 0020]).
Thus, Singh ‘723 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the second contact via is a second contact via ring; and
wherein a corner of the polymer layer vertically overlaps a portion of the second contact pad ring.
However, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a contact via ring (portion of 47 embedded in first passivation layer 21) and a contact pad ring (portion of 47 above the first passivation layer 21) formed as a single element completely surrounding a device region (12), wherein a corner of a polymer layer (23) vertically overlaps with a portion of said contact pad ring ([0113-0114, 0204]) to prevent moisture and impurities from entering said device region ([0012, 0033]). When applied to the IC chip of Singh ‘723, this would result in the second contact via becoming a second contact via ring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second contact via of Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, and Liang ‘332 as a second contact via ring, wherein a corner of the polymer layer vertically overlaps a portion of the second contact pad ring as taught by Miki ‘178 to prevent moisture and impurities from entering the device region.
With respect to claim 19, Singh ‘723 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 5A) wherein the inner portion completely overlaps the first contact pad ring (154a) vertically, and wherein the first contact pad ring is disposed over the first seal ring wall (125a), wherein an edge of the first contact pad ring extends beyond the inner wall surface (see element 554a in FIG. 5A corresponding to the first contact ring 154a extending beyond an inner wall surface) ([0015]).
With respect to claim 20, Singh ‘723 teaches wherein the inner portion does not overlap at least a portion of the second contact pad ring (154b) vertically ([0015]).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, and Liang ‘332 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Chu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0186732, hereinafter Chu ‘732) of record.
With respect to claim 12, Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, and Liang ‘332 teach the device as described in claim 9 above, with primary reference Singh ‘723 teaching the additional limitation wherein the second region (122, 124, 126, and 128 disposed in ring region 114 and 116) further comprises: a second seal ring wall (125b) surrounding the first seal ring wall (125a); and a third seal ring wall (interconnect structure 122, 124, 126, and 128 under contact pad ring 156) surrounding the second seal ring wall ([0017]).
Thus, Singh ‘723 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of a fourth seal ring wall surrounding the third seal ring wall.
However, Chu ‘732 teaches (FIG. 4A) a fourth seal ring wall (146d) surrounding a third seal ring wall (146c) ([0025]) to protect an IC chip from a die saw or diffusing gases ([0016]) and to deliver improved reliability and performance ([0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the IC chip of Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, and Liang ‘332 further comprising a fourth seal ring wall surrounding the third seal ring wall as taught by Chu ‘732 to protect the IC chip from a die saw or diffusing gases, and to deliver improved reliability and performance.
With respect to claim 13, Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, Liang ‘332, and Chu ‘732 teach the device as described in claim 12 above, with primary reference Singh ‘723 teaching the additional limitation further comprising: a first contact via (130 under 154a) extending through the first passivation layer (140) to vertically couple the first contact pad ring (154a) and a top metal layer of the first seal ring wall (125a).
Thus, Singh ‘723 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of wherein the first contact via is a first contact via ring.
However, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a contact via ring (portion of 47 embedded in first passivation layer 21) and a contact pad ring (portion of 47 above the first passivation layer 21) formed as a single element completely surrounding a device region (12) ([0113]) to prevent moisture and impurities from entering said device region ([0012, 0033]). When applied to the IC chip of Singh ‘723, this would result in the first contact via becoming a first contact via ring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first contact via of Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, Liang ‘332, and Chu ‘732 as a first contact via ring as taught by Miki ‘178 to prevent moisture and impurities from entering the device region.
With respect to claim 14, Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, Liang ‘332, and Chu ‘732 teach the device as described in claim 13 above, with primary reference Singh ‘723 teaching the additional limitation further comprising: a second contact pad ring (156) disposed on the first passivation layer (140) and surrounding the first contact via ring (130 under 154a); and a second contact via (130 under 156) extending through the first passivation layer to vertically couple the second contact pad ring to a top metal layer of the third seal ring wall (interconnect structure 122, 124, 126, and 128 under contact pad ring 156) ([0015]).
Thus, Singh ‘723 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the second contact via is a second contact via ring; and
wherein a corner of the polymer layer overlaps with a portion of the second contact pad ring.
However, Miki ‘178 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 2A) a contact via ring (portion of 47 embedded in first passivation layer 21) and a contact pad ring (portion of 47 above the first passivation layer 21) formed as a single element completely surrounding a device region (12) wherein a corner of a polymer layer (23) vertically overlaps with a portion of said contact pad ring ([0113-0114, 0204]) to prevent moisture and impurities from entering said device region ([0012, 0033]). When applied to the IC chip of Singh ‘723, this would result in the second contact via becoming a second contact via ring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second contact via of Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, Liang ‘332, and Chu ‘732 as a second contact via ring, wherein a corner of the polymer layer overlaps with a portion of the second contact pad ring as taught by Miki ‘178 to prevent moisture and impurities from entering the device region.
With respect to claim 15, Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, Liang ‘332, and Chu ‘732 teach the device as described in claim 14 above, but primary reference Singh ‘723 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the second contact pad ring comprises a groove directly over the second contact via ring.
However, Chu ‘732 teaches (FIG. 4A) a contact pad ring (406) comprising a groove directly over a contact via ring (408) as a byproduct of forming said contact pad ring and said contact via ring as a single element with said contact via ring being embedded in a first passivation layer (148a) ([0042]). Moreover, such a groove aids in alignment and adhesion of overlying layers because of the greater surface area provided by said groove.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second contact pad ring of Singh ‘723, Miki ‘178, Liang ‘332, and Chu ‘732 comprising a groove directly over the second contact via ring as taught by Chu ‘732 as a byproduct of forming said second contact pad ring and said first contact via ring as a single element with said first contact via ring being embedded in a first passivation layer, and to aid in alignment and adhesion of overlying layers because of the greater surface area provided by said groove.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-8 made in the final rejection filed 2 December 2025. See reasons for allowance below. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-8 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to teach the integrated circuit (IC) chip of claim 1 in the combination of limitations as claimed, noting particularly the newly-presented limitation of the claim, “wherein the polymer layer comprises a depression ring and the depression ring is disposed over the first contact pad ring.”
Singh ‘723 in view of Miki ‘178 represent the closest prior art of record. See the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 made in the final rejection filed 2 December 2025. However, Singh ‘723 is silent to wherein the polymer layer comprises a depression ring and the depression ring is disposed over the first contact pad ring. Although Singh ‘723 teaches a depression over a contact pad (150), said depression is not disposed over the first contact pad ring (154a). Miki ‘178 fails to cure this deficiency. There is no suggestion in the related prior art of record to form a depression ring in the polymer layer, wherein the depression ring is disposed over a first contact pad ring.
Claims 2-8 are allowed based merely upon their dependencies from allowed claim 1.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893