DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 02/20/2026.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-17, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 8, 18 and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-23 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19 filed on 02/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments were drawn to newly added features to independent claims, which have been addressed in the instant office action with newly identified prior art, Wong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329716, hereinafter “Wong”), thus rendering Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because it contains the redundant term “wherein” (i.e., “wherein wherein”. This typographical error renders the claim language indefinite and unclear.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19 and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the features of claims 1-20 of recited in the instant application are transparently found in the Application U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548 with obvious wording variations; they are substantially similar in scope.
The independent claims 1, 17 and 19 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the independent claims 1, 17 and 19 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548. For example,
The instant application
U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
1. (Currently Amended) A device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
receiving extension information at a first distributed carrier core network component in a distributed carrier core network component group of distributed carrier core network components deployed in a public mobile network, wherein the extension information indicates a first set of allowed user equipment identifiers of a corresponding first set of user equipment, and wherein the first set of user equipment includes at least one user equipment that is connected to a first private core network component deployed in a first non-public mobile network that is permitted to gain an access to a resource connected to a second private core network component deployed in a second non-public mobile network;
determining, based on the extension information, connection information enabling an implementation of a connection between the first private core network component and the second private core network component, wherein the connection information defines a connection route between the first private core network component and the second private core network component via the first distributed carrier core network component to extend the access to the resource only for the first set of user equipment while prohibiting the access to the resource from a second set of user equipment not associated with the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers; and
causing dynamically the implementation of the connection route between the first private core network component and the second private core network component via the first distributed carrier core network component based on the connection information, wherein the connection route permits the corresponding first set of user equipment to access the resource.
1. A device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving extension information at a carrier core network component of public mobile network,
wherein the extension information indicates an extension value related to extending access to a resource via a private core network component of a non-public mobile network;
determining, based on the extension information, connection information enabling implementation of a connection between the private core network component and a core network component, other than the private cores network component, to facilitate the access to the resource via the core network component and the private core network component; and
causing the implementation of the connection between the private core network component and the core network component based on the connection information, wherein the connection complies with the extension value.
Regarding claim 1, the difference is related to the current application including limitations related to “connection information enabling an implementation of a connection between the first private core network component and the second private core network component, wherein the connection information defines a connection route between the first private core network component and the second private core network component via the first distributed carrier core network component to extend the access to the resource only for the first set of user equipment while prohibiting the access to the resource from a second set of user equipment not associated with the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers”. Such limitations are disclosed in the prior art by Wong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329716). (FIG. 1, paragraphs [0006-0008, 0017, 0042, 0047, and 0072] of Wong).
The limitations of claim 2 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 2 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 3 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 3 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 4 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 4 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 5 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 5 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 6 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 6 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 7 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 7 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 9 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 9 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 10 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 10 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 11 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 11 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 12 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 12 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 13 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 14 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 15 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 15 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 16 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 16 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548.
The limitations of claim 21-23 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the dependent claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,250,548. The difference is related to the current application including limitations related to “existing hard connection”. Such limitations are disclosed in the prior art by Prabhakar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210211975). (paragraph [0167] of Prabhakar).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7, 9-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220201593, hereinafter “Baek”) in view of Wong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329716, hereinafter “Wong”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Baek unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, Baek teaches A device (FIG. 9 and para [0103]: FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating a structure of a network entity), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 9 and para [0104]: a controller 920); and
a memory (FIG. 9 and para [0104]: a storage unit 930)that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (para [0104-0106]: The controller 920 may control an overall operation of the network entity … so that an operation according to the described flowchart is performed.), the operations comprising:
receiving extension information at a first distributed carrier core network component in a distributed carrier core network component group of distributed carrier core network components deployed in a public mobile network (Para [0010]: providing, by an application function (AF) operated by an NPN service provider, a smart factory operator, etc., UDM or a UDR with subscription data (interpreted as “receiving extension information at a first distributed carrier core network component”) necessary for a private cellular network and deleting subscription data and a scheme for providing a corresponding terminal with subscription data (NPN subscription data)) (The UDM or UDR is interpreted as “a first distributed carrier core network component in a distributed carrier core network component group of distributed carrier core network components deployed in a public mobile network”, see Fig. 2) (FIG. 2 and para [0034]: Each of standalone NPN #1 210 and NPN #2 220 is a cellular network having a standalone NPN form which is operated by a public cellular network operator.) (Examiner’s note: The Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) illustrated in FIG. 2 comprises a distributed carrier core network component group of distributed carrier core network components (see FIG.2).),
wherein the extension information indicates a first set of user equipment identifiers of a corresponding set of user equipment (para [0050-0056]: As in FIG. 2, in the case of an NPN having a standalone NPN form, the contents of some or all of the following items are included in the NPN subscription data (interpreted as “extension information”). A subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a UE. A generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of a UE. A NPN ID list accessible to a UE. In this case, a PLMN ID may also be included. Subscription credentials to be used for authentication upon access of a UE in a corresponding NPN for each NPN (or for each NPN ID). A human readable network name of an NPN available for a UE. A period in which the NPN subscription data is valid: ), and wherein the first set of user equipment includes at least one user equipment that is connected to a first private core network component deployed in a first non-public mobile network that is permitted to gain an access to a resource connected to a second private core network component deployed in a nonpublic mobile network (para [0014]: a network entity of a first standalone non-public network (SNPN) for a mobile communication system includes a transceiver transmitting and receiving signals and a controller connected to the transceiver. The controller is configured to receive, from a UE, a registration request message for accessing a first SNPN, complete registration of the UE based on the registration request message (interpreted as “the first set of user equipment includes at least one user equipment that is connected to a first private core network component deployed in a first non-public mobile network”, see Fig. 2, private core network components in NPN #1), receive, from the UE, a packet data unit (PDU) session request message to request the establishment of a PDU session with the first SNPN, establish the PDU session in response to the PDU session request message, transmit, to the UE, SNPN subscription data including a subscription credential of the UE for a second SNPN (interpreted as “a second private core network component deployed in a nonpublic mobile network”, see Fig. 2, private core network components in NPN #2 ) through the PDU session established in response to the PDU session request message (interpreted as “an access to a resource connected to a second private core network component deployed in a nonpublic mobile network”)
(para [0043]: the Indication indicating whether a UE can be accessed only in an allowed CAG cell (interpreted as “only for the first set of user equipment while prohibiting the access to the resource from a second set of user equipment not associated with the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers”)
(The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Wong.) ; and
(The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Wong.)
As noted above, Baek discloses a wireless communication system including private wireless networks (NPNs) and a resource management architecture for managing resources (see FIGs 1&2 and paragraphs [0028-0038] of Baek). However, Baek does not explicitly teach the “the connection information defines a connection route between the first private core network component and the second private core network component via the first distributed carrier core network component to extend the access to the resource only for the first set of user equipment” as recited in amended claim 1.
Wong discloses a communication system comprising a first private wireless network (serving SNPN) and a second private wireless network (home SNPN) for supporting roaming of the user equipment (see para [0005] of Wong).
Wong teaches the determining, based on the extension information, connection information enabling an implementation of a connection between the first private core network component and the second private core network component (para [0065] of Wong: In one embodiment, to establish a wireless communication link between the communication device 121 and the private wireless network 191 while the communication device 121 is roaming and out of range with respect to the second private wireless network 192 and corresponding one or more wireless base stations, the communication device 121 communicates a communication link request to the wireless base station 131 of the first private wireless network 191 via wireless communication link 127.) (para [0068] ow Wong: the request from the communication device 121 to establish a respective wireless communication link includes an identity (such as the unique device identifier value UDIV1=XXXX) of the communication device 121.) (para [0069] of Wong: Via the unique device identifier value=XXXX and potentially other credentials as well associated with the communication device 121, the communication management resource 142 determines that the communication device 121 is an authorized member of the second private wireless network 192.) (para [0070] of Wong: the communication management resource 142 in the second private wireless network 192 retrieves (such as via communications with the communication management resource 141 in the first private wireless network 191) a unique network identifier value (UNIV1=AAAA) (interpreted as “extension information”) assigned to the first private network 191.) (para [0072]: Via the unique network identifier value (such as received value=UNIV1=AAAA) (interpreted as “based on the extension information”), the communication management resource 142 detects that the first private wireless network 191 has an association (according to a roaming support agreement) with the second wireless network 192 and that the communication device 121 should be provided requested wireless services.) (para [0073] of Wong: Based on the detected association, and that the first private wireless network 191 is a roaming partner with respect to the private wireless network 191, the communication management resource 142 in the second private wireless network 192 supports communication services between the communication device 121 and the remote communication device via a communication path 175 extending through a combination of the first private wireless network 191 and the second private wireless network 192. (interpreted as “determining, based on the extension information, connection information enabling an implementation of a connection between the first private core network component and the second private core network component”)) (para [0074] of Wong: In such an instance, the communication path 175 (interpreted as “connection information”) between the communication device 121 and communication device 122 includes connectivity provided by multiple resources including wireless base station 131, private wireless network 191, private wireless network 192, remote network 190, and wireless base station 133.), wherein the connection information defines a connection route between the first private core network component and the second private core network component via the first distributed carrier core network component to extend the access to the resource only for the first set of user equipment (para [0074] of Wong: In such an instance, the communication path 175 between the communication device 121 and communication device 122 includes connectivity provided by multiple resources including wireless base station 131, private wireless network 191, private wireless network 192, remote network 190, and wireless base station 133.) (para [0017] of Wong: The unique network identifier value assigned to the first private wireless network can be any suitable value and retrieved from any suitable resource. In one embodiment, the unique network identifier value is a PLMNID (Public Land Mobile Network IDentifier) (interpreted as “via the first distributed carrier core network component”) and NID (Network IDentifier) assigned to the first private wireless network.) while prohibiting the access to the resource from a second set of user equipment not associated with the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers (para [0042] of Wong: The communication management resource resides in a second private wireless network (such as a second private 5G network) to which the user of the user equipment is a member (such as an employee). The request requests use of roaming services provided by the first private wireless network to connect the user equipment to a remote communication device.); and
causing dynamically the implementation of the connection route between the first private core network component and the second private core network component based on the connection information, wherein the connection route permits the corresponding first set of user equipment to access the resource (para [0072] of Wong: Via the unique network identifier value (such as received value=UNIV1=AAAA), the communication management resource 142 detects that the first private wireless network 191 has an association (according to a roaming support agreement) with the second wireless network 192 and that the communication device 121 should be provided requested wireless services. In one embodiment, the communication management resource 142 performs a look-up in table 165 (policy information) to determine if the private wireless network 192 is authorized to support roaming services to members of the second private wireless network 192.).
Baek teaches an architecture for managing “NPN subscription data (which corresponds to the claimed “extension information”). As disclosed in Baek, paragraphs [0050-0056], this subscription data includes a set of allowed user equipment identifiers (e.g., SUPI, GPSI) along with a list of authorized private networks (NPN IDs/PLMN Id) the UE is allowed to access. Thus Baek clearly teaches extension information that indicates a set of allowed UE identifiers and their access polices.
Wong teaches a system for establishing a communication path between two disparate private wireless networks (e.g., roaming between a serving(visited) SNPN and a home SNPN). Wong discloses that when a UE requests a link, the home network’s communication management resource evaluates both the UE’s identifier (UDIV1) and the visited network’s unique network identifier (UNIV1) against “policy information” (e.g., table 165 in Fig. 1 of Wong) to determine authorization. Based on this look-up, it established a communication path between the private wireless networks (see paragraphs [0068-0075] of Wong)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to technically combine theses teaching by utilizing the centralized “NPN subscription data” of Baek as the “policy information” (Table 165) required by Wong. Such a combination would allow for a more robust management of wireless resources across multiple private network environments via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), thereby enhancing roaming capabilities and service continuity as demonstrated in Wong. In the combined system, the NPN subscription data of Baek (the extension information indicating allowed UEs and accessible NPNs) serves as the foundational policy rule. When a roaming request is initiated, the system receives the visited network’s unique network identifier (UNIV1 of Wong). The system then compare this network identifier against the NPN subscription data (of Baek) of the requesting UE. By executing this evaluation-determining whether the UE’s extension information permits a connection to the network identified by UNIV1-the system inevitably “determines connection information” (i.e., routing authorization and parameters) that “enables an implementation of a connection between the first private core network component and the second private core network component,” exactly as claimed. The motivation to combine Baek and Wong is to provide a robust, standardized, and centrally managed access control mechanism (using Baek’s UDM/UDR subscription data management) to govern the dynamic inter-network path establishment taught by Wong. The correlation is direct: Baek provide rule (extension information/subscription data), and Wong provides the execution (evaluating the network ID against the rule to implement the connection). This is a predictable use of prior art element according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method claim corresponding to the device claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, it is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (see para [0024] of Wong) claim corresponding to the method claim 17, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 17.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek further teaches wherein the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers is specified by an operator of the non-public mobile network (Para [0010]: providing, by an application function (AF) operated by an NPN service provider, a smart factory operator, etc., UDM or a UDR with subscription data necessary for a private cellular network and deleting subscription data and a scheme for providing a corresponding terminal with subscription data (NPN subscription data))(para [0039-0049]: That is, as in FIG. 1, in the case of an NPN having a public NW integrated NPN form, the contents of some or all of the following items are included in the NPN subscription data (interpreted as “extension information”). A subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a UE. A generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of a UE. An allowed closed access group (CAG) list or a list of allowed CAG IDs which may be accessed by a UE. In this case, a PLMN ID may also be included (interpreted as “the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers”. Indication indicating whether a UE can be accessed only in an allowed CAG cell. A list of single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) available for an NPN by a UE. A data network name (DNN) available for an NPN by a UE. A human readable network name available for an NPN by a UE. For example, a human readable network name corresponding to each S-NSSAI or each DNN, or mapping information between S-NSSAI and a human readable network name, or mapping information between a DNN and a human readable network name. A period in which the NPN subscription data is valid:).
Regarding claim 3, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, wherein Baek further teaches
the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers corresponds to determining a permission for a first user equipment to access the resource via the first distributed carrier core network component (para [0039-0042]: That is, as in FIG. 1, in the case of an NPN having a public NW integrated NPN form, the contents of some or all of the following items are included in the NPN subscription data (interpreted as “extension information”). A subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a UE. A generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of a UE. An allowed closed access group (CAG) list or a list of allowed CAG IDs which may be accessed by a UE. In this case, a PLMN ID may also be included. Indication indicating whether a UE can be accessed only in an allowed CAG cell.).
Regarding claim 4, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, wherein Wong further teaches
the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers corresponds to a security measure to implement relative to accessing the resource via the first distributed core network component (para [0039-0042]: That is, as in FIG. 1, in the case of an NPN having a public NW integrated NPN form, the contents of some or all of the following items are included in the NPN subscription data (interpreted as “extension information”). A subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a UE. A generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of a UE. An allowed closed access group (CAG) list or a list of allowed CAG IDs which may be accessed by a UE. In this case, a PLMN ID may also be included. Indication indicating whether a UE can be accessed only in an allowed CAG cell.) (interpreted as “a security measure to implement relative to accessing the resource via the core network component”).
Regarding claim 5, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek further teaches wherein the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers corresponds to a provisioning characteristic of the connection route between the first private core network component and another core network component to facilitate the access to the resource (para [0039-0042]: That is, as in FIG. 1, in the case of an NPN having a public NW integrated NPN form, the contents of some or all of the following items are included in the NPN subscription data (interpreted as “extension information”). A subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of a UE. A generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of a UE. An allowed closed access group (CAG) list or a list of allowed CAG IDs which may be accessed by a UE. In this case, a PLMN ID may also be included. Indication indicating whether a UE can be accessed only in an allowed CAG cell.) (the PLMN ID is interpreted as “a provisioning characteristic of the connection route”, see para [0025] of instant specification: where DCCNC 112 can enable extension of access to resources associated with PCNC 122 via the connection of DCCNC 112 and PCNC 122, the access can be in accord with rules, settings, etc., dictated by a private entity corresponding to PCNC 122. In an example, an entity can indicate identifiers, such as a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identifier (PLMN-ID), etc., that can be associated with SIMs for UEs that can be permitted to access resources affiliated with PCNC 122.”).
Regarding claim 6, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek further teaches wherein the first distributed carrier core network component is embodied in a conventional carrier core network component that has been modified (para [0028]: Referring to FIG. 1, the private communication network architecture having a public NW integrated NPN form has a form in which some of a public cellular network consisting of a data network name (DNN) or network slice instance(s) of the public cellular network is used for an NPN.), and wherein the receiving of the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers at the conventional carrier core network component comprises receiving the first set of allowed user equipment identifiers at an allocator component that has been added to the conventional carrier core network component as part of a modification of the conventional carrier core network component (Para [0029]; selects an access and mobility management function (AMF) 120 capable of serving the S-NSSAI(s) transmitted by the UE 110. The selected AMF 120 (interpreted as “an allocator component that has been added to the conventional carrier core network component as part of a modification of the conventional carrier core network component”) selects a session management function (SMF) 130 corresponding to the S-NSSAI(s) information. The SMF provides a corresponding NPN service, such as by selecting a user plane function (UPF) 140 corresponding to the network slice instance(s) or a DNN..).
Regarding claim 7, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Wong further teaches wherein the connection route facilitates the access to the resource via a carrier radio access network connected to the first distributed carrier core network component (para [0080] of Wong: As shown, private wireless network 191 and corresponding communication management resource 141 includes hardware and software resources such as V-NSSF (Visited-Network Slice Selection Function), V-PCF (Visited—Policy Control Function), AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function), V-SMF (Visited—Session Management Function), RAN (Radio Access Network), and UPF (User Plane Function).).
Regarding claim 9, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Wong further teaches wherein the connection route being via the first distributed carrier core network component further extends the access to the resource to be via a radio access network affiliated with the first distributed carrier core network component (para [0017] of Wong: The unique network identifier value assigned to the first private wireless network can be any suitable value and retrieved from any suitable resource. In one embodiment, the unique network identifier value is a PLMNID (Public Land Mobile Network IDentifier) and NID (Network IDentifier) assigned to the first private wireless network.) (para [0018] of Wong: the communication management resource uses the unique network identifier value as a basis to determine whether the user equipment (known to be a member of the second private wireless network) is entitled to use the requested communications services as specified by the request.) (para [0080] of Wong: As shown, private wireless network 191 and corresponding communication management resource 141 includes hardware and software resources such as V-NSSF (Visited-Network Slice Selection Function), V-PCF (Visited—Policy Control Function), AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function), V-SMF (Visited—Session Management Function), RAN (Radio Access Network), and UPF (User Plane Function).).
Regarding claim 10, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek further teaches wherein the first distributed carrier core network component is operated by a first carrier entity (Para [0009]; A private cellular network may include a private cellular network using a public cellular network having a public network integrated NPN (or a non-standalone NPN) form, which consists of a data network name (DNN) or network slice instance(s) of the public cellular network, and a cellular network having a standalone NPN form, which is autonomously operated by a private cellular network without association with a public cellular network, depending on its operating method. Alternatively, there may be a cellular network having a standalone NPN form, which is operated by a public cellular network operator (interpreted as “a first carrier entity”).)
Regarding claim 11, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 10, Baek further teaches wherein the second private core network component (FIG. 2 of Baek, AMF in PLMN’s SNPN #3) is operated by a second carrier entity that is a different carrier entity than the first carrier entity (Para [0034]; In FIG. 2, a standalone NPN #3 230 is a cellular network having standalone NPN form which is autonomously operated by a private cellular network without association with a public cellular network.)
Regarding claim 12, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 10, Baek further teaches wherein wherein the second private core network component (FIG. 2 of Baek, AMF in PLMN’s SNPN #2) is operated by a second carrier entity that is a same carrier entity as the first carrier entity (Para [0034] of Baek; Each of standalone NPN #1 210 and NPN #2 220 is a cellular network having a standalone NPN form which is operated by a public cellular network operator.)
Regarding claim 13, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Wong further teaches wherein the connection route further extends the access to the resource to be via a radio access network affiliated with the first private core network component (para [0074] of Wong: In such an instance, the communication path 175 between the communication device 121 and communication device 122 includes connectivity provided by multiple resources including wireless base station 131 (interpreted as “ a radio access network affiliated with the first private core network component”, see Fig. 1), private wireless network 191, private wireless network 192, remote network 190, and wireless base station 133)
.
Regarding claim 14, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Wong further teaches
wherein the connection route further extends the access to the resource to be via a first radio access network affiliated with the first private core network component, and wherein the connection route also further extends the access to the resource to be via a second radio access network affiliated with the second private core network component (See Fig. 1 and para [0074]: (para [0074] of Wong: In such an instance, the communication path 175 between the communication device 121 and communication device 122 includes connectivity provided by multiple resources including wireless base station 131 (interpreted as “first radio access network”, see Fig. 1), private wireless network 191, private wireless network 192, remote network 190, and wireless base station 133(interpreted as “second radio access network”, see Fig. 1)).
Claim 15-16 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Wong, and further in view of Prabhakar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210211975).
Regarding claim 15, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek and Wong fail to explicitly teach wherein the first and second private core networks are operated by a same private network entity.
Prabhakar teaches the first and second private core networks are operated by a same private network entity (Para [0189] of Prabhakar; multiple NPNs or SNPNs may be associated with or correspond to a single entity or enterprise, with those multiple different NPNs or SNPNs deployed at a location or locations and/or region(s) identified by the same PLMN ID.).
Baek, Wong and Prabhakar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Non-Public Wireless Communication Networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a combination of Baek and Wong to incorporate the teachings of Prabhakar and provide operation of the multiple NPN by a same private network entity.
Regarding claim 16, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek and Wong fail to explicitly teach wherein the first and second private core networks are operated by a different private network entities
Prabhakar teaches the first and second private core networks are operated by a different private network entities (Para [0173] of Prabhakar; three universities may each have an SNPN, denoted by SNPN1, SNPN2, and SNPN3 in a region identified by the same PLMN ID, and the universities may also have shared resources to which students are provided access.).
Baek, Wong and Prabhakar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Non-Public Wireless Communication Networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a combination of Baek and Wong to incorporate the teachings of Prabhakar and provide operation of the multiple NPN by a different private network entity.
Regarding claim 21, Baek and Wong teach The device of claim 1, Baek and Wong do not explicitly teach wherein the connection route is provisioned via an existing hard connection.
Prabhakar discloses the use of wired and Wi-Fi networks in the context of private mobile network deployments (para [0167] of Prabhakar: Such private mobile networks are designed and deployed specifically for enterprise users to provide opportunities to optimize and redefine business processes in ways that are either impractical or not possible within the limitations of wired and Wi-Fi networks. Under the neutral host model, the independent third-party (e.g. private or non-public) host assumes all financial, regulatory, legal and technical responsibility for deploying, installing and maintaining the system.). Prabhakar acknowledges that wired networks serve as a foundational infrastructure for business processes and communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the communication path established by the combination of Baek and Wong to be provisioned via an existing hard connection, as taught by Prabhakar. Incorporating an existing hard (wired) connection into the roaming path between private networks is a matter of design choice and a standard engineering practice to provide a reliable or interconnect between disparate network entities. Thus, modifying the routing path of Wong to utilize an existing wired (hard) connection as suggested by Prabhakar is a straightforward application of known infrastructure technologies to enhance the reliability of the private network interconnection.
Regarding claim 22, Baek, Wong, and Prabhakar teach The device of claim 21, Prabhakar teaches wherein the existing hard connection is a non-dedicated connection between the first private core network component and the second private core network component.
Prabhakar disclosed that private mobile new3orks are optimized to operate within the infrastructure of existing wired networks and discusses neutral host models where infrastructure (e.g., DAS, small cells) is shared among multiple operators or services (see para [0167] of Prabhakar).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the hard connection between core network components as a “non-dedicated connection” (e.g., a shred network), as suggested by the neutral host and shared infrastructure models taught in Prabhakar. In modern telecommunications, utilizing non-dedicated (shared) connections for interconnecting core network components is a well-known engineering practice to enhance scalability, reduce deployment costs, and improve infrastructure utilization. The modification of the physical link to be non-dedicated is a predictable variation that achieves predicable results (cost efficiency and shared resource utilization) and does not provide an unexpected technical effect beyond the standard capabilities of such shared infrastructure.
Regarding claim 23, Claim 23, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 21, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 21.
Conclusion
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411