DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15, 18-19, 21-22 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haschen (20050255220).
Haschen teaches a process of making a protein-containing feedstuff, said process comprising:
(i) mixing (par. 0031) (a) at least one protein feed material (par. 0031; corn distillers grain; CP) with (b) added methionine (par. 0032 soybean meal comprising methionine table 1), to obtain a mixture (par. 0031-0032, par. 0058) and
(ii) (ii) drying said mixture (par. 0059), to obtain said protein-containing feedstuff (par. 0035, 0069), wherein:
the protein-containing feedstuff comprises the added methionine (relative obtained mixture) in an amount of not less than 1 gram of methionine per 100 grams of protein in the protein feed material (table 1; 30.3% protein of 52% of mixture corn distillers grain: 52x.303= 15.6% of mixture protein of distiller grain; soybean meal comprises .83% methionine thus relative soybean meal being 48% of the mixture, par. 0031, 48 x .0083= .398 of mixture added methionine; .398 methionine added per 15.6% protein of distillers grain= .398/15.6=.0255 x 100=2.55; alternatively 100/15.6=6.41; .398x6.41=2.55) and
the protein-containing feedstuff comprises at least 20 wt. % protein on a dry matter basis (table 1 distiller grain 30.3% protein).
said at least one protein feed material comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of distillers grains (par. 0031 corn distillers grain), and
wherein said added methionine (par. 0032 soybean meal comprising methionine table 1) does not include any methionine which is naturally occurring in the protein of said protein feed material (table 1; methionine of soybean meal not corn distillers grain, i.e. added to a) protein feed material).
Claim 13, said drying is conducted with heating (par. 0059).
Claim 14, said protein-containing feedstuff has a moisture content between 0 and 20 wt. %, based on the total weight of said protein- containing feedstuff (par. 0061; DM after processing).
Claim 15, wherein said (a) protein feed material and said (b) added methionine are mixed in relative amounts such that a ratio of methionine to protein in said protein feed material is 2 to 10 grams of methionine to 100 grams of protein in said protein feed material (table 1; 30.3% protein of 52% of mixture corn distillers grain: 52x.303= 15.6% of mixture protein of distiller grain; soybean meal comprises .83% methionine thus relative soybean meal being 48% of the mixture, par. 0031, 48 x .0083= .398 of mixture added methionine; .398 methionine added per 15.6% protein of distillers grain= .398/15.6=.0255 x 100=2.55; alternatively 100/15.6=6.41; .398x6.41=2.55).
Claim 18, said at least one protein feed material comprises corn distillers grains (par. 0031).
Claim 19, wherein said at least one protein feed material comprises corn distillers grains plus solubles (par. 0031).
Claim 21, said protein feed material has a moisture content between 10 and 90 wt. %, based on the total weight of said protein feed material (table 1; par. 0061).
Claim 22, said drying comprises exposing said mixture to an atmosphere having a temperature of 80C (176F) to 600°C (par. 0059).
Claim 24, said drying comprises exposing said mixture to an atmosphere having a temperature of 80 (176F) to 250°C (par. 0059).
Claim 25, said drying comprises exposing said mixture to an atmosphere having a temperature of 80C (176F) to 150°C (par. 0059).
Claim 26, said drying comprises exposing said mixture to an atmosphere having a temperature of 150C (302F) to 250°C (482F) (table 17).
Claim 27, said protein-containing feedstuff has a moisture content of 0 to 19 wt. %, based on the total weight of said protein- containing feedstuff (par. 0061).
Claim 28, a protein-containing feedstuff, which is prepared by a process according to claim 12 (par. 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haschen (20050255220) in view of Miller et al. (20110236559).
Haschen is taken as above.
Haschen teaches distillers grains for the production of feed, including corn distillers grains and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of corn distiller grains for feed as taught by Miller.
Miller further the distillers grain obtained as ethanol by-products employing a starting starch bearing grain including corn (par. 0016).
Thus since Haschen teaches the protein feed material selected from the group consisting of distillers grains, since both teach corn distillers grain, though Haschen is silent to the origin of the corn distillers grains. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach the corn distillers grains of Haschen obtained from known grain production by-products such as resulting from industrial production of ethanol as taught by Miller (par. 0016) for its art recognized purpose of obtaining a same distiller grain for producing animal feed as desired by Haschen and since the distillers grains would need to be produced due to processing.
With respect to claim 23, Haschen teaches drying in an atmosphere having a temperature of 80 to 600C (par. 0059). Though silent to a time of drying, importantly Haschen teaches drying to achieve a specific end moisture content, i.e. the constant. Thus since product exposure time depends on the efficiency of applying the heat to the product as taught by Haschen (par. 0059 last 3 lines) and the size and scale of the processing operation (par. 0059) relative an undefined amount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach a drying time of 1-60 minutes relative drying temperature for its art recognized purpose of achieving a final moisture content which prevents spoilage during shipment and storage as taught by Haschen (par. 0061) and since one of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that through routine experimentation teach a desired drying time relative same temperatures as taught to achieve the constant, i.e. final moisture content.
Response to Arguments
It is initially noted claim 12 provides for the option of protein feed material consisting of distillers grain as taught by Haschen (par. 0031 corn distillers grain).
With respect to applicants urging directed to added methionine, it is noted the claimed added methionine is not limited by type or source, merely added in addition to a) the protein feed material.
Thus with respect to applicants urging said added methionine does not include any methionine which is naturally occurring in the protein of said protein feed material, importantly the added methionine is not included in said protein feed material, i.e. a)
Haschen teaches the addition b) to a). Thus the added methionine of the soybean meal is distinct from the protein feed material. Applicants claimed added methionine is specifically limited by not of the protein feed material, i.e. a). In the instant case, said added methionine (par. 0032 soybean meal comprising methionine table 1) does not include any methionine which is naturally occurring in the protein of said protein feed material (table 1; methionine of soybean meal not corn distillers grain, i.e. added to a) protein feed material).
In addition it is noted though applicant urges protein feed materials are excluded from the “added methionine”. Importantly the claim is not limited by the “added methionine” source but merely added in addition to a). Haschen teaches the addition as a component of soybean meal. Applicants urgings are specific to the protein feed material, which in the instant case Haschen teaches corn distillers grain (par. 0031; table). Thus Haschen teaches applicants mixture of (a) and (b). Claim 12 provides for the option of an additional feed product which in the instant case the rejection does not rely on the optional 3rd component.
With respect to applicants urging directed to the amount of methionine added. As noted by applicant the added amount of methionine is relative the protein content of the protein feed material, in the instant case the distillers grain. Thus with respect to the added amount of methionine contributed to the mixture, where the mixture is 52%;48% (par. 0031). 30.3% protein of 52% of mixture corn distillers grain: 52x.303= 15.6% of mixture protein of distiller grain; soybean meal comprises .83% methionine thus relative soybean meal being 48% of the mixture, par. 0031, 48 x .0083= .398 of mixture added methionine; .398 methionine added per 15.6% protein of distillers grain= .398/15.6=.0255 x 100=2.55; alternatively 100/15.6=6.41; .398x6.41=2.55
With respect to applicants urging directed to Miller, Miller is relied upon to teach known production methods which produce corn distillers grain.
Conclusion
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792