DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 02/16/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18-30 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-13, 16, and 18-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demsky et al. (U.S. 2021/0402916 A1).
Claim 1, Demsky teaches:
A power machine (Demsky, Fig. 1: 10, Fig. 3: 300, Fig. 4: 400, Paragraph [0051], The power machine is not limited to the combine 10 or the tractor 300.), the power machine comprising:
a main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 12, Fig. 3: 302) that supports an operator station (Demsky, Fig. 1: 16, Fig. 3: 304, Fig. 4: 402);
a traction system coupled to the main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 14, Fig. 306, Paragraphs [0018] and [0051], The chassis may be supported on a ground via a plurality of wheels in the combine 10 and tractor 300, respectively.);
a work element operably coupled to the main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 18, Paragraph [0018], The cutter head 18 may form part of an implement attached to the combine 10 or the cutter head 18 may form part of the combine and mounted to the chassis 12. It is noted that the work vehicle in Fig. 4 also represents a tractor or combine (see Demsky, Paragraph [0054]) which includes an implement (see Demsky, Paragraph [0067]).);
an electronic control module (Demsky, Fig. 2: 222, 224, 226, Paragraph [0047], The light control module 224 and/or the implement light control module 226 function according to communications from controller 222.); and
a visual indication system that is configured to emit a plurality of visual indications (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026] and [0052], The lighting system, which includes a plurality of array field lights, is a visual indication system. The plurality of visual indications is represented by at least each of the plurality of array field lights.);
wherein the electronic control module is configured to:
determine a power machine communication status of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], As per the examples of communicating diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs), the reception of these DTCs from sensors 200 indicate the communication status of the sensors 200 and the power machine. Furthermore, the communication status is also defined by sensor data communicated to the controller 222 (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0033-0035]).);
select a first visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on the determined power machine communication status being a first power machine communication status (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057], When a sensor indicates the presence of an object, the power machine adjusts a projected light accordingly. For example, the light generated from first array field lights 312 or a first array field light 410 is a first visual indication, which may be altered based on the presence of an object sensed by a sensor, i.e. the first power machine communication status.);
select a second visual indication of the plurality of visual indications, different from the first visual indication, based on the determined power machine communication status being a second power machine communication status (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057], In addition to activating and/or modifying the first array field lights 312 or a first array field light 410, the power machine is able to activate and/or modify a second array field light 314/412, third array field light 316/414, and/or fourth array field light 318/416, to be selected and/or altered based on the location of the detected object.); and
electronically control the visual indication system to emit the selected first or second visual indication externally to the operator station (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], The light may be projected around the work vehicle, i.e. externally to the operator station.).
Demsky does not explicitly teach:
Select a second visual indication of the plurality of visual indications, different from the first visual indication, based on the determined power machine communication status being a second power machine communication status different from the first power machine communication status.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the work vehicle in Demsky to be capable of modifying the respective array field lights depending on the type and location of objects detected by at least one sensor. For example, a first object, may be located within the projected area of a first array field lights 312 or a first array field light 410, which establishes a first power machine communication status, and the illumination of the first array field lights 312 or a first array field light 410 is adjusted accordingly, establishing a first visual indication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art for the sensor(s) to be capable of sensing another object located in a different location, e.g. within the projected area of a second array field light 314/412, establishes a second power machine communication status that is different than the first power machine communication status, wherein the illumination of the second array field light 314/412 is adjusted accordingly, establishing a second visual indication, also different than the first visual indication. Such a modification would ensure that the system operates for its intended function, e.g. adjusting illuminations based on detected objects, regardless of the number and location of said objects.
Claim 2, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the visual indication system includes a plurality of light sub-assemblies (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], Each field light or array field light is a light sub-assembly.), including a first light sub-assembly configured to project illumination to a first side of the main frame, and a second light sub-assembly configured to project illumination to a second side of the main frame (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, for example, each of the array field lights are configured to project light in respective zones.).
Claim 3, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 2, wherein the plurality of light sub-assemblies further includes a third light sub-assembly configured to project illumination to a third side of the main frame and a fourth light sub-assembly configured to project illumination to a fourth side of the main frame (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, for example, each of the array field lights are configured to project light in respective zones, including a third zone 426 and fourth zone 428.).
Claim 4, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the electronic control module is further configured to determine a power machine control type of the power machine, to select a third visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on the determined power machine control type, and to electronically control the visual indication system to emit the third visual indication externally to the operator station (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057], One example of a control type is whether a tractor 300 is operating to illuminate a near field (NF) or a far field (FF). Based on the determined illumination, a combination of array field lights may be illuminated to enable the operator 308 to visualize at a specified distance.).
Claim 6, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 2, wherein the operator station includes a cab structure (Demsky, Fig. 1: 16, Fig. 3: 304, Fig. 4: 402) that defines a structural envelope of the operator station (Demsky, Fig. 1: 16, Paragraph [0029], In the example cab 16 of Fig. 1, the cab includes a space for the operator, which is functionally equivalent to a structural envelope.); and
wherein the first and second light sub-assemblies are integrated into the cab structure to project light away from the operator station (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, additional device 408 is integrated into cab 402, which includes a light (see Demsky, Paragraph [0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to move the field light or array field lights to be on or integrated with the respective cabs, as a matter of design choice. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.).
Claim 7, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 2, wherein the first light sub-assembly is a front light sub- assembly integrated onto one or more of the main frame or a frame of the operator station and oriented to project the selected plurality of visual indications forward of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, first array field light 410 is positioned at a front of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the first array field light 312 projects light in front of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto chassis 302 of the tractor 300.);
wherein the second light sub-assembly is a right side light sub-assembly integrated onto one or more of the main frame or the frame of the operator station and oriented to project the selected plurality of visual indications to a right side of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, fourth array field light 416 is positioned at the right side of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the fifth array field light 320 projects light to the right of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto cab 304 of the tractor 300.); and
wherein a third light sub-assembly of the plurality of light sub-assemblies is a left side light sub-assembly integrated onto one or more of the main frame or the frame of the operator station and oriented to project visual indications to a left side of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, second array field light 412 is positioned at the left side of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the fourth array field light 318 projects light to the left of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto cab 304 of the tractor 300.).
Claim 10, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the first visual indication includes projected light having a first light intensity and the second visual indication includes projected light having a second light intensity different from the first light intensity (Demsky, Paragraphs [0025], [0027], and [0047], Individual lights and or pixels may be altered to modify the intensity of the light that is projected. In the example of Fig. 4, different portions of light emissions may be reduced while other portions are increased, i.e. a first and second light intensity (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0064-0065]).).
Claim 11, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the first visual indication includes projected light having a first pattern and the second visual indication includes projected light having a second pattern different from the first pattern (Demsky, Paragraph [0065], The light control module 224 may operably control the pattern of the different portions of the light emission being projected from the first array field light 410. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the work vehicle 400 to thus be capable of changing the pattern from first array field light 410 while keeping the pattern the same for array field lights 412-416, thus having a second pattern different from the first pattern.).
Claim 12, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the first visual indication includes projected light having a first color and the second visual indication includes projected light having a second color different from the first color (Demsky, Paragraph [0065], The light control module 224 may operably control the color of the different portions of the light emission being projected from the first array field light 410. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the work vehicle 400 to thus be capable of changing the color from first array field light 410 while keeping the color the same for array field lights 412-416, thus having a second color different from the first color.).
Claim 13, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1,
wherein the electronic control module is further configured to detect one or more external environmental conditions (Demsky, Paragraphs [0034], [0039], and [0043], The sensors detect operating conditions, objects surrounding the work vehicle, and performance data about the vehicle or implement, which are all interpreted as external environmental conditions.);
wherein the electronic control module is configured to select a third visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on the detected one or more external environmental conditions, and to electronically control the visual indication system to emit the third visual indication (Demsky, Paragraphs [0034], [0039], and [0043], In the example of reducing light emission, the work vehicle utilizes sensors for detecting the overall coverage of the light emission for determining whether the work vehicle needs to reduce the light emission (see Demsky, Paragraph [0061]). In the example of light emission reduction, the detected operating condition is the fact that the work vehicle is operating and that the light emitted by the work vehicle is overlapping and potentially going beyond boundaries.).
Claim 16, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 13, wherein the one or more external environmental conditions include a presence of an obstruction detected by the electronic control module (Demsky, Fig. 4: 438, Paragraphs [0063-0064], In Fig. 4, the object 438 may be a rock, tree, telephone pole, cell phone tower, or other obstacle.).
Claim 18, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the electronic control module is further configured to select and control the visual indication system to emit a third visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on one or more internal operating conditions that include at least one of a work element condition or a power machine speed (Demsky, Paragraph [0042], The vehicle speed and the mode of towed implement may be inputted. A combination of one or more light arrays are in operation when the vehicle is in operation (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057]).).
Claim 19, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the electronic control module is further configured to select and control the visual indication system to emit a third visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on one or more internal operating conditions that include at least one of an internal temperature, a battery capacity condition, or an engine power condition (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], One example condition is a low battery level. A combination of one or more light arrays are in operation when the vehicle is in operation (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057]).).
Claim 20, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the electronic control module is configured to select and control the visual indication system to emit a third visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on one or more internal operating conditions that include a plurality of operational power states of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], [0061], and [0064], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the power states of the vehicle to include at least off and on. A combination of one or more light arrays are in operation when the vehicle is in operation (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057]).).
Claim 21, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the electronic control module is configured to select and control the visual indication system to emit a third visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on one or more internal operating conditions that include a fault condition for one or more of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, or a diagnostics module (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], Diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) include low battery or low fuel, which represents a diagnostics module of the battery and fuel, respectively. A combination of one or more light arrays are in operation when the vehicle is in operation (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057]).).
Claim 22, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the first power machine communication status includes a status of a communication link between the power machine and a remote control system (Demsky, Paragraphs [0040-0041], When the work vehicle is able to receive data from a remote source or a remote sensing device, the connection represents a status of the work vehicle communication link with the remote source. The work vehicle may additionally be controlled remotely (see Demsky, Paragraph [0057]).).
Claim 23, Demsky teaches:
An illumination assembly for a power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026] and [0052]), the illumination assembly comprising:
a communications module configured for wireless communication with systems external to the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0057], The work vehicle includes a transmitting device that communicates with a remote location. Additionally, the work vehicle can receive information from remote devices (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0040-0041]).);
one or more light sub-assemblies arranged exterior to an operator station of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], Each field light or array field light is a light sub-assembly.) and configured to collectively emit a plurality of different visual indications (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026] and [0052], The lighting system, which includes a plurality of array field lights, is a visual indication system. The colors and patterns of the array field lights may be the same or different (see Demsky, Paragraph [0065]) in addition to the directions in which the array field lights are projected (see Demsky, Fig. 4).); and
an electronic control module (Demsky, Fig. 2: 222, 224, 226, Paragraph [0047], The light control module 224 and/or the implement light control module 226 function according to communications from controller 222.) configured to:
detect at least one operating condition for the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], The controller 222 receives communications from one or more sensors 200 regarding an operating status, operating position, or diagnostic trouble codes related to the vehicle.), including an internal operating condition of the power machine, based on determining a status of the communications module (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], The controller 222 receives communications from one or more sensors 200 regarding an operating status, operating position, or diagnostic trouble codes related to the vehicle. Examples of internal operating conditions include a low battery level or a low fuel, which are explicitly disclosed, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include whether or not the vehicle is on or moving via the motor (see Demsky, Paragraph [0023]), as movement of the vehicle is one example of operating status of the vehicle. The term internal operating condition is interpreted as an operating status of at least one internal component of the vehicle, e.g. a battery or fuel tank/motor, respectively.); and
control the one or more light sub-assemblies to emit a select one or more visual indications of the plurality of different visual indications to externally indicate (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], The light may be projected around the work vehicle.).
Demsky does not specifically teach:
In response to detecting the internal operating condition, control the one or more light sub-assemblies to emit, wherein the visual indications indicate the detected internal operating condition.
However, Demsky teaches that the controller 222 can modify, e.g. reduce, the amount of light based on whether it determines the light can be a nuisance to the surrounding area (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0061] and [0064]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the knowledge of the movement and location of the work vehicle to be functionally equivalent to internal operating conditions of the work vehicle, e.g. the generated light would indicate that the work vehicle is operating. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the work vehicle, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 24, Demsky further teaches:
The illumination assembly of claim 23, wherein a first light sub-assembly of the one or more light sub-assemblies is positioned on a front side of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, first array field light 410 is positioned at a front of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the first array field light 312 projects light in front of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto chassis 302 of the tractor 300.), and a second light sub-assembly of the one or more light sub-assemblies is positioned on a first lateral side of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, fourth array field light 416 is positioned at the right side of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the fifth array field light 320 projects light to the right of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto cab 304 of the tractor 300.).
Claim 25, Demsky further teaches:
The illumination assembly of claim 23, wherein the internal operating condition is a control condition corresponding to an autonomous status of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], If the vehicle/machine is operating, i.e. which generates an operating status, the vehicle/machine’s and its corresponding power source, e.g. a motor, power condition is on or active.).
Claim 26, Demsky further teaches:
The illumination assembly of claim 23, wherein the electronic control module is configured to control the one or more light sub-assemblies to selectively indicate
a powered and operable state of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0056], The lit status of the array field lights is indicative of the powered and operable state of the work vehicle.) and
a control-communication status for the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0040-0041], When the work vehicle is able to receive data from a remote source or a remote sensing device, the connection represents a status of the work vehicle communication link with the remote source. The work vehicle may additionally be controlled remotely (see Demsky, Paragraph [0057]).).
Claim 27, Demsky teaches:
A method of indicating a plurality of operating conditions of a power machine (Demsky, Fig. 1: 10, Fig. 3: 300, Fig. 4: 400, Paragraph [0051], The power machine is not limited to the combine 10 or the tractor 300.), the method comprising:
receiving, with an electronic control module (Demsky, Fig. 2: 222, 224, 226, Paragraph [0047], The light control module 224 and/or the implement light control module 226 function according to communications from controller 222.), signals from one or more of a sensor module or a communications module configured for wireless communication with systems external to the power machine, the signals corresponding to an internal operating condition included in the plurality of operating conditions for the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0034], [0039], and [0043], The sensors detect operating conditions, objects surrounding the work vehicle, and performance data about the vehicle or implement. The controller 222 receives communications from one or more sensors 200 regarding an operating status, operating position, or diagnostic trouble codes related to the vehicle. Examples of internal operating conditions include a low battery level or a low fuel, which are explicitly disclosed, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include whether or not the vehicle is on or moving via the motor (see Demsky, Paragraph [0023]), as movement of the vehicle is one example of operating status of the vehicle. The term internal operating condition is interpreted as an operating status of at least one internal component of the vehicle, e.g. a battery or fuel tank/motor, respectively.), the sensor module being configured to provide the signals based on detecting a control-type condition of the power machine so that the internal operating conditions indicates the control-type condition (Demsky, Paragraphs [0034], [0039], and [0043], The operating condition of the vehicle/machine is indicative of at least a power-sourced condition, i.e. the vehicle/machine is being powered when it is operational.); and
selecting, with the electronic control module, a visual indication of a plurality of visual indications that one or more light sub-assemblies of an illumination assembly of the power machine are configured to emit, the visual indication corresponding to the internal operating condition (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], The light may be projected around the work vehicle, which indicates that the work vehicle is in operation.); and
controlling the illumination assembly, with the electronic control module, to cause the one or more light sub-assemblies of the illumination assembly to emit the selected visual indication by illuminating exterior surroundings of the power machine (Demsky, Fig. 4, Paragraph [0056], The array field lights may be illuminated to project onto the area surrounding the work vehicle.).
Demsky does not specifically teach:
In response to receiving the signals:
selecting, with the electronic control module, a visual indication of a plurality of visual indications to indicate the internal operating condition.
However, Demsky teaches that the controller 222 can modify, e.g. reduce, the amount of light based on whether it determines the light can be a nuisance to the surrounding area (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0061] and [0064]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the knowledge of the movement and location of the work vehicle to be functionally equivalent to internal operating conditions of the work vehicle. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the work vehicle, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 28, Demsky further teaches:
The method of claim 27, wherein the internal operating condition is a first internal operating condition, and the plurality of visual indications includes visual indications of one or more of different light intensities, different patterns, or different light colors to indicate a second internal operating conditions for the power machine (Demsky, Paragraph [0065], The light control module 224 may operably control the intensity, color, and/or pattern of the light emission. The emitted light is therefore indicative of at least the vehicle on, the motor running, the vehicle being in motion, and of the changing location(s) of the vehicle, all of which are representative of internal operating conditions for the vehicle.).
Claim 29, Demsky teaches:
A power machine (Demsky, Fig. 1: 10, Fig. 3: 300, Fig. 4: 400, Paragraph [0051], The power machine is not limited to the combine 10 or the tractor 300.), the power machine comprising:
a main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 12, Fig. 3: 302) that supports an operator station (Demsky, Fig. 1: 16, Fig. 3: 304, Fig. 4: 402);
a traction system coupled to the main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 14, Fig. 306, Paragraphs [0018] and [0051], The chassis may be supported on a ground via a plurality of wheels in the combine 10 and tractor 300, respectively.);
a work element operably coupled to the main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 18, Paragraph [0018], The cutter head 18 may form part of an implement attached to the combine 10 or the cutter head 18 may form part of the combine and mounted to the chassis 12. It is noted that the work vehicle in Fig. 4 also represents a tractor or combine (see Demsky, Paragraph [0054]) which includes an implement (see Demsky, Paragraph [0067]).); and
a visual indication system that is configured to selectively emit a plurality of external visual indications (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026] and [0052], The lighting system, which includes a plurality of array field lights, is a visual indication system.), a plurality of internal operating conditions (Demsky, Paragraph [0039], The controller 222 receives communications from one or more sensors 200 regarding an operating status, operating position, or diagnostic trouble codes related to the vehicle. Examples of internal operating conditions include a low battery level or a low fuel. The term internal operating condition is interpreted as an operating status of at least one internal component of the vehicle, e.g. a battery or fuel tank/engine, respectively.) such that a first external visual indication corresponds to a first internal operating condition and a second external visual indication corresponds to a second internal operating condition, the first (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057], When a sensor indicates the presence of an object, the power machine adjusts a projected light accordingly. For example, the light generated from first array field lights 312 or a first array field light 410 is a first visual indication, which may be altered based on the presence of an object sensed by a sensor, i.e. the first power machine communication status.)and second internal operating conditions including a power machine communication status or a power machine control type ((Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052-0053], and [0056-0057], In addition to activating and/or modifying the first array field lights 312 or a first array field light 410, the power machine is able to activate and/or modify a second array field light 314/412, third array field light 316/414, and/or fourth array field light 318/416, to be selected and/or altered based on the location of the detected object.)), the visual indication system including one or more light sub-assemblies that are integrated onto one or more of the main frame or a frame of the operator station to illuminate external areas (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, first array field light 410 is positioned at a front of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the first array field light 312 projects light in front of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto chassis 302 of the tractor 300.).
Demsky does not specifically teach:
The visual indications to selectively indicate a plurality of internal operation conditions for the power machine.
However, Demsky teaches that the controller 222 can modify, e.g. reduce, the amount of light based on whether it determines the light can be a nuisance to the surrounding area (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0061] and [0064]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the knowledge of the movement and location of the work vehicle to be functionally equivalent to internal operating conditions of the work vehicle. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the work vehicle, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 30, Demsky teaches:
A power machine (Demsky, Fig. 1: 10, Fig. 3: 300, Fig. 4: 400, Paragraph [0051], The power machine is not limited to the combine 10 or the tractor 300.), the power machine comprising:
a main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 12, Fig. 3: 302) that supports an operator station (Demsky, Fig. 1: 16, Fig. 3: 304, Fig. 4: 402);
a traction system coupled to the main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 14, Fig. 306, Paragraphs [0018] and [0051], The chassis may be supported on a ground via a plurality of wheels in the combine 10 and tractor 300, respectively.);
a work element operably coupled to the main frame (Demsky, Fig. 1: 18, Paragraph [0018], The cutter head 18 may form part of an implement attached to the combine 10 or the cutter head 18 may form part of the combine and mounted to the chassis 12. It is noted that the work vehicle in Fig. 4 also represents a tractor or combine (see Demsky, Paragraph [0054]) which includes an implement (see Demsky, Paragraph [0067]).);
a sensor module configured to provide a first signal based on detecting a power-source condition of the power machine or a second signal based on detecting a control-type condition of the power machine (Demsky, Paragraphs [0034], [0039], and [0043], The operating condition of the vehicle/machine is indicative of at least a power-sourced condition, i.e. the vehicle/machine is being powered when it is operational.); and
a visual indication system that is configured to selectively emit a first visual indication and/or a second visual indication of a plurality of visual indications (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026] and [0052], The lighting system, which includes a plurality of array field lights, is a visual indication system.), the visual indication system including one or more light sub-assemblies that are integrated onto one or more of the main frame or a frame of the operator station (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026], [0052], and [0056], In Fig. 4, first array field light 410 is positioned at a front of the work vehicle 400. Additionally, the first array field light 312 projects light in front of the tractor 300 (see Demsky, Fig. 3), which is integrated onto chassis 302 of the tractor 300.) to selectively provide any of the plurality of visual indications to indicate any of the plurality of internal operating conditions (Demsky, Paragraphs [0026] and [0052], The lighting system, which includes a plurality of array field lights, is a visual indication system.).
Demsky does not specifically teach:
The visual indication to indicate a first internal operating condition for the power machine of a plurality of internal operating conditions based on the first signal from the sensor module, or a second visual indication of the plurality of visual indications to indicate a second internal operating condition for the power machine of the plurality of internal operating conditions based on the second signal from the sensor module.
However, Demsky teaches that the controller 222 can modify, e.g. reduce, the amount of light based on whether it determines the light can be a nuisance to the surrounding area (see Demsky, Paragraphs [0061] and [0064]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the knowledge of the movement and location of the work vehicle to be functionally equivalent to internal operating conditions of the work vehicle. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the work vehicle, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demsky et al. (U.S. 2021/0402916 A1) in view of Frank (U.S. 2019/0161943 A1).
Claim 8, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 1.
Demsky does not specifically teach:
Wherein the electronic control module is further configured to determine an operating condition of a hydraulic fluid, to select a fourth visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on the determined operating condition of the hydraulic fluid, and to electronically control the visual indication system to emit the fourth visual indication externally to the operator station.
Frank teaches:
Wherein the electronic control module is further configured to determine an operating condition of a hydraulic fluid (Frank, Paragraphs [0027] and [0072], A load carried by an implement may be determined by measuring the hydraulic pressure in the hydraulic system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hydraulic system to contain hydraulic fluid.), to select a fourth visual indication of the plurality of visual indications based on the determined operating condition of the hydraulic fluid (Frank, Paragraph [0075], Based on the moving operation of the load unit arrangement 102, which includes the hydraulic pressure level in the hydraulic system (see Frank, Paragraph [0072]), the illumination arrangement 504 is controlled to illuminate the area externally of the working machine 100.), and to electronically control the visual indication system to emit the fourth visual indication externally to the operator station (Frank, Fig. 1: 122, Paragraphs [0055-0056], The area 122 is illuminated with a visual warning indicating the moving load unit arrangement 102.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Demsky by integrating the warning system of Frank.
The motivation would be to improve the safety of persons in the vicinity of a working machine (see Frank, Paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Claim 9, Demsky in view of Frank further teaches:
The power machine of claim 8, wherein the operating condition of the hydraulic fluid includes a temperature of the hydraulic fluid or a pressure of the hydraulic fluid (Frank, Paragraphs [0027] and [0072], A load carried by an implement may be determined by measuring the hydraulic pressure in the hydraulic system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hydraulic system to contain hydraulic fluid.).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demsky et al. (U.S. 2021/0402916 A1) in view of Sherlock (U.S. 2014/0305723 A1).
Claim 14, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 13.
Demsky does not specifically teach:
Wherein the one or more external environmental conditions include at least one of an environmental temperature or an environmental wetness.
Sherlock teaches:
Wherein the one or more external environmental conditions include at least one of an environmental temperature or an environmental wetness (Sherlock, Paragraphs [0026-0027], The work vehicle includes at least one temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of ambient air.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the work vehicle in Demsky, by integrating the teaching of a temperature sensor, as taught by Sherlock.
The motivation would be to maintain operating temperatures of the work vehicle (see Sherlock, Paragraphs [0026-0027]) such that the work vehicle may function and react properly (see Sherlock, Paragraph [0002]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demsky et al. (U.S. 2021/0402916 A1) in view of Rindfleisch (U.S. 2012/0205182 A1).
Claim 15, Demsky further teaches:
The power machine of claim 13.
Demsky does not specifically teach:
Wherein the one or more external environmental conditions include at least one of an elevation or a slope of surrounding terrain.
Rindfleisch teaches:
Wherein the one or more external environmental conditions include at least one of an elevation or a slope of surrounding terrain (Rindfleisch, Paragraph [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the work vehicle in Demsky, by integrating the teaching of a first sensor configured to detect a slope of the ground, as taught by Sherlock.
The motivation would be to improve the brake capacity of the work vehicle (see Rindfleisch, Paragraphs [0001] and [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth in the rejection above. Additionally, the Examiner notes, based on the discussion conducted in the interview on 11/20/2025, it appears that the Applicant intends to define the plurality of visual indications to convey operating conditions of the power machine that are viewable by the operator of the power machine by projecting the visual indications externally from the power machine. For example, if there is a detected problem with the hydraulic fluid of the power machine, a potential warning may be projected onto the ground in front of the power machine to warn the operator of the potential issue. The claims, as amended, do not inherently or explicitly define this aspect of the Applicant’s invention.
The Examiner further notes that the Applicant’s amendments to claims 8-9 required a new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686