DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagaila et al. (U.S 2011/0024888 A1) (of record).
As to claim 1, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 10 an electronic system comprising: a printed circuit board (comprising “substrate material” 122, “insulating layers” 124, 126, “conductive layers” 128, 130) (Fig. 10, para. [0040]-[0042]); a substrate (“semiconductor die”/“component”/“interposer” 274) having a top side (top surface) and a bottom side (bottom side), at least a portion of the bottom side (bottom surface) coupled to the printed circuit board (comprising “substrate material” 122, “insulating layers” 124, 126, “conductive layers” 128, 130) (Fig. 10, para. [0066]-[0068]); at least one memory unit (“semiconductor die”/“component” 286 can be “memory” circuit, para. [0069]) connected to the bottom side (bottom surface) of the substrate (“semiconductor die”/“component”/“interposer” 274) (Fig. 10, para. [0069]); at least one processor (“semiconductor die”/“component” 296 can be “signal processing circuit”, para. [0071]) connected to the top side (top surface) of the substrate (“semiconductor die”/“component”/“interposer” 274) (Fig. 10, para. [0071]); and wherein the at least one memory unit (“semiconductor die”/“component” 286) is connected with the processor (“semiconductor die”/“component” 296) through the substrate (“semiconductor die”/“component”/“interposer” 274) (Fig. 10, para. [0067], [0069], [0071]).
As to claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 10 all claimed limitations including the electronic system further comprising: a cavity (see a cavity having a die 286, Fig. 10) in the printed circuit board (comprising “substrate material” 122, “insulating layers” 124, 126, “conductive layers” 128, 130) (see Fig. 10); the at least one memory unit (“semiconductor die”/“component” 286) is within the cavity (see a cavity having a die 286, Fig. 10) in the printed circuit board (comprising “substrate material” 122, “insulating layers” 124, 126, “conductive layers” 128, 130) (see Fig. 10, para. [0069]); and the at least one memory unit (“semiconductor die”/“component” 286) is connected to the bottom side (bottom surface) of the substrate (“semiconductor die”/“component”/“interposer” 274) with solder (“bump” 288) (Fig. 10, para. [0069]).
As to claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 10 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the at least one memory unit (“semiconductor die”/“component” 286) is a packaged memory (see Fig. 10, para. [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagaila et al. (U.S 2011/0024888 A1) (of record) in view of Li (U.S 2012/0187578 A1) (of record).
As to claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 10 all claimed limitations except for the limitation: wherein the printed circuit board is coupled to the substrate with solder.
Li discloses in Fig. 1 an electronic package/system comprising: the printed circuit board (180) is coupled to the substrate (102) with solder (“solder pad array” 124) (see Fig. 1, para. [0012]-[0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of Pagaila et al. by having a printed circuit board coupled to the substrate with solder, as taught by Li, in order to provide high-density connections, reduce component damage from heat, and improve thermal dissipation, so as to improve high-performance electronic package/system.
As to claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 10 all claimed limitations except for the limitation: wherein a heat spreader is disposed on the top side of the substrate and covering the processor.
Li discloses in Fig. 1 an electronic package/system comprising: a heat spreader (“air-cooled heatsink” 168) is disposed on the top side (top surface) of the substrate (“multi-layered substrate” 102) and covering the processor (“logic circuitry” 160 can be a “host processor”, para. [0029]) (Fig. 1, para. [0011]-[0012], [0029], [0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of Pagaila et al. by providing a heat spreader which is disposed on the top side of the substrate and covering the processor, as taught by Li, in order to release heat from the top of the electronic package/system, that may toward the printed circuit board (PCB) (see para. [0030] in Li).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the substrate 122 in Pagaila is not a printed circuit board (PCB).
In response, Applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed because one skilled in the art would have known that Fig. 10 of Pagaila clearly discloses that a package substrate (comprising “substrate material” 122, “insulating layers” 124, 126, and “conductive layers” 128, 130) can be considered a type of a printed circuit board (PCB) because it has at least electrical traces or electrical connections (“conductive layers” 128, 130). Therefore, Applicant’s argument is deemed to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Thanh Y. Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 7, 2026