DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R. Sharangpani et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2017/0373079, here
after Sharangpani), further in view of Moataz Bellah Mousa et al (U. S. Patent
Application: 2019/0304790, here after Mousa), and Kai-jun Zhang et al (Chinese Patent:
107871742, here after Zhang).
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected. Sharangpani teaches a process for depositing a
titanium silicon nitride film on a microelectronic device substrate in a reaction zone
(deposition chamber), which comprises:
introducing compounds, A, B, and C, individually, into the reaction zone under pulsed vapor deposition conditions to provide a pulse sequence, wherein the reaction
zone is less than 650C (including claimed range), and wherein A is silane or disilane; B
is TiC14; and C is a nitrogen-containing reducing gas(ammonia) [0161 first sentence,
0162], and repeating the pulse sequence until a desired thickness of the film has been
deposited (it is ALD process) [0161]. Sharangpani teaches TiSiN layer is formed by
introducing a silane or disilane pulse between a TiCl.sub.4 pulse and an NH.sub.3 pulse
in an atomic layer deposition. Since TiCl.sub.4 pulse and an NH.sub.3 form TiN and
then silicon incorporated to the layer, therefore the pulses are as following;
[TiC14/NH3] SiH4 [TiC14/NH3] SiH4 [TiC14/NH3] SiH4
A B C A B C
Therefore, the compounds A, B, and C are introduced in the order A, B, and C (with
only optional purge steps between them). Sharangpani also teaches an embodiment
with additional layer deposited in between [0156, lines 13-16];
[TiC14/NH3] SiH4 [TiCI4/NH3] [TiC14/NH3] SiH4 [TiC14/NH3] [TiC14/NH3] SiH4
A B C B C A B C B C
Which in fact acts as subsequently, repeatedly introducing B and C individually into the
reaction zone under pulsed vapor deposition conditions (ALD), wherein the compounds
B and C are introduced with only optional purge steps between them. Sharangpani does
not teach the compound A (silane containing gas) comprising Sil4. Mousa teaches a
method of depositing TiSiN with ALD when the silicon containing gas is dichlorosilane or
Sil4[0077, 0031]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
at the time of the invention was made to have a method of depositing TiSiN film when
the silicon containing gas is Sil4, because it is an alternative silicon containing gas in
forming the film with ALD. Sharangpani teaches TiSiN is barrier layer [0157] and the
percentage of silicon in the film is 4-20%, or higher [0162]. Sharangpani does not clearly
teach the percentage of silicon in the film is about 35-50 weight percent. Zhang teaches
formation of silicon rich TiSiN as a barrier layer [page 6 paragraph 3] to reduce
resistance between the barrier layer and lower layer. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of depositing TiSiN film as a barrier layer is silicon rich, because it reduces
resistance between the barrier layer and lower layer. Zhang also teaches the ratio of
silicon to nitrogen is 10-20/0.1 to 0.1/10-20(graded film) [page 6 paragraph 3], which with considering Sharangpani 0162, silicon concentration within claimed range obtains.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as Sharangpani teaches the thickness of the nitride layer
can be adjusted by repeating deposition process [0161], and Mousa also teaches the
thickness of the titanium silicon nitride film is 50 nm (0062, 0031].
Claims 14-15 are rejected as Sharangpani teaches the number of sub-cycles (to
make titanium nitride) utilized in the process, relative to the number of pulse sequences
is obviously pre- determined to provide a titanium silicon nitride film having a desired
weight percentage(concentration) of silicon [0162].
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason claim 1 is rejected above. Sharangpani
teaches introducing a silane or disilane pulse between a TiC14 and a NH pulse.
Therefore, with having only one pulse in between the first and second [TiC]4/NH3],
claim limitation will be satisfied,
[TiC14/NH3] SiH4 [TiCI4/NH3] [TiCI4/NH3] SiH4
A B C B C
Sharangpani also teaches an embodiment with additional layer deposited in between (at
least one means more than 1, 2 or 3) [0156, lines 13-16];
[TIC14/NH3] SiH4 [TiCI4/NH3] [TiCI4/NH3] [TiCI4/NH3] SiH4 [TiC14/NH3]
A B C B C B C A B C
Which in fact acts as A, B, and C followed by a repeated cycle consisting of B, and c
steps with optional purge steps (ALD). Sharangpani teaches TiSiN is barrier layer
[0157] and the percentage of silicon in the film is 4-20%, or higher [0162]. Sharangpani
does not clearly teach the percentage of silicon in the film is about 35-50 weight
percent. Zhang teaches formation of silicon rich TiSiN as a barrier layer [page 6
paragraph 3] to reduce resistance between the barrier layer and lower layer. Therefore,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have a method of depositing TiSiN film as a barrier layer is silicon rich,
because it reduces resistance between the barrier layer and lower layer. Zhang also
teaches the ratio of silicon to nitrogen is 10-20/0.1[page 6 paragraph 3], which with
considering Sharangpani 0162, silicon concentration within claimed range obtains.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R.
Sharangpani et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0373079, here after Sharangpani), Moataz Bellah Mousa et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2019/0304790, here after Mousa), Kai-jun Zhang et al (Chinese Patent: 107871742, here after Zhang), further in view of Gavin Richards et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2021/0395882, here
after Richards).
Claim 7 is rejected. Neither of Sharangpani nor Mousa teach the silicon
precursor is bis-t-amyl ethylene silylene. Richards teaches a method of depositing film
with ALD, wherein the silicon precursor is bis-t-amyl ethylene silylene [0024]. Therefore,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have a method of depositing TiSiN film as Sharangpani and Mousa teach
where the silicon precursor is bis-t-amyl ethylene silylene, because it is an alternative
precursor for silicon precursor for ALD.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R.
Sharangpani et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0373079, here after Sharangpani),
Moataz Bellah Mousa et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2019/0304790, here after Mousa),
Kai-jun Zhang et al (Chinese Patent: 107871742, here after Zhang), further in view of
Antonio Sanchez et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2019/0161358, here after Sanchez).
Claim 8 is rejected. Neither of Sharangpani nor Mousa teach the silicon
precursor is Sil2H2. Sanchez teaches a method of depositing TiSiN film with ALD,
wherein the silicon precursor is dichlorosilane SiH2Cl2or Sil2H2 [0446, 0444, 0431].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of depositing TiSiN film as Sharangpani and
Mousa teach where the silicon precursor is Sil2H2, because it is an alternative
precursor for depositing TiSiN via ALD.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the references do not teach 35-50 wt% of silicon in the film. The examiner disagrees, Zhang teaches increasing silicon content in TiSiN to reduce resistance between the barrier layer and lower layer which in fact can be optimize by an ordinary skill in art, furthermore also teaches a graded film from substrate to top which the concentration of silicon (Si/N) changes from10-20: 0.1 from layer near substrate to 0.1: 10-20 for top layers, which in fact somewhere in between the concentration of silicon would be 35-50%.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718